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Change for 2007
Increased filing fees expired
The increased limited liability company (LLC) and limited liability 
partnership (LLP) filing fees, and the single-member disregarded 
entity filing fees enacted in 2003, have expired for tax years 
beginning after 2006.

Accordingly, the filing fee for LLCs and LLPs that are treated as 
partnerships for federal income tax purposes, and that have income 
from New York State sources, reverts back to $50, multiplied by the 
total number of members or partners in the LLC or LLP. Also, the 
minimum and maximum filing fee amounts revert back to $325 and 
$10,000, respectively.

For tax years beginning after 2006, the $100 filing fee payable 
by a single-member LLC (SMLLC) that is a disregarded entity for 
federal income tax purposes has expired. Therefore, SMLLCs that 
are disregarded entities no longer have to file Form IT-204-LL. In 
addition, the partnership filing fee for an LLC with more than one 
member that is a disregarded entity for federal income tax purposes 
(for example, an LLC owned solely by a husband and wife) has 
expired.

General information
Chapter 576 of the Laws of 1994 allows for the formation of LLCs 
and LLPs in New York State (domestic LLCs or LLPs). In addition, 
recognition is given under New York State law for LLCs and LLPs 
formed under the laws of other states (foreign LLCs and LLPs).

Both domestic LLCs and LLPs are required to register with the 
New York State Department of State. In addition, foreign LLCs 
and LLPs that wish to carry on or conduct business or activities in 
New York State must also register with the Department of State. 
Taxpayers who have questions concerning the registration process 
should write to the New York State Department of State, 41 State 
Street, Albany NY 12231‑0001, or call (518) 473‑2492. Taxpayers 
who have questions concerning the New York tax treatment of 
LLCs and LLPs and payment of the filing fee should contact the Tax 
Department (see Need help? on the back of these instructions).

Effective August 8, 1995, certain investment companies that are 
established and regulated under Article 12 of the New York State 
Banking Law are able to organize themselves as limited liability 
investment companies (LLICs). The LLIC option is available 
only to Article 12 investment companies that serve as holding 
companies for foreign banking operations. Also, effective July 21, 
1997, certain trust companies that are established and regulated 
under section 102‑A of the New York State Banking Law are able 
to organize themselves as limited liability trust companies (LLTCs). 
The LLTC option is available only to Article 3 trust companies that 
do not receive deposits from the general public and are exempt from 
obtaining insurance of deposits and share accounts. Throughout 
these instructions, the term limited liability company includes a 
limited liability investment company and a limited liability trust 
company.

The New York personal income tax and corporation franchise taxes 
conform with the federal income tax classification of LLCs and 
LLPs. Accordingly, an LLC or LLP that is treated as a partnership 
for federal income tax purposes must, if it meets the requirements 
(see Form IT‑204‑I), file a New York State partnership return using 
Form IT‑204, Partnership Return. For a calendar year partnership, 
the filing deadline for filing Form IT‑204 is April 15, 2008. For a 
partnership not on a calendar year basis, the filing deadline for 
Form IT-204 is the fifteenth day of the fourth month following the 
close of the partnership tax year. An LLC or LLP required to file 

Form IT‑204 must also complete and file Form IT-204-LL within 
30 days after the last day of the tax year of the LLC or LLP. An 
LLC or LLP that is treated as a corporation for federal income tax 
purposes must file a New York State corporation franchise tax return. 

New York City — Information regarding the tax treatment of an 
LLC or LLP for purposes of the New York City General Corporation 
Tax (GCT) and the New York City Unincorporated Business Tax 
(UBT) is provided in the New York City Department of Finance 
memorandum 99-1. This memorandum is available on the NYC 
Department of Finance Web site at www.nyc.gov/finance or by 
calling their taxpayer assistance line at (212) 504-4036. 

Filing fee
Every domestic or foreign LLC or LLP that is required to file a 
New York State partnership return and that has any income, gain, 
loss, or deduction from New York sources must pay a New York State 
filing fee. The amount of the filing fee is $50 multiplied by the total 
number of members or partners in the LLC or LLP. However, the fee 
cannot be less than $325 or more than $10,000.

In contrast, a domestic or foreign LLC is not subject to the filing fee if 
it does not have any income, gain, loss, or deduction from New York 
sources and:
•	 is required to file a New York State partnership return solely 

because it has a member who is a New York State resident;

•	 is formed under the laws of New York State; or
•	 is dormant.

An LLC that elects to be treated as a corporation for federal income 
tax purposes is not subject to the filing fee.

There is no proration of the filing fee if the LLC or LLP has a short 
tax year for federal tax purposes.

Who must file
This form must be filed by every LLC, LLIC, LLTC, or LLP that is 
required to file Form IT‑204, Partnership Return. It is used as a 
means of remitting the state filing fee or to indicate why the LLC or 
LLP does not owe a fee for the current tax year.

When to file
Form IT-204-LL must be filed within 30 days after the last day of 
the tax year of the LLC or LLP, with full remittance of any filing fee 
due attached to the form. In addition, as in previous years, there is 
no extension of time to file Form IT-204-LL or pay the annual fee. If 
the LLC/LLP is requesting an extension of time to file Form IT-204, 
see Extension below.

Note: Form IT-204-LL and Form IT-204 (including any attached 
Form(s) IT-204-IP and IT-204-CP, or Form(s) IT-204-ATT) constitute 
the complete partnership return. Failure to file either or both form(s) 
by the due dates may result in the imposition of penalties for failure 
to timely file a partnership return.

Extension
There is no extension of time to file Form IT‑204‑LL or to pay 
the annual fee. An LLC or LLP that is requesting an extension of 
time to file Form IT‑204 must complete Form IT‑370‑PF, Application 
for Automatic Six-Month Extension of Time to File for Partnerships 
and Fiduciaries. If the LLC or LLP is requesting an extension of 
time to file Form IT‑204, that extension will not extend the deadline 
for filing Form IT‑204‑LL. Form IT-204-LL must be filed within 30 
days after the last day of the tax year of the LLC or LLP. If the LLC 
or LLP fails to pay the full amount of filing fee by the due date of 



Form IT‑204‑LL, it must pay interest and a late payment penalty of 
½% per month, up to a maximum of 25% on the amount of fee not 
paid.

Where to file
Mail Form IT-204-LL and your remittance, if any, to:

STATE PROCESSING CENTER
PO BOX 22076
ALBANY NY 12201-2076

Private delivery services — If you choose, you may use a private 
delivery service, instead of the U.S. Postal Service, to mail in your 
return and tax payment. However, if, at a later date, you need to 
establish the date you filed your return or paid your tax, you cannot 
use the date recorded by a private delivery service unless you used 
a delivery service that has been designated by the U.S. Secretary 
of the Treasury or the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. 
(Currently designated delivery services are listed in Publication 55, 
Designated Private Delivery Services. See Need help? below for 
information on obtaining forms and publications.) If you have used 
a designated private delivery service and need to establish the 
date you filed your return, contact that private delivery service for 
instructions on how to obtain written proof of the date your return 
was given to the delivery service for delivery. If you use any private 
delivery service, whether it is a designated service or not, send the 
forms covered by these instructions to: State Processing Center, 
431C Broadway, Albany NY 12204-2836.

Line instructions
Name and address box — Enter the name(s), address, and 
identification number exactly as they will appear on Form IT‑204. 
Also enter the principal business activity, the date the business 
started, and the contact person’s telephone number.

Change of business information — If you marked an X in the box 
to indicate a change of mailing address, enter your new mailing 
address in the spaces provided, and report any other changes 
including your business name, ID number, physical address, 
telephone number, or owner/officer information on Form DTF-95, 
Business Tax Account Update. If only your address has changed, 
Form DTF-96, Report of Address Change for Business Tax 
Accounts, allows you to correct or change your business location 
(physical address) or mailing address, or both, for business tax 
accounts on record with the New York State Department of Taxation 
and Finance. You can get these forms from our Web site, or by fax 
or phone. See Need help? below for the phone number and Web 
address.

Part 1 — General information 
Line 1 — See Income from New York State sources includes on 
page 2 of Form IT‑204‑I, Instructions for Form IT‑204, to determine 
if the LLC or LLP has any income, gain, loss, or deduction derived 
from New York sources during the tax year.

Note: An LLC or LLP that has a net loss derived from New York 
sources during the tax year must still mark an X in the Yes box.

Part 2 — Partnerships for federal income tax 
purposes
Line 4 — The total number of members or partners includes all 
resident and nonresident individuals, estates and trusts, and all 
corporations and partnerships that were members or partners 
of the entity as of the last day of its tax year. This total may not 
necessarily agree with the number of partners entered at question F 
on Form IT‑204. 

IT-204-LL-I (2007) (back)

1	 Enter total number of members or
	   partners from line 4 of Form IT-204-LL.........	1.	

2	 Multiply line 1 by $50........................................	2.	

3	 Maximum filing fee...........................................	3.	

4	 Enter the smaller of line 2 or line 3 above........	4.	

5	 Minimum filing fee............................................	5.	

6	 Enter the larger of line 4 or line 5 here
	   and on Form IT-204-LL, line 5......................	6.	 	

	 $10,000

$325

New York State filing fee worksheet

Line 5 — LLC/LLP filing fee

Paid preparer must sign the return — Anyone you pay to prepare 
the return must sign it and fill in the other blanks in the paid 
preparer’s area of the return. If anyone prepares the return and does 
not charge you, the paid preparer’s area should not be filled in.

Note to paid preparers — When signing a taxpayer’s New York 
State income tax return, you must enter the same identification 
number that you used on the taxpayer’s federal return, either your 
social security number or your federal preparer tax identification 
number (PTIN). If you did not prepare a federal income tax return 
for the taxpayer, you must use your PTIN if you have one; otherwise, 
use your social security number.

Paid preparers may be subject to a penalty for failure to conform to 
certain requirements. For more information see the instructions for 
Form IT‑204.

Privacy notification — The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance 
may collect and maintain personal information pursuant to the 
New York State Tax Law, including but not limited to, sections 5-a, 
171, 171‑a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142, and 1415 
of that Law; and may require disclosure of social security numbers 
pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax 
liabilities and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and 
exchange of tax information programs as well as for any other lawful 
purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is 
provided to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention, 
support enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain 
employment and training programs and other purposes authorized 
by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or 
criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of Records 
Management and Data Entry, NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman 
Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone 1 800 225‑5829. From areas 
outside the United States and outside Canada, call (518) 485‑6800.

Internet access: www.nystax.gov
  Get answers to frequently asked questions; check your refund status; 

check your estimated tax account; download forms, publications; get tax updates 
and other information.

Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M.
  (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

To order forms and publications:	 1 800 462-8100
Refund status: 	  1 800 443-3200
Personal Income Tax Information Center: 	 1 800 225-5829
From areas outside the U.S. and outside Canada: 	 (518) 485-6800
Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are available
  24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 	 1 800 748-3676
Hearing and speech impaired
  (device for the deaf (TDD) callers only):	 1 800 634-2110

Need help?




