
Up-to-date information affecting your tax return
Visit our Web site for tax law changes or forms corrections that 
occurred after the forms and instructions were printed (see 
Need help? ).

Changes for 2009
More collection options for New York State — If you owe 
unpaid debt to New York State, we are now able to collect 
your debt by taking money from, or offsetting, payments owed 
you by the federal government or by another state. Reciprocal 
offset agreements also allow the federal government, as well 
as other states, to collect delinquent non-tax debt by offsetting 
payments owed you by New York State.

Credit or refund form is obsolete — Effective January 1, 
2009, and applicable to all open tax periods, Form CT-8, Claim 
for Credit or Refund of Corporation Tax Paid, can no longer be 
used. For further information, see Important Notice, N-09-2, 
Form CT-8, Claim for Credit or Refund of Corporation Tax 
Paid, and Form CT-9, Claim for Tentative Refund Based Upon 
Carryback of Net Operating Loss, Are Obsolete.

Fee for payments returned by banks — A new law allows 
the Tax Department to charge a $50 fee when a check, 
money order, or electronic payment is returned by a bank for 
nonpayment. However, if an electronic payment is returned 
as a result of an error by the bank or the department, the 
department won’t charge the fee. If your payment is returned, 
we will send a separate bill for $50 for each return or other tax 
document associated with the returned payment.

General information
For tax years ending after December 31, 1999, Article 9, 
section 186 has been repealed. Most utility corporations that 
were subject to tax under Article 9, section 186, and required 
to file Form CT-186, are now subject to tax under Article 9-A 
and required to file Form CT‑3, General Business Corporation 
Franchise Tax Return, or Form CT-3‑S, New York S Corporation 
Franchise Tax Return.

A corporation that was subject to section 186 on December 31, 
1999, may elect to remain subject to section 186 as a 
continuing 186 taxpayer if all of the following apply:
• 	 The corporation was primarily engaged in the business of 

co-generation for a tax year ending on December 31, 1999; 
and

• 	 The corporation was subject to tax under Tax Law 
section 186, but not section 186‑a, for the tax year ending 
on December 31, 1999; and

• 	 As of January 1, 2000, the corporation was a party to a total 
output contract.

However, a continuing section 186 taxpayer may make 
an irrevocable election not to be taxed as a section 186 
taxpayer, and instead be taxed as an Article 9‑A taxpayer. The 
irrevocable election is made by filing Form CT‑3 or CT‑3‑S.

For additional information see Laws of 2000, Chapter 63.

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form CT-186		
Utility Corporation Franchise Tax Return
For continuing section 186 taxpayers only (certain independent power producers)
Tax Law – Article 9, Section 186

Who must file — A corporation described above that 
elects to remain taxable under Article 9, section 186 must file 
Form CT-186. A corporation includes corporations, joint-stock 
companies, associations taxable as corporations, or publicly 
traded partnerships taxable as corporations formed for or 
principally engaged in the business of supplying electricity, 
water, steam, or gas when delivered through mains or pipes. 
The tax is computed on gross earnings received from the 
employment of capital, plus a tax on dividends paid for the tax 
year January 1 to December 31. You must report income for 
the calendar year even if you maintain your records and report 
to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) using a fiscal accounting 
period.

Voluntary Disclosure and Compliance Program — A 
Voluntary Disclosure and Compliance Program has been 
established. The program provides relief from certain penalties 
and criminal prosecution to eligible taxpayers who come 
forward and reveal previously undisclosed liabilities.

Electronic filing and electronic payment mandate — Certain 
tax preparers using tax software to prepare tax documents, 
and certain taxpayers preparing their own tax documents 
using tax software, must, for the applicable calendar year and 
all succeeding calendar years, e-file all documents authorized 
by the Commissioner to be e-filed. Any tax liability or other 
amount due required to be paid with a tax document that must 
be e-filed must also be e-paid. 

When and where to file — This return is due on March 15, 
following the close of the calendar year. If March 15 falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the return is due on the next 
business day.

Mail your return to: 	NYS CORPORATION TAX
	 PROCESSING UNIT
	 PO BOX 22038
	 ALBANY NY 12201‑2038

Private delivery services
If you choose, you may use a private delivery service, instead 
of the U.S. Postal Service, to mail in your form and tax 
payment. However, if, at a later date, you need to establish 
the date you filed or paid your tax, you cannot use the date 
recorded by a private delivery service unless you used a 
delivery service that has been designated by the U.S. Secretary 
of the Treasury or the Commissioner of Taxation and 
Finance. (Currently designated delivery services are listed in 
Publication 55, Designated Private Delivery Services. See Need 
help? for information on obtaining forms and publications.) If 
you have used a designated private delivery service and need 
to establish the date you filed your form, contact that private 
delivery service for instructions on how to obtain written proof 
of the date your form was given to the delivery service for 
delivery. If you use any private delivery service, whether it is 
a designated service or not, send the forms covered by these 
instructions to: State Processing Center, 431C Broadway, 
Albany NY 12204-4836.

Extension of time for filing tax return — If you cannot meet 
the filing deadline, request a three-month extension of time 
by filing Form CT-5.9, Request for Three-Month Extension to 
File, and paying any tax due on or before March 15, or the next 
business day thereafter if March 15 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, 
or legal holiday. An extension of time granted by the IRS to 
file a federal tax return does not extend the due date for filing 
Form CT-186. 

CT-186-I

Important reminder to file a complete return: You must 
complete all required schedules and forms that make 
up your return, and include all pages of those forms 
and schedules when you file. Returns that are missing 
required pages or that have pages with missing entries are 
considered incomplete and cannot be processed, and may 
subject taxpayers to penalty and interest.



Page 2 of 4  CT-186-I (2009)	

Final return — Mark an X in the Final return box on page 1 of 
the return, under the form number, only if filing a final tax return 
for one of the following reasons:
•	 Voluntary dissolution of a New York State corporation 

(New York Business Corporation Law section 1003)
•	 Surrender of authority by a foreign corporation (New York 

Business Corporation Law section 1310)
•	 Merger or consolidation (New York Business Corporation 

Law sections 904, 905, and 907)
•	 Disposition of assets of a New York State corporation 

(New York Business Corporation Law section 909(d))
•	 Termination of existence of a foreign corporation (New York 

Business Corporation Law section 1311)
•	 Liquidation under Internal Revenue Code (IRC) sections 332, 

333, 334, and 337

See Voluntary dissolution and surrender of authority and 
liability for taxes and fees for the proper procedures to follow in 
terminating your business.

In the case of a merger or consolidation, the Final return box 
would be used only by the nonsurviving corporation.

The return will be treated as a final return if your business is 
terminated with the Department of State and the return covers the 
tax period from the last return filed to the date of the termination.

Foreign authorized corporations: If you are disclaiming tax liability 
but want to continue to be authorized to do business in New 
York State, refer to Form CT-245, Maintenance Fee and Activities 
Return For a Foreign Corporation Disclaiming Tax Liability.

Do not mark the Final return box if you are only changing the 
type of return that you file (for example, from Form CT‑186 to 
Form CT-3 or Form CT-3-S).

Amended return — If you are filing an amended return, mark 
an X in the Amended return box on page 1 of the return.

An amended New York State return requesting a credit or 
refund must be filed within three years of the time the original 
return was filed or within two years of the time the tax was 
paid, whichever is later; or, if no return was filed, within two 
years of the time the tax was paid. For additional limitations on 
credits or refunds, see Tax Law section 1087.

Other forms you may have to file 
Reporting requirements for tax shelters — The Tax Law 
requires taxpayers to report information about transactions that 
present the potential for tax avoidance (tax shelters). There are 
separate reporting requirements for those who use tax shelters 
and for those who promote the use of tax shelters. For the 
most recent information on these reporting requirements visit 
our Web site.

Independently procured insurance tax – Article 33-A  
If you purchase or renew a taxable insurance contract from 
an insurer not authorized to transact business in New York 
State under a Certificate of Authority from the Superintendent 
of Insurance, you will be liable for a tax of 3.6% (.036) of 
the premium (see Form CT-33-D, Tax on Premiums Paid or 
Payable To an Unauthorized Insurer, or TSB-M-90(9)C, 1990 
Legislation - Direct Writings Tax, for more information).

Foreign corporations – maintenance fee — If you are 
a foreign corporation (a corporation organized outside of 
New York State) authorized to do business in New York State 
under Business Corporation Law Article 13 or 15‑A, you must 
pay an annual maintenance fee of $300. If you do not pay this 
fee or its equivalent in New York State corporation taxes and 
metropolitan transportation business taxes (MTA surcharges), 
your authorization to do business in New York State may 
be annulled. Payments of New York State corporation taxes 
(including the MTA surcharge) under Articles 9, 9‑A, and 32 are 

counted as payments toward the $300 annual maintenance 
fee. However, the license fee reported on Form CT‑240, Foreign 
Corporation License Fee Return, is not considered corporation 
tax and cannot be considered as a payment toward the 
maintenance fee.

If the total of corporation taxes you paid in the current tax 
year is less than $300, enter 300 on Form CT‑186, line 7, and 
make a payment of $300 with that form. In addition, on any 
other Article 9 returns, indicate that you paid a total tax and 
maintenance fee of $300 with Form CT‑186, and make no 
remittance with any other returns.

Foreign corporations – license fee — Foreign corporations 
doing business in New York State must also file Form CT-240 
whether or not they are authorized to do business in New 
York State. Form CT-240 must be filed with the corporation’s 
first franchise tax return or if the capital stock employed in 
New York State has increased since the last license fee return 
was filed.

Voluntary dissolution and surrender of authority and 
liability for taxes and fees — A domestic corporation 
(incorporated in New York State) is generally liable for corporate 
franchise taxes for each fiscal or calendar year, or part thereof, 
during which it is incorporated, regardless of whether it carries 
on any activity. For example, a person who intends to go into 
business organizes a new corporation under the New York 
Business Corporation Law for the purpose of operating the 
new business as a corporation. However, the business is never 
started and the corporation never conducts any business. 
Under these circumstances, the corporation would usually be 
liable for franchise taxes for each tax year until it is formally 
dissolved with the Department of State.

A foreign corporation (incorporated outside of New York 
State) is liable for franchise taxes during the period in which it 
does business, employs capital, owns or leases property, or 
maintains an office within New York State. In addition, a foreign 
corporation that is authorized to do business in New York State 
is also liable for payments of its annual maintenance fee until 
the time it surrenders with the Department of State its authority 
to do business, regardless of whether it does business, 
employs capital, owns or leases property, or maintains an office 
in the state. The maintenance fee may be taken as a credit 
against the franchise tax.

The procedure for obtaining a voluntary dissolution and 
surrender of authority and the required forms that must be filed 
with this department are set forth in Forms TR-125, Instructions 
for Voluntary Dissolution of New York State Business 
Corporations and TR-199, Surrender of Authority-Foreign 
Corporation. To obtain these forms, see Need help? Call the 
Dissolution Unit at (518) 485-2639 (in-state callers without 
free long distance call 1 800 327-9688) if you have questions 
concerning surrendering authority to do business in New York 
State.

Employer identification number, file number, and 
other identifying information — For us to process 
your corporation tax forms, it is important that we have the 
necessary identifying information. Keep a record of that 
information and include it on each corporation tax form mailed. 
If you use a paid preparer or accounting firm, make sure they 
use your complete and accurate identifying information when 
completing all forms.

Business information — Enter the corporation’s business 
information at the top of the first page. Be sure to enter the 
corporation’s mailing name if different from its legal name.
If you need to update your corporation tax address or phone 
information, you can do so online. Visit our Web site at 
www.nystax.gov and look for the change my address option. 
Otherwise, enter your new address and/or phone number in the 
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appropriate area of your return and mark an X in the box under 
the address. Do not mark an X in this box if your address and/
or phone number is new since your last filing but was already 
updated online, or for any change of business information 
other than your address and/or phone number. Once your 
corporation tax information is updated online, you do not need 
to indicate a change of address on any corporation tax forms 
submitted to the Tax Department (or for any forms for tax types 
you select to be updated in addition to corporation tax).

If you prefer to change this information by form, use 
Form DTF-96, Report of Address Change for Business Tax 
Accounts. You must report other changes (such as business 
name or ID number) on Form DTF-95, Business Tax Account 
Update. You can get these forms from our Web site, by fax, or 
by phone (see Need help?).

MTA surcharge — Any corporation taxable under Article 9, 
section 186, that does business in the Metropolitan Commuter 
Transportation District (MCTD) must file Form CT‑186‑M, 
Utility Corporation MTA Surcharge Return, and pay an MTA 
surcharge on business done in the Metropolitan Transportation 
Authority region. The MCTD includes the counties of New York, 
Bronx, Queens, Kings, Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, 
Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester.

Whole dollar amounts — You may elect to show amounts 
in whole dollars rather than in dollars and cents. Round any 
amount from 50 cents through 99 cents to the next higher dollar. 
Round any amount less than 50 cents to the next lower dollar.

Negative amounts — Show any negative amounts with a 
minus (-) sign.

Percentages — When computing allocation percentages, 
convert decimals into percentages by moving the decimal point 
two spaces to the right. Round percentages to four decimal 
places.
Example: 5,000/7,500 = 0.6666666 = 66.6667%.

Entering dates – Unless you are specifically directed to use 
a different format, enter dates in the mm-dd-yy format (using 
dashes and not slashes).

Specific instructions 
Line A – Make your check or money order payable in United 
States funds. We will accept a foreign check or foreign money 
order only if payable through a United States bank or if marked 
Payable in U.S. funds.

Line 6 – Mark an X in the appropriate boxes and enter the total 
amount of tax credits claimed on the following forms; attach 
the form(s) to your return. If you are claiming a credit for which 
no specific box is provided, mark an X in the Other credits box 
and attach the appropriate form(s):
Form CT-40,		  Claim for Alternative Fuels Credit
Form CT-41,		  Claim for Credit for Employment of Persons 	

	 with Disabilities
Form CT-43,		  Claim for Special Additional Mortgage 		

	 Recording Tax Credit
Form CT-243, 	 Claim for Biofuel Production Credit
Form CT-249, 	 Claim for Long-Term Care Insurance Credit
Form CT-631,	 Claim for Security Officer Training Tax Credit
Form DTF-630,	 Claim for Green Building Credit

These credits may not reduce your tax below the minimum tax. 
If you are an authorized foreign corporation, these credits may 
not reduce your total tax and MTA surcharge below the $300 
maintenance fee.

If more than one of these credits applies, you may use them in 
any order you choose.

Line 8b – If you did not file Form CT-5.9 and the amount on 
line 7 (net franchise tax) is more than $1,000, you must pay a 
mandatory 25% (.25) first installment of estimated tax for the 
period following the period covered by the return.

Use Form CT-400, Estimated Tax for Corporations, to file and 
pay the additional installments of estimated tax for the next 
period. If you expect the franchise tax for the next period 
to exceed $1,000, you must file additional installments of 
estimated tax on June 15, September 15, and December 15.

Line 12 – Form CT-222, Underpayment of Estimated Tax 
by a Corporation, is filed by a corporation to inform the Tax 
Department that the corporation meets one of the exceptions 
to reduce or eliminate the underpayment of estimated tax 
penalty pursuant to Tax Law section 1085(d).

Line 13 – If you do not pay the franchise tax on or before 
the original due date (without regard to any extension of 
time for filing), you must pay interest on the amount of the 
underpayment from the original due date to the date paid. 
Exclude from the interest computation any amount shown on 
line 8a or 8b.

Line 14 – Compute additional charges for late filing and late 
payments on the amount of franchise tax minus any payment 
made on or before the due date (with regard to any extension 
of time for filing). Exclude from the penalty computation any 
amount shown on line 8a or 8b.
A. 	If you do not file a return when due or if the application for 

extension is invalid, add to the tax 5% (.05) per month up to 
25% (.25) (section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

B.	If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, 
the addition to tax in item A above cannot be less than 
the smaller of $100 or 100% of the amount required to be 
shown as tax (section 1085(a)(1)(B)).

C.	If you do not pay the tax shown on a return, add to the tax 
½% (.005) per month up to 25% (.25) (section 1085(a)(2)).

D.	The total of the additional charges in items A and C may not 
exceed 5% (.05) for any one month, except as provided for 
in item B above (section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, 
attach a statement to your return explaining the delay in filing, 
payment, or both.

Line 16 – Collection of debts from your refund or 
overpayment — We will keep all or part of your refund or 
overpayment if you owe a past-due, legally enforceable debt 
to a New York State agency, or if you owe a New York City 
tax warrant judgment debt. We may also keep all or part of 
your refund or overpayment if you owe a past-due legally 
enforceable debt to another state, provided that state has 
entered into a reciprocal agreement with New York State. If we 
keep your refund or overpayment, we will notify you.

A New York State agency includes any state department, 
board, bureau, division, commission, committee, public 
authority, public benefit corporation, council, office, or other 
entity performing a governmental or proprietary function for the 
state or a social services district. We will refund or apply as an 
overpayment any amount over your debt.

The Tax Department is authorized to charge the taxpayer, as 
part of the taxpayer’s tax debt, any cost or fee imposed or 
charged by the United States, or any state, for the payment or 
remittance of a taxpayer’s overpayment to satisfy a New York 
State tax debt.

Note: You may compute your penalty and interest by 
accessing our Web site and clicking on Online Tax Center, or 
you may call and we will compute the penalty and interest 
for you (see Need help?).



	 Internet access: www.nystax.gov
 	    (for information, forms, and publications)

	 Fax-on-demand forms: 	 1 800 748-3676

	 Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M.
	    (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

Corporation Tax Information Center:	 (518) 485-6027
  For in-state callers without free long distance:	 1 888 698-2908

To order forms and publications:	 (518) 457-5431
  For in-state callers without free long distance:	 1 800 462-8100

Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with 
  hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY):	 1 800 634-2110

	 Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the Americans 
with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our lobbies, offices, 
meeting rooms, and other facilities are accessible to

persons with disabilities. If you have questions about special 
accommodations for persons with disabilities, call the information center.

Need help? 

Page 4 of 4  CT-186-I (2009)	

If you have any questions about whether you owe a past-due, 
legally enforceable debt to a state agency, or to another state, 
or whether you owe a New York City tax warrant judgment 
debt, contact the state agency, the other state, or the New York 
City Department of Finance.

For New York State tax liabilities only, call (518) 457-5434 
(in-state callers without free long distance call 1 800 835-3554) 
or write to: NYS Tax Department, Collections and Civil 
Enforcement Division, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 
12227.

Line 20b — If you are claiming a refund of unused tax credits, 
enter the refund amount and attach the appropriate tax credit 
form(s). Do not include the refund amount on line 6.

Line 20c —  If you are applying an amount of unused tax 
credits as an overpayment to the next tax period, enter that 
amount and attach the appropriate tax credit form(s). Do not 
include the overpayment amount on line 6.

Schedule A — Computation of gross earnings tax and 
allocation percentage/issuer’s allocation percentage 
On lines 21 through 24, enter gross earnings attributable 
to New York State in column A and total gross earnings 
everywhere in column B.
Gross earnings are all receipts from the employment of capital, 
without any deductions.
Do not take a deduction relating to a financial resource asset 
unless you attach to Form CT-186 a certificate issued by the New 
York State Department of Public Service verifying this deduction.
General City Law Article 2-I provides for certain rebates of 
charges for energy in revitalization areas of New York City. 
However, nothing contained in Article 2-I should be construed 
as reducing the amount of the gross receipts subject to tax 
under Tax Law section 186.
Your issuer’s allocation percentage is used by corporate 
shareholders to compute their corporate franchise tax. It 
represents the amount of New York State gross earnings 
compared to gross earnings everywhere.
The Tax Law requires most corporations doing business in 
New York State to provide the information needed to compute 
their issuer’s allocation percentages. Tax Law section 1085 
provides for a $500 penalty for failure to provide this 
information.
Taxpayers paying the minimum tax must also complete this 
schedule and compute their issuer’s allocation percentages.

Schedule B — Computation of allocated dividend tax 
Line 30 – The actual amount of paid-in capital is that part of 
the equity that was invested in the business enterprise by 
shareholders.

Line 31 – If dividends are paid once a year, include the value 
of the paid-in capital on the declaration date. If dividends 
are declared and paid more than once a year, average the 
value of paid-in capital on which these dividends were paid 
by computing the value of paid-in capital on each declaration 
date and dividing by the number of dividend dates. For more 
information about computation of the tax on dividends, see 
TSB-M-82(8)C, Tax on Dividends for Section 186 of Article 9.

Third-party designee 
If you want to authorize another person (third-party designee) to 
discuss this tax return with the New York State Tax Department, 
mark an X in the Yes box in the Third-party designee area of 
your return. Also print the designee’s name, phone number, 
and any five-digit number the designee chooses as his or her 
personal identification number (PIN). If you want to authorize 
the paid preparer who signed your return to discuss the return 
with the Tax Department, print the preparer’s name in the 

space for the designee’s name and enter the preparer’s phone 
number in the space for the designee’s phone number. You do 
not have to provide the other information requested. If you do 
not want to authorize another person, mark an X in the No box.

If you mark the Yes box, you are authorizing the Tax 
Department to discuss with the designee any questions that 
may arise during the processing of your return. You are also 
authorizing the designee to:
• 	give the Tax Department any information that is missing from 

your return;
•	call the Tax Department for information about the processing 

of your return or the status of your refund or payment(s); and
•	respond to certain Tax Department notices that you shared 

with the designee about math errors, offsets, and return 
preparation. The notices will not be sent to the designee.

You are not authorizing the designee to receive your refund 
check, bind you to anything (including any additional tax 
liability), or otherwise represent you before the Tax Department. 
If you want the designee to perform those services for you, 
you must file Form POA-1, Power of Attorney, making that 
designation with the Tax Department. Copies of statutory tax 
notices or documents (such as a Notice of Deficiency) will only 
be sent to your designee if you file Form POA-1.

You cannot change the PIN. The authorization will automatically 
end on the due date (without regard to extensions) for filing 
your next year’s tax return.

Privacy notification
The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and maintain personal information 
pursuant to the New York State Tax Law, including but not limited to, sections 5-a, 171, 
171-a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142, and 1415 of that Law; and may require 
disclosure of social security numbers pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax liabilities and, when authorized 
by law, for certain tax offset and exchange of tax information programs as well as for any 
other lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is provided to certain state 
agencies for purposes of fraud prevention, support enforcement, evaluation of the 
effectiveness of certain employment and training programs and other purposes authorized 
by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or criminal penalties, or 
both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Manager of Document Management, NYS Tax 
Department, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone (518) 457-5181.


