New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Monthly Schedule CT

Schedule for New York Vendors
to Report Connecticut Sales Tax

Use this form to report transactions for the period

April 1,2003, through April 30, 2003. >

Please correct your name and mailing address if shown incorrectly.

ST-809.1

(4/03)

0204

For Period Ending

New York Tax Registration Number

Connecticut Tax Registration Number

Federal Identification Number

If you have checked the final
return box on your New York
State tax return, check here |:|
and attach your Connecticut
Certificate of Authority.

If there have been any changes
in business information, see
instructions on back of this form.

[] Please check if your mailing address has changed.

[ Please check if your physical address has changed.
If this is a partial period schedule, enter dates covered.

From: To:

Filing Instructions

Use the preprinted tax schedule mailed to you.

® Verify that the correct Connecticut Tax Registration Number and
period ending appear on the schedule in the space provided.

File a completed ST-809.11, Monthly Schedule CT, with
Form ST-809, New York State and Local Sales and Use Tax Return
for Part-Quarterly Filers.

You must complete and file Form ST-809.11 even if no sales

were made or no tax is due.

Under no circumstances may you offset an overpayment to one
state against the tax due the other (see Line 10 on Page 2).

Send only one check or money order, made payable to
New York State Sales Tax, for the amount shown on Line 10
and the amount due to New York State from Form ST-809.

If you have any questions, please contact the Connecticut
Taxpayer Services Division at 860-297-5962 (from anywhere) or
1-800-382-9463 (in Connecticut), or visit the DRS Web site at:
www.drs.state.ct.us

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit

® Due date: 20th day after filing period shown above. ot .
y gp inquiries 24 hours a day by calling 860-297-4911.
Column 1 6% Column 2 3% Column 3 1%
1G Sales of goods >
1R Leases and rentals >
1S Labor and services >
2 Totals (add Lines 1G, 1R, and 1S)
3 Total deduction (see back) >
4 Balance subject to tax (subtract Line 3
from Line 2, but not less than zero)
5 Gross amount of tax due (multiply >
Line 4 by applicable tax rate)
6 Total gross amount of tax due (add Line 5 across, Columns 1, 2, and 3) » | 6
7 Credits (see instructions) > | 7
8 Net amount of tax due (subtract Line 7 from Line 6) 8
9 |Interest for late payment P> + Penalty for late filing | 4 =9
10 Total amount due (add Line 8 and Line 9) » 10

| declare under penalty of law that | have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete,
and correct. | understand that the penalty for willfully delivering a false return to DRS is a fine of not more than $5,000, or imprisonment for not more than 5 years, or both. The
declaration of a paid preparer other than the taxpayer is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Taxpayer’s Signature

Title

Date

For office use only
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Instructions

Vendor Collection Credit

The vendor collection credit does not apply to sales reported on this
schedule.

Change of Address or Business Information

If you need to update your sales tax mailing address, enter your correct
address on the label we provided. If you need to change your address for
other New York taxes, or change other business information, complete and
send in Form DTF-95, Business Tax Account Update. If only your address
has changed, you may use Form DTF-96, Report of Address Change for
Business Tax Accounts. For more information, see Has your address or
business information changed? on Form ST-809-1, Instructions for

Form ST-809, page 2. (As a multistate filer, you should place an M next to
the form number on Forms DTF-95 or DTF-96 to indicate your multistate filing
status.)

Effective April 1,2003

* Magazines by subscription and newspapers are subject to sales and use tax
at the rate of 6% (Column 1).

* Taxable advertising services for media advertising and cooperative direct mail
advertising are subject to sales and use tax at the rate of 3% (Column 2).

* Computer and data processing services remain taxable at the rate of 1%
(Column 3).

* The clothing and footwear exemption is reduced to $50.

Line Instructions

Line 1G Enter total gross receipts from the sale of tangible personal

property.

(a) Include on Line 1G receipts from:

e Sales of cigarettes and motor vehicle fuel;

e Tax-exempt sales;

e Total credit sales;

e Federal and state excise taxes and state petroleum products
gross earnings tax;

» Sales of heating fuel, electricity, and gas;
Shipping and delivery charges.

(b) Exclude from Line 1G receipts from:

* Installment payments from conditional or credit sales
previously reported,;

e Sales and use taxes;

* Sales of real estate;

¢ Commissions received, except sales agent services.

Line 1R Enter total gross receipts from the leasing and renting of tangible
personal property. Include on Line 1R receipts from:

* Royalties or periodic payments received;
Maintenance charges;

Cancellation charges;

Installation charges;

Shipping and delivery charges.

Line 1S Enter total gross receipts derived from rendering all services,
including but not limited to:
e Credit information and reporting services;
e Employment agencies and agencies providing personnel
services;

Photographic studio services;

Telephone answering services;

Stenographic services;

Business analysis, management, management consulting, and

public relations services;

* Advertising or public relations services not related to the
development of media advertising or cooperative direct mail
advertising;

* Business analysis, management, or management consulting
services rendered by a general partner or an affiliate to a limited
partnership;

* Telecommunications services.

Line 3 Enter total deduction. (See Deductions at right.)

Line 7 Credits — To receive authorized tax credits for any prior period, you
must have filed an amended return, and received a credit notice
from DRS. Attach the credit notice to your return.

Line 9 Interest — If this is a late or amended return, compute interest at 1%
per month, or fraction of a month, from the due date to the date of
payment.

Penalty for failure to pay tax when due — 15% of the tax due or
$50, whichever is greater.

Line 10 Total amount due — Add Line 8 and Line 9. If the total Connecticut
tax you have paid is greater than the amount you owe, do not

subtract the overpayment from the tax due to New York State. Under

no circumstances may you offset an overpayment to one state
against tax due the other.

Deductions

You must keep detailed records. Deductions allowable under Conn. Gen.
Stat. Sec. 12-412 include, but are not limited to:

» Sales of commercial trucks with gross vehicle weight rating over 26,000
pounds or operated actively and exclusively for carriage of interstate
freight, under a certificate or permit issued by the Interstate Commerce
Commission or its successor agency.

* Sales of food products for human consumption, vegetable seeds, and
food sold through vending machines and sales of certain nonfood
products purchased with food stamps. Food does not include alcoholic
beverages, soda, candy, gum, tobacco products, or food prepared for
immediate consumption.

* Sales of tangible personal property for exclusive use in agricultural
production if a copy of Form OR-248, Farmer Tax Exemption Permit, is
provided.

* Sales of machinery and its replacement, repair, component and
enhancement parts, materials, tools, and fuel for manufacturing
production.

» Sales of machinery materials, tools, equipment, and supplies used
predominantly in the production of printed material by a commercial
printer or in a related printing production process including publishing.

¢ Sales for commercial fishing. Sales of vessels, machinery, or equipment
for exclusive use on commercial fishing vessels. Sales of materials, tools,
and fuel used directly in commercial fishing.

» Sales of medicines, syringes, and needles by prescription.
* Sales of nonprescription medicines.

» Sales to exempt charitable or religious organizations.

* Sales to governmental agencies.

¢ Sales of certified items for air or water pollution abatement. Enter the
sales of tangible personal property or supplies to be incorporated into or
used and consumed in facilities whose primary purpose is the reduction,
control or elimination of air or water pollution, certified as approved for this
purpose by the Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection.

* Trade-ins. Enter total trade-in allowance on any like-kind item of tangible
personal property. All trade-ins, other than motor vehicles, farm tractors,
snowmobiles, vessels, aircraft, and certain construction equipment, must
be intended for resale.

* Returned goods taxed at 6%. Enter goods returned for credit within 90
days of date of sale.

¢ Sales of oxygen, blood, artificial devices, crutches, and wheelchairs.
Enter sales of oxygen, blood or blood plasma, prostheses or the sales or
repair services of crutches, walkers, wheelchairs, inclined stairway
chairlifts, etc., vital life support equipment, and replacement, repair, and
enhancement parts for this equipment.

¢ Sales of clothing or footwear under $50 each. This exemption does not
apply to purchases of: special clothing or footwear primarily designed for
athletic activity or protective use; jewelry, handbags, luggage, wallets,
umbrellas, watches, and similar items carried on or about the human
body.

* Sales of cloth and components and yarn used in the noncommercial
production of clothing.

* Funeral expenses. Enter sales of caskets used for burials and cremation
and the first $2,500 of tangible personal property for each funeral.

* Sales of aircraft having a maximum take-off of weight of 6,000 Ibs or
more and repair or replacement parts and repair services exclusively for
use in such aircraft owned or leased by an air carrier, or in significant
overhauling or rebuilding of aircraft on a factory basis.

* Materials, tools, fuels, and machinery and equipment to be used
primarily in manufacturing, as described in the Manufacturing Recovery
Act of 1992. Multiply applicable gross receipts by 50% (.50) and enter.

* Sales of machinery, equipment, supplies, tools, and fuel used directly in
the biotechnology industry.

» Sales of fabrication labor and repair and maintenance services for
vessels. Vessel means every description of watercraft other than
seaplane.

* Sales to direct payment permit holders. Direct payment permits allow
taxpayers to pay use tax on certain purchases directly to DRS rather than
paying sales or use taxes to vendors.

» Sales of college textbooks to full-time or part-time students enrolled at
institutions of higher education with presentation of valid student
identification cards. This exemption applies only to new and used books
and related workbooks required or recommended for courses.



