New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form IT-2659
Estimated Tax Penalties for

IT-2659-1

— Partnerships and New York S Corporations

General instructions

Who must pay the underpayment penalty

In general, the partnership or S corporation may owe a penalty unless
the total estimated tax paid on behalf of all nonresident individuals and
corporate partners or shareholders is at least:

1) 90% of the estimated tax required to be paid for 2003; or

2) 100% of the estimated tax that would have been required to be paid
on behalf of partners or shareholders for 2002 had the law been in
effect for 2002 (110% of that amount if the entity is not primarily
engaged in farming or fishing and the New York source income
allocated to nonresident individuals and C corporations is more than
$150,000). For this purpose, the estimated tax must be computed
using the tax rates that apply for 2003.

Note: The total estimated tax paid calculation is used only to determine
if the partnership or New York S corporation owes a penalty for
underpayment of tax. It does not take into account whether the entity
properly allocated the total payment among the nonresident individuals
and corporate partners and shareholders.

In addition to the penalties that may be imposed upon the partnership
or New York S corporation, individual partners or shareholders may
also be subject to penalties on their individual income or corporate
franchise returns if they have not paid sufficient estimated tax for the
year.

Failure to pay estimated tax penalty on behalf of a
partner or shareholder

If a partnership or New York S corporation is required to pay estimated
tax on behalf of a partner or shareholder and fails to do so, the entity
will pay a penalty of $50 per partner or shareholder for each failure,
unless it is shown that the failure is due to reasonable cause and not
due to willful neglect.

Estimated tax for corporate partners means a corporate partner’s
distributive share of the partnership income derived from New York
sources for the year, multiplied by the highest rate of tax under Tax Law
section 210.1(a) for the year (7.5% for 2003), and reduced by the
corporate partner’s distributive share of allowable credits from the
partnership.

Estimated tax for nonresident individual partners and shareholders
means a partner’s or shareholder’s distributive share or pro rata share
of the entity’s income derived from New York sources for the year, less
the partner’s or shareholder’s share of certain partnership related
deductions allocated to New York State multiplied by the highest rate of
tax under Tax Law section 601 for the year (7.7% for 2003). This
amount is then reduced by the partner’s or shareholder’s distributive or
pro rata share of any allowable credits from the partnership or

New York S corporation.

Exceptions

» Estimated tax payments are not required for any partner or
shareholder whose estimated tax required to be paid for the tax year
by the partnership or New York S corporation is $300 or less.

* Estimated tax payments are not required for any partner or
shareholder if the entity is authorized to file a group return, and the
partner or shareholder has elected to be included on the group
return.

Estimated tax payments are only required for partners and
shareholders who are C corporations or nonresident individuals.
Estimated tax payments are not required for partners and shareholders
who are resident individuals, partnerships, S corporations, estates, or
trusts.

Exemptions — Even if partners or shareholders did not meet the
exceptions above, they may still claim exemption from estimated tax by
filing Form CT-2658-E, Certificate of Exemption from Partnership

Estimated Tax Paid on Behalf of Corporate Partners, or

Form IT-2658-E, Certificate of Exemption from Partnership or New York
S Corporation Estimated Tax Paid on Behalf of Nonresident Individual
Partners and Shareholders.

Corporate partners qualify to be exempt from partnership estimated tax
and file Form CT-2658-E by certifying that they either;

e are exempt from any tax imposed by New York State Tax Law,
Articles 9, 9-A, 32 and 33, or

e will comply in their own corporate capacity with the estimated tax
provisions and filing requirements.

A nonresident individual partner or shareholder qualifies to be exempt
from partnership and New York S corporation estimated tax and file
Form IT-2658-E by certifying that they will comply in their individual
capacity with the estimated tax provisions and filing requirements.

Overpayments of estimated tax — If the partnership or

S corporation overpays its estimated tax for the year, a refund will be
issued to the entity only if the entity can establish that the overpayment
was attributable to payments made on behalf of a partner or
shareholder for whom it was not required to pay estimated tax (for
example, the entity erroneously made a payment for a partner that is a
trust). Otherwise, the partner or shareholder will have to claim credit for
the estimated tax payment on their individual personal or corporation
tax return.

Penalty rates — The penalty rates will be based upon the federal
short-term interest rates, and will be adjusted quarterly. The federal
short-term rate for the first month of the previous calendar quarter,
rounded to the nearest whole percent, will be used to set the rates for
the next succeeding calendar quarter.

The federal short-term rate that applies during the third month following
the tax year will also apply during the first 15 days of the fourth month
following the tax year.

The penalty rate will be the federal short-term rate plus two percentage
points. The rates from April 15, 2003, through April 15, 2004, are as
follows:

April 15 to June 30, 2003 - 6%

July 1 to September 30, 20083 - 6%
October 1 to December 31, 2003 - 6%
January 1 to April 15, 2004 - 6%

Period of underpayment — The penalty is applied to the number of
days that the installment was not paid. Figure the period of the
underpayment by counting the number of days after the due date of the
installment to and including the date of payment, the last date in the
penalty rate period or the next installment due date, whichever is
earlier.

Specific instructions

Name and employer identification number (EIN)

Enter in the spaces at the top of the form the name of the partnership
or New York S corporation and the employer identification number.

Schedule A — Computation of estimated tax
underpayment

Use Schedule A to see if the partnership or New York S corporation
paid enough of its required annual estimated tax. If enough estimated
tax was not paid, use Schedule B or Schedule C to figure the penalty.

Do not include any partners or shareholders who meet the exceptions
or filed exemption certificates (see Exceptions and Exemptions above).

All filers must complete lines 1 through 27.
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Line 2 and line 16

The amounts to be entered on line 2 and line 16 include the total
partners’ or shareholders’ shares of the federal partnership deductions
for medical insurance and contributions to IRA, Keogh, and SEP plans
allocated to New York. These deductions are allocated to New York in
the same manner as the partnership or S corporation income is
allocated to New York. Do not include any deductions that are required
to be treated as itemized deductions on the partner’s or shareholder’s
federal income tax return. Also do not include the partner’s federal
deduction for one-half of the self-employment tax, since this deduction
is not treated as a partnership deduction for federal income tax
purposes.

Schedule B — Short method for figuring the penalty

If you paid 3/4 of the total estimated tax paid for 2003 on

September 15, 2003 and 1/4 of the total estimated tax paid for 2003 on
January 15, 2004, or made no estimated tax payments for the 2003 tax
year, complete lines 29 through 34 to arrive at the penalty due.
Otherwise, you must use the regular method in Schedule C.

Note: If any payment was made earlier than the due date, you may use
the short method, but using it may cause you to pay a larger penalty
than the regular method. If the payment was only a few days early, the
difference is likely to be small.

You may not use the short method if you made any estimated tax
payments late.

Line 30 — Enter the total of estimated taxes paid.

Line 33 — If the underpayment on line 31 was paid before April 15,
2004, figure the number of days the payment was made before April 15,
2004, and enter it in the computation for line 33.

Example: /f the line 31 underpayment of $2,050 was paid April 8,
2004, you would compute the figure for line 33 as follows: $2,050
(amount on line 31) x 7 (number of days before April 15, 2004) x
.00016 = $2.30.

Schedule C — Regular method for figuring your
underpayment

Line 37 — Enter the total estimated taxes paid.

Line 38 — Enter any overpayment (or underpayment) from the prior
payment period.

Line 39 — In column A, enter the amount from line 37. In column B, if
line 38 is an overpayment, add lines 37 and 38.

If line 38 is an underpayment, subtract line 38 from line 37.

Lines 42 through 46

Figure the penalty by applying the applicable rate against each
underpayment shown on line 40 and 41. The penalty is figured for the
number of days that the underpayment remained unpaid or to the next
payment due date, whichever is earlier.

The rates are established at various times through the year. During
2003, there was only one rate in effect over four periods.

Lines 42 through 45 are used to compute the portion of the penalty
attributable to different installment periods. For example, lines 42 and
43 are used to figure the penalty for the first installment period at 6%.
The factor .02003 at line 42 is used to compute the penalty for the

first installment if payment is made on January 15. If payment is made
before January 15, figure the factor using the number of days the
underpayment remained unpaid for the first installment. Line 43 is used
to compute the actual penalty amount by multiplying the underpayment
by the factor.

List your payments for 2003 — Before beginning to figure your
penalty, it will be helpful to organize and list the payments you made for
2008 in the manner presented in the tables below.

In each table, list only the payments made during the dates shown in
that table heading.

The following instructions will lead you through the procedures for
figuring the penalty.

Table 1 — Payments after
April 15, 2003, through September 15, 2003

A — Date B — Payments

Table 2 — Payments after
September 15, 2003, through January 15, 2004

A — Date B — Payments

Table 3 — Payments after
January 15, 2004, through April 15, 2004

A — Date B — Payments

Complete only those lines from line 42 through line 46 for periods in
which there are underpayments.

First installment — column A, lines 42 and 43

Line 42 — Enter on line 42, column A, the factor .02003 if no payment
was made before January 15, 2004. If a payment(s) was made after
September 15, 2003, but before December 31, 2003, compute the
number of days from September 15, 20083, to the date the payment
was made and divide by 365. If a payment was made after

December 31, 2003, but before January 15, 2004, compute the number
of days from January 1, 2004 to the date the payment was made and
divide by 366. Then multiply the result by the interest rate to arrive at
the factor to enter on line 42.

Line 43 — Compute line 43 by multiplying the underpayment on line 40
by the factor on line 42.

Second installment — column B, lines 44 and 45

Line 44 — Enter on line 44, column B, the factor .01491 if no payment
was made before April 15, 2004. If a payment(s) was made after
January 15, 2004, but before April 15, 2004, compute the number of
days from January 15, 2004, to the date the payment was made and
divide by 366. Then multiply the result by the interest rate to arrive at
the factor to enter on line 44.

Line 45 — Compute line 45 by multiplying the underpayment on line 41
by the factor on line 44.

Schedule D — Failure to pay estimated tax on behalf of
partners or shareholders who are corporations or
nonresident individuals

Complete Schedule D for any partner or shareholder for whom you

were required to pay estimated tax, but failed to do so. Attach additional
sheets if necessary.

Line 49 — Total penalty

Add the amounts from lines 46, 47, and 48 as applicable. Transfer the
amount from line 49 to the Payment enclosed box on the front of
Form IT-2659. Pay this amount, and make your check or money order
payable to Commissioner of Taxation and Finance.

Need help?

Internet access: www.nystax.gov
— (for information, forms, and publications)

\ Fax-on-demand forms: 1 800 748-3676

Personal Income Tax Information Center: 1 800 225-5829
From areas outside the U.S. and outside Canada: (518) 485-6800

Hearing and speech impaired (telecommunications device for the deaf
(TDD) callers only): 1 800 634-2110



