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General Instructions
Who Must File This Report

1. Motor fuel distributors registered under Article 12-A of the Tax
Law, wholesalers, jobbers and others who sell motor fuel not
exclusively at retail service stations.

2. Diesel motor fuel distributors registered under Article 12-A of the
Tax Law, other than distributors who are Retailers of Heating Oil
Only. Vendors registered as distributors of kero-jet fuel only must
file this report monthly even if they did not import any fuel during
the period covered by this report.

Diesel motor fuel is kerosene, crude oil, fuel oil and other middle
distillate and motor fuel suitable for use in the operation of a diesel
engine. It does not include that special grade of diesel product not
suitable as a fuel used in the operation of a motor vehicle engine
specifically designated No. 4 diesel fuel or No. 5 or No. 6 oil. (See
Notice N-89-63 for further definition of No. 4 diesel fuel.)

Filing Requirements

Form FT-945/1045 must be filed in addition to any other sales tax
return that may be required. The amount of tax paid with this report
must not be included on any other return or schedule.

This report is due within 20 days from the end of the month covered
by the report.

Failure to file this report, filing a false report or failure to pay the tax
due, if any, may subject you to criminal or civil penalties or both
under the New York State Tax Law. The minimum penalty for failure
to file on time is $50, even if no tax is due.

If the report you are submitting does not have a preaddressed label,
please complete the name and address portion, including your sales
tax identification number.

Enter the exact legal name of the business. For a corporation, use
the name as it appears on the Certificate of Incorporation; for an
unincorporated business, use the name in which the business owns
property or acquires debt; for a partnership, use the partnership
name. A sole proprietor must use the name of the individual owner.

Enter the trade name, doing-business-as name, or assumed name if
different from the legal name. For a corporation, use the name that
appears on the trade name certificate filed with the New York State
Department of State. For an unincorporated business, use the name
filed with the county clerk’s office pursuant to section 130 of the
General Business Law.

Enter the address of your actual business location, not the mailing
address. Include your business telephone number and the number
at which you can be reached during the day, if different.

Change of Business Information

If there have been any changes in your business name,
identification number, mailing address, business address, telephone
number, or owner/officer/responsible person information, complete
Form DTF-95.1, Change of Business Information for
Employers/Vendors, found in the instructions for the quarterly or
part-quarterly sales tax return, or Form DTF-95, Change of Business
Information. To request Form DTF-95, call toll free (from New York
State only) 1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New York State call
(518) 438-1073.

Specific Instructions

Registered distributors of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel are not
required to report inventory on this form; therefore they must
complete only Parts I and II. Motor fuel wholesalers, jobbers, etc.
must complete Parts III and IV, and attach the required
supplemental information.

Part 1 - Computation of Sales Tax Prepayment
On Motor Fuel '

Only motor fuel distributors registered under Article 12-A must report
the sales tax required to be prepaid on motor fuel. No other person
can acquire motor fuel without the required sales tax prepayment
included in the purchase price.

To compute the sales tax due on motor fuel in each region, add the
number of gallons of leaded, unleaded and premium motor fuel
subject to tax. Multiply the total by the sales tax prepayment per
gallon shown for that region on Form FT-945/1045.

Note: The sales tax prepayment per gallon indicated in Column
(c) is the appropriate regional average retail sales price multiplied
by the rate for Region 1 or Region 2, (7% and 6% respectively)
rounded to the nearest one-tenth of a cent. (See Publication 790,
Chart for Prepayment of Sales Tax on Motor Fuel.)

Once the prepaid sales tax has been reported and paid in one
region, whether by you or your supplier, do not adjust the
prepayment (on the fuel or this report) for any subsequent sale in
the other region. In other words, if prepaid sales tax has been
imposed initially in Region I, that is the prepayment that must be
passed through, even if the fuel is later sold in Region II. The only
adjustment to the prepayment allowed, is the inventory adjustment
that must be made when the regional average retail sales price
changes (see Form FT-945/1045-1 Supplement, Supplement to
Instructions for Completing Form FT-945/1045, for May 1994 (Due
June 20, 1994)).

Lines 1, 2 and 3 — Report the number of gallons of motor fuel in
Region 1 subject to prepayment of sales tax. This includes all fuel
imported, caused to be imported, compounded or produced in New
York City (counties of Bronx, Kings (Brooklyn), New York
(Manhattan), Queens, Richmond (Staten Island)) and the counties of
Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk and
Westchester.

Line 4 — Add lines 1, 2 and 3, Column (b) and multiply the total by
the sales tax prepayment per gallon indicated in column (c) for
Region 1. Enter the result in column (d).

Lines 5, 6 and 7 — Report the number of gallons of motor fuel in
Region 2 subject to prepayment of sales tax. This includes all fuel
imported, caused to be imported, compounded, or produced in
Region 2, which consists of all counties in New York State not in
Region 1.

Line 8 — Add lines 5, 6 and 7, Column (b), and multiply the total by
the sales tax prepayment per gallon indicated in column (c), for
Region 2. Enter the result in column (d).

Line 9 — Add lines 4 and 8, column (d). This is the gross
prepayment of sales tax due on motor fuel.

Line 10 — Enter the amount of sales tax prepayments on motor fuel
sold to exempt purchasers or motor fuel taken out of inventory and
delivered out of state by you, either to your own facility or to your
customers.
This amount may include:
- the prepayment computed on line 9 for such fuel,
- sales tax prepaid to your supplier of such fuel purchased in
this or a prior period, or
- salgsdtax prepaid directly to the Tax Department for a prior
period.

Line 11 — Enter the amount of the sales tax prepayment (see
instructions for line 10 regarding amount of prepayments) on motor
fuel lost due to evaporation or other causes, including casualty
losses.

Casualty losses — An adjustment to the number of gallons of motor
fuel subject to prepaid sales tax will be allowed for any motor fuel
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lost or destroyed due to an accident (such as a fire) which occurs
while the motor fuel is being held or transported for sale other than
at retail.

A detailed report of the casualty loss and a request to take a credit
for the tax paid on product lost must be submitted to the Transaction
and Transfer Tax Bureau within 24 hours of the occurrence. The
adjustment is reportable on the FT-945/1045 covering the month in
which the loss occurs. .

Send your request to:

NYS TAX DEPARTMENT

TRANSACTION AND TRANSFER TAX BUREAU
855 CENTRAL AVENUE

ALBANY NY 12206

You must attach substantiation for all credits reported on line 11.

Line 12 — Enter the total of the amounts reported on lines 10 and 11.

Line 13 — Net sales tax prepayment due on motor fuel.

Subtract line 12 from line 9 and enter the result. If the amount on
line 12 is greater than the amount on line 9, enter the result in
parentheses and see instruction for line 21 under note.

Part II - Computation of Sales Tax Prepayment
On Diesel Motor Fuel

To compute the sales tax due on diesel motor fuel in each region,
multiply the number of gallons of diesel motor fuel subject to tax by
the sales tax prepayment per gallon shown for that region indicated
in Column (b).

Note: The sales tax prepayment per gallon indicated in Column
(b) is the appropriate regional average retail sales price multiplied
by the rate for Region 1 or Region 2 (7% and 6% respectively)
rounded to the nearest one-tenth of a cent. (See Publication 787,
Chart for Prepayment of Sales Tax on Diesel Motor Fuel).

Transactions subject to the prepayment to be reported on lines 14
and 15 include:

- The first sale of enhanced diesel motor fuel to a distributor or
retailer of heating oil only. Enhanced diesel product includes
diesel fuel, No. 1 diesel fuel, and enhanced No. 2 fuel oil (the
blended product that results from the mixing of No. 2 fuel oil with
kerosene or cetane improver to make it more suitable to operate
in a motor vehicle diesel engine).

- The sale of previously untaxed diesel motor fuel whether
enhanced or unenhanced, when delivered to a filling station or
into a repository equipped with a hose or apparatus for
dispensing fuel into the tank of a motor vehicle.

- The delivery of previously untaxed diesel motor fuel, whether
enhanced or unenhanced, to your own filling station.

The requirement to prepay sales tax on diesel motor fuel does not
apply to the delivery of water-white kerosene at a filling station or
other retail vendor if the vendor sells the water-white kerosene
exclusively for heating purposes in containers of no more than

20 gallons.

Do not include any prepaid tax passed through to you by your
supplier. Report only the prepayment of sales tax that you are
responsible for paying directly to the Tax Department.

Once the prepaid sales tax has been reported and paid in one
region, whether by you or your supplier, do not adjust the
prepayment (on the fuel or this report) for any subsequent sale in
the other region. In other words, if prepaid sales tax has been
imposed initially in Region I, that is the prepayment that must be
passed through, even if the fuel is later sold in Region II.

Line 14 — Report in column (a) the number of gallons of diesel
motor fuel in Region 1 subject to prepayment of sales tax. These
are the sales in New York City (counties of Bronx, Kings (Brooklyn),
New York (Manhattan), Queens, Richmond (Staten Island)) and the
counties of Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk
and Westchester. Multiply the amount in column (a) by the sales tax
prepayment in column (b) and enter the result in column (c). '

Line 15 — Report in column (a) the number of gallons of diesel
motor fuel in Region 2 subject to prepayment of sales tax. These

are the sales in all counties in New York State not in Region 1.
Muitiply the amount in column (a) by the sales tax prepayment in
column (b) and enter the result in column (c).

Line 16 — Add lines 14 and 15, column (c). This is the gross
prepayment of sales tax due on diesel motor fuel.

Line 17 — Enter the amount of sales tax prepaid to your supplier
but which was not passed through on your sale of that fuel because
your sale was:

- exempt from both the prepaid tax and the tax at retail (e.g., sales
to government agencies or for use in farming); or

- subject to the tax at retail only (e.g., sales of fuel used for
healing) but excluding sales made through a retail filling station
where the appropriate credit must be claimed on
Schedule FR (Form ST-100.10) page 2, line B; or

- taken out of inventory and delivered out of state by you either to
your own facility or to your customer.

Line 18 — Enter the amount of the sales tax prepaid to your
supplier on diesel motor fuel lost due to casualty losses.

Casualty losses — An adjustment to the number of gallons of
diesel motor fuel subject to prepaid sales tax will be allowed for any
diesel motor fuel lost or destroyed due to an accident (such as a
fire) which occurs while the diesel motor fuel is being held or
transported for sale other than at retail.

A detailed report of the casualty loss and a request to take a credit
for the tax paid on product lost must be submitted to the Transaction
and Transfer Tax Bureau within 24 hours of the occurrence. The
adjustment is reportable on the Form FT-945/1045 covering the
month in which the loss occurs.

Send your request to Transaction and Transfer Tax Bureau FACCTS
at the address listed in the instructions for Part I, under Casualty
losses.

You must attach substantiation for all credits reported on line 18.

Line 19 — Enter the total of the amounts reported on lines 17
and 18.

Line 20 — Subtract line 19 from line 16 and enter the result. This is
the net sales tax prepayment due on diesel motor fuel. If the amount
on line 19 is greater than the amount on line 16, enter the result in
parentheses and see instructions for line 21 under Note.

Line 21 — Total sales tax prepayment due (motor fuel and diesel
motor fuel). Add lines 13 and 20. This is the total sales tax
prepayment due on motor fuel and diesel motor fuel.

Note: If the amount on line 13 or 20 is a credit amount, you may
offset the credit due on either line by the amount of tax due on
the other. Enter the difference on line 21. If the sales tax
prepayment due is not sufficient to offset the entire credit due
you must apply for a refund of the excess credit by filing the
appropriate refund application.

Line 22 — This line is to be used only by vendors enrolled in
the Promplax program.

Enter on this line the Promplax payment made during the month
covered by this return and attach your Form FT-945/1045-A, Monthly
Schedule FT.

Line 23 Balance Due — Subtract line 22. from line 21. Send this
amount with your return and any required attachments to the
applicable address listed on the back of Form FT-945/1045.

Part III - Inventory Reconciliation

Filers required to complete this part must report only motor fuel
held in New York State for sale other than at retail service
stations. Motor fuel held in New York State for sale at retail service
stations must be reported on Form F1-943, Quarterly Inventory
Report by Retail Service Stations and Fixed Base Operators.

Line 24 — Indicate the number of gallons of motor fuel on hand at
the beginning of the month. The current month’s opening inventory
should be the same as the previous month’s closing inventory;
attach an explanation if these figures do not correspond.

Line 25 — Enter the total number of gallons of motor fuel
purchased in New York State during the month.
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Line 26 — Report any gain or loss to inventory due to expansion, 1136, 1137-A, 1142, 1251 and 1253 and Articles 28 and 29 of the Tax
evaporation, etc. Attach an explanation for all gains, losses and Law in general and regulations for sales and use taxes in
credits claimed on this line. If the net adjustment on line 26 is a subchapter J, Title 20 NYCRR.

loss, write (L) in parentheses after the amount reported. . L . . . .
We will use this information primarily to determine New York State

Line 27 — Add or subtract line 26 to or from line 25 to determine and local sales and use tax liabilities under Articles 28 and 29 of
the net adjustments to inventory. the Tax Law. We will also use it for tax administration purposes and
. . as necessary under Tax Law sections 1146 and 1250, and for any
Line 29 — Enter the total number of gallons: other purpose authorized by law.
- sold (both taxable and nontaxable), including exchanges,

consignment and commission sales, Your failure to provide the required information may result in civil or
criminal penalties, or both, under sections 1134, 1145, 1250 and 1817

used, . of the Tax Law and Parts 533 and 536 of the regulations for sales
- transferred out of New York State by you during the month, or and use taxes.
- placed in inventory at a retail service station owned or operated . L . L . .

by you. Our authority to maintain this information is found in sections

i . ) o ) 1136(d), 1146(e) and 1250 of the Tax Law. This information will be

Line 30.— Subtract line 29 from line 28. This is your closing maintained by the Director, Data Management Services Bureau, NYS
inventory for the month; it should also be your opening inventory for Tax Department, Building 8 Room 905, W A Harriman Campus,
next month. Albany NY 12227. For information, call the Business Tax Information

. egs s Center toll free (from the continental U.S. only) 1 800 972-1233. You
Privacy Notification can also call toll free (from New York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX
Our authority to require personal information, including identifying (1 800 225-5829). From areas outside New York State, call
numpers (social security numbers, etc.), is found in sections 1134, (518) 438-8581.

Part 1V - Supplemental Information

All sellers of motor fuel other than distributors registered under Article 12-A of the Tax Law must attach a supplemental schedule to
this return providing information about motor fuel purchased during the month.

. The following information must be provided on the supplemental schedule:

1. Your name, address and sales tax vendor identification number as they appear on the label on your Form FT-945/1045.

2. Each supplier’s name, complete address, and sales tax and motor fuel tax registration numbers. This information should be as it
appears on the Form FT-935, Certification of Prepayment of Sales Tax and Payment of Motor Fuel Tax and the Petroleum Business
ax, or other document given to you certifying that these taxes have been paid.

3. Amounts of fuel purchased, by type (leaded, unleaded or premium).

The following format should be used:

Name and ldentification Number Type of Total Gallons
of Supplier Address of Supplier Fuel Purchased
.................... (Name) ... (Steety .
(Sales Tax & Motor Fuel Tax Numbers) (City, State, ZIP)

Need Help?

For forms or publications, call toll free (from New York State only) 1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New York State, call
(518) 438-1073.

For information, call the Business Tax Information Center toll free (from the continental U.S. only) 1 800 972-1233. You can also call -
toll free (from New York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829). From areas outside New York State, call (518) 438-8581.

Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Persons with Disabilities - In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our lobbies, offices,
meeting rooms and other facilities are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have questions about special accommodations
for persons with disabilities, please call the information and assistance numbers listed above.

Hotline for the Hearing and Speech Impaired - If you have a hearing or speech impairment and have access to a
telecommunications device for the deaf (TDD), you can get answers to your New York State tax questions by calling our toll-free
hotline 1 800 634-2110 (within New York State). Hours of operation are from 9:00 a.m. to 4:15 p.m., Monday through Friday. If you
do not own a TDD, check with independent living centers or community action programs to find out where machines are available
for public use.

If you need to write, address your letter to: NYS Tax Department, Taxpayer Assistance Bureau, W A Harriman Campus, Albany
NY 12227.




