New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form CT-186-A

CT-186-A-1

Utility Services Tax Return — Gross Operating Income

e Tax Law — Article 9, Section 186-a

Up-to-date information affecting your 2003 tax
return

Visit the Corporate Franchise Tax Up-to-Date Information page on
our Web site at www.nystax.gov for Tax Law changes or forms
corrections that occurred after the forms and instructions were
printed.

Changes for 2003

Temporary increase in the mandatory first installment of
estimated tax — The Tax Law has been amended to provide a
temporary increase in the mandatory first installment for taxpayers
whose preceding year’s tax, exclusive of the Metropolitan
Transportation Authority (MTA) tax surcharge, exceeds $100,000.
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2003, but before
January 1, 2006, these taxpayers are required to pay a first
installment equal to 30% of the preceding year’s tax. Additionally,
taxpayers who are required to pay their mandatory first installment
at the 30% rate and are subject to the MTA tax surcharge are also
required to calculate their estimated tax for the MTA tax surcharge
at 30% of the preceding year's MTA tax surcharge. The remaining
three estimated tax payments are adjusted so that the total
payments do not exceed 100% of the estimated tax due. For tax
years beginning on or after January 1, 2006, the mandatory first
installment reverts to 25% of the preceding year’s tax.

The mandatory first installment of estimated tax and estimated
MTA tax surcharge remains at 25% of the preceding year’s tax and
tax surcharge, respectively, for those taxpayers whose preceding
year’s tax exceeded $1,000, but was less than or equal to
$100,000. For more information, see TSB-M-02(5)C.

General information

You must report gross operating income on a calendar-year basis
even if you maintain your records and report to the Internal
Revenue Service (IRS) using a fiscal accounting period.

Tax rate
The tax rate on gross operating income is as follows:
Tax period Rate
January 1, 2003, through December 31, 2003 ..... .85%
January 1, 2004, through December 31, 2004 ..... 4%
January 1, 2005, and thereafter ...........ccccevveeennee 0%

Who must file Form CT-186-A

A utility, person, corporation, company, association, or joint-stock
association not subject to the supervision of the New York State
Department of Public Service that engages in the sale or furnishing
of gas, electricity, steam, water, or refrigeration service through the
use of mains, pipes, or wires for ultimate consumption or use by
the purchaser in New York State, must file this return whether or
not a tax is due. Those who are subject to the supervision of the
Department of Public Service must file Form CT-186-P.

Excise tax on telecommunication services — If you are a
provider of telecommunication services that also sells electricity,
steam, gas, water, or refrigeration service, do not file this form; file
Form CT-186-E to report the tax imposed by sections 186-a and
186-e.

Examples of taxpayers required to file Form CT-186-A include:

A. Owners of apartment buildings, office buildings, hotels, and
similar establishments within New York State who purchase gas,
electricity, steam, water, or refrigeration, and resell or furnish
any part or all of the commodity to a guest or tenant at
identifiable, flat, or metered rates. See Special rules for
landlords on page 3 for additional information.

B. All persons including owners of cogeneration facilities or
manufacturing plants who sell gas, electricity, steam, water, or
refrigeration to a purchaser through the use of mains, pipes, or
wires. See Special rules for landlords on page 3 for additional
information.

The following taxpayers must file Form CT-186-A if they sell gas or

electricity, or gas or electric service:

C. Municipalities, political and civil subdivisions, and public districts
that sell or furnish gas, electricity, or gas or electric service
(including the sale of the transportation, transmission, or
distribution of gas or electricity), which do not qualify for the
exemption in paragraph 2 under Exemption from tax below.

D. Municipalities engaged in the retail sale of electricity or the
transportation, transmission, or distribution of electricity, which
do not qualify for the exemption in paragraph 3 under Exemption
from tax below.

Taxpayers described in C and D above must include receipts from
the sale of gas or electricity, or gas or electric service, on line 15,
and include receipts from the transportation, transmission, or
distribution of gas or electricity by means of conduits, mains, wires,
lines, and similar means on line 16. These taxpayers should not
include on lines 15 or 16 any receipts from the sale or furnishing of
steam, water, or refrigeration, or any receipts from the
transportation, transmission, or distribution of steam, water, or
refrigeration by means of conduits, mains, wires, lines, and similar
means.

If gross operating income does not exceed $500 for the year, you
are exempt from the payment of tax. However, you must still file this
annual return.

Exemption from tax — The following are exempt from taxation
under section 186-a and do not have to file Form CT-186-A:

1. New York State, municipalities, political and civil subdivisions
of New York State, or municipality and public districts, but only
when selling or furnishing steam, water, or refrigeration
service.

2. Municipalities, political and civil subdivisions, and public
districts that sell or furnish gas, electricity, and gas or electric
service (including the sale of the transportation, transmission,
or distribution of gas or electricity), but only if they own and
operate facilities used to generate electricity or to distribute
electricity or gas, and sell and distribute such electricity or gas
solely at retail and solely within their jurisdiction.

3. Municipalities engaged in the retail sale of electricity or the
sale of transportation, transmission, or distribution of
electricity, where all such electricity has been generated solely
by and purchased solely from New York State or a public
authority of New York State (New York State Power Authority).
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4. Not-for-profit corporations and associations described in
section 1116(a)(4) of the Tax Law, organized and operated
exclusively for religious, charitable, or educational purposes,
only when the organization resells gas or electricity, or gas or
electric service, as landlord to its tenants in buildings owned
by the organization.

5. A corporation leasing from a city in New York State a water
works system to supply water at cost to relieve water pollution
in a river within that city.

6. Limited dividend housing corporations organized under the
Private Housing Finance Law.

Other surcharges, taxes, and fees that may apply

Metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA
surcharge) — All corporations that file Form CT-186-A must
answer the question above line A. Any business taxable under
Article 9, section 186-a of the Tax Law that does business in the
Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD) must file
Form CT-186-A/M and pay a metropolitan transportation business
tax surcharge on business done in the Metropolitan Transportation
Authority region (MTA surcharge). The MCTD includes the counties
of New York, Bronx, Kings, Queens, Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau,
Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester. If you are
not doing business in the MCTD, you must disclaim liability for the
MTA surcharge by answering No; you are not required to file

Form CT-186-A/M.

Foreign corporations — maintenance fee — A corporation
organized outside of New York State (a foreign corporation) that is
authorized to do business in New York State must pay an annual
maintenance fee of $300. Failure to pay the annual maintenance
fee or its equivalent in New York State taxes (including the MTA
surcharge) will result in annulment of the corporation’s
authorization to do business in New York State, under Articles 9,
9-A, or 32. Payment of corporation taxes are counted as payment
toward the $300 annual maintenance fee (but not the license fee
reported on Form CT-240). If the total of your corporation taxes is
greater than $300, you have satisfied the requirement to pay the
annual maintenance fee. If the total of your corporation taxes is
less than $300, and you are filing Form CT-183 or Form CT-186,
pay the $300 with that form. Indicate that you paid a total
corporation tax and maintenance fee of $300 with Form CT-183 or
CT-186, and make no remittance of tax with the other returns.

Foreign corporations — license fee — Foreign corporations
must also file Form CT-240, Foreign Corporation License Fee
Return, whether or not they are authorized to do business in

New York State. Form CT-240 must be filed with the corporation’s
first franchise tax return, or if the capital stock employed in

New York State has increased since the last license fee return was
filed.

When and where to file — The annual return is due on
March 15, following the close of each calendar year. If March 15
falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the return is due on
the next business day.

Mail your return to:

NYS CORPORATION TAX
PROCESSING UNIT

PO BOX 22038

ALBANY NY 12201-2038

Private delivery services
If you choose, you may use a private delivery service, instead of
the U.S. Postal Service, to file your return and pay tax. However, if,

at a later date, you need to establish the date you filed your return
or paid your tax, you cannot use the date recorded by a private
delivery service unless you used a delivery service that has been
designated by the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. (Currently designated
delivery services are listed in Publication 55, Designated Private
Delivery Services. See Need help? on page 4 of these instructions
for information on ordering forms and publications.) If you have
used a designated private delivery service and need to establish
the date you filed your return, contact that private delivery service
for instructions on how to obtain written proof of the date your
return was given to the delivery service for delivery. If you use any
private delivery service, whether it is a designated service or not,
address your return to:

STATE PROCESSING CENTER
431C BROADWAY
ALBANY NY 12204-4836

Extension of time for filing — If you cannot meet the filing
deadline, you may request an extension of time by filing

Form CT-5.9, Request for Three-Month Extension to File, on or
before the due date of the return for which you are requesting the
extension, and pay any amount you estimate to be due. An
extension of time granted by the IRS to file a federal tax return
does not extend the due date for filing Form CT-186-A.

Specific instructions

Change of address — If your address has changed, please enter
your new address in the appropriate area and check the box next
to the address so that we can update your address for this tax type.
Do not check this box for any change of business information other
than for your address.

Changes in business information — You must report any
changes in your business name, ID number, mailing address,
physical address, telephone number, or owner/officer information
on Form DTF-95, Business Tax Account Update. If only your
address has changed, you may use Form DTF-96, Report of
Address Change for Business Tax Accounts, to correct your
address for other tax types. You can get these forms by fax, phone,
or from our Web site. See Need help? on page 4 for the phone
number and Web address.

Amended return — If you are filing an amended return, please
check the Amended return box on the front page of the return.

Employer identification number, file number, and other
identifying information — For us to process your corporation tax
forms, it is important that we have the necessary identifying
information. You will find your employer identification number and
file number just above your corporation name and address on the
forms mailed to you. Keep a record of that information and include
it on each corporation tax form mailed.

If you use a paid preparer or accounting firm, make sure they use
your complete and accurate identifying information when
completing all forms.

NAICS business code number — Enter the six-digit NAICS
business activity code number from your federal return.

Whole dollar amounts — You may elect to show amounts in whole
dollars rather than in dollars and cents. Round any amount from

50 cents through 99 cents to the next higher dollar. Round any
amount less than 50 cents to the next lower dollar.



Negative amounts — Show any negative amounts in parentheses.

Percentages — When computing allocation percentages, convert
decimals into percentages by moving the decimal point two spaces
to the right. Carry percentages to four decimal places. For example:
5,000/7,500 = 0.6666666 = 66.6667%.

Line instructions

Line A — Make your payment in United States funds. We will
accept a foreign check or foreign money order only if payable
through a United States bank or if marked Payable in U.S. funds.

Computation of tax

Line 2 — Enter the amount of the long-term care insurance tax
credit that you are claiming. Attach Form CT-249, Claim for
Long-Term Care Insurance Tax Credit, to your return

(see TSB-M-00(5)C).

Line 4b — First installment of tax for the next period

If the tax amount shown on line 3 is more than $1,000 but not more
than $100,000 and you did not file Form CT-5.9, you must pay a
mandatory first installment of estimated tax for the next tax period.
Enter 25% of the total tax amount shown on line 3.

If the tax amount shown on line 3 is $100,000 or more and you did
not file Form CT-5.9, you must pay a mandatory first installment of
estimated tax for the next tax period. Enter 30% of the total tax
amount shown on line 3.

Additional installments for the next period, Form CT-400 — If
you expect your tax for the next period to exceed $1,000, you must
file Form CT-400 and pay additional installments of estimated tax
on June 15, September 15, and December 15.

Line 8 — Estimated tax penalties

If you underpaid your estimated tax, use Form CT-222,
Underpayment of Estimated Tax by a Corporation, to compute the
penalty. Attach Form CT-222, check the box, and enter the amount
of penalty on line 8. If no Form CT-222 penalty is due, enter “0” on
line 8.

Line 9 — Interest on late payments

If you do not pay the tax in full on or before the original due date
(without regard to any extension of time for filing) you must pay
interest on the unpaid amount from the original due date until you
pay it. Exclude any amount shown on line 4a or 4b.

Line 10 — Late filing and late payment penalties

Compute additional charges for late filing and late payment on the
amount of tax minus any payment made on or before the due date
(with regard to any extension of time for filing). Exclude any
amount shown on line 4a or 4b.

A. If you do not file a return when due, or if your request for
extension is invalid, add to the tax 5% per month up to 25%
(section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

B. If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, the
addition to tax in item A above cannot be less than the smaller
of $100 or 100% of the amount required to be shown as tax
(section 1085(a)(1)(B)).
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C. If you do not pay the tax shown on a return when due, add to
the tax %2% per month up to 25% (section 1085(a)(2)).

D. The total of the additional charges in items A and C may not
exceed 5% for any one month, except as provided for in item B
above (section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, attach a
statement to your return explaining the delay in filing, payment, or
both (section 1085).

Note: If you wish, you may compute the interest and penalty by

accessing our Web site at
wwwa3.tax.state.ny.us/PAIC/PAICHomeServlet

or you may call 1 800 972-1233, and we will compute the interest

and penalty for you.

Line 16 — Collection of debts from your refund

We will keep all or part of your refund if you owe a past due, legally
enforceable debt to the IRS or to a New York State agency. This
includes any state department, board, bureau, division,
commission, committee, public authority, public benefit corporation,
council, office, or other entity performing a governmental or
proprietary function for the state or a social services district. We will
refund any amount over your debt.

If you have any questions about whether you owe a past due,
legally enforceable debt to the IRS or to a state agency, contact the
IRS or that particular state agency.

For New York State tax liabilities only, call 1 800 835-3554 (outside
the U.S. and outside Canada call (518) 485-6800) or write to NYS
Tax Department, Tax Compliance Division, W A Harriman Campus,
Albany NY 12227.

Computation of gross operating income (other than
telephone and telegraph)

Use lines 17 through 22 to compute the tax on gross operating
income for the period January 1, 2003, through December 31,
2003, at the tax rate of .85%.

Line 17 — Enter the total receipts from the sale or furnishing of
each commodity made for ultimate consumption or use within
New York State. See Special rules for landlords below.

In determining gross operating income, receipts include cash,
credits, and property of any kind or nature, without any deductions
for the cost of property sold, the cost of materials used, labor,
services, or other costs, interest or discount paid, or any other
expense, except as stated in the instructions for line 20.

Special rules for landlords

Sales to landlords — Gross operating income also includes
receipts from utility services to a landlord for resale to a tenant for
consumption or use by the tenant as incidental to the landlord’s
renting of premises to the tenant, even though such sales are not
for ultimate consumption by the landlord. Utility services means the
furnishing of gas, electricity, steam, water, or refrigeration, and
services directly connected to the furnishing of gas, electricity,
steam, water, or refrigeration. Include these receipts with all other
utility service receipts on lines 17 and 18.

Sales by landlords — If all utility services purchased by a landlord
for resale to the tenants included the section 186-a tax, then the
landlord is not required to complete Form CT-186-A.
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If any utility services were purchased by a landlord for resale to
tenants that did not include the section 186-a tax, then complete
Form CT-186-A as follows:

* Receipts derived by a landlord from the resale of utility services
to a tenant are deemed to be equal to the landlord’s cost of the
same service (including any associated transportation cost).
Include these amounts on lines 17 and 18; do not include the
markup billed to the tenants.

e |f the tax under section 186-a was included on the purchase of a
utility service by the landlord, then the landlord may deduct the
cost of the same service (including any associated
transportation cost) on line 20. If the tax under section 186-a
was not included on the purchase by the landlord, then do not
deduct this cost on line 20.

Line 18 — Enter all receipts from the transportation, transmission,
or distribution of gas or electricity, and receipts from services
rendered for ultimate use within New York State that are directly
connected with the sale or furnishing of the commodity. Receipts
also include installation charges, service charges (other than
installation) that are connected with the sale or furnishing of the

commodity, and rentals within the state that in fact constitute
service charges. See Special rules for landlords on page 3.

Line 20 — Deductions allowed from gross operating income are
uncollectible accounts and taxes imposed by New York State, its
municipalities, or the federal government, for which the taxpayer is
merely a collecting agency for the taxing authority. In addition,
where a utility has passed on its section 186-a tax to you and you
resell that commodity or service, you may deduct your cost of that
commodity or service resold by you. Enter all deductions listed
above that are included as receipts on lines 17 and 18.

Article 2-1 of the general city law provides for certain rebates of
charges for energy in revitalization areas of New York City.
However, nothing contained in Article 2-1 shall be construed as
reducing the amount of the gross receipts subject to tax under
section 186-a of the Tax Law. See Special rules for landlords on
page 3.

Composition of prepayments claimed on Line 6 — If additional
space is necessary, enter see attached in this section, and attach
all relevant prepayment information. Transfer the total to line 28,
Total prepayments.

Need help?

www

Internet access: www.nystax.gov
(for information, forms, and publications)

Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
available 24 hours a day,

1 800 748-3676

Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to
5:00 PM. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

1800 462-8100

To order forms and publications:

Business Tax Information Center: 1800 972-1233
From areas outside the U.S. and

outside Canada: (518) 485-6800

Hotline for the hearing and speech impaired:
If you have access to a telecommunications device for the
deaf (TDD), contact us at 1 800 634-2110. If you do not
own a TDD, check with independent living centers or
community action programs to find out where machines are
available for public use.

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our
lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are
accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have
questions about special accommodations for persons
with disabilities, please call 1 800 972-1233.

If you need to write, address your letter to:
NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
BUSINESS TAX INFORMATION CENTER
W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
ALBANY NY 12227
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