New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

5008 Instructions for Form CT-186-P/M

CT-186-P/M-I

Utility Services MTA Surcharge Return

Tax Law — Article 9, Section 186-c

Important reminder to file a complete return: You must
complete all required schedules and forms that make up your
return, and include all pages of those forms and schedules
when you file. Returns that are missing required pages or that
have pages with missing entries are considered incomplete
and cannot be processed, and may subject taxpayers to
penalty and interest.

Up-to-date information affecting your tax return

Visit our Web site for tax law changes or forms corrections that
occurred after the forms and instructions were printed (see Need
help?).

Changes for 2008

Increase in the mandatory first installment of estimated tax —
The Tax Law was amended to provide an increase in the mandatory
first installment for taxpayers, other than life insurance corporations
filing Forms CT-33 or CT-33-A, and continuing section 186
taxpayers filing Form CT-186, whose preceding year's tax, exclusive
of the metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA surcharge),
exceeded $100,000. For tax years beginning on or after January 1,
2009, those taxpayers are required to pay a first installment equal
to 30% of the preceding year’s tax. Additionally, taxpayers who are
required to pay their mandatory first installment at the 30% rate and
are subject to the MTA surcharge are also required to calculate their
estimated tax for the MTA surcharge at 30% of the preceding year’s
MTA surcharge. The remaining three estimated tax payments are

to be adjusted so that the total payments do not exceed 100% of
the estimated tax due. The mandatory first installment of estimated
tax and estimated MTA surcharge remains at 25% of the preceding
year's tax and tax surcharge, respectively, for those taxpayers
whose preceding year’s tax exceeded $1,000, but was less than or
equal to $100,000.

Form CT-222, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by a
Corporation, revised — Previously, Form CT-222 was used by

a corporation to report to the Tax Department the amount of the
underpayment of estimated tax penalty the corporation was subject
to. Beginning with the 2008 Form CT-222, corporations will file
Form CT-222 only to inform the Tax Department that the corporation
meets one of the exceptions to the underpayment of estimated

tax penalty. The Tax Department will compute the amount of any
penalty and notify the corporation of any amount due.

Who must file

Note: If you are a telephone or telegraph company or other
provider of telecommunication services, even if those services
are not your primary business, do not file this form. Instead,
file Form CT-186-E, Telecommunications Tax Return and Utility
Services Tax Return.

A taxpayer filing Form CT-186-P, Utility Services Tax Return —
Gross Income, who does business in the Metropolitan Commuter
Transportation District (MCTD), must also file Form CT-186-P/M and
pay a metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA surcharge) on
business done in the Metropolitan Transportation Authority region.
The MCTD includes the counties of New York, Bronx, Queens,
Kings, Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland,
Suffolk, and Westchester.

When and where to file

This return is due on March 15, following the close of the calendar
year. If March 15 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the
return is due on the next business day.

Mail your return to: NYS CORPORATION TAX
PROCESSING UNIT
PO BOX 22038
ALBANY NY 12201-2038

Private delivery services — If you choose, you may use a
private delivery service, instead of the U.S. Postal Service, to mail
in your return and tax payment. However, if, at a later date, you
need to establish the date you filed your return or paid your tax,
you cannot use the date recorded by a private delivery service
unless you used a delivery service that has been designated

by the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the Commissioner of
Taxation and Finance. (Currently designated delivery services are
listed in Publication 55, Designated Private Delivery Services. See
Need help? for information on obtaining forms and publications.) If
you have used a designated private delivery service and need to
establish the date you filed your return, contact that private delivery
service for instructions on how to obtain written proof of the date
your return was given to the delivery service for delivery. If you use
any private delivery service, whether it is a designated service

or not, send the forms covered by these instructions to: State
Processing Center, 431C Broadway, Albany NY 12204-4836.

Extension of time for filing MTA surcharge return — If you
cannot meet the filing deadline, you may request an extension of
time by filing Form CT-5.9, Request for Three-Month Extension

to File, on or before the due date of the return for which you are
requesting the extension, and paying any amount you estimate to
be due. An extension of time granted by the IRS to file a federal tax
return does not extend the due date for filing Form CT-186-P/M.

Amended return — If you are filing an amended return, please
mark an X in the Amended return box on page 1 of the return.

Employer identification number, file number, and other
identifying information — Enter your employer identification
number and file number. If you use a paid preparer or accounting
firm, make sure they use your complete and accurate identifying
information when completing all forms.

Changes of business information — You must report any
changes in your business name, ID number, mailing address,
physical address, telephone number, or owner/officer information on
Form DTF-95, Business Tax Account Update. If only your address
has changed, please enter your new address in the appropriate
area and file Form DTF-96, Report of Address Change for Business
Tax Accounts. You can get these forms from our Web site, by
phone, or by fax. See Need help?.

Whole dollar amounts — You may elect to show amounts in whole
dollars rather than in dollars and cents. Round any amount from

50 cents through 99 cents to the next higher dollar. Round any
amount less than 50 cents to the next lower dollar.

Negative amounts — Show any negative amounts with a minus (-)
sign.

Percentages — When computing allocation percentages, convert
decimals into percentages by moving the decimal point two spaces
to the right. Round percentages to four decimal places.

Example: 5,000/7,500 = 0.6666666 = 66.6667%.
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Entering dates — Unless you are specifically directed to use a
different format, enter dates in the mm-dd-yy format (using dashes
and not slashes).

Line instructions

Line A — Make your check or money order payable in

United States funds. We will accept a foreign check or foreign
money order only if payable through a United States bank or if
marked Payable in U.S. funds.

Computation of MTA surcharge

MTA surcharge — For a utility supervised by the Department
of Public Service (when the utility is not a provider of
telecommunication services) the MTA surcharge on

Form CT-186-P/M for the tax year January 1, 2008, through
December 31, 2008, is computed using the 2% (.02) tax rate on
gross income as computed on Form CT-186-P.

Line 1 — Enter the amount of receipts shown on Form CT-186-P,
line 3, that are derived from sources within the MCTD. Use the
same method of accounting to compute MCTD gross income (that
is, the accounting rule allocation method or the formula rule
allocation method) as was used to compute New York State gross
income. Make no deduction for the power for jobs tax credit.

First installment of estimated MTA surcharge for next period

If on Form CT-186-P you are required to make a first installment
of estimated tax for the next period, you must also make a first
installment of the MTA surcharge for the next period.

Line 7b — If you did not file Form CT-5.9, and the tax on
Form CT-186-P, line 8, is more than $1,000, but not more than
$100,000, enter 25% (.25) of the amount on line 6.

If you did not file Form CT-5.9 and the tax on Form CT-186-P, line 8,
exceeds $100,000, enter 30% (.30) of the amount on line 6.

If you did not file Form CT-5.9, and the tax on Form CT-186-P,
line 8, is $1,000 or less, enter 0.

Line 11 — Form CT-222, Underpayment of Estimated Tax

by a Corporation, is filed by a corporation to inform the Tax
Department that the corporation meets one of the exceptions to
the underpayment of estimated tax penalty pursuant to Tax Law
section 1085(d).

Line 12 — If you do not pay the MTA surcharge on or before the
original due date (without regard to any extension of time for filing),
you must pay interest on the amount of the underpayment from

the original due date to the date paid. Exclude from the interest
computation any amount shown on line 7a or 7b.

Line 13 — Compute late filing and late payment penalties on the
amount of MTA surcharge minus any payment made on or before
the due date (with regard to any extension of time for filing).
Exclude from the penalty computation any amount shown on line 7a
or 7h.

Note: You may compute your penalty and interest by accessing
our Web site and clicking on Online Tax Center, or you may

call and we will compute the penalty and interest for you (see
Need help?).

Line 15 — If line 8 is less than line 9, subtract line 8 from line 9.
This is the amount of overpayment. You may divide the amount of
overpayment on lines 16, 17, and 18 in any way you choose.

Collection of debts from your refund or overpayment — We
will keep all or part of your refund or overpayment if you owe a
past-due, legally enforceable debt to a New York State agency, or if

you owe a New York City tax warrant judgment debt. We may also
keep all or part of your refund or overpayment if you owe a past-due
legally enforceable debt to another state, provided that state has
entered into a reciprocal agreement with New York State. If we keep
your refund or overpayment, we will notify you.

A New York State agency includes any state department, board,
bureau, division, commission, committee, public authority, public
benefit corporation, council, office, or other entity performing

a governmental or proprietary function for the state or a social
services district. We will refund or apply as an overpayment any
amount over your debt.

If you have any questions about whether you owe a past-due,
legally enforceable debt to a state agency, or to another state,
or whether you owe a New York City tax warrant judgment debt,
contact the state agency, the other state, or the New York City
Department of Finance.

For New York State tax liabilities only, call 1 800 835-3554 (from
areas outside the U.S. and outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800) or
write to: NYS Tax Department, Collections and Civil Enforcement
Division, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227.

Composition of prepayments claimed on line 9

If you need more space, write see attached in this section
and attach a separate sheet showing all relevant prepayment
information. Transfer the total shown on the sheet to line 25,
Total prepayments.

Third-party designee

If you want to authorize another person (third-party designee) to
discuss this tax return with the New York State Tax Department,
mark an X in the Yes box in the Third-party designee area of your
return. Also print the designee’s name, phone number, and any
five-digit number the designee chooses as his or her personal
identification number (PIN). If you want to authorize the paid
preparer who signed your return to discuss the return with the
Tax Department, print the preparer’s name in the space for the
designee’s name and enter the preparer’'s phone number in the
space for the designee’s phone number. You do not have to provide
the other information requested. If you do not want to authorize
another person, mark an X in the No box.

If you mark the Yes box, you are authorizing the Tax Department to
discuss with the designee any questions that may arise during the
processing of your return. You are also authorizing the designee to:

* give the Tax Department any information that is missing from your
return;

¢ call the Tax Department for information about the processing of
your return or the status of your refund or payment(s); and

e respond to certain Tax Department notices that you shared with
the designee about math errors, offsets, and return preparation.
The notices will not be sent to the designee.

You are not authorizing the designee to receive your refund check,
bind you to anything (including any additional tax liability), or
otherwise represent you before the Tax Department. If you want

the designee to perform those services for you, you must file

Form POA-1, Power of Attorney, making that designation with the
Tax Department. Copies of statutory tax notices or documents
(such as a Notice of Deficiency) will only be sent to your designee if
you file Form POA-1.

You cannot change the PIN. The authorization will automatically end
on the due date (without regard to extensions) for filing your next
year’s tax return.



Privacy Notification — The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance
may collect and maintain personal information pursuant to the

New York State Tax Law, including but not limited to, sections 5-a,
171, 171-a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142, and 1415

of that Law; and may require disclosure of social security numbers
pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax
liabilities and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and
exchange of tax information programs as well as for any other
lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is
provided to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention,
support enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain
employment and training programs and other purposes authorized
by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil
or criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of Records

Management and Data Entry, NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman
Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone 1 800 225-5829. From areas
outside the United States and outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800.

Need help?

Internet access: www.nystax.gov
(for information, forms, and publications)

Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
available 24 hours a day,

7 days a week. 1800 748-3676
& @ Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to
5:00 P.M. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.
To order forms and publications: 1800 462-8100

Corporation Tax Information Center: 1 888 698-2908

From areas outside the U.S. and
outside Canada: (518) 485-6800

_A_ Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with
T IIT] hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY): If you
seeee have access to a TTY, contact us at 1 800 634-2110.
- If you do not own a TTY, check with independent
living centers or community action programs to find
out where machines are available for public use.

[ 4 Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that
< J our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities
are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have
questions about special accommodations for persons

with disabilities, please call 1 800 972-1233.
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