
New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form IT-2659
Estimated Tax Penalties for 
Partnerships and New York S Corporations

IT-2659-I

General instructions

Who must pay the underpayment penalty
In general, the partnership or S corporation may owe a penalty 
unless the total estimated tax paid on behalf of all nonresident 
individuals and corporate partners or shareholders is at least:

1) 90% of the estimated tax required to be paid for 2005; or
2) 100% of the estimated tax required to be paid on behalf of 

partners or shareholders for 2004 (110% of that amount if the 
entity is not primarily engaged in farming or fishing and the New 
York source income allocated to nonresident individuals and 
C corporations is more than $150,000).  

Note: The total estimated tax paid calculation is used only to 
determine if the partnership or New York S corporation owes a 
penalty for underpayment of tax. It does not take into account 
whether the entity properly allocated the total payment among the 
nonresident individuals and corporate partners and shareholders. 

In addition to the penalties that may be imposed upon the 
partnership or New York S corporation, individual partners or 
shareholders may also be subject to penalties on their individual 
income or corporate franchise returns if they have not paid sufficient 
estimated tax for the year. 

Failure to pay estimated tax penalty on behalf of a 
partner or shareholder
If a partnership or New York S corporation is required to pay 
estimated tax on behalf of a partner or shareholder and fails to do 
so, the entity will pay a penalty of $50 per partner or shareholder for 
each failure, unless it is shown that the failure is due to reasonable 
cause and not due to willful neglect.

Estimated tax for corporate partners means a corporate partner’s 
distributive share of the partnership income derived from New York 
sources for the year, multiplied by the highest rate of tax under Tax 
Law section 210.1(a) for the year (7.5% for 2005), and reduced by 
the corporate partner’s distributive share of allowable credits from 
the partnership.

Estimated tax for nonresident individual partners and shareholders 
means a partner’s or shareholder’s distributive share or pro rata 
share of the entity’s income derived from New York sources for the 
year, less the partner’s or shareholder’s share of certain partnership 
related deductions allocated to New York State multiplied by the 
highest rate of tax under Tax Law section 601 for the year (7.7% for 
2005). This amount is then reduced by the partner’s or shareholder’s 
distributive or pro rata share of any allowable credits from the 
partnership or New York S corporation.

Exceptions
• Estimated tax payments are not required for any partner or 

shareholder whose estimated tax required to be paid for the tax 
year by the partnership or New York S corporation is $300 or less.

• Estimated tax payments are not required for any partner or 
shareholder if the entity is authorized to file a group return, and 
the partner or shareholder has elected to be included on the 
group return.

Estimated tax payments are only required for partners and 
shareholders who are C corporations or nonresident individuals. 
Estimated tax payments are not required for partners and 
shareholders who are resident individuals, partnerships, 
S corporations, estates, or trusts. 

Exemptions — Even if partners or shareholders did not meet the 
exceptions above, they may still claim exemption from estimated 
tax by filing Form CT-2658-E, Certificate of Exemption from 
Partnership Estimated Tax Paid on Behalf of Corporate Partners, 
or Form IT-2658-E, Certificate of Exemption from Partnership 
or New York S Corporation Estimated Tax Paid on Behalf of 
Nonresident Individual Partners and Shareholders.

Corporate partners qualify to be exempt from partnership estimated 
tax and file Form CT-2658-E by certifying that they either:

• are exempt from any tax imposed by New York State Tax Law, 
Articles 9, 9-A, 32 and 33, or

• will comply in their own corporate capacity with the estimated tax 
provisions and filing requirements.

A nonresident individual partner or shareholder qualifies to be 
exempt from partnership and New York S corporation estimated 
tax and to file Form IT-2658-E by certifying that they will comply in 
their individual capacity with the estimated tax provisions and filing 
requirements.

Overpayments of estimated tax — If the partnership or 
S corporation overpays its estimated tax for the year, a refund 
will be issued to the entity only if the entity can establish that the 
overpayment was attributable to payments made on behalf of a 
partner or shareholder for whom it was not required to pay estimated 
tax (for example, the entity erroneously made a payment for a 
partner that is a trust). Otherwise, the partner or shareholder will 
have to claim credit for the estimated tax payment on their individual 
personal or corporation tax return.

Penalty rates — The penalty rates will be based upon the federal 
short-term interest rates, and will be adjusted quarterly. The federal 
short-term rate for the first month of the previous calendar quarter, 
rounded to the nearest whole percent, will be used to set the rates 
for the next succeeding calendar quarter.

The federal short-term rate that applies during the third month 
following the tax year will also apply during the first 15 days of the 
fourth month following the tax year.

The penalty rate will be the federal short-term rate plus two 
percentage points but not less than 6%. The rates from April 15, 
2005, through April 15, 2006, are as follows:
 April 15 to June 30, 2005 - 7%
 July 1 to September 30, 2005 - 7%
 October 1 to December 31, 2005 - 8%
 January 1 to April 15, 2006 - 8%

Period of underpayment — The penalty is applied to the 
number of days that the installment was not paid. Figure the period 
of the underpayment by counting the number of days after the due 
date of the installment to and including the date of payment, the 
last date in the penalty rate period, or the next installment due date, 
whichever is earliest. 

Where to file
Mail your return to: NYS Tax Department-IT-2659, PO BOX 397, 
Albany NY 12201-0397.

Private delivery services — If you choose, you may use a private 
delivery service, instead of the U.S. Postal Service, to file your return 
and pay tax. However, if, at a later date, you need to establish the 
date you filed your return or paid your tax, you cannot use the date 
recorded by a private delivery service unless you used a delivery 
service that has been designated by the U.S. Secretary of the 
Treasury or the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. (Currently 
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designated delivery services are listed in Publication 55, Designated 
Private Delivery Services. See Need help? on page 4 of these 
instructions for information on ordering forms and publications.) 
If you have used a designated private delivery service and need 
to establish the date you filed your return, contact that private 
delivery service for instructions on how to obtain written proof of 
the date your return was given to the delivery service for delivery. 
If you use any private delivery service, whether it is a designated 
service or not, address your return to: NYS Tax Department, Deposit 
Resolution-IT-2659, Building 8 Room 600, WA Harriman Campus, 
Albany NY 12227.

Specific instructions
Name and employer identification number (EIN) 
Enter in the spaces at the top of the form the name of the 
partnership or New York S corporation and the employer 
identification number.

Schedule A — Computation of estimated tax 
underpayment
Use Schedule A to see if the partnership or New York S corporation 
paid enough of its required annual estimated tax. If enough 
estimated tax was not paid, use Schedule B or Schedule C to figure 
the penalty.

Do not include any partners or shareholders who meet the 
exceptions or filed exemption certificates (see Exceptions and 
Exemptions on page 1). 

All filers must complete lines 1 through 27.

Line 2 and line 16
The amounts to be entered on line 2 and line 16 include the 
total partners’ or shareholders’ shares of the federal partnership 
deductions for medical insurance, and contributions to IRA, Keogh, 
and SEP plans allocated to New York. These deductions are 
allocated to New York in the same manner as the partnership or 
S corporation income is allocated to New York. Do not include any 
deductions that are required to be treated as itemized deductions 
on the partner’s or shareholder’s federal income tax return. Also 
do not include the partner’s federal deduction for one-half of the 
self-employment tax, since this deduction is not treated as a 
partnership deduction for federal income tax purposes.

Schedule B — Short method for figuring the penalty 
If you paid four equal estimated tax installments on the due dates, 
or made no estimated tax payments for the 2005 tax year, complete 
lines 29 through 34 to arrive at the penalty due. Otherwise, you must 
use the regular method in Schedule C. 

Note: If any payment was made earlier than the due date, you may 
use the short method, but using it may cause you to pay a larger 
penalty than the regular method. If the payment was only a few days 
early, the difference is likely to be small.

You may not use the short method if you made any estimated tax 
payments late.

Line 30 — Enter the total of estimated taxes paid. 

Line 33 — If the underpayment on line 31 was paid before April 15, 
2006, figure the number of days the payment was made before 
April 15, 2006, and enter it in the computation for line 33. 

Example: If the line 31 underpayment of $2,050 was paid April 8, 
2006, you would compute the figure for line 33 as follows: $2,050 
(amount on line 31) × 7 (number of days before April 15, 2006) 
× .00021 = $3.01.

Schedule C — Regular method
Part 1 — Figuring the underpayment

Line 35 — Enter on line 35, columns A through D, the amount of 
your required installment for the due date shown in each column 
heading. If you were not required to make an entry on line 28, this 
is the lesser of lines 14 or 27 divided by four. If you were required to 
make an entry on line 28, this is the lesser of lines 14 or 28 divided 
by four. 

Line 36 — Enter the total estimated taxes paid for each period. 

Line 37 — Enter any overpayment (or underpayment) from the prior 
payment period. 

Line 38 — In column A, enter the amount from line 36. In the other 
columns, if line 37 is an overpayment, add lines 36 and 37. 

If line 37 is an underpayment, subtract line 37 from line 36.

Line 39 — If line 35 is greater than line 38, subtract line 38 from 
line 35. The result is an underpayment that should also be entered 
on line 40 for the same payment due date and on line 37 for the next 
payment due date. If line 38 is greater than line 35, subtract line 35 
from line 38. The result is an overpayment that should also be 
entered on line 37 for the next payment due date. 

If line 38 is a negative amount, your total underpayment at line 39 is 
the installment due at line 35 plus the line 38 amount.

Part 2 — Figuring the penalty
Figure the penalty by applying the applicable rate against each 
underpayment shown on line 40. The penalty is figured for the 
number of days that the underpayment remained unpaid or to the 
next payment due date, whichever is earlier.

The rates are established at various times through the year. During 
2005 there were two rates in effect over four periods.  

Lines 41 through 48 are used to compute the portion of the penalty 
attributable to different installment periods. For example, lines 41 
and 42 are used to figure the penalty for the first installment period 
at 7%. The factor .01169 at line 41 is used to compute the penalty 
for the first installment if payment is made on June 15. If payment 
is made before June 15, figure the factor using the number of days 
the underpayment remained unpaid for the first installment. Line 42 
is used to compute the actual penalty amount by multiplying the 
underpayment by the factor.

Read through the instructions and examples for lines 41 through 48 
before completing Schedule C, Part 2.

(continued)
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The following instructions will lead you through the procedures for 
figuring the penalty in Schedule C, Part 2.

Complete only those lines from line 41 through line 48 for periods in 
which there are underpayments.

First installment — column A, lines 41 and 42

Line 41 — Enter on line 41, column A, the factor .01169 if no 
payment was made before June 15, 2005. If a payment(s) was made 
before June 15, 2005, compute the number of days from April 15, 
2005, to the date the payment was made and divide by 365. Then 
multiply the result by the interest rate shown to arrive at the factor to 
enter on line 41. 

Line 42 — Compute line 42 by multiplying the underpayment on 
line 40 by the factor on line 41.

Example 1: Assume you had an underpayment on line 40, 
column A, of $5,000 and that you had no payments listed in Table 1 
above. Because the underpayment remained unpaid for the entire 
first installment period (61 days), you would compute the penalty 
on the underpayment using the factor shown and enter .01169 on 
line 41. You would enter $58.45 ($5,000 x .01169) on line 42.

Note: When computing the number of days to be divided by 365, 
carry the result to four decimal places but when arriving at the factor, 
carry the result to five decimal places and do not round off in either 
calculation.

Example: 85 ÷ 365 = .2328 x 6% = .01396

If there is a payment listed in Table 1, on a separate sheet of 
paper apply the payment to the underpayment shown on line 40. 
The underpayment for the computation on line 42 will be the amount 
of the payment that you applied to the line 40 underpayment. If the 
payment is more than the underpayment, apply only an amount 

equal to the underpayment and use that amount for the line 42 
computation.

If there are no payments listed in Table 1, the underpayment 
is the entire underpayment balance shown on line 40, column A, 
because the entire underpayment would have been unpaid for the 
whole installment period.

Example 2: Assume you had an underpayment on line 40, 
column A, of $5,000 and that your first payment in Table 1 was 
made on May 6, 2005, in the amount of $5,000. You would figure 
the penalty on the underpayment by computing the factor as 
follows: 21/365 (21 is the number of days from 4/15 to 5/6) times 
7% equals .00402. Enter .00402 on line 41. You would enter $20.10 
($5,000 x .00402) on line 42.

If there are additional payments listed in Table 1 and the first 
payment was not enough to reduce the underpayment to zero, you 
must make a separate computation for each payment listed until the 
underpayment is reduced to zero. If there is still an underpayment 
balance after applying all of the payments, you must figure the 
penalty on the balance of the underpayment in the same manner as 
explained in Example 3 below.

Example 3: Assume you had an underpayment on line 40, 
column A, of $5,000 and that your first payment in Table 1 was made 
on April 25, 2005, in the amount of $3,000. Because the payment 
did not reduce the underpayment to zero, you would figure the 
penalty on the underpayment by computing the factors as follows: 
10/365 (10 is the number of days from 4/15 to 4/25) times 7% equals 
.00191. Enter .00191 on line 41; as there are no other payments 
listed in Table 1 you would have a second computation to figure the 
factor on the remaining underpayment of $2,000 as follows: enter 
.01169 (factor for period 4/15 to 6/15) on line 41. You would enter 
$5.73 ($3,000 x .00191) and $23.38 ($2,000 x .01169) on line 42.

Columns B through D

In columns B through D, figure the penalty on any underpayment 
shown on line 40. Figure the penalty for each period in the same 
manner as in column A.

Second installment — column B, lines 43 and 44

Line 43 — Enter on line 43, column B, the factor .01764 if no 
payment was made before September 15, 2005. If a payment(s) was 
made after June 15, 2005, but before September 15, 2005, compute 
the number of days from June 15, 2005, to the date the payment 
was made and divide by 365. Then multiply the result by the interest 
rate to arrive at the factor to enter on line 43.

Line 44 — Compute line 44 by multiplying the underpayment on 
line 40 by the factor on line 43. 

Third installment — column C, lines 45 and 46

Line 45 — Enter on line 45, column C, the factor .02631 if no 
payment was made before January 15, 2006. If a payment(s) was 
made after September 15, 2005, but before January 15, 2006, 
compute the number of days from September 15, 2005 to the date 
the payment was made and divide by 365. Then multiply the result 
by the interest rate to arrive at the factor to enter on line 45.

Line 46 — Compute line 46 by multiplying the underpayment on 
line 40 by the factor on line 45. 

Fourth installment — column D, lines 47 and 48

Line 47 — Enter on line 47, column D, the factor .01972 if no 
payment was made before April 15, 2006. If a payment(s) was made 
after January 15, 2006, but before April 15, 2006, compute the 
number of days from January 15, 2006, to the date the payment was 
made and divide by 365. Then multiply the result by the interest rate 
to arrive at the factor to enter on line 47. 

Table 1 — Payments after
April 15, 2005, through June 15, 2005

Table 2 — Payments after
June 15, 2005, through September 15, 2005

 (a) Date (b) Payments

Table 3 — Payments after
September 15, 2005, through January 15, 2006

 (a) Date (b) Payments

Table 4 — Payments after
January 15, 2006, through April 15, 2006

 (a) Date (b) Payments

 (a) Date (b) Payments

List your payments for 2005
Before beginning to figure your penalty in Schedule C, Part 2, it will 
be helpful to organize and list the payments you made for 2005 in 
the manner presented in the tables below.

In each table, list only the payments made during the dates shown in 
that table heading.



Page 4 of 4 IT-2659-I (2005)

Line 48 — Compute line 48 by multiplying the underpayment on 
line 40 by the factor on line 47. 

Schedule D — Failure to pay estimated tax on behalf 
of partners or shareholders who are corporations or 
nonresident individuals
Complete Schedule D for any partner or shareholder for whom 
you were required to pay estimated tax, but failed to do so. Attach 
additional sheets if necessary.

Line 52 — Total penalty
Add the amounts from lines 49, 50, and 51 as applicable. Transfer 
the amount from line 52 to the Payment enclosed box on the front 
of Form IT-2659. Pay this amount, and make your check or money 
order payable to Commissioner of Taxation and Finance.

Privacy notification
The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and 
maintain personal information pursuant to the New York State 
Tax Law, including but not limited to, sections 171, 171-a, 287, 
308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142, and 1415 of that Law; and 
may require disclosure of social security numbers pursuant to 
42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax 
liabilities and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and 
exchange of tax information programs as well as for any other lawful 
purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is 
provided to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention, 
support enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain 
employment and training programs and other purposes authorized 
by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or 
criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of Records 
Management and Data Entry, NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman 
Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone 1 800 225-5829. From areas 
outside the United States and outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800.

 Internet access: www.nystax.gov
   (for information, forms, and publications)

 Fax-on-demand forms:  1 800 748-3676

 Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M.
   (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

To order forms and publications: 1 800 462-8100

Business Tax Information Center: 1 800 972-1233

From areas outside the U.S. and outside Canada:  (518) 485-6800

Hearing and speech impaired (telecommunications
device for the deaf (TDD) callers only): 1 800 634-2110

 Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our lobbies, 
offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are accessible to 

persons with disabilities. If you have questions about special 
accommodations for persons with disabilities, please call 1 800 972-1233.

Need help?


