New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form CG-100-W

Application for License as a

CG-100-W-I

(1/02)

Wholesale Cigarette Dealer Other Than Those
Who Only Operate Cigarette Vending Machines

Avrticle 20 of the Tax Law

Who must file this form

Any person who sells to retail dealers and other persons for the
purpose of resale must be licensed as a Wholesale Dealer of
Cigarettes.

Form CG-100-A may be used to apply for license as a Cigarette
Agent; or, to apply for both a Cigarette Agent License and
Wholesale Dealer of Cigarettes License. If you wish to be licensed
as a wholesale dealer who only owns, operates or maintains one
or more cigarette vending machines in, at or upon premises owned
or occupied by any other person, form CG-100-V must be used.

Registering additional locations

When the only change being reported is the addition of new
locations, no fee or financial statements are required to be
submitted with the application. The cigarette wholesale dealer must
prepare Form CG-100-W and check the Currently licensed and
adding location(s) box under the "reason for application section”.

Note: The filing of this application does not permit you to do
business at an additional location until you receive written
notification of approval from the Department of Taxation and
Finance.

Other requirements for license:

v Reviewed or audited financial statements prepared by an
independent Certified Public Accountant or licensed Public
Accountant for a period ended not more than 18 months prior to
the date of the application. If the financial statements are for a
period ended more than six months prior to the date of
submission, interim financial statements (on a monthly or
quarterly basis) must be submitted for a period of time ending
within such six-month period. You may be required, at a later
date, to submit an unqualified opinion in support of any financial
statements.

v Proof of workers’ compensation and disability insurance, or
certification that the applicant does not intend to have any
employees. Include a copy of the insurance policy or binder; a
letter from the Workers Compensation Board if self insured; or
a letter signed, under penalty of perjury, by a controlling person
if there will be no employees.

v Copies of purchase contract and all related documents if the
applicant is purchasing an existing business.

v'  Personal Questionnaire, Form CG-100-P, (including all
attachments required with this form) for each owner, officer,
shareholder or any other person who would be defined as a
Controlling Person. These may be mailed separately if the
controlling person desires confidentiality.

v You must submit a performance bond in the amount of $10,000
if you do not presently have one on file with the New York State
Department of Taxation and Finance. If you have a bond on file,
you must submit proof that it is still in effect.

v/ You must be registered as a sales tax vendor. If you are not
currently registered, submit application Form DTF-17,
Application for Registration as a Sales Tax Vendor.

Definitions

A controlling person, for purposes of this application, means any
person who is an officer, director or partner (or in the case of a
limited liability company, an officer, member or a person having
with respect to such limited liability company authority analogous to
that of an officer or director with respect to a corporation) of an
applicant for an agent’s or a wholesale dealer’s license under
Article 20 of the Tax Law, or if the applicant is a corporation, a
shareholder, directly or indirectly, owning more than 10% of the
number of shares of voting stock of such corporation. This includes
persons who do or will exercise authority within the business
comparable to the authority normally exercised by corporate
officers, regardless of the form of business organization or lack of
actual title.

A natural person, for purposes of this application, means a human
being.

A person, includes an individual, copartnership, limited liability
company, society, association, corporation, joint stock company,
and any combination of individuals and also an executor,
administrator, receiver, trustee or other fiduciary.

A wholesale dealer, for purposes of this application

(Form CG-100-W, Application for License as a Wholesale Cigarette
Dealer Other Than Those Who Only Operate Cigarette Vending
Machines), is any person who sells cigarettes or tobacco products
to retail dealers or other persons for purposes of resale.

Application fee

A nonrefundable application fee must be in the form of a certified
check, bank check, money order or other guaranteed draft.
Uncertified personal and business checks are not accepted for
payment of the cigarette application fee. The fee is as follows:

Wholesale Dealer: $1,500

Requirement for renewal of license

The Department of Taxation and Finance may require that every
wholesale dealer’s license be surrendered and a new application
be filed not more often than once every three years.

Reduced fees for certain renewals

If the application fee has been paid during the preceding twelve
months by a wholesale dealer, the application fee for its new
wholesale dealer’s license will be $1,000.

Wholesaler

A wholesale dealer’s license covers all locations listed on the
application. Each location must maintain separate books and
records for cigarettes. Specifically, there must be separate
cigarette purchase, sales and inventory records for each
location.

If you cease cigarette activities at any location, you are required to
notify the Department of Taxation and Finance within ten (10) days.

Transfer of license

A license as a wholesale dealer is not assignable. That is, such
license shall not be transferred to any person. In addition to any
other meaning, a license shall be deemed assigned if any change
in partnership interest has occurred or if shares of stock of a
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corporate agent are acquired by any person such that the person
owns, directly or indirectly, more than 10% of the number of shares
of voting stock of such corporation (25% or more in the case of an
entity who has four or fewer shareholders). Except as provided
herein, an assignment of a license is invalid and shall immediately
result in the cancellation of such license.

However, if the transfer of the license is by way of bequest or
inheritance from a decedent directly to:

(i) the spouse or an ancestor of the decedent;

(i) a lineal descendant of the decedent, of the decedent’s spouse,
or of a parent of the decedent; or

(iii) the spouse of any lineal descendant described in
subparagraph (ii),

the license will remain valid for 90 days from the death of the

individual. The beneficiary must promptly apply for a new license

from the Department of Taxation and Finance.

Applications for transfer of license must include applicable
fees for your application to be processed.

Item-by-item instructions
Item numbers not listed are assumed to be self-explanatory.

Item 1(a) - Enter the exact legal name of your business. The legal
name of a corporation is the name that appears on the certificate of
incorporation. A limited liability company's legal name is the name
that appears on its articles of organization. The legal name of an
unincorporated business is the name in which the business owns
property or acquires debt. The legal name of a partnership or a
limited liability partnership is the name that appears on its
partnership agreement. The legal name of a sole proprietorship is
the name of the individual owner of the business.

Item 1(b) - Enter the trade name, “doing business as” name, or
assumed name if different from 1(a). For a corporation, this is the
name that appears on the trade name certificate you filed with the
New York State Department of State. For an unincorporated
business, this is the name filed with the county clerk's office.

Item 1(c) - Check all appropriate boxes pertaining to cigarette
related activities which you are currently or will be involved in.

Item 2 - Enter the physical address of all storage locations and
include the telephone numbers for all locations. Attach additional
sheets if necessary.

Enter the mailing address(es) where you want to receive
information, forms, etc. from the Tax Department. A post office box
or representative’s address is acceptable.

Give location information such as cross streets or nearest
intersecting road.

List the specific location(s) in the building where the cigarette
business is to be conducted. (Example: rear of first floor).

Item 3(b) - Enter your Federal Employer Identification Number
(FEIN). If you do not have one, you are required to obtain one from
the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) at 1 800 829-1040. A license
will not be issued until an FEIN is obtained.

Item 3(c) - If you have any other Federal Employer Identification
Number(s), enter such number(s).

Item 3(d) - Enter the date you began the New York State business
for which you are applying or the date that you expect to begin
conducting business in New York State.

Item 4(a) - If any of the storage locations listed in Item 2 are
leased, Form CG-100-L, Cigarette Agent/Wholesaler - Lessor
Identification, must be completed for each leased location. Copies
of the lease or deed, for each location, must be submitted with your
application.

Item 6 - Complete this item only if the applicant is an individual
or a partnership (certain LLCs may be considered
partnerships by the IRS and therefore need to complete this
section). List owner(s), general partner(s), limited partner(s) or
controlling persons. Identify general partners as GP after their
names and limited partners as LP. Include all employees
responsible for the duties specified under A through G as listed.

You must provide a complete actual home address for each
person listed. Do not list the home address as c/o applicant.

If a listed person has dual citizenship, enter both countries. The
date of birth is required for each person listed.

In the duties (A through G) box, circle the letters A through G as
they apply to the duties of the individual who has final authority for
the following:

A - signing checks on the company’s bank account(s)

B - signing the business’ tax returns

C - paying creditors

D - making the final decision on which bills are to be paid
E - conducting the business’ general financial affairs

F - filing returns or paying taxes imposed under Article 20 of the
Tax Law

G - complying with any other requirement of the Tax Law

If the person listed performs duties relating to finances or taxes
other than A-G, list the specific duties.

Provide the actual home phone number of each person listed in
item 6.

Item 7 - Complete this item only if the applicant is considered
a corporation by the IRS (if the LLC applicant is considered a
partnerships by the IRS, complete item 6).

Item 7(a) - Foreign and alien corporations must furnish proof that
they have filed for authority to conduct business in New York State.
Provide a copy of the 1) Application for Authority filed with

New York State Secretary of State, and 2) official filing receipt
issued by the New York State Secretary of State.

Item 7(b) - Enter the corporate headquarters’ physical address,
or same if as shown in ltem 2.

Item 7(c) - Enter the required information for shareholders who
own or control, directly or indirectly, more than 10% of the voting
stock. For citizenship, date of birth and duties see the instructions
for item 6. The percentage of voting stock ownership is required
and the date when the present level of stock ownership was
reached. Percentages may be rounded to the nearest whole
percentage for purposes of items 7(c) and 7(d). If any shareholder
listed is not a natural person, attach a separate listing showing the
information required in 7(c) until all ownership interest of more than
10% has been attributed to natural persons.

Item 7(d) - 100% of the voting stock must be accounted for in
items 7(c) and 7(d).

Items 7(e) and 7(f) - You must provide a complete actual home
address for each person listed. List officers and controlling persons
in 7(e) or directors in 7(f). Include all employees responsible for the
duties specified under A through G in 7(e). For citizenship, date of
birth and duties, see the instructions for item 6.

For Items 8 through 15, please check all applicable boxes and
answer all questions which pertain to your business. Use
additional sheets if more space is needed to fully explain any
item.



Item 8(b) - Include crimes committed in New York State and other
states or countries. You may exclude traffic violations of the vehicle
and traffic laws.

Item 9(b) - Include crimes pending in New York State and other
states or countries. You may exclude traffic violations of the vehicle
and traffic laws.

Item 10(b) - Include the name of applicant or spouse, and/or
controlling person, address of premises, date filed and disposition.
Give the license or permit number if issued.

Item 11(b) - Give a complete description of the interest including
the name(s), home address(es) and social security number(s) or
FEIN of such person(s) involved. Provide the description of the
interest, amount or percent (as applicable) of interest, loans or
advances to or from the applicant, liens or mortgages on the
fixtures of the applicant’s business and date acquired.

Item 12(b) - Include the name(s), home address(es) and social
security number(s) or FEIN of such person(s); an explanation of
how each share is to be calculated; the date when this sharing
interest was acquired by such person; and any other information
needed to fully describe the arrangement.

Item 13(b) - Give the name of such person involved; business
name with physical address of the business location; FEIN of the
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business; type of business; nature of the interest; the date when

this interest was acquired by such person; and any other
information needed to fully describe the interest.

Item 14(b) - Give the former name(s) with social security
number(s), current name(s) with social security number(s) and the
reason(s) for the change of name or social security number.

Item 16(d) - If you are not currently registered, include application
Form DTF-17, Application for Registration as a Sales Tax Vendor.
Cigarette wholesale dealer licenses are conditioned upon the
applicant having and maintaining an active sales tax registration.

Certification

This application must be signed by the owner, partner, corporate
officer, or other controlling person assuming responsibility for the
validity of the information contained in the application.

If the correct certification is not filled out, dated and signed, or
the required attachments or fees are missing, your application
may be returned to you.

Keep a copy of this application and all required documents or
information to be sent with this application.

Need help?

Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 a.m. to
4:25 p.m. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.
For business tax information, call the

New York State Business Tax
Information Center:

1800 972-1233
1800 225-5829
1800 462-8100

For general information:
To order forms and publications:

From areas outside the U.S. and
outside Canada:

(518) 485-6800

S S Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
===\ available 24 hours a da
——\\ Y,

7 days a week. 1800 748-3676

W | Internet access: www.tax.state.ny.us

—3

1800 634-2110 from 8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m. (eastern
time), Monday through Friday. If you do not own a
telecommunications device for the deaf (TDD), check with
independent living centers or community action programs
to find out where machines are available for public use.

TD Hotline for the hearing and speech impaired:
¢

o Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our
lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are

b accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have
questions about special accommodations for persons
with disabilities, please call 1 800 225-5829.

If you need to write, address your letter to:
NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
TAXPAYER CONTACT CENTER

W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
ALBANY NY 12227




