
Preparer information 
If you prepared Form ET-706 for the estate and you are not the 
executor, fill in the information requested in the preparer section 
on page 1 of the return and sign where indicated. Include your 
federal preparer tax identification number (PTIN) or your social 
security number (SSN), and your New York tax preparer registration 
identification number (NYTPRIN) if you are required to have one. 
Paid preparers can be subject to a penalty for failure to conform 
to certain requirements. See TSB-M-09(10)M, Tax Preparer 
Registration Program, and TSB-M-10(8)M, Enrolled Agents 
Excluded from the Definition of Tax Return Preparer for the Tax 
Preparer Registration Program, for more information.

General information
Conformity with the federal Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC)
New York State (NYS) Estate Tax Law Article 26 conforms to the 
Internal Revenue Code (IRC) of 1986, with all amendments enacted 
on or before July 22, 1998 (NYS Tax Law section 951). Therefore, 
the NYS Estate Tax Law does not conform to the changes provided 
by the federal Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act 
of 2001. For a date of death after 2001, the NYS estate tax liability 
will generally exceed the allowable federal credit for state death 
taxes. For dates of death after 2004, the IRC replaced the credit 
with a deduction for state death taxes paid. This change in the IRC 
is not incorporated in NYS Tax Law, and, therefore, does not affect 
the calculation of the NYS estate tax.

Which estates must file Form ET-706 for 
New York State
Note: If the estate is required to file Form ET‑706, New York State 
Estate Tax Return, the estate must also complete and submit a 
federal estate tax return with the NYS return, even if the estate 
is not required to file with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). For 
2010, use the September 2009 version of federal Form 706, United 
States Estate (and Generation-Skipping Transfer) Tax Return, or 
Form 706-NA, United States Estate (and Generation-Skipping 
Transfer) Tax Return, Estate of nonresident not a citizen of the 
United States.

New York State residents
On or after January 1, 2004 — The estate of an individual who 
died on or after January 1, 2004, and who was a NYS resident at 
the time of death, must file a NYS estate tax return if the total of 
the federal gross estate, plus the federal adjusted taxable gifts and 
specific exemption (see federal Instructions for Form 706 ), exceeds 
$1,000,000.

Before January 1, 2004 — The estate of an individual who died 
on or after February 1, 2000, and before January 1, 2004, and who 
was a NYS resident at the time of death, must file a NYS estate 
tax return if the estate is required to file a federal estate tax return, 
Form 706.

New York State nonresidents who were either residents 
or citizens of the United States (U.S.)
On or after January 1, 2004 — The estate of an individual who 
died on or after January 1, 2004, who was either a resident or 
citizen of the United States at the time of death, and was not a 
resident of NYS at the time of death, must file a NYS estate tax 
return if the estate includes real or tangible personal property 

having an actual situs in NYS and the gross estate, plus federal 
adjusted taxable gifts and specific exemption, exceeds $1,000,000. 
The estate must also submit a completed Form ET-141, New York 
State Estate Tax Domicile Affidavit.

Before January 1, 2004 — The estate of an individual who died 
on or after February 1, 2000, and before January 1, 2004, who was 
either a resident or citizen of the United States at the time of death, 
and who was not a NYS resident at the time of death, must file a 
NYS estate tax return if the estate is required to file a federal estate 
tax return, federal Form 706, and the estate includes real or tangible 
personal property having an actual situs in NYS. The estate must 
also submit a completed Form ET‑141, New York State Estate Tax 
Domicile Affidavit.

New York State nonresidents who were nonresidents of 
the United States and not U.S. citizens
The estate of an individual who died on or after February 1, 2000, 
and who was a nonresident of the United States and not a U.S. 
citizen at the time of death, must file a NYS estate tax return if the 
estate is required to file a federal estate tax return, Form 706-NA, 
and the estate includes real or tangible personal property having 
an actual situs in NYS (see the information below on federal filing 
requirements).

General requirements for filing a federal estate 
tax return
U.S. citizens and residents
The executor must file federal Form 706 for the estate of every 
U.S. citizen or resident whose gross estate, plus adjusted taxable 
gifts and specific exemption, is more than the applicable exclusion 
amount of the unified credit for the year of death. For the year 
2000 and 2001, the applicable exclusion amount is $675,000; for 
2002 and 2003, the amount is $1,000,000; for 2004 and 2005, the 
amount is $1,500,000. For 2006, 2007, and 2008, the amount is 
$2,000,000; for 2009, the amount is $3,500,000: however, NYS 
does not conform to amounts that exceed $1,000,000.

Nonresidents of the United States who were not 
U.S. citizens
The executor must file federal Form 706-NA if the date of death 
value of the decedent’s gross estate located in the United States 
(under federal IRC situs rules) exceeds the filing limit of $60,000, 
reduced by the sum of the gift tax specific exemption applicable 
to certain gifts made in 1976, and the total taxable gifts made after 
1976 that are not included in the gross estate.

When to file Form ET-706 for New York State
You must file Form ET-706 within nine months after the decedent’s 
date of death, unless you receive an extension of time to file the 
return.

An extension of time to file the estate tax return may not exceed 
six months, unless the executor is out of the country.

The Tax Department may grant an extension of time to pay the 
estate tax for up to four years from the date of death, if it is 
established that payment of any part of the tax within nine months 
from the date of death would result in undue hardship to the estate. 
Annual installments may be required (NYS Tax Law section 976(a)).

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance
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If you need an extension of time to file the estate tax return, pay the 
estate tax, or both, file Form ET‑133, Application for Extension of 
Time to File and/or Pay Estate Tax.

Also see Election of installment payments of tax for closely held 
business on page 3 for information on an extension of time to pay 
the tax when a large part of the estate consists of an interest in a 
closely held business.

Where to file
Mail Form ET-706 to:

	 NYS ESTATE TAX
PROCESSING CENTER
PO BOX 15167 
ALBANY NY 12212-5167

If you use a private delivery service, see Private delivery services 
below.

Private delivery services
If you choose, you may use a private delivery service, instead of 
the U.S. Postal Service, to mail in your form and tax payment. 
However, if, at a later date, you need to establish the date you 
filed or paid your tax, you cannot use the date recorded by a 
private delivery service unless you used a delivery service that 
has been designated by the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the 
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. (Currently designated 
delivery services are listed in Publication 55, Designated Private 
Delivery Services. See Need help? on page 5 of these instructions 
for information on obtaining forms and publications.) If you have 
used a designated private delivery service and need to establish 
the date you filed your form, contact that private delivery service 
for instructions on how to obtain written proof of the date your form 
was given to the delivery service for delivery.

Interest and penalties 
Interest
Underpayment of tax — To avoid the assessment of interest, you 
must pay the total tax as finally determined within nine months of 
the date of death, even if you received an extension of time to file 
the return. Interest is compounded daily, and the rate is adjusted 
quarterly.

Overpayment of tax — If the estate is due a refund, you may 
also be entitled to receive interest on your overpayment. Interest 
is compounded daily, and the rate is adjusted quarterly. If the 
refund is made within 45 days after the due date of the return, the 
extended due date, or the date the return is filed, whichever is later, 
no interest will be paid. If the refund is not made within this 45-day 
period, interest will be paid from the due date of the return or the 
date the return is filed, whichever is later.

Penalties
Late filing penalty — If you file late, you will be charged a penalty 
of 5% on the amount of tax required to be shown on the return 
(reduced by any tax paid by the prescribed due date of the return 
and by any allowable credits) for each month or part of a month the 
return is late, up to a maximum of 25%, unless you extend the time 
to file and file within the extended period, or attach to your return an 
explanation showing reasonable cause for the delay. If your return 
is more than 60 days late, this penalty will not be less than the 
lesser of $100 or 100% of the tax required to be shown (reduced 
by any tax paid timely and by any allowable credit) (NYS Tax Law 
sections 990 and 685(a)(1)). For information on requesting an 
extension of time to file your return, see When to file Form ET-706 
for New York State on the front page of these instructions.

Late payment penalty — If you do not pay the tax when due, you 
will be charged a penalty of ½% of the unpaid portion of the total 
tax shown on the return for each month or part of a month the tax 
remains unpaid. It will be computed from the due date to the date 
of payment, up to a maximum of 25% (NYS Tax Law sections 990 

and 685(a)(2)). This penalty is in addition to the interest charged for 
late payments.

This penalty may be waived if you attach an explanation to your 
return showing reasonable cause for paying late.

Note: When late filing and late payment penalties are imposed at 
the same time, the amount of the late filing penalty computed for 
each month is reduced by the amount of the late payment penalty 
computed for the same monthly periods.

If you compute your tax incorrectly — You may have to pay a 
penalty if the tax you report on your return is less than your correct 
tax. If you reported an amount that is off by more than 10% of the 
tax required to be shown on the return, or by $2,000, whichever is 
more, you may have to pay this penalty. The penalty is 10% of the 
difference between the tax you reported and the tax you actually 
owe (NYS Tax Law sections 990 and 685(p)).

Negligence penalty — If you do not show all of the tax imposed on 
your return (under the NYS Tax Law, its rules or regulations) due to 
negligence or intentional disregard (but not with intent to defraud), 
you will be charged a penalty of 5% of any deficient amount.

In addition, 50% of the interest due on any underpayment 
resulting from negligence will be added to your tax (NYS Tax Law 
sections 990 and 685(b)).

Fraudulent returns — If any part of a deficiency is due to fraud, 
you will be charged a penalty of 50% of the deficiency. In general, 
a deficiency is the difference between the correct tax and the tax 
shown on your return. If you file your return late, the deficiency is 
the entire tax. In addition, 50% of the interest due on any deficiency 
resulting from a fraudulent act will be added to your tax (NYS Tax 
Law sections 990 and 685(e)).

Frivolous returns — The Tax Department will impose a penalty of 
up to $500 on any person who files a frivolous tax return. A return is 
considered frivolous when it does not contain information needed 
to judge the correctness of the tax return or reports information that 
is obviously and substantially incorrect, intended to delay or impede 
the administration of Article 26 of the Tax Law or the processing of 
the return (NYS Tax Law sections 990 and 685(q)).

Supplemental documents
A completed copy of either federal Form 706 or 706-NA, with all 
schedules and supporting documents, must be submitted with 
your NYS estate tax return. When applicable, you must submit the 
following documents with the estate tax return (if they were not 
previously submitted):

•	 a copy of the death certificate

•	 a copy of the decedent’s last will (if one exists)

•	 letters of appointment (if obtained from the surrogate’s court)

•	 a power of attorney (see Attorney/representative information on 
page 3)

For the estate of an individual who was not a resident of NYS at the 
time of his or her death, complete Form ET‑141, and attach it to the 
return.

Amended returns
To amend your NYS estate tax return, mark an X in the box on the 
top of the front page of Form ET-706, complete the return, and mail 
it to the NYS Estate Tax Processing Center address. Include your 
remittance for additional tax, if applicable. If you also amended 
the federal estate tax return, attach a copy of the amended federal 
estate tax return, Form 706 or Form 706-NA.

Federal audit changes
To report changes as a result of an audit by the IRS, complete 
Form ET-115.1, New York State Estate Tax Report of Federal Audit 
Changes, attach a copy of the federal audit changes and line 
adjustments, and mail to: NYS Tax Department, TDAB — Estate 
Tax, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227.
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Completing the return
Note: If the decedent was a victim of the September 11, 2001, 
terrorist attacks, refer to Completing the estate tax return on 
page 13 of Publication 59, New York State Tax Relief for Victims of 
Terrorist Attacks, to complete Form ET-706.

If the decedent was an astronaut of the United States who died in 
the line of duty on or after January 1, 2003, the estate is exempt 
from NYS estate tax. However, the estate is required to file a NYS 
estate tax return. The preparer should write U.S. astronaut at the 
top of the front page of the return to aid us in processing the return, 
and enter 0 on lines 1 and 8 of the return. It is not necessary to 
complete Schedule A or B.

Federal return required
A copy of the federal return must be submitted — The starting 
point for the NYS estate tax return is the federal estate tax return. A 
completed federal estate tax return must be submitted with the NYS 
estate tax return, even if the estate is below the federal filing threshold.

Decedent information
Enter the name of the decedent (last name first), home address at 
the time of death, social security number, date of death (month, 
date, and year), and county of residence.

If you have not previously submitted a copy of the death certificate, 
mark an X in the box and attach a copy to the return being filed.

Indicate if the decedent was a nonresident of NYS at the time of 
death. If the decedent was not a resident of NYS at the time of 
death, complete and attach Form ET‑141 if one was not submitted 
previously.

In the area provided, enter the federal employer identification 
number (EIN), if any, for the estate. The EIN, also known as a federal 
tax identification number, can be obtained by contacting the IRS. 
Also enter the name(s) and EIN for any trusts created. If additional 
room is needed, attach a sheet listing the names and identification 
numbers of the trusts.

Attorney/representative information
If you, as the executor of the estate, have authorized a person 
to represent you regarding the estate, and you would like the 
department to contact him or her regarding the estate, enter the 
name (last name first) of the attorney, accountant, or enrolled agent 
who is representing you. Also enter the firm’s name, address, 
and telephone number in the areas provided, and have the 
representative sign the return in the area provided on the front page 
of the return.

Note: If you are giving a person power of attorney to represent 
you, attach a completed Form ET‑14, Estate Tax Power of Attorney, 
if one was not submitted previously. Refer to the instructions on 
Form ET‑14 for additional information.

Executor information
Enter the name (last name first) and other information for the 
executor of the estate. The term executor includes executrix, 
administrator, administratrix, or personal representative of the 
decedent’s estate; if no executor, executrix, administrator, 
administratrix, or personal representative is appointed, qualified, 
and acting within the United States, executor means any person in 
actual or constructive possession of any property of the decedent.

If an executor has not been appointed, this form may be signed 
and filed by a person having knowledge of all the assets in the 
decedent’s estate. This person must also enter his or her name, 
address, and social security number in the area provided for the 
executor on the front page of the return.

If the estate has more than one executor, mark an X in the box, 
enter the name and other information for the primary executor 
(preferably a person residing in NYS) in the area provided, and 

attach a list of each of the other executors with their mailing 
address and social security number. Submit Letters Testamentary or 
Letters of Administration with the return if not previously submitted. 
It is sufficient to have one of the coexecutors sign the return.

Litigation information
If the decedent was a plaintiff in any litigation at the time of his 
or her death, or the estate has undertaken or is considering any 
litigation on behalf of the decedent, mark an X in the box and, in the 
area provided in Schedule 3, describe the litigation. Include the fair 
market value of the decedent’s interest in the cause of action as of 
the date of death.

The department will waive the penalty and interest that applies 
to the estate tax attributable to the value of a cause of action 
(litigation) that is includable in the taxable estate of the decedent. 
Penalty and interest on this amount will be waived from the date 
an estate tax return is filed that discloses the cause of action, to 
the date of payment, but not more than one year after the date of 
settlement or final judgement.

Damages for wrongful death are not includable in the gross estate, 
but damages for pain and suffering are.

Election of installment payments of tax for 
closely held business
In the area provided on the front page of the return, indicate if the 
estate is electing to pay the estate tax in installments as provided 
under NYS Tax Law section 997. When a large part of an estate 
consists of an interest in a closely held business, the estate 
representative may elect, under NYS Tax Law section 997, to apply 
for deferred payment of estate tax. This extension is based upon 
IRC section 6166, as incorporated in NYS Tax Law.

An estate will not be allowed to defer payment of the NYS estate 
tax under NYS Tax Law section 997 if the estate is required to file a 
federal estate tax return and either does not elect or is not allowed 
to pay the federal estate tax in installments under IRC section 6166.

The time limit for making this election for NYS estate tax is 
nine months from the date of death (15 months if an extension 
of time to file is granted). Form ET‑415, Application for Deferred 
Payment of Estate Tax, must be completed and attached to 
Form ET‑706. Note: If you are electing to pay the NYS estate tax 
in installments, you must file Form ET‑415 within the time allowed 
or it will be denied, even when the federal election is made on time.

If you need an extension of time to file the return or to pay the 
non-deferred tax, refer to Form ET-133, Application for Extension of 
Time to File and/or Pay Estate Tax.

Releases of lien
In the area provided on the front page of the return, enter the 
number of counties for which you are requesting releases of 
lien, and submit a completed Form ET‑117, Release of Lien of 
Estate Tax, for each county in which real property is located. After 
Form ET-117 has been validated and returned to you, file the 
validated Form ET-117 with the county clerk or commissioner of 
deeds for the county in which the real property is located.

If a release of lien is needed for one or more cooperative 
apartments, complete a separate Form ET-117 for each cooperative 
corporation and purchaser. After Form ET-117 has been validated 
and returned to you, give the validated Form ET-117 to the 
purchaser of the cooperative apartment(s) as proof that the lien has 
been released. 

Do not submit real property and cooperative apartments on the 
same Form ET-117, even when they are located in the same county.

A release of lien is not required if the property was held jointly by 
the decedent and the surviving spouse as the only joint tenants with 
the right of survivorship (tenants by the entirety).



 Need help?

Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 A.M. to
  4:30 P.M. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

Estate Tax Information Center:	 (518) 457-5387

To order forms and publications:	 (518) 457-5431

Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with 
  hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY):	 (518) 485-5082

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our 
lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are

accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have questions 
about special accommodations for persons with disabilities, call the 
information center.

Internet access: www.nystax.gov
  (for information, forms, and publications)
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Note: To obtain a release of lien when the estate is not required to 
file a NYS estate tax return, complete Form ET-30, Application for 
Release(s) of Estate Tax Lien, if an executor has been appointed 
and it is less than nine months from the date of death. Attach the 
completed Form(s) ET-117 to Form ET-30. Otherwise, complete 
Form ET-85, New York State Estate Tax Certification, and attach the 
completed Form(s) ET-117.

Schedule A or B
You are required to complete Schedule A or Schedule B unless the 
estate meets any one of the following:

•	 The date of death was in the year 2000.

•	 The date of death was in the year 2001, 2002, or 2003, and 
the estate is not required to file a federal estate tax return. (see 
General requirements for filing a federal estate tax return on the 
front page of these instructions)

•	 The date of death was in the year 2001; and
	 —	the estate does not elect the qualified conservation easement 

exclusion (federal Schedule U) on the federal estate tax return 
(Form 706 or 706-NA); or

	 —	 the estate elects the qualified conservation easement 
exclusion on the federal estate tax return, and the property 
would have qualified for the exclusion under the federal IRC 
before amendment by the Economic Growth and Tax Relief 
Reconciliation Act of 2001.

•	 The date of death was after the year 2001, the amount on federal 
Form 706, page 1, Part 2, line 8, does not exceed $345,800, 
reduced by any adjustment to the unified credit, and, for dates 
of death after 2004, no deduction was taken on line 2b for state 
death taxes; or the date of death was in the year 2002, 2003, or 
2004, the amount on federal Form 706-NA (Rev. January 2003 
or earlier), page 1, Part II, line 8, is zero, and, for the dates of 
death in 2004, the unified credit is not affected by a treaty (see 
instructions for line 49 on page 6); and

	 —	the estate does not elect the qualified conservation easement 
exclusion (federal Schedule U) on the federal estate tax return 
(Form 706 or 706‑NA); or

	 —	 the estate elects the qualified conservation easement 
exclusion on the federal estate tax return, and the property 
would have qualified for the exclusion under the federal IRC 
before amendment by the Economic Growth and Tax Relief 
Reconciliation Act of 2001.

Purpose of Schedules A and B
Since NYS estate tax does not conform to the reductions in 
the federal estate tax rates, the reductions and elimination of 
the federal credit for state death taxes, the deduction for state 
death taxes, the increases in the applicable exclusion amount 
(unified credit), the elimination of the Qualified Family‑Owned 
Business Interest (QFOBI) deduction (for dates of death after 
2003), or the amendments to the qualified conservation easement 
exclusion provided for by the federal Economic Growth and Tax 
Relief Reconciliation Act of 2001, certain estates must adjust the 
amounts reported on their federal estate tax return to determine 
the correct NYS estate tax. Schedules A and B are provided, along 
with Table A, Unified rate schedule, and Table B, Computation of 
maximum NYS credit for state death taxes, so the preparer can 
make the adjustments applicable to the NYS estate tax.

Estates of those who died after 2003 may elect the QFOBI 
deduction for NYS by using Schedule A. See instructions for line 32 
on page 6 of these instructions.

Estates of those who died after 2001 may have to adjust the federal 
estate tax (using Table A) and/or the credit for state death taxes 
(using Table B). Estates of US citizens and residents who died after 
2003 have to adjust the applicable exclusion amount (unified credit) 
which is limited to $1,000,000 for NYS. Some estates of those who 
died after 2000 must also increase the federal gross estate and 
taxable estate when the qualified conservation easement exclusion 
does not qualify for NYS. To determine if the property qualified 

for the exclusion under the IRC before amendment, refer to the 
instructions for Schedule U in the federal Instructions for Form 706 
(Rev. July 1999), or to NYS Form ET‑418, Computation of Qualified 
Conservation Easement Exclusion.

Privacy notification — The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance 
may collect and maintain personal information pursuant to the 
New York State Tax Law, including but not limited to, sections 5-a, 
171, 171-a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142, and 1415 
of that Law; and may require disclosure of social security numbers 
pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax 
liabilities and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and 
exchange of tax information programs as well as for any other 
lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is 
provided to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention, 
support enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain 
employment and training programs and other purposes authorized 
by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil 
or criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Manager of Document 
Management, NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman Campus, 
Albany NY 12227; telephone (518) 457-5181.

Line instructions
Note: References to lines on federal Form 706 and Form 706-NA 
are to the September 2009 versions, unless otherwise noted.

Item a
Is a federal estate tax return required to be filed with the 
IRS? — In the area provided above line 1 on the front page 
of NYS Form ET-706, indicate if the estate is required to file a 
federal estate tax return, either federal Form 706 or 706‑NA 
(see General requirements for filing a federal estate tax return 
on the front page of these instructions). Since the federal estate 
tax return is the starting point for the NYS estate tax return, a 
completed copy of the federal return must be submitted, even when 
the estate is below the federal filing threshold.

Alternate valuation for dates of death after 2003 — When the 
estate is not required to file a federal estate tax return with the IRS, 
the estate may elect to use the alternate valuation on the pro-forma 
federal estate tax return filed with Form ET-706. This may result in a 
reduced estate tax liability.

The election, as authorized by section 2032 of the IRC, must 
decrease both the value of the gross estate and the total net estate 
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and GST taxes due after application of all allowable credits. The 
calculation on the pro-forma federal return must use the tax rates 
and other provisions for the IRC, with all amendments through 
July 22, 1998, and the limitations on the unified credit in section 951 
of the NYS Tax Law.

To elect alternative valuation, check Yes on page 2, Part 3, line 1, of 
federal Form 706, or page 2, Schedule A, of federal Form 706-NA, 
filed with NYS Form ET-706. If the estate elects to use the alternate 
valuation, the election may not be revoked. However, the estate 
may elect to use the alternate valuation after Form ET-706 is filed, 
provided the return was not filed later than one year after the due 
date (including extensions). Refer to the federal instructions and 
regulations for information on the date that property is to be valued, 
determining if the estate qualifies, making an election after the 
return is filed, and how to make a protective election.

Item b
Taxable estate for New York State — Enter the amount from 
Schedule A, line 26, or Schedule B, line 43. If the date of death was 
before 2005 and the estate is not required to complete Schedules A 
or B, enter the amount from federal Form 706 (Rev. August 2004 
or earlier), page 1, Part 2, line 3, or the amount from federal 
Form 706-NA (Rev. January 2003 or earlier), page 1, Part II, line 1.

Item c
Gross federal estate tax for New York State — Enter the amount 
from Schedule A, line 31, or Schedule B, line 48. If the date of 
death was before 2005 and the estate is not required to complete 
Schedules A or B, enter the amount from federal Form 706 
(Rev. August 2004 or earlier), page 1, Part 2, line 8 (formerly line 10), 
or the amount from federal Form 706-NA (Rev. January 2003 or 
earlier), page 1, Part II, line 6.

Line 1  New York State credit for state death taxes — NYS 
estate tax is measured by the maximum state death tax credit 
granted by IRC section 2011, as amended through July 22, 1998. 
For dates of death after 2001, this amount can only be determined 
by completing Form ET-706, Schedule A or Schedule B. Enter the 
amount from Form ET-706, Schedule A, line 36, or Schedule B, 
line 51. If the date of death was before 2002 and the estate is not 
required to complete Schedule A or B, use the amount from federal 
Form 706 (Rev. November 2001 or earlier), page 1, Part 2, line 15, 
or the amount from federal Form 706-NA (Rev. September 1999), 
page 1, Part II, line 9.

Line 2 — If there is no property located outside NYS, enter 0 on 
lines 2, 3, 5, 6, and 7, and enter the amount of tax from line 1 on 
line 8. 

If there is property located outside NYS that is included in the federal 
gross estate, continue with the instructions for lines 2 through 8.

For dates of death on or after January 1, 2002 — If there is 
property located outside NYS that is included in the federal gross 
estate, complete lines 3 through 6 and enter the line 6 amount on 
lines 2 and 7. Also, complete either Schedule 1 for a resident or 
Schedule 2 for a nonresident.

For dates of death before January 1, 2002 — If there is property 
located outside NYS that is included in the federal gross estate, 
and estate tax or inheritance tax is payable to another state, enter 
the amount that is allowable as a federal credit. If tax is payable 
to more than one other state, enter the combined amount of tax 
payable to the other states.

Line 4 — Enter the amount from Schedule A, line 22, or 
Schedule B, line 39. If the estate is not required to complete 
Schedule A or B, enter the amount from federal Form 706, page 1, 
Part 2, line 1, or the amount from federal Form 706-NA, page 2, 
Schedule B, line 1.

Line 7  For dates of death before January 1, 2002 — Enter the 
lesser of line 2 or line 6; otherwise enter the amount from line 6 (see 
the instructions for line 2).

Line 10 — If an amount is due, make check payable to 
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance.

Fee for payments returned by banks — The law allows the Tax 
Department to charge a $50 fee when a check, money order, or 
electronic payment is returned by a bank for nonpayment. However, 
if an electronic payment is returned as a result of an error by the 
bank or the department, the department won’t charge the fee.

If your payment is returned, we will send a separate bill for $50 for 
each return or other tax document associated with the returned 
payment.

Schedules 1 and 2
If there is property located outside NYS that is included in the 
federal gross estate, complete the applicable schedule.

Schedule 1 — Resident
Line 13 — Enter the value of any NYS property attributable to a 
limited power of appointment created before September 1, 1930, 
that is not included in the federal gross estate, but is required to be 
included in the NYS gross estate under section 957 of the Tax Law. 
See explanation of a limited power of appointment created prior to 
September 1, 1930, below.

Schedule 2 — Nonresident
Line 17 — Enter the value of any real and tangible personal 
property located within NYS that is attributable to a limited power of 
appointment created before September 1, 1930, that is not included 
in the federal gross estate, but is required to be included in the 
NYS gross estate under Tax Law section 957. See explanation of a 
limited power of appointment created prior to September 1, 1930, 
below.

Limited power of appointment created prior to September 1, 
1930 — This particular power and the property covered by the 
power applies to property conveyed before September 1, 1930, 
that was subject to NYS estate or death taxes in the estate of 
the grantor of such power, by virtue of the law then in effect, with 
the expectation that a deferred tax would be paid by the grantee 
(donee) of the power upon the exercise of the power. The value 
of the property passing under such limited power of appointment 
must be added to the federal gross estate of a deceased resident, 
if the limited power of appointment is exercised by the decedent 
by will or by a disposition, such that if it were a transfer of property 
owned by the decedent, such property would be includable in the 
NYS gross estate as a transfer under IRC section 2035, 2036, 2037, 
or 2038.

Schedule A
Line 24  Qualified family-owned business deduction — NYS 
Estate Tax Law does not conform to the changes provided by the 
federal Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2001, 
which eliminates the qualified family‑owned business interests 
(QFOBI) deduction for dates of death after December 31, 2003. 
Therefore, the estate may still elect the deduction for purposes of 
computing its federal taxable estate for NYS. For dates of death 
before 2004, the deduction is included in the amount of the federal 
deductions entered on line 23.

If the date of death is after December 31, 2003, the estate must 
make the election for NYS by completing a federal Schedule T, 
with a revision date of August 2003 or earlier, and attaching it to 
Form ET‑706. Enter the amount of the deduction on line 24. Also 
refer to the line 32 instructions to determine the maximum unified 
credit.

(continued)
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Total pre-1977 
taxable gifts

(from federal Instructions for 
Form 706 (9/09), page 5,

Line 7 Worksheet, column b)

c
Taxable gifts for

this period
(from federal Instructions

for Form 706 (9/09), page 5,
Line 7 Worksheet, column c)

d
Tax payable using

Table A
(see instructions on page 5)

e
Unused unified credit

(applicable credit 
amount for this period)
(see instructions on page 5)

f
Tax payable 

for this period 
(subtract column e

from column d)

	 1	 Total gift taxes payable on gifts made after 1976 (combine the amounts in column f ) .........................................	 1.
	 2	 Gift taxes paid by the decedent on gifts that qualify for special treatment (from federal Instructions for

		    Form 706 (9/09), page 5, line 2, Line 7 Worksheet ) ............................................................................................	 2.
	 3	 Subtract line 2 from line 1...................................................................................................................................	 3.
	 4	 Gift tax paid by decedent’s spouse on split gifts included on federal Form 706, Schedule G (from

		    federal Instructions for Form 706 (9/09), page 5, line 4, Line 7 Worksheet ) .............................................................	 4.
	 5	 Add lines 3 and 4 (enter here and on Form ET-706, page 3, Schedule A, line 30 ) ....................................................	 5.

a
Calendar year or 
calendar quarter

b
Total taxable gifts for 

prior periods
(from federal Instructions

for Form 706 (9/09), page 5, 
Line 7 Worksheet, column b)

Line 30 Worksheet
Note: For columns a, b, and c, and lines 2 and 4, enter amounts from federal Instructions for Form 706 (9/09), page 5, Line 7 Worksheet.

Instructions for Line 30 Worksheet — federal gift tax on 
gifts made after 1976 – for dates of death on or after 
January 1, 2002
If the date of death was before January 1, 2002, do not complete 
this worksheet. Instead, on line 30 of Schedule A, enter the amount 
from federal Form 706, page 1, Part 2, Tax Computation, line 9.

Purpose of worksheet — The maximum federal estate tax 
rates are reduced for dates of death on or after January 1, 2002. 
However, NYS uses the prior federal Unified rate schedule 
(reproduced in Table A on page 4 of Form ET-706) to determine 
estate tax. Using this worksheet to recalculate the amount reported 
on federal Form 706 (9/09), page 1, Part 2, Tax Computation, line 7, 
may result in a larger amount reportable on line 30 of Schedule A. A 
larger amount on line 30 results in a lower gross tax on line 31 and 
possibly a lower NYS estate tax overall.

Columns b and c — Following the federal instructions for the 
Line 7 Worksheet, enter in columns b and c of this worksheet the 
amounts reportable in columns b and c of the federal worksheet.

Column d — Tax payable as used here is a hypothetical amount 
and does not necessarily reflect tax actually paid. Compute tax 
payable only on gifts made after 1976. Do not include any tax paid 
or payable on gifts made before 1977. However, if the decedent 
made taxable gifts before January 1, 1977, a special computation is 
required. The amount of federal gift tax payable (line 30) should be 
determined by using Table A on page 4 of Form ET-706, to compute 
the cumulative lifetime taxable transfers made both before and 
after January 1, 1977, and then subtracting the tax payable on the 
lifetime transfers made before January 1, 1977.

To calculate the tax payable before the unified credit, enter the 
amounts for the appropriate calendar year or calendar quarter from 
column c and b on lines 1 and 2, then complete the worksheet 
below.

Column e — To compute the unused unified credit (applicable 
credit amount), use the unified credit (applicable credit amount) in 
effect for the year the gift was made. This amount should be on the 
federal Form 709, page 1, Part 2, Tax Computation, line 12, that 
was filed for the gift.

Line 32  Maximum New York State unified credit — If the 
estate did not elect the QFOBI deduction, the maximum unified 
credit for dates of death in 2000 and 2001 is $220,550; for dates 
of death after 2001, the amount is $345,800. These amounts are 
the equivalent taxes on the applicable exclusion amount. For dates 
of death in 2000 and 2001, the applicable exclusion amount is 
$675,000; for dates of death after 2001, the applicable exclusion 
amount is $1,000,000.

If the estate elects the QFOBI deduction, the sum of the deduction 
and the applicable exclusion amount cannot exceed $1.3 million. 
Thus, if the maximum deduction of $675,000 is claimed, the 
applicable exclusion amount would be limited to $625,000, and the 
amount entered on line 32 would be $202,050.

If the amount of the QFOBI deduction is less than $675,000, the 
applicable exclusion amount is increased by the difference between 
$675,000 and the amount of the deduction, but the applicable 
exclusion amount may not exceed $1,000,000. For example, if the 
QFOBI deduction claimed is $665,000, the applicable exclusion 
amount would be $635,000 [($675,000 - 665,000) + 625,000]. 
However, if the deduction was $200,000, the applicable exclusion 
amount would be limited to the maximum of $1,000,000, and the 
amount entered on line 32 would be $345,800.

Schedule B
Line 41  State death tax deduction — Since NYS does not allow 
this deduction, the total federal deductions must be reduced by this 
amount. This applies to dates of death on or after January 1, 2005. 
Enter the amount from federal Form 706-NA (Rev. September 2009), 
page 2, Schedule B, line 7, if any.

Line 49  New York State unified credit — Refer to federal 
Instructions for Form 706-NA, for applicable unified credit amount. 
Any amount previously allowed as a unified credit against the 
federal gift tax will reduce, dollar for dollar, the unified credit allowed 
the estate.

If the date of death was after 2003, and the decedent was a citizen 
of a country having a treaty with the United States that affects 
the unified credit, the applicable credit amount in effect under 
section 2010(c) of the IRC, referred to in section 2102(b)(3)(A) of the 
IRC, is limited to $1,000,000, the amount in effect for the year 2003, 
and the maximum amount for NYS estate tax purposes.

	
1. 	Enter the amount from column c......................	 1. 

2.	 Enter the amount from column b……...............	 2. 

3.	 Add lines 1 and 2……………............................	 3. 

4.	 Tax computed on line 3 amount 
      (from Table A on page 4 of Form ET-706)......... 	 4. 

5.	 Tax computed on line 2 amount
      (from Table A on page 4 of Form ET-706)......... 	 5. 

6.	 Subtract line 5 from line 4 (enter here and in 
      column d for each year or quarter)................ 	 6. 

Column d worksheet


