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ST-810
Quarterly
Instructions

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

ST-810-1 (2/04)

Instructions for Form ST-810

New York State and Local Quarterly
Sales and Use Tax Return

for Part-Quarterly Filers

For tax period:

December 1, 2003, through February 29, 2004

» Effective December 1, 2003, the combined state and local tax rate imposed in Otsego County increased to 8% %.
See ST-03-12, Otsego County Sales and Use Tax Rate Increase Effective December 1, 2003, for more information.

» Effective December 1, 2003, the combined state and local tax rate imposed in Tioga County increased to 8% %.
See ST-03-13, Tioga County Sales and Use Tax Rate Increase Effective December 1, 2003, for more information.

» Effective December 1, 2003, the combined state and local tax rate imposed in Delaware County increased to
8%%. See ST-03-14, Delaware County Sales and Use Tax Rate Increase Effective December 1, 2003, for more

information.

* If your return is filed late or if any tax due is not fully paid, you will be liable for penalty and interest. Additional
information on penalty and interest has been incorporated into these instructions. Please see page 3,@,

Determine penalty and interest.

* The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the new standard code system to describe
business establishments and industries, replacing the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes. Please select
the six-digit code from the enclosed Publication 910, NAICS Codes for Principal Business Activity for New York
State Tax Purposes, that best matches your primary business activity. Enter this six-digit code on Form ST-810,

page 4, in Step 9.

The New York State Tax Department is dedicated to answering your questions. Please call our Business Tax Information Center at
1 800 972-1233 for assistance. For updated tax news, downloadable forms, links to related sites, and other information, visit our Web site at:

www.nystax.gov

Please read this
section before
completing your return.

O Filing requirements

Monthly filing: If your combined total of taxable receipts,
purchases subject to tax, rents, and amusement charges is
$300,000 or more in a quarter, or if you are a distributor as defined
under Article 12-A and you have sold a total of 100,000 gallons or
more of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel (taxable or nontaxable), you
must file monthly returns beginning with the first month of the next
sales tax quarter. You must then continue to file monthly returns
until you no longer meet the above conditions for four consecutive
quarters. Call 1 800 972-1233 immediately to change to monthly
filing status and to obtain the necessary forms.

Importers and others registered under Article 12-A as distributors
of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel: Do not include on this return
(Form ST-810), or on the part-quarterly returns (Form ST-809), any
amounts reported on Form FT-945/1045, Report of Sales Tax
Prepayment on Motor Fuel/Diesel Motor Fuel.

Web site address: www.nystax.gov

Need help? Call 1 800 972-1233

Quarterly filing: If you are presently required to file part-quarterly
(monthly) returns and

e your total taxable receipts (including purchases subject to use
tax), rents, and amusement charges amounted to less than
$300,000 in every one of the last four quarters, or

e you are a distributor as defined under Article 12-A selling motor
fuel or diesel motor fuel, and you sold less than 100,000 gallons
in every one of the last four quarters,

you may request conversion to quarterly filing.

To change your filing period, contact the Business Tax Information
Center; see Need help? on page 4. If you fail to file a return on
time, you may be subject to penalty and interest charges.

O Preaddressed labels

Place the enclosed peel-and-stick preaddressed label in the
appropriate section on the front of the return (also be sure to
include your identification number and name on any schedules you
may be required to file). Please be sure to keep a copy of your
completed return for your records.

If you did not receive a return with a preaddressed label, complete
the identification number, name, and address boxes on the front of
the return.

To order forms, call 1 800 462-8100
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Entries in these examples are fictional.
Do not use these figures when completing your return.

Notax due? Check the box to the right and complete Step 1; in Step 3 on page 3, enter nane in boxes 13, 14, and 15; and complete Step 9.

You must file by the due date even if no tax is due. There is a $50 penalty for late filing of a no-tax-due return. Seea in instructions. D
Multiple If you are reporting sales tax for more than one business location and your identification number does not end in C, check the box to
locations?  the right and attach a list of your 10cations. .........ccccccoveeimrrerinsiresiennnnn.
Final return? Check the box to the right if you are discontinuing your business and this is your final return; complete this return and the back of

your Certificate of Authority. Attach the Certificate of Authority to the return. See 9 ininstructions. ... J
Has your address or business information changed? If so, check the box to the right and enter new mailing address on preprinted label above. Seee in instructions. ........ D

No tax due?

You must file a return even if you had no taxable sales and
made no purchases subject to tax. Check the box, enter your gross
sales and services in box 1, and write mene in boxes 13, 14, and 15
on page 3, Step 3. Then go to Step 9.

There is a $50 penalty for late filing of a no-tax-due return.

Final return?

If you have permanently discontinued your business, check the
box that follows Final return?, complete the back of your sales tax
Certificate of Authority, and attach it to your Form ST-810. (If you are
unable to return your certificate, attach an explanation.)

Has your address or business

information changed?
If you need to update your sales tax mailing
address, enter your correct address on the label we
provided. If you need to change your address for
other New York taxes, or change other business
information such as the name, ID number, physical
address, owner/officer information, or paid preparer
address, complete and send in Form DTF-95,
Business Tax Account Update. If only your address
has changed, you may use Form DTF-96, Report of
Address Change for Business Tax Accounts. Obtain
forms through fax-on-demand, Internet access, or
call one of the telephone assistance numbers listed
in the Need help? section on page 4.

Step 1 of 9 Gross sales and services

Enter total gross sales and services
inbox 1 ..o

I i 3,938.00

Do not include sales tax in the gross sales and services amount. Seeo in instructions.

Step 2 of 9 Identify required schedules

Check the box(es) on the right below, then complete the schedule(s) if necessary and
proceed to Step 3. Need to obtain schedules? See Need help? on page 4 of this form.

Enter gross sales and services

Enter the total taxable, nontaxable, and exempt sales and
services from your New York State business locations and from
locations outside New York State delivered into the state in box 1.
Exclude sales tax from this amount. Also, do not include sales
from Form ST-810.10, Quarterly Schedule FR for Part-Quarterly Filers .

Quarterly Description Check the box for each
schedule schedule you are attaching
b Use Form ST-810.2, Quarterly Schedule A for Part-Quarterly Filers, to report tax and taxable receipts from sales Of | o e =
A food and drink (restaurant meals, takeout, etc.) and from hotel/motel rQOm QCCI IRARN ekt Nuwmr == == -
County, as well 85 AdMiSSIONSua sl mmmr == == -_

Identify required schedules

Determine which schedules, if any, you are required to
complete and file with Form ST-810. Brief descriptions of
schedules A, B, FR, H, N, P, Q, and T are included on the front of
Form ST-810. For more detailed information, see the specific
schedule. Check the appropriate box on page 1 of Form ST-810 for

any schedules you are required to file. Complete the
required schedules, if any, and proceed to Step 3.

If you are filing Form ST-810.4, Quarterly

Schedule NJ for Part-Quarterly Filers, or

Form ST-810.11, Monthly Schedule CT, or both, do
not enter the sales information from the schedules
onto Form ST-810, but de include the amount of tax
due to New Jersey and Connecticut, along with the
amount due from Form ST-810, in your check or
money order.

Form ST-810.4 is used by those taxpayers registered
in the New Jersey/New York reciprocal tax agreement
to report sales subject to New Jersey tax.

Form ST-810.11 is used by those taxpayers
registered in the Connecticut/New York reciprocal tax
agreement to report sales subject to Connecticut tax.

Colymn C I Column D ! Column E | Column F
~ |Step 3 of 9 Calculate sales and use taxes Taxable sales + Puehasessurt o Taxrale—  Sales and
Refer to instructions (Form ST-810-1) if you have questions or need help. and services | totax | ((;‘ feD) : E
Enter total from Form ST-810.10 (if any) in box 2 e 2]
o~
oo SR - g g
S | Enter totals (if any) from‘+ + +HHIHNIHO! + 1000.00 0.00 182/ 50
Column A Column B W’——m
Taxing jurisdiction Jurisdiction code e e
L, [New York State only a NE 0011 00 00| 4%%
Albanv Countv AL 0171 1549.00 000| 8%% 12779
> | Taxes in New York City (includes counties of Bronx, Kings
(Brooklyn), New York (Manhattan), Queens, and Richmond (Staten Island)]
New York City/State combined tax NE 8011 .00 .00| 8%%*
! New York State/MCTD (fuel and utilities) NE 8041 .00 365.00 4%% 16/43
3 New York City - local tax only (enter box 9 amount in Step 78) | NE 8021 o] .00 .00| 4%%*
<
a.
Column subtotals from page 2, boxes 6, 7, and 8:[10] 2549 .o0[11] 0.00 12] 31029
[13] 4] [15]
L Column totals: 2549 .00 365 .00 32672
'Credit summary — Enter the total amount of credits claimed in Step 3 above, and on any attached schedules (see @c). L

Calculate sales and use taxes

If you are filing Form ST-810.10, enter the amount from
box 16 on that schedule in box 2 on page 2 of Form ST-810.

If you are filing schedule A, B, B-ATT, H, N, Q, T, or T-ATT (or any
combination of these), enter the combined totals from the completed
schedules in boxes 3, 4, and 5 on page 2 of Form ST-810. (Do not
include amounts from schedules CT and NJ.)

Columns A & B - Taxing jurisdiction and code

Report each sale of property and services, and each purchase
subject to tax, for the jurisdiction in which the sale was made and
delivered and where the purchase was used. Do not report on these
jurﬂs((llit:ltinn lines any sale or purchase already reported on a
schedule.

Reporting New York City taxes

Use the New York State/MCTD 4%% tax rate line to report purchases
of fuel and utility services subject to sales tax at the full combined
state and local tax rate, for which you paid New York City tax only.
Report fuel or utilities used for residential purposes on

Form ST-810.3, Quarterly Schedule B for Part-Quarterly Filers.

Use the New York City - local tax only 4% tax rate line to report
sales in the city of New York for: 1) fuel and utility services used in
the production of gas, electricity, refrigeration, and steam for sale;
and 2) installation, repair, and maintenance services to property used
in farming. Do not report these transactions on the New York
City/State combined tax 8%% tax rate line.

Web site address: www.nystax.gov

Column C - Taxable sales and services

Report taxable sales for each jurisdiction in New York State
where delivery of sales and services occurred. Do not include sales
tax in this amount.

Credits against sales and services

Credits that can be identified by locality should be taken on the
appropriate line in Step 3. If the result is a negative number, enter it in
parentheses. Examples of such credits include:

« Tax paid on property purchased in bulk and stored, but not used by
the purchaser, and subsequently shipped for use in another jurisdiction.

« Tax paid on property fabricated, assembled, processed, printed, or
imprinted in one jurisdiction, that was shipped for use in another
jurisdiction.

« Tax paid on cancelled sales, returned merchandise, and bad debts.

« Tax paid on construction materials resold or incorporated into realty
in another jurisdiction. (Unless the materials were used out of state or
otherwise exempt, report tax on the materials.)

« Tax paid by a veterinarian on drugs and medicines used in certain
veterinary services.

Note: To claim an empire zone (EZ) credit, a credit from your prior return,
or a%edit that you are unable to associate with a particular jurisdiction
see P .

see ® c for information about documenting any credits claimed.

Need help? Call 1 800 972-1233

Column D - Purchases subject to tax

« Purchases outside New York State: Report
the full amount of purchases made outside
New York State of tangible personal property and
services used in your business in New York State on
which no New York State tax was paid.

« Purchases in New York State in one jurisdiction/use
in another jurisdiction: Report the full amount of any
tangible personal property or services purchased for
use in your business, if the tax rate is higher in the
jurisdiction where the property or services are used
than the tax rate in the jurisdiction where you
purchased the property or services.

In either of the cases above, you may be able to
claim a credit for tax paid on such purchases in
Step 5. See® .

Do not include in Column D purchases of property or
services purchased for resale or which are exempt.

Contractors: Also report materials purchased in one
jurisdiction that are incorporated into realty in another.

Column E - Tax rate

Tax rates for the period are printed in
Column E in percentage formats.

Column F - Sales and use tax

For each jurisdiction for which you reported
sales, purchases, or credits, add the amounts in
Columns C and D, then multiply the total by the tax
rate in Column E, one line at a time. Enter the result
in ColumnF. (C+D)xE=F

This result may be a net credit, which you should

identify by enclosing it in parentheses. Note: Any

net credits should be subtracted when totaling the
column.

Column totals

a. On page 2, separately subtotal Column C
(box 6), Column D (box 7), and Column F (box 8).
Include the amounts from schedules, listed in
boxes 2, 3, 4, and 5, when subtotaling each
column. Transfer the box 6, 7, and 8 amounts to
page 3, boxes 10, 11, and 12, respectively.

b. On page 3, separately total Column C (box 13),
Column D (box 14), and Column F (box 15).
Include the column subtotals from page 2 (entered
in boxes 10, 11, and 12) when totaling each
column. Enter the box 15 amount in Step 6.

c. Enter the total dollar amount of credit against the
tax claimed in Step 3 or on any schedules filed
(except on Form ST-810.10). Show any net credits
in parentheses. Attach a statement and any other
supporting documentation explaining the basis for
the amount of credit claimed. Do not include
credits for the vendor collection credit, prepaid
sales tax on motor fuel or diesel motor fuel or
cigarettes, or any other credit claimed in Step 5 on
page 3.

To order forms, call 1 800 462-8100
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Calculate special taxes
Enter taxable receipts from sales or uses of

Calculate tax credits and advance payments

Credit for prepaid sales tax on cigarettes
Enter your credit for prepaid sales tax on cigarettes, if any, in
Column K.

Credits against sales or use tax

Credits must be substantiated by attaching a statement and
any other supporting documentation explaining the basis for credit
claimed.
Enter the total amount of other credits or refunds of sales tax you are
claiming (excluding the vendor collection credit). You must keep
records to validate all credits and refunds claimed, and attach to your
return the forms or explanations that verify them. Do not enter any
credits that were claimed on jurisdiction lines in Step 3.
Credits that may be claimed in Step 5 include:
« Credit for sales tax paid against additional tax on purchases
reported in Column D (included are credits for taxes paid in another
jurisdiction in New York State or to another state).

Example: You purchased tangible personal property in a jurisdiction
with a 6% tax rate, you later use this property at your business
located in a jurisdiction with an 8% tax rate. You must report the
purchase in Column D on the appropriate 8% jurisdiction line, and
take a credit for the 6% sales tax originally paid on the purchase.

« Credits where the tax rate for the period in which tax was paid is
different from the tax rate in the period in which the credit is claimed.

Example: You paid 8% tax, and later determined that you are entitled
to a credit. During that time, the tax rate changed to 7%. You are still
entitled to the 8% credit.

« Credit for an overpayment of tax made in a prior quarter that you
have not previously claimed.

Note: Any credit against tax taken in Step 5 should be based on the
amount of tax paid or paid over at the time of the original transaction.

 Credit for state tax and some local taxes paid on certain
construction materials in empire zones (EZ) (see Publication 30).

. Internal code Column G ' Column H Column J passenger car rentals and of information and
T X = i b : ; .
Step 4 of 9 Calculate special taxes ablereceipts fxrate Sm'a('e'ax'ﬁs) e entertainment services furnished via telephony and
Passenger car rentals @ PA 0003 .00| 5% / telegraphy on the appropriate lines in Column G.
Information & entertainment sefvices fumnished via telephony and telegraphy IN_ 7009 310.00| 5% 15150 Multiply the taxable receipts (Column G) by 5% (.05).
Total special taxes: |16 15150 Enter the resulting tax in Column J.
Add the two lines in Column J and enter the
total in box 16. Also enter the box 16 amount in
Step 6.
Step 5 of 9 Calculate tax credits and advggce payments | [ Cronamont |
Credit for prepaid sales tax on cigarettes CR 8888 « Credit for additional tax paid on property
Credits against sales or use tax (sege@in instructions) C incorporated into realty according to a preexisting
Advance payments (including ST-809 and PrompTax payments) (see @ in instructions) A 63| 50 lump sum or unit price construction contract, where
Unclaimed vendor collection credit (attach Form TR-912) UN 7804 @ 2500 the additional tax is the result of a rate increase.
" L
Total tax credits and advance payments: @ 88150 Note: Form AU-11, Application for Credit or Refund of

Sales or Use Tax, should also be filed for any of these
transactions.

Advance payments

Enter the total amount remitted on
part-quarterly sales tax returns (Form ST-809; no
receipts required) and any advance payments
(including PrompTax payments; see Schedule P,
line 4).

Unclaimed vendor collection credit

If you received a Form TR-912, Notice of
Unclaimed New York State Sales Tax Vendor
Collection Credit, enter the total Unclaimed vendor
collection creditamount on the appropriate line in
Step 5. Attach a copy of Form TR-912 to the return.

Total tax credits and advance
payments
Add Column K and enter the total in box 17. Also
enter the box 17 amount in Step 6.

Step 6 of 9 Calculate taxes due
(box 17).

Add Sales and use tax column total (box 15) to Total special taxes
(box 16) and subtract Total fax credits and advance payments

Box 15 Box 16

amount $ 326-72 + amount $ 15.50

@ Taxes due
0X 18
oo §_____88.50 _ 253(72

Calculate taxes due

Enter the amounts from box 15, Sales and use
tax; box 16, Total special taxes; and box 17, Total tax
credits and advance payments in the appropriate
spaces. Add boxes 15 and 16, and subtract box 17.
Enter the result in box 18.

Step 7 of 9 Calculate vendor collection credit
or pay penalty and interest

You are eligible for vendor collection credit ONLY if you file by
March 22, 2004, and you pay the full amount due with the return.
If you are not eligible, enter “0”in box 19 and go to 7D.

If you are not required to file any schedules,

Schedule FR, Step 3, box 7

start at the asterisk (*) in 7B. * Form ST-810, page 3, box 13 + 2549.00

Schedule B, Part 4, box 3 Total adjustment from 7A - 375.00

Schedule B-ATT + Form ST-810, page 3, box 9 e,

Schedule H +____ 300.00 Eligible sales amount (move to 7C) = __ 2174.00

Schedule N +_

Schedule Q +___ 1500

Schedule T-ATT +

Total adjustment =__  375.00

Eligible sales amount State tax rate Credit rate Vendor 9\‘:2';'2]‘&" credit
from 7B above *k
$ 2174.00 x 4u% = $ 92.40 x 3% = _3.23

*% In box 19, enter the amount calculated, but not more than $150

m

3'23

OR Pay penalty and interest if you are filing late

instructions.

@ Penalty and interest
Penalty and interest are calculated on the amount in box 18, Taxes due. See @ on page 3 in th ﬂl l

Calculate vendor collection credit or pay penalty and
interest

Vendor collection credit

The Tax Law provides you with a credit for your collection of
state sales tax from your customers. You may not include in the
credit computation any use tax paid or any local tax collected. The
maximum vendor collection credit you can claim on your return is
$150.

You can receive this credit only if you file your return on time and pay
the full amount due. If you file on time but do not pay the full amount
due, or if you file late, you cannot claim this credit. Enter “0” in

box 19 and go to Step 7D.

Web site address: www.nystax.gov

If you qualify, calculate your vendor collection credit in Step 7. If the
result is less than $150, enter the result in box 19. If the result is
equal to or more than $150, enter only $150 in box 19.

7R — If you completed schedules B, B-ATT, H, N, Q, or T-ATT, enter
the appropriate amount (see each schedule for the amount to enter).
Schedules A and T are not included as no adjustment is needed. Add
the amounts in 7A and enter the total on the Total adjustment line.
Note: If you did not complete any schedules, skip Step 7A on the
return and start at the asterisk in Step 7B.

7B — If you completed Form ST-810.10, enter the amount from box
7 of that form. Fill in the lines as applicable, and add or subtract them
according to the math symbols provided. Enter and add the amount
from Form ST-810, page 3, box 13. Enter and subtract the Tota/

Need help? Call 1 800 972-1233

adjustment from 7A, if any. Enter and subtract the
amount from Form ST-810, page 3, box 9*. Enter the
result of the addition and subtractions on the Eligible
sales amount line. Transfer this amount to 7C.

*New York City only: If you reported sales on the
New York City 4)6% tax rate line (page 3, in box 9),
enter this amount in Step 7B. As local sales, they do
not qualify for the vendor collection credit.

7C — Calculate your vendor collection credit by
multiplying the Eligible sales amount from 7B by the
state tax rate; then the result by the credit rate. If the
credit amount is less than $150, enter the credit in
box 19. If the credit amount is equal to or more than
$150, enter $150 in box 19.

Determine penalty and interest

If you are filing your return late or not paying
the full amount due, or both, you owe penalty and
interest, and cannot claim a vendor collection credit.
Penalty and interest are calculated on the amount in
box 18, Taxes due. The minimum penalty for late filing
is $50. For penalty information, see Penalty
computation on page 4. Interest is due on any late
payment or underpayment and accrues from the due
date of the return to the date the tax is paid. Interest
rates are compounded daily and adjusted quarterly.

For an estimate of your penalty and interest amount,

call 1800 972-1233. A Tax Department representative

will calculate this estimate for you. Or you can use our

Web site at
www3.tax.state.ny.us/PAIC/PAICHomeServiet

to estimate your penalty and interest. Enter this

amount in box 20.

To order forms, call 1 800 462-8100
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Step 8 of 9 Calculate total amount due

Make check or money order payahle to New York State Sales Tax.
Write on your sheck your sales tax |D#, §T-818, and 2/29/04.

Tetal amount due

Final calculation:

Taking vendor collection credit? Subtract box 19 from box 18.
Paying penalty and interest? Add box 20 to box 18.

Calculate total amount due

If you were eligible for and claimed the vendor collection
credit in Step 7, subtract the box 19 credit amount from box 18
(Taxes due) and enter the result.

If you are filing late and you entered penalty and interest in
box 20, add box 20 to box 18 (Taxes due) and enter the result.
If you are not claiming the vendor collection credit and not

entering penalty and interest, enter the box 18 amount as your
Total amount due.

Payment information

If you do not file Form ST-810.4 or Form ST-810.11, make your
check or money order for the Total amount due payable to
New York State Sales Tax. If you are filing Form ST-810.4 or

to your account.

substantiation.

If the total amount due is an overpayment, you may either
claim a credit or apply for a refund. To claim a credit, enter this
amount on Step 5 of your next return and attach

To apply for a refund, file Form AU-11, unless the overpayment
is the result of a credit for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or
diesel motor fuel sold at retail; in that case, you must file the
appropriate application:

Form S'T-810-1 1, or both, include in your payment amountany  ® Form FT-949, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax
tax due with those schedules and with Form ST-810.

On your check or money order, write your sales tax ID#, ® Form FT-950, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax
Form ST-810, and 2/29/04. Enclose your payment with
Form ST-810 to ensure that your payment is properly credited o

on Motor Fuel Sold Other Than at Retail Service Stations.

on Motor Fuel Sold by Retail Service Stations.

Form FT-1007, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax
on Diesel Motor Fuel Sold at Retail Service Stations.

® Form FT-1010, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax
gn Diesel Motor Fuel Sold Other Than at Retail Service
fations.

Do not attach the refund application (Form AU-11; FT-949 or
FT-950; FT-1007 or FT-1010) to your return. You must file the
ar;laplifcation separately and mail it to the address shown on
that form.

Step 9 of 9 Sign and mail this return

Must be postmarked by Monday, March 22, 2004, to be considered
Pigase be sure to keep a completed copy for your records. |filed on time. See below for complete mailing information.

New: Please enter code
below (see instructions).

Printed name of taxpayer Title

Daytime North American Industry

Signature of taxpayer @ : Date

Printed name of preparer, if other than taxpayer

telephone

Classification System
(NAICS)
T ] I

Sign and mail this return. NAICS Code

Signatures required
If you are a sole proprietor, you must sign the return and print your
name, title, telephone number, and the date.

If you are filing this return for a corporation, partnership, or other
type of entity, an officer, employee, or partner must sign the return on
behalf of the business, and print his or her name, title, date, and
telephone number.

If you do not prepare the return yourself, sign, date, and provide the
requested taxpayer information. The preparer must also sign the
return and print his or her name, address, and telephone number.

Please be sure to keep a copy of your completed return for your

primary business activity.

To the right of signature lines, enter the six-digit code from the
enclosed Publication 910, NAICS Codes for Principal Business
Activity for New York State Tax Purposes, that best matches your

Where to mail your return
and attachments

Use the enclosed preprinted return envelope to mail your return
and attachments. If you are using your own envelope, see page 4
of Form ST-810 to determine where to send your completed return,
attachments, and payment. If you are not using the U.S. Postal
Service, see Private delivery service address below.

Private delivery service address

If you choose, you may use a private delivery service, instead
of the U.S. Postal Service, to file your return and pay tax.
However, if, at a later date, you need to establish the date you
filed your return or paid your tax, you cannot use the date
recorded by a private delivery service unless you used a
delivery service that has been designated by the

U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the Commissioner of
Taxation and Finance. (Currently designated delivery services
are listed in Publication 55, Designated Private Delivery
Services. See Need help? below for information on ordering
forms and publications.) If you use any private delivery
service, whether it is a designated service or not, address
your return to:

records. \I{EM(%%?(AN CHASE
4 METROTECH CENTER — 8TH FLOOR WEST
BROOKLYN NY 11245
Penalty computation
A For failure to file a return on time with no tax due, the penalty is $50.
B For failure to file a return on time with tax due, the penalty is:

For 61 or more days late, the greater of:

each additional month, up to a maximum of 30% (.30).

For 1-60 days late, 10% (.10) of the tax due for the first month plus 1% (.01) of the tax due for each month thereafter, but in no instance less than $50.

— 10% (.10) of the tax due for the first month plus 1% (.01) of the tax due for each month thereafter, not to exceed 30% (.30); or
— the lesser of $100 or 100% (1.00) of the tax due, but not less than $50.
C For failure to pay tax, even though the return is filed on time, the penalty is 10% (.10) of the tax due for the first month, plus 1% (.01) of the tax due for

Need help?

WwWww

Internet access: www.nystax.gov
(for information, forms, and publications)

Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
available 24 hours a day,
7 days a week.

Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to
5:00 PM. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.
To order forms and publications: 1800 462-8100

Business Tax Information Center: 1800 972-1233

From areas outside the U.S. and
outside Canada:

1 800 748-3676

(518) 485-6800

A Hotline for the hearing and speech impaired:
If you have access to a telecommunications device for the

se
[ deaf (TDD), contact us at 1 800 634-2110. If you do not
own a TDD, check with independent living centers or

community action programs to find out where machines are
available for public use.

< Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our
lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are
accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have
questions about special accommodations for persons
with disabilities, please call 1 800 972-1233.

If you need to write, address your letter to:
NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
BUSINESS TAX INFORMATION CENTER

W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
ALBANY NY 12227

Privacy notification

The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and maintain personal information pursuant to
the New York State Tax Law, including but not limited to, sections 171, 171-a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505,
697, 1096, 1142, and 1415 of that Law; and may require disclosure of social security numbers
pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i)-

This information will be used to determine and administer tax liabilities and, when authorized by law, for
certain tax offset and exchange of tax information programs as well as for any other lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is provided to certain state agencies for
purposes of fraud prevention, support enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain
employment and training programs and other purposes authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or criminal penalties, or both, under
the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of Records Management and Data Entry, NYS Tax
Department, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone 1 800 225-5829. From areas
outside the United States and outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800.



