
2001 calendar-yr. filers, check  box:
Other filers enter tax period:

beginning

ending

CT-250 New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Credit for Purchase of an
Automated External Defibrillator
Tax Law — Sections 210.25, 1456(j), and 1511(l)

Name Employer identification number

File this form with Form CT-3, CT-3-A, CT-3-S, CT-3-S-A, CT-32, CT-32-A, CT-32-S, CT-33, or CT-33-A.

Part I – Computation of credit (attach additional sheets if necessary)

A B C D E
Defibrillator name/model # Date purchased Cost Maximum Credit

credit (enter the lesser of
column C or column D)

$500

$500

$500

$500

$500

Total column E amounts from attached sheets (if any) ................................................................................

1 Total credit computed for the current tax year (add column E amounts) ........................................................ 1 •

Part II – Computation of credit used

2 Tax before credits (see instructions) .............................................................................................................. 2

3 Enter other tax credits used (see instructions) .............................................................................................. 3

4 Net tax (subtract line 3 from line 2) ................................................................................................................. 4

5 Tax limitation - (enter appropriate tax)

Article 9-A - enter the tax on minimum taxable income or fixed dollar minimum tax, whichever is larger.
Article 32 or 33 - enter minimum tax of $250 ........................................................................................... 5

6 Credit limitation (subtract line 5 from line 4; if line 5 is greater than line 4, enter “0”) ............................................ 6 •
7 Credit used for the current tax year (enter line 1 or line 6 amount, whichever is less, and transfer to the

appropriate tax return) ................................................................................................................................. 7 •

Instructions

General information
Chapter 407 of the Laws of 1999 amended the Tax Law to allow
a credit for purchase of an automated external defibrillator, as
defined under section 3000-b of the Public Health Law. The
credit applies to tax years beginning on or after
January 1, 2001. A taxpayer may claim the credit for each
automated external defibrillator purchased (other than for
resale) during the tax year.

Eligibility

The following taxpayers are eligible to claim the credit:
— General business corporations taxable under Article 9-A;
— Banking corporations taxable under Article 32; and
— Insurance corporations taxable under Article 33.

(continued on back)



Need help?
Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 a.m. to

4:25 p.m. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

For business tax information, call the
New York State Business Tax
Information Center: 1 800 972-1233

For general information: 1 800 225-5829

To order forms and publications: 1 800 462-8100

From areas outside the U.S. and
outside Canada: (518) 485-6800

Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
available 24 hours a day,
7 days a week. 1 800 748-3676

Internet access: www.tax.state.ny.us

Hotline for the hearing and speech impaired:
1 800 634-2110 from 8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m. (eastern time),
Monday through Friday. If you do not own a
telecommunications device for the deaf (TDD), check with
independent living centers or community action programs
to find out where machines are available for public use.

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our
lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are
accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have
questions about special accommodations for persons
with disabilities, please call 1 800 225-5829.

If you need to write, address your letter to:
NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE BUREAU
W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
ALBANY NY 12227

Credit amount
The amount of the credit allowed for each automated external
defibrillator purchased (other than for resale) during the tax year
is equal to the lesser of:
— the cost to the taxpayer of the automated external

defibrillator; or
— $500.

There is no limit on the number of automated external
defibrillators purchased during the tax year on which the credit
may be claimed. However, the credit cannot exceed $500 for
each unit purchased. The credit cannot reduce the tax to less
than the following minimum taxes:
— the larger of the tax on minimum taxable income base or

fixed dollar minimum tax as computed under Article 9-A;
— the fixed minimum tax of $250 computed under Article 32; or
— the fixed tax of $250 under Article 33.

Any amount of the credit not applied against the current tax
year may not be carried over to the following year or years. The
credit is not refundable. Any amount of the credit not applied
against the current tax year may not be claimed as an
overpayment of tax. The credit cannot be applied against the
metropolitan transportation business tax surcharge
(MTA surcharge) under Articles 9-A, 32 or 33.

Definition
Section 3000-b(1)(a) of the Public Health Law provides that an
automated external defibrillator means a medical device,
approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration,
that: (i) is capable of recognizing the presence or absence, in a
patient, of ventricular fibrillation and rapid ventricular
tachycardia; (ii) is capable of determining without intervention
by an operator, whether defibrillation should be performed on
the patient; (iii) upon determining that defibrillation should be
performed, automatically charges and requests delivery of an
electrical impulse to the patient’s heart; and (iv) then, upon
action by the operator, delivers an appropriate electrical impulse
to the patient’s heart to perform defibrillation.

Line instructions
General business corporations taxable under Article 9-A (other
than New York S corporations), banking corporations taxable
under Article 32, and insurance corporations taxable under
Article 33 complete Part I and Part II.

New York S corporations: complete Form CT-250 through
line 1 and include the amount from line 1 on Form CT-34-SH.

CT-250 (2001) (back)

Part I – Computation of credit
Column A - Enter the name and model number of each
automated external defibrillator (as defined under
section 3000-b of the Public Health Law) that you purchased
(other than for resale) during the current tax year.

Column B - Enter the date that the automated external
defibrillator listed in column A was purchased.

Column C - Enter the cost of the automated external
defibrillator listed in column A. The term cost means the basis of
the property as defined in section 1012 of the Internal Revenue
Code (IRC).

Column E - Enter for each automated external defibrillator
listed in column A, the lesser of:
— the cost of the automated external defibrillator as shown in

column C; or
— the $500 maximum shown in column D.

The credit amount cannot exceed $500 for each unit
purchased.

If you purchased more than five automated external
defibrillators, list the requested information on a separate sheet
and attach the list to this form.

Part II – Computation of credit used
New York S corporations: Do not complete Part II. You cannot
apply the credit that originates in a New York S year against the
New York State corporation franchise tax under Articles 9-A
and 32. The credit is allowed to individuals, estates, and trusts
who are shareholders of an electing New York S corporation.
The amount of the credit allowed each shareholder is his or her
pro rata share of the credit as computed by the New York
S corporation. Shareholders of the New York S corporation can
obtain their share of the credit from the New York S corporation.
For further information see Form IT-250.

Line 2 - Enter your franchise tax before credits from the
following forms:
— Form CT-3, line 78;
— Form CT-3-A, line 77;
— Form CT-32, line 5;
— Form CT-32-A, line 5;
— Form CT-33, line 11; and
— Form CT-33-A, line 16.

Line 3 - Enter the total amount of any tax credit or credits (other
than this credit) that were applied against the current year’s
franchise tax. Refer to the instructions of your franchise tax
return to determine the ordering of credits.
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