
CT-245-INew York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form CT-245
Maintenance Fee and Activities Return
For a Foreign Corporation Disclaiming Tax Liability
Tax Law — Article 9, Section 181.2

Short periods — reduced maintenance fee
The Tax Law allows a reduction of the maintenance fee for periods 
of 9 months or less:
	 Period	 Maintenance		
		  fee due
	 6 months or less ................................................. 	$150
	 More than 6 months, but not more than 9
 	   months ............................................................ 	$225
	 More than 9 months ........................................... 	$300

Who must file Form CT-245
–	 Any business incorporated outside New York State that is 

authorized to do business in New York State and wishes to 
disclaim tax liability.

–	 A qualified subchapter S subsidiary (QSSS) incorporated 
outside New York State and authorized to do business in 
New York State that is included in the parent corporation’s 
return.

–	 Any business incorporated outside New York State having an 
employee (including any officer) in this state and disclaiming 
tax liability. (Employees are considered to be working in this 
state if they come into New York State on corporate business.)

–	 Foreign banking corporations described in Article 32 section 
1452(a)(9) that are authorized to do business in New York State 
and wish to disclaim tax liability.

Foreign banking corporations described in Article 32 
section 1452(a)(2) through 1452(a)(8), insurance corporations, 
LLCs, LLPs, and publicly traded partnerships taxed as 
corporations under the IRC that are authorized to do business in 
New York State are not required to file Form CT-245.

Foreign corporations subject to tax under Article 9 
or 9-A and not required to file Form CT-245
A business incorporated outside New York State is subject to 
franchise tax if it:
–	 does business in New York State;
–	 employs capital in New York State;
– 	 owns or leases property in New York State; or
–	 maintains an office in New York State.

The term doing business includes all activities that occupy the 
time or labor of people for profit. Regardless of the nature of its 
activities, a corporation organized for profit and carrying out any 
activities for that purpose is deemed to be doing business and 
subject to the tax. It is immaterial whether its activities result in a 
profit or loss.

The term employing capital includes any use of assets in 
maintaining or aiding the corporate enterprise or activity in 
New York State.

Foreign banking corporations subject to tax under 
Article 32 and not required to file Form CT-245 
(except section 1452(a)(9) corporations)
A foreign banking corporation or association described in 
Article 32 section 1452(a)(2) through (8) that is doing business 
in New York State in a corporate or organized capacity, and is 
organized under the laws of the United States or the laws of any 
other state or country, is subject to a franchise tax under Article 32, 
but not the maintenance fee under Article 9 section 181.

Form CT-1, Supplement to Corporation Tax 
Instructions
See Form CT-1 for the following topics:
•	 Changes for the current tax year (general and by Tax Law Article)
•	 Business information (how to enter and update)
•	 Entry formats

—	 Dates
—	 Negative amounts
—	 Percentages
—	 Whole dollar amounts

•	 Are you claiming an overpayment?
•	 Third-party designee
•	 Paid preparer identification numbers
•	 Is your return in processible form?
•	 Use of reproduced and computerized forms
•	 Electronic filing and electronic payment mandate
•	 Web File
•	 Form CT-200-V
•	 Collection of debts from your refund or overpayment
•	 Fee for payments returned by banks
•	 Reporting requirements for tax shelters
•	 Tax shelter penalties
•	 Voluntary Disclosure and Compliance Program
•	 Your rights under the Tax Law
•	 Need help?
•	 Privacy notification

General information
A foreign corporation that is authorized to do business in New York 
must pay an annual maintenance fee. The following entities are 
exempt from this fee:
• 	banking corporations as defined in Article 32 section 1452(a), 

paragraphs 1 through 8;
• 	insurance corporations;
• 	limited liability companies (LLCs);
• 	limited liability partnerships (LLPs); and
• 	publicly traded partnerships taxed as corporations under the 

Internal Revenue Code (IRC).

The maintenance fee is $300. However if the foreign authorized 
corporation filed a short period return, the maintenance fee may be 
less than $300. See Short periods – reduced maintenance fee.

Failure to pay the annual maintenance fee may result in the 
annulment of the corporation’s authority to do business in New York 
State (Article 9, section 203-b).

If the foreign authorized corporation is disclaiming tax liability, it 
does not file a tax return under Article 9, 9-A, or 32. However, it 
must file and pay the $300 maintenance fee on Form CT-245.

If the foreign authorized corporation files a tax return under 
Article 9, 9-A, or 32, the payment of corporation tax of at least 
$300 on that tax return satisfies the maintenance fee requirement 
and Form CT-245 should not be filed.
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Activities deemed insufficient to subject a foreign 
corporation to tax under Article 9, 9-A, or 32
A foreign corporation is not considered to be doing business, 
employing capital, owning or leasing property, or maintaining an 
office in New York State because of one or more of the following 
activities:
–	 the maintenance of cash balances with banks or trust 

companies in New York State;
–	 the ownership of shares of stock or securities kept in New York 

State in a rented safe deposit box, safe, or vault, or if pledged 
as collateral security, or deposited in safekeeping or custody 
accounts with banks, trust companies, or brokers who are 
members of a recognized security exchange;

–	 any action by a bank, trust company, or broker that is 
incidental to the rendering of safekeeping or custodial service 
to the corporation;

–	 the maintenance of an office in this state by one or more 
officers or directors of the corporation who are not corporation 
employees; or

–	 the keeping of a corporation’s books or records in New York 
State by someone other than an employee of the corporation.

In addition, a foreign corporation is not considered to be doing 
business, employing capital, owning or leasing property, or 
maintaining an office in New York State under Article 9-A because 
of one or more of the following activities:
–	 the use of a non-affiliated fulfillment service or the ownership of 

property stored on the premises of such fulfillment service (see 
TSB-M-98(7)C, 1998 Summary of Corporation Tax Legislative 
Changes); or

–	 the participation in trade shows in New York State for 14 days 
or less during its tax year for federal income tax purposes. 
This is regardless of whether the corporation has employees or 
other staff present at the trade shows, providing that:

	 • 	 the corporation’s trade show activity is limited to displaying 
goods or promoting services;

	 • 	 no sales are made at the trade show; and
	 • 	 any orders received are sent outside New York State for 

acceptance or rejection and are filled from outside the state.

When to file
File this return within 2½ months after the end of your annual 
reporting period. New York State Tax Law does not provide for an 
extension of time to file Form CT-245.

Where to file
Mail returns to:	 NYS CORPORATION TAX
	 PROCESSING UNIT
	 PO BOX 22038
	 ALBANY NY 12201-2038

Private delivery services
See Publication 55, Designated Private Delivery Services.

Reporting period
Use this tax return for calendar year 2013 and fiscal years that 
begin in 2013 and end in 2014.

You can also use the 2013 return if:
• 	you have a tax year of less than 12 months that begins and ends 
in 2014, and

•	 the 2014 return is not yet available at the time you are required 
to file the return.

In this case you must show your 2014 tax year on the 2013 return 
and take into account any tax law changes that are effective for tax 
years beginning after December 31, 2013.

All filers must complete the beginning and ending tax year boxes in 
the upper right corner on page 1 of the form.

Line A 
Make your check or money order payable in United States funds. 
We will accept a foreign check or foreign money order only if 
payable through a United States bank or if marked Payable in U.S. 
funds.

Interest
If you do not pay the maintenance fee on or before the due 
date of the return, you must pay interest on the amount of the 
underpayment from the due date to the date paid (see Note).

Late filing and late payment — additional charges
Corporations required to pay the maintenance fee will be subject 
to the penalties for late filing and late payment imposed under 
Article 27 section 1085.

Additional charges for late filing and late payment are computed on 
the amount of the maintenance fee less any payment made on or 
before the due date.
A.	 If you do not file a return when due, add 5% (.05) per month 

to the maintenance fee, up to a maximum of 25% (.25) 
(section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

B.	 If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, the 
addition to the maintenance fee in item A above cannot be less 
than the smaller of $100 or 100% of the amount required to be 
shown as the maintenance fee (section 1085(a)(1)(B)).

C.	 If you fail to pay the maintenance fee shown on the return, add 
½% (.005) per month to the maintenance fee, up to a maximum 
of 25% (.25) (section 1085(a)(2)).

D.	 The total of the additional charges in items A and C above may 
not exceed 5% (.05) in any one month, except as provided for 
in item B above (section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, attach a 
statement to your return explaining the delay in filing, payment, or 
both (section 1085).

Amended return
If you are filing an amended return, mark an X  in the Amended 
return box.

When filing an amended return for a credit or refund, the amended 
return must be filed within three years of the date the original 
return was filed or within two years of the date the tax was paid, 
whichever is later. If you did not file an original return, you must 
make the request within two years of the date the tax was paid. 
For additional limitations on credits or refunds, see Tax Law, 
Article 27, section 1087. 

Final return
Mark an X in the Final return box on page 1 of the return, under the 
form number, only if filing a final tax return for one of the following 
reasons:
–	 surrender of authority by a foreign corporation (New York 

Business Corporation Law section 1310);
–	 merger or consolidation (New York Business Corporation Law 

section 907); or
–	 termination of existence - foreign corporation (New York 

Business Corporation Law section 1311).

In the case of a merger or consolidation, the Final return check box 
would only be used by the nonsurviving foreign corporation.

The return will be treated as a final return if your business is 
terminated with the Department of State, and the return covers the 
tax period from the last return filed to the date of the termination.

Note: You may compute your penalty and interest by accessing 
our Web site, or you may call and we will compute the interest 
and penalty for you (see Need help?).



CT-245-I (2013)  Page 3 of 3

Do not mark the box if you are only changing the type of return 
that you file (for example, CT-245 to CT-3, General Business 
Corporation Franchise Tax Return; CT-245 to CT-4, General 
Business Corporation Franchise Tax Return Short Form).

Surrender of authority and liability for taxes and 
fees
In order to surrender the authority of a foreign corporation that 
is authorized to do business in this state, the Tax Law requires 
the consent of the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. This 
consent will be given only if the commissioner ascertains that all 
fees, franchise taxes, and other taxes (such as sales tax) imposed 
under the Tax Law that have accrued against the corporation have 
been paid. 

For information on voluntary dissolution and surrender of authority, 
see Forms TR-125, Instructions for Voluntary Dissolution of New 
York State Business Corporations, and TR-199, Surrender of 
Authority-Foreign Corporation, on our Web site (see Need help?).

Signature
The return must be certified by the president, vice president, 
treasurer, assistant treasurer, chief accounting officer, or other 
officer authorized by the taxpayer corporation.

The return of an association, publicly traded partnership, or 
business conducted by a trustee or trustees must be signed by 
a person authorized to act for the association, publicly traded 
partnership, or business.

If an outside individual or firm prepared the return, all applicable 
entries in the paid preparer section must be completed, including 
identification numbers (see Paid preparer identification numbers in 
Form CT-1). Failure to sign the return will delay the processing of 
any refunds and may result in penalties. 


