New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form FT-945/1045
Report of Sales Tax Prepayment

FT-945/1045-1

(4/00)

On Motor Fuel/Diesel Motor Fuel

General instructions
Who must file this report

1. Motor fuel distributors registered under Article 12-A of the -

Tax Law, wholesalers, jobbers, and others who sell motor
fuel not exclusively at retail service stations.

2. Diesel motor fuel distributors registered under Article 12-A
of the Tax Law, other than a distributor who is a retailer of
heating oil only. A vendor who is registered as a distributor
of kero-jet fuel only must file this report monthly even if the
vendor did not import any fuel during the périod covered
by this report.

- Diesel motor fuel is kerosene, crude oil, fuel oil, and other
middle distillate and motor fuel suitable for use in the
operation of a diesel engine. It does not include that special
grade of diesel product not suitable as a fuel used in the
operation of a motor vehicle engine specifically designated
No. 4 diesel fuel or No. 5 or No. 6 oil. (See Notice N-89-63
for further definition of No. 4 diesel fuel.)

Filing requirements

You must file Form FT-945/1045 in addition to any other
sales tax return required. Do not include the amount of tax
paid with this report on any other return or schedule.

This report is due within 20 days from the end of the month
covered by the report. Reports delivered by courier,
messenger or similar services must reach the Tax
Department on or before the due date to be timely filed.
Reports that meet the following conditions will be considered
filed on time, even if received after the due date.

When the due date falis on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal
holiday, you are permitted to file on the next business day.

United States mail

* the United States Postal Service postmark date must be
on or before the due date of the report.

Privately metered mail
* the metered date must be on or before the due date,

» the report must be delivered to the United States Postal
Service on or before the due date, and

» the report must be received by the time the same class of
mail sent from the same place is ordinarily received when
delivered by the United States Postal Service.

If using a private delivery service, please see Publicatidn 55,
Designated Private Delivery Services, for special rules.

Failure to file this report, filing a faise report, or failure to pay
the tax due, if any, may subject you to criminal or civil
penalties, or both, under the New York State Tax Law. The
minimum penalty for failure to file on time is $50, even if no
tax is due.

Specific instructions

If the report you are submitting does not have a
preaddressed label, please complete the name and address
portion, including your sales tax identification number.

Include your business telephone number and the number at
which you can be reached during the day, if different.

Enter the exact legal name of the business. For a
corporation, use the name as it appears on the Certificate of

~ Incorporation; for an unincorporated business, use the name

in which the business owns property or acquires debt; for a
partnership, use the partnership name. A sole proprietor must
use the name of the individual owner.

Enter the trade name, doing-business-as name, or assumed
name if different from the legal name. For an unincorporated
business, use the name filed with the county clerk’s office
under section 130 of the General Business Law.

Enter your méiling address.

Change of business information

If there have been any changes in your business name,
identification number, mailing address, business address, -
telephone number, or owner/officer/responsible person
information, complete Form DTF-95, Change of Business
Information. To request Form DTF-95, call toll free

1 800 462-8100. From areas outside the U.S. and outside
Canada, call (518) 485-6800. ‘

Registered distributors of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel are
not required to report inventory on this form; therefore, they

‘must complete only Parts I and 11. Motor fuel wholesalers,

jobbers, etc., must complete Parts 11T and 1V, and attach the
required supplemental information.

Note: The vendor collection credit does not apply to the
prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or diesel motor fuel reported
on Form FT-945/1045 (see TSB-M-94(3)S).

Part I - Computation of sales tax prepayment
on motor fuel

Only motor fuel distributors registered under Article 12-A
must report the sales tax required to be prepaid on motor
fuel. No other person can acquire motor fuel without the
required sales tax prepayment included in the purchase
price.

To compute the sales tax due on motor fuel in each region,
add the number of gallons of regular, mid-grade, and
premium motor fuel subject to tax. Multiply the total by the
sales tax prepayment per gallon shown for that region on
Form FT-945/1045.

Note: The sales tax prepayment per gallon indicated in
Column c is the appropriate regional average retail sales
price multiplied by the rate for Region 1 or Region 2 (7% and
6% respectively) rounded to the nearest one-tenth of a cent.
(See Publication 790, Chart for Prepayment of Sales Tax on
Motor Fuel)

Once you or your supplier reports the prepaid sales tax in
one region, do not adjust the prepayment (on the fuel or this
report) for any subsequent sale in the other region. If prepaid
sales tax has been imposed initially in Region 1, for example,
that is the prepaid tax that must be passed through, even if
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the fuel is later sold in Region 2. The only adjustment you
make is the inventory adjustment that you must make when
the regional average retail sales price changes (see Form
FT-945/1045-1 Supplement, Supplement to Instructions for
Completing Form FT-945/1045).

Lines 1, 2, and 3 — Report the number of gallons of motor
fuel in Region 1 subject to prepayment of sales tax. This
includes all fuel imported, caused to be imported,
compounded, or produced in New York City (counties of
Bronx, Kings (Brooklyn), New York (Manhattan), Queens,
and Richmond (Staten Island)), and the counties of
Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and
Westchester.

Line 4 — Add lines 1, 2, and 3, Column b, and multiply the
total by the sales tax prepayment per gallon indicated in
Column c for Region 1. Enter the result in Column d.

Lines 5, 6, and 7 — Report the number of gallons of motor
fuel in Region 2 subject to prepayment of sales tax. This
includes all fuel imported, caused to be imported,
compounded, or produced in Region 2, which consists of all
counties in New York State not in Region 1.

Line 8 — Add lines 5, 6, and 7, Column b, and multiply the
total by the sales tax prepayment per gallon indicated in
Column c, for Region 2. Enter the result in Column d.

Line 9 — Add lines 4 and 8, Column d. This is the gross
prepayment of sales tax due on motor fuel.

Line 10a — Enter the amount of sales tax prepayments on
motor fuel sold to exempt purchasers or motor fuel taken out
of inventory and delivered out of state by you, either to your
own facility or to your customers.

This amount may include:
* the prepayment computed on line 9 for such fuel,

* sales tax prepard to your supplier of such fuel purchased in
this or a prior period, or

* sales tax prepaid directly to the Tax Department for a prior
period.

Line 10b — Enter the amount of refunds of prepaid sales tax
on motor fuel you requested on Form AU-629, Application for
Reimbursement of Taxes Paid on Fuel Sold to Governmental
Entities by Registered Distributors, for this month. This figure
should be the total of all refunds you claimed on

Form AU-629 that cover the month reported on this return.

Line 10c — Subtract the amount on line 10b from the
amount on line 10a. This is your net credit for sales to
exempt purchasers or out-of-state deliveries.

Line 11 — Enter the amount of the sales tax prepayment
(see instructions for line 10a regarding amount of
prepayments) on motor fuel lost due to shrinkage,
evaporation, and handling (not to exceed two percent of the
fuel stored), or casualty losses.

Casualty losses — An adjustment to the number of gallons
of motor fuel subject to prepaid sales tax is allowed for any
motor fuel lost or destroyed due to an accident (such as a
fire) that occurs while the motor fuel is being held or
transported for sale other than at retail.

You must submit a detailed report of the casualty loss, anda
request to take a credit for the tax paid on product lost, to the
address below within 24 hours of the occurrence. The

adjustment is reportable on the Form FT-945/1045 covering
the month in which the loss occurs.

Send your request to: NYS Tax Department, Transaction and
Transfer Tax Bureau FACCTS, 855 Central Avenue, Albany
NY 12206,

You must attach substantiation for all credits reported on
line 11.

Line 12 — Enter the total of the amounts reported on
lines 10c and 11. ’

Line 13 — Net sales tax prepayment due on motor fuel.
Subtract line 12 from line 9 and enter the result. If the amount
on line 12 is greater than the amount on line 9, enter the
result in parentheses and see Note under the instruction for
line 21.

Part II - Computation of sales tax prepayment
on diesel motor fuel L

To compute the sales tax due on diesel motor fuel in each
region, multiply the number of gallons of diesel motor fuel
subject to tax by the sales tax prepayment per galion-shown
for that region.

Note: The sales tax prepayment per gallon indicated in
Column b is the appropriate regional average retail sales
price multiplied by the rate for Region 1 or Region 2 (7%
and 6% respectively) rounded to the nearest one-tenth
of a cent. (See Publication 787, Chart for Prepayment of
Sales Tax on Diesel Motor Fuel.) i

Transactions subject to the prepayment to be reported on
lines 14 and 15 include:

* The first sale of enhanced diesel motor fuel to a distributor
or retailer of heating oil only. Enhanced diesel motor fuel
includes diesel fuel, No. 1 diesel fuel, and enhanced No. 2
fuel oil (the blended product that results from the mixing of
No. 2 fuel oil with kerosene or cetane improver to make it
more suitable to operate in a motor vehicle diesel engine).

* The sale of previously untaxed diesel motor fuel, whether
enhanced or unenhanced, when delivered to a filling station
or into a repository equipped with a hose or apparatus for
dispensing fuel into the tank of a. motor vehicle.

* The delivery of previously untaxed diesel motor fuel,
whether enhanced or unenhanced, to your own filling
station.

The requirement to prepay sales tax on diesel motor fuel
does not apply to the delivery of water-white kerosene at a
filling station or other retail vendor, if the vendor sells the
water-white kerosene exclusively for heating purposes in
containers of no more than 20 galions.

Do not include any prepaid tax passed through to you by
your supplier. Report only the prepayment of sales tax that
you are responsible for paying directly to the Tax

‘Department.

Once the prepaid sales tax has been reported and paid in
one region, whether by you or your supplier, do not adjust the -
prepayment (on the fuel or this report) for any subsequent

sale in the other region. In other words, if prepaid sales tax
has been imposed initially in Region 1, that is the prepayment
that must be passed through, even if the fuel is later sold in
Region 2.




Line 14 — Report in Column a the number of gallons of
diesel motor fuel in Region 1 subject to prepayment of sales
tax. These are the sales in New York City (counties of Bronx,
Kings (Brooklyn), New York (Manhattan), Queens, and
Richmond (Staten Island)), and the counties of Dutchess,
Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and
Waestchester. Multiply the amount in Column a by the sales
tax prepayment in Column b and enter the result in

Column c.

Line 15 — Report in Column a the number of gallons of
diesel motor fuel in Reglon 2 subject to prepayment of sales
tax. These are the sales in all counties in New York State not
in Region 1. Multiply the amount in Column a by the sales tax
prepayment in Column b and enter the result in Column c.

Line 16 — Add lines 14 and 15, Column c. This is the gross
prepayment of sales tax due on diesel motor fuel.

Line 17a — Enter the amount of sales tax prepaid to your
supplier that was not passed through on your sale of that fuel
because your sale was:

* exempt from both the prepaid tax and the tax at retail (for
example, sales to government agencies or for use in
farming);

* subject to the tax at retail only (for example, sales of fuel
used for heating), but excluding sales made through a retail
filling station where the appropriate credit must be claimed
on Schedule FR (Form ST-100.10, ST-810.10, or
ST-101.10); or :

* taken out of inventory and delivered out of state by you'
either to your own facility or to your customer.

Line 17b — Enter the amount of refunds of prepaid sales tax
on diesel motor fuel you requested on Form AU-629,
Application for Reimbursement\of Taxes Paid on Fuel Sold to
Governmental Entities by Registered Distributors, for this
month. This figure should be the total of all refunds you
claimed on Form AU-629 that cover the month reported on
this return.

Line 17¢c — Subtract the amount on line 17b from the
amount on line 17a. This is your net credit for sales to
exempt purchasers or out-of-state deliveries.

Line 18 — Enter the amount of the sales tax prepaid to your
supplier on diesel motor fuel lost due to casualty losses.

Casualty losses — An adjustment to the number of gallons
of diesel motor fuel subject to prepaid sales tax is allowed for
any diesel motor fuel lost or destroyed due to an accident
(such as a fire) that occurs while the diesel motor fuel is
being held or transported for sale other than at retail.

You must submit a detailed report of the casualty loss, and a
request to take a credit for the tax paid on product lost, to the
address below within 24 hours of the occurrence. The
adjustment is reportable on the Form FT-945/1045 covering
the month in which the loss occurs.

Send your request to: NYS Tax Department, Transactlon and
Transfer Tax Bureau FACCTS 855 Central Avenue, Albany
NY 1 2206 :

You must attach substantlatlon for all credits reported on
line 18. .

Line 19 — Enter the total of the amounts reported on lines
17c and 18.
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Line 20 — Subtract line 19 from line 16 and enter the result.
This is the net sales tax prepayment due on diesel motor
fuel. If the amount on line 19 is greater than the amount on
line 16, enter the result in parentheses and see Note under
the instruction for line 21.

Line 21 — Total sales tax prepayment due (motor fuel and
diesel motor fuel). Add lines 13 and 20. This is the total sales
tax prepayment due on motor fuel and diesel motor fuel.

Note: If the amount on line 13 or 20 is a credit amount,
you may offset the credit due on either line by the
amount of tax due on the other. Enter the difference on
line 21. If the sales tax prepayment due is not sufficient
to offset the entire credit due, you must apply for a
refund of the excess credit by filing the appropriate
refund application.

Line 22 — Only vendors enrolled in the PrompTax
program may use this line.

Enter on this line the PrompTax payment made during the
month covered by this return and attach your Form
FT-945/1045-A, Monthly Schedule FT.

Line 23 — Balance due — Subtract line 22 from line 21.
Send this amount with your return and any required
attachments to the applicable address listed on the back of
Form FT-945/1045.

Part III — Inventory reconciliation

Filers required to complete this part must report only motor
fuel held in New York State for sale other than at retail
service stations. You must report motor fuel held in

New York State for sale at retail service stations on

Form FT-943, Quarterly Inventory Report by Retail Service
Stations and Fixed Base Operators.

Line 24 — Indicate the number of gallons of motor fuel on
hand at the beginning of the month. The current month’s
opening inventory should be the same as the previous
month’s closing inventory; attach an explanation if these
figures do not correspond.

Line 25 — Enter the total number of gallons of motor fuel
purchased in New York State during the month.

Line 26 — Report any gain or loss to inventory due to
expansion, evaporation, etc. Attach an explanation for all
gains, losses, -and credits claimed on this line. If the net
adjustment on line 26 is a loss, write (L) in parentheses after
the amount reported.

Line 27 — Add lines 25 and 26 to determine the net
adjustments to inventory. If the adjustment on line 26 is a
loss, subtract line 26 from line 25.

Line 29 — Enter the total number of gallons:

* sold (both taxable and nontaxable), including exchanges,
consignment, and commission sales,

* used,

* transferred out of New York State by you during the month,
or

* placed in inventory at a retail servnce station owned or
operated by you.

Line 30 — Subtract line 29 from line 28. This is your closing
inventory for the month; it should also be your opemng
inventory for next month.
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Part IV - Supplemental information

All sellers of motor fuel, other than distributors registered under Article 12-A of the Tax Law, must attach a supplemental
schedule to this return that provides information about motor fuel purchased during the month.

The following information must be provided on the supplemental schedule:
1. Your name, address, and sales tax vendor identification number as they appear on the label on your Form FT-945/1045.

2. Each supplier's name, complete address, and sales tax and motor fuel tax registration numbers. This information should be
as it appears on the Form FT-935, Certification of Prepayment of Sales Tax and Payment of Motor Fuel Tax and the
Petroleum Business Tax, or other document given to you certifying that these taxes have been paid.

3. Amounts of fuel purchased, by type (regular, mid-grade, and premium).
The following format should be used:

(Your name, address, and sales tax vendor identification number)

Name and identification numbers . Type of o Total gallons
of supplier Address of supplier fuel purchased
(Name) (Street)
............. ('S"él'é's"t'é'i'EHJ'r'ﬁb'fc'ir"fﬁéf't'é'i'h'd}ﬁﬁér'é)"'"""""'" (CltystateZlP)

.................................................................................................................................................

.....................................................................................................

...........................................................................................

Privacy notification

The right of the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance and the Department of Taxation and Finance to collect and maintain
personal information, including mandatory disclosure of social security numbers in the manner required by tax regulations,
instructions, and forms, is fouhd in Articles 8, 28, and 28-A of the Tax Law; and 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

The Tax Department uses this information primarily'tb determine and administer sales and use taxes or liabilities under the
Tax Law, and for any other purpose authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of the Registration and Data Services Bureau, NYS Tax Department,
Building 8 Room 924, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone 1 800 225-5829. From areas outside the U.S.
and outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800. :

Need help?

: Hotline for the hearing and speech impaired: :
Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 am. to ) 1500 Ge-210 from 6:30 am 0 4:25 pom. (vastern ime),
4:25 p.m. (eastern time), Monday through Friday. T ° D Monday through Friday. If you do not own a
For business tax information, call the . telecommunications device for the deaf (TDD), check with

New York State Business Tax independent living centers or community action programs

Information Center: 1 800 972-1233 to find out where machines are available for public use.

For general information: 1 800 225-5829 @ Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the
N Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our

To order forms and publications: 1800 462-8100 H lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are

From areas outside the U.S. and accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have

outside Canada: (518) 485-6800 questions about special accommodations for persons with

isabilities, pl I} 1 800 225~ .
bt Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are disabilities, please ca 5-5829

= available 24 hours a day, 1800 748-3676 : If you need to write, address your letter to:
7 days a week. NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE BUREAU

Internet access: http://www.tax.state.ny.us W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
]

ALBANY NY 12227




