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Temporary deferral of certain tax credits
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, and before 
January 1, 2013, if the total amount of certain credits that you may use 
to reduce your tax or have refunded to you is greater than $2 million, the 
excess over $2 million must be deferred to, and used or refunded in, tax 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2013. For more information about 
the credit deferral, see Form IT-500, Income Tax Credit Deferral.

If you are subject to the credit deferral, you must complete all credit 
forms without regard to the deferral. However, the credit amount that 
is transferred to your tax return to be applied against your tax due 
or to be refunded to you may be reduced. Follow the instructions for 
Form IT-500 to determine the amounts to enter on your tax return.

General information
What is the historic homeownership 
rehabilitation credit, and how do I qualify?
You may be able to claim a credit on your New York State income 
tax return for expenditures paid or incurred, for the rehabilitation of a 
historic home located in New York State (NYS). To be eligible, you must 
own and reside in the historic home in the year for which you claim the 
credit.

The credit is administered by the New York State Office of Parks, 
Recreation and Historic Preservation (OPRHP). To qualify for the credit, 
the rehabilitation plan for exterior work on the qualified historic home 
must be certified by a local landmark commission established under 
section 96-a or section 119-dd of the General Municipal Law or by 
OPRHP. If the rehabilitation plan includes both interior and exterior 
work, the plan must be certified by OPRHP or by a local government 
established under section 101(c)(1) of the National Historic Preservation 
Act.

For more information, see Definitions on the back.

How much is the credit?
The credit is equal to 20% of the qualified rehabilitation expenditures. 
The maximum credit you may claim is $50,000 per year (plus any 
carryover from a preceding year). If you are married and both you and 
your spouse are eligible to claim the credit, you may each claim up to 
$50,000, whether you file joint or separate returns.

If your New York adjusted gross income (NYAGI) for the tax year is:

• 	$60,000 or less and the amount of the credit exceeds your 		
tax for the year, any excess will be refunded without interest; or

• 	more than $60,000 and the amount of the credit exceeds your tax for 
the year, you may carry the excess over to the following tax year or 
years.

You will have to recapture all or a portion of the credit you previously 
claimed if you move out of the qualified historic home before the end 
of a two-year period that begins on the later of (1) the date the final 
certification was issued, or (2) the date you purchased the qualified 
historic home.

For more information, see Part 3 on the back.

How do I claim the credit?
Claim the credit using Form IT-237 for the year in which you receive 
the Certificate of Completion (COC) from OPRHP, or the year in which 
you purchased and resided in a qualified historic home that has been 
rehabilitated. File Form IT-237 with your personal income tax return, 
Form IT-201 or Form IT-203.

If two or more people (other than a married couple) own a building 
and use it as their residence, the expenditures as shown on the COC 
are deemed to be paid or incurred based on each owner’s share 
of ownership in the home. Each taxpayer must file his or her own 
Form IT-237.

Married taxpayers — A married couple may divide the amount of 
the credit equally or in any other manner they choose. File a single 

Form IT-237 if you are married and filing a joint return; file separate 
Forms IT-237 if you are married filing separate returns.

Specific instructions
Part 1 — Property information and computation 
of credit
Schedule B — Computation of credit
Column A — If you (or you and your spouse) reside in the qualified 
historic home and are the sole owner(s) of the home, enter 100% of the 
expenditures you paid or incurred as shown on the COC.

If you (or you and your spouse) share ownership of the qualified historic 
home with one or more individuals, but you (or you and your spouse) 
are the only owner(s) that reside(s) there, enter the expenditures as 
shown on the COC that were paid or incurred by you.

Example: Peter Smith and Paul Jones equally own a certified 
historic home. Peter resides in the home but Paul does not. Qualified 
rehabilitation expenses incurred total $120,000. Peter Smith paid 
$100,000 of the expenses. Peter would enter $100,000 in column A of 
his Form IT-237. Paul Jones would not be eligible to claim the $20,000 
of expenses paid or incurred by him since he does not reside in the 
home.

If you (or you and your spouse) reside in the qualified historic home 
along with other owners of the home, the expenditures as shown on the 
COC are deemed to be paid or incurred based on each owner’s share of 
ownership in the home.

Example: A certified historic home is owned by Peter Jones, Paul 
Jones, Pat Jones, and Pat’s spouse, Chris Jones. Each owner has 
a quarter interest in the ownership of the property. However, only 
Pat, Chris, and Peter reside in the home. The qualified rehabilitation 
expenses incurred were $240,000. Therefore, Chris and Pat would enter 
$120,000 in column A of Form IT-237 whether they file separately or 
jointly. Peter would enter $60,000 in column A of his Form IT-237. Paul 
would not be eligible to claim his share of the expenses ($60,000) since 
he does not reside in the home.

Column C — Most taxpayers should enter the lesser of $50,000 or the 
column B amount.

However, if you are married (regardless of your filing status), and both of 
you own and reside in the property, you and your spouse may divide the 
credit equally, or divide the credit in any manner you choose, provided 
that neither of you claims an amount that exceeds $50,000.

Example: You and your spouse own and reside in a certified historic 
home and are filing separate tax returns. The qualified rehabilitation 
expenses incurred were $300,000 (column A). The amount entered in 
column B on both Forms IT-237 is $60,000. If you and your spouse 
agree, you can claim 60% of the credit and would enter $36,000 in 
column C. Your spouse would be eligible to claim the remaining 40% 
and would enter $24,000 in column C of his or her Form IT-237.

Column D — If you are married filing jointly and have agreed to divide 
the credit equally, enter 50% of column B. If you are not dividing the 
credit equally, enter the portion you have agreed upon, not to exceed 
$50,000. All others leave column D blank.

Line 8 — If your New York AGI (Form IT-201, line 33, or Form IT-203, 
line 32) is $60,000 or less and your total credits from all sources are:

• 	$2 million or less, enter the amount from line 8 and code 237 on 
Form IT-201-ATT, line 12 or Form IT-203-ATT, line 12. Do not complete 
Part 2.

• 	more than $2 million, you may be subject to a credit deferral. See 
Form IT-500, Income Tax Credit Deferral, to determine the proper 
amount of line 8 to enter on your tax return. Do not complete Part 2.

If your New York AGI (Form IT-201, line 33, or Form IT-203, line 32) is 
more than $60,000, continue with Part 2.

Line 9 — If line 7 is greater than line 6, subtract line 6 from line 7. This is 
your net historic homeownership rehabilitation credit recapture. Do not 



complete Part 2. Enter this amount and code 237 on Form IT-201-ATT, 
line 20, or Form IT-203-ATT, line 19.

Part 2 — Application of credit and computation 
of carryover
Line 10
Form IT-201 filers:  Enter the tax from Form IT-201, line 39, plus any 
amount from Form IT-201-ATT, line 21.

Form IT-203 filers:  Enter the tax from Form IT-203, line 46, plus any 
amount from Form IT-203-ATT, line 20.

Line 11 — If you are applying any credits against the tax before this 
credit, enter those amounts here.

When applying credits, use the following rules:

•	 First apply any household credit.

•	 Next apply any credits that cannot be carried over or refunded.

•	 Then apply any credits that can be carried over for a limited duration.

•	 Then apply any credits that can be carried over for an unlimited 
duration.

•	 Apply refundable credits last. 

Line 13 — If your total credits from all sources are $2 million or less, 
enter the amount from line 13 and code 237 on Form IT-201-ATT, line 6, 
or Form IT-203-ATT, line 7.

If your total credits from all sources are more than $2 million, you may 
be subject to a credit deferral. See Form IT-500, Income Tax Credit 
Deferral, to determine the proper amount of line 13 to enter on your tax 
return.

Part 3 — NYS recapture of credit
If you no longer reside in the qualified historic home, and less than two 
years has passed since the later of (1) the date the final certification was 
issued or (2) the date you purchased the qualified historic home, you 
must recapture a portion of the credit you were originally allowed.

Column A — Enter the project number for which you are computing the 
recapture amount.

Column B — Enter the number of months that you owned and resided 
in the qualified property, beginning with either the date the final 
certification was issued or the date you purchased the qualified historic 
home, and ending when you moved out of the residence.

Column D — Divide the column C amount by 24 and round the result to 
the fourth decimal place.

Column E — Enter only the amount of credit actually claimed. Do not 
include any credit carryover you did not claim. In addition, any credit 
carryover not claimed is lost and cannot be used in computing your 
current year or subsequent year(s) tax liability.

Definitions
Qualified historic home is a certified historic structure located in New 
York State:

•	 which has been substantially rehabilitated (qualified rehabilitation 
expenditures of at least $5,000),

•	 which, or any portion of which, is owned, in whole or in part, by the 
taxpayer (including tenant-shareholders of a cooperative housing 
corporation),

•	 in which the taxpayer resides during the tax year for which the 
taxpayer is allowed the credit, and

•	 which is in whole or in part a targeted area residence within the 
meaning of section 143( j ) of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) or is 
located within a census tract that is identified as being at or below 
100% of the state median family income in the most recent federal 
census.

A certified historic structure, for purposes of this credit, is any building 
(and its structural components) which is listed in the State or National 
Register of Historic Places; or is located in a state or national registered 
historic district and is certified as being of historic significance to the 
district.

A certified rehabilitation is any rehabilitation of a certified historic 
structure which has been approved and certified as being consistent 
with the standards established by the Commissioner of Parks, 
Recreation and Historic Preservation for rehabilitation by OPRHP, a 
local government certified pursuant to section 101(c)(1) of the National 
Historic Preservation Act, or a local landmark commission established 
pursuant to section 96-a or 119-dd of the General Municipal Law. It 
requires: (1) an initial certification that the structure meets the definition 
of a certified historic structure, (2) a second certification to be issued 
prior to construction certifying that the proposed rehabilitation work 
is consistent with the standards established by the Commissioner of 
Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation for rehabilitation, and (3) a 
final certification issued when construction is completed, certifying that 
the work was completed as proposed and that the costs are consistent 
with the work completed.

A qualified rehabilitation expenditure is any amount properly chargeable 
to a capital account (1) in connection with the certified rehabilitation 
of a qualified historic home, and (2) for which depreciation would be 
allowable under section 168 of the IRC if the qualified historic home 
were used in a trade or business. It does not include any cost of 
acquiring any building or interest therein, any expenditure attributable to 
the enlargement of an existing building or any expenditure made prior 
to January 1, 2007. Additionally, at least 5% of the total expenditures 
made in the rehabilitation process must be allocable to the exterior 
of the building to be considered a qualified rehabilitation expenditure. 
For buildings used only partially for residential purposes, a qualified 
expenditure includes only those expenditures allocable to the residential 
portion.

In the case of tenant-shareholders in a cooperative housing corporation 
or condominium owners, a percentage of the qualified rehabilitation 
expenditures for exterior work on the building containing the 
cooperative or condominium dwelling units shall be attributed to each 
unit within the building based on the percentage of space such unit 
occupies within the building.

In the case of a building where less than the entire building is used as 
the residence of the taxpayer, only the portion of the total expenditures 
made in the rehabilitation of the building that are attributable to the 
residence of the taxpayer shall be treated as qualified rehabilitation 
expenditures.

If a taxpayer purchases a qualified historic home, qualified rehabilitation 
expenditures made by the seller are deemed to have been made by the 
taxpayer purchasing the property if the purchaser has the information 
from the seller regarding the qualified rehabilitation expenditures and 
meets all the conditions listed under a purchased qualified historic 
home (see below). You will be considered as having made the qualified 
rehabilitation expenditures made by the seller of the home on the date 
of purchase.

A purchased qualified historic home is any qualified historic home 
purchased by the taxpayer if:

•	 the taxpayer is the first purchaser of the home following the date of 
the final certification step,

•	 the purchase occurs within five years of the date of the final 
certification step,

•	 the taxpayer resides in the home during the tax year for which he or 
she is allowed the credit,

•	 no credit was allowed to the seller with regard to this rehabilitation, 
and

•	 the taxpayer is furnished with the necessary information (as 
determined by the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance) to 
determine the credit.
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