
Did you know? You can pay your estimated tax electronically on our 
Web site with a debit from your checking or savings account. Visit us on 
the Web at www.tax.ny.gov to pay your estimated tax electronically.

Changes for 2013
The 2013 New York State standard deduction and tax rate schedules 
have been adjusted to reflect the cost of living adjustment required 
under the Tax Law.

General information
Estimated income tax is the amount of New York State, New York City, 
and Yonkers tax you expect to owe for the year after subtracting:
•	 the amount of tax you expect to have withheld;
•	 the estimated income tax paid with Form IT-2663, Nonresident Real 

Property Estimated Income Tax Payment Form;
•	 the estimated income tax paid with Form IT-2664, Nonresident 

Cooperative Unit Estimated Income Tax Payment Form;
•	 the estimated income tax paid on your behalf by a partnership or 

S corporation; and
•	 the amount of any credits you plan to take.

If any of your income is subject to New York City or Yonkers resident 
income taxes or Yonkers nonresident earnings tax, substitute New York 
City or Yonkers for New York State in the following instructions to 
determine if you are required to make estimated payments of these 
taxes.

Who must make estimated income tax payments – Generally, you 
must pay estimated income tax if you expect to owe, after subtracting 
your withholding, estimated income tax paid with Form IT-2663 and/or 
IT-2664, estimated income tax paid on your behalf by a partnership or 
S corporation, and credits, at least $300 of either New York State, New 
York City, or Yonkers tax for 2013, and you expect your withholding, 
estimated income tax paid with Form IT-2663 and/or IT-2664, estimated 
income tax paid on your behalf by a partnership or S corporation, and 
credits to be less than the smaller of:
1.	 90% of the personal income tax shown on the 2013 return, or
2.	 100% of the personal income tax shown on the 2012 return (110% 

of that amount if you are not a farmer or a fisherman and the 
New York adjusted gross income shown on that return is more 
than $150,000, or, if married filing separately for 2013, more than 
$75,000).

However, if you did not file a 2012 tax return, or your 2012 return did 
not cover all 12 months, item 2 above does not apply.

Do not include in your estimate any amount of sales or use tax you 
expect to owe on your 2013 personal income tax return.

When to pay your estimated income tax – Generally, you must make 
your first payment of 2013 estimated income tax by April 15, 2013. You 
can pay all your estimated income tax with the first voucher or pay it in 
four equal installments on April 15, June 17, September 16, 2013, and 
January 15, 2014.

Changes in income, deductions, or exemptions during 2013 may 
require you to amend your original estimate or to begin making 
estimated tax payments after April 15, 2013. Use the Amended 
estimated income tax worksheet on page 8 of these instructions to 
amend your original estimate. If you are required to begin making 
payments after April 15, 2013, the payment due dates are as follows:
If the requirement is met after:	 Payment due date is:
March 31 and before June 1	 June 17, 2013
May 31 and before September 1	 September 16, 2013
August 31	 January 15, 2014

If you file your 2013 New York State income tax return on or before 
January 31, 2014, and pay the full balance of tax due, you do 

not have to make any payment which would otherwise be due on 
January 15, 2014.

If, after March 31, 2013, you have a large change in income, 
deductions, additional taxes, or credits that requires you to start making 
estimated income tax payments, you should compute the amount of 
your estimated income tax payments by using the annualized income 
installment method explained in Form IT‑2105.9-I, Instructions for 
Form IT‑2105.9, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals 
and Fiduciaries, Worksheet 1 (and, if applicable, Worksheet 2 and 
Worksheet 3). Although your payment due dates will be the same as 
shown above, the payment amounts will vary based on your income, 
deductions, additional taxes, and credits for the months ending before 
each payment due date. As a result, this method may allow you to 
skip or lower the amount due for one or more payments. If you use the 
annualized income installment method, be sure to file Form IT‑2105.9 
with your 2013 tax return, even if no penalty is owed.

Automatic 90-day extension for certain taxpayers – If your spouse 
died within 30 days before the due date for your first estimated income 
tax installment (for calendar year filers, April 15, 2013), you qualify for a 
90-day extension of time to pay that installment. The extension of time 
to pay does not apply for any other estimated income tax installment 
for the tax year. See the instructions on page 2 for entering the special 
condition code on your payment voucher.

Farmers and fishermen – There is only one required installment date, 
January 15, if two-thirds or more of your federal gross income for 2012 
or 2013 is from farming or fishing. You must either pay 66⅔% of your 
2013 tax by January 15, 2014, or file your New York State return by 
March 1, 2014, and pay the total tax due.

Fiscal-year filers – If you report your income on a fiscal-year basis, 
adjust the calendar year due dates to correspond with the fifteenth 
day of the fourth, sixth, and ninth months of your fiscal year, and the 
first month of your succeeding fiscal year. If any due date falls on 
a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, your return is due on the next 
regular workday.

Where to file – Mail your payment and Form IT-2105 to:
		  NYS ESTIMATED INCOME TAX
		  PROCESSING CENTER
		  PO BOX 4122
		  BINGHAMTON NY 13902-4122

Private delivery services – If you choose, you may use a private 
delivery service, instead of the U.S. Postal Service, to mail in your 
form and tax payment. However, if, at a later date, you need to 
establish the date you filed or paid your tax, you cannot use the date 
recorded by a private delivery service unless you used a delivery 
service that has been designated by the U.S. Secretary of the 
Treasury or the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. (Currently 
designated delivery services are listed in Publication 55, Designated 
Private Delivery Services. See Need help? on page 5 of these 
instructions for information on obtaining forms and publications.) 
If you have used a designated private delivery service and need 
to establish the date you filed your form, contact that private 
delivery service for instructions on how to obtain written proof of 
the date your form was given to the delivery service for delivery. 
If you use any private delivery service, whether it is a designated 
service or not, send the forms covered by these instructions to: 
JPMorgan Chase, NYS Tax Processing – Estimated Tax, 33 Lewis 
Road, Binghamton NY 13905-1040.

How to complete the payment voucher – Enter your social security 
number or taxpayer identification number and print your name and 
address in the spaces provided. To ensure that payments of estimated 
income tax are properly credited to you, this information must agree 
with the information on your New York State income tax return. Your 
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•	 100% of the income tax shown on your return for 2012 (110% of that 
amount if you are not a farmer or a fisherman and the New York 
adjusted gross income shown on that return is more than $150,000 
or, if married filing separately for 2013, more than $75,000) (you 
must have filed a return for 2012 and it must have been for a full 
12‑month year); or

•	 90% of the income tax computed by annualizing the taxable 
income received for the months ending before the due date of the 
installment.

The penalty will not apply if you are a New York State resident (or a 
nonresident or part-year resident with New York source income) and 
you had no tax liability for the full 12‑month preceding tax year.

To compute the penalty yourself, use Form IT‑2105.9 and its 
instructions, Form IT‑2105.9-I.

Line instructions for estimated income tax 
worksheet (see page 7)
Note: Same-sex married spouses must recompute their federal income 
tax return(s) as if they had been able to use a married filing status. You 
must apply all the federal rules for the married filing status you choose.

Line 1 – Enter your estimated 2013 New York adjusted gross income. 
This is your federal adjusted gross income plus or minus New York 
additions and subtractions.

Nonresidents and part-year residents – Compute your estimated 
2013 New York adjusted gross income as if you were a New York 
State resident, including income from sources both in and out of New 
York State.

Line 2 – To determine your standard deduction, use the table below:

New York State
 standard deduction table

	 Standard
Filing status	 deduction

Single and you can be claimed as a
dependent on another taxpayer’s federal return ..................	$ 3,050

Single and you cannot be claimed as a
dependent on another taxpayer’s federal return .....................	7,700

Married filing joint return ........................................................ 	15,400

Married filing separate return ..................................................	7,700

Head of household (with qualifying person) .......................... 	10,800

Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child ............................ 	15,400

If you itemize your deductions, see the instructions for Form IT-201-D 
(in the instructions for Form IT-201) or Form IT-203-D (in the 
instructions for Form IT-203). Caution: Federal and New York State 
itemized deduction limitations are due to change unless legislative 
action is taken.

Line 4 – Multiply $1,000 by the number of dependents that you can 
claim in 2013. Exemptions are not allowed for yourself and, if married, 
your spouse.

Line 6 – New York State tax
Note: Your New York adjusted gross income is the amount from 
page 7, Estimated income tax worksheet, line 1, and your taxable 
income is the amount from page 7, Estimated income tax worksheet, 
line 5.

G	 If your New York adjusted gross income is $102,900 or less, 
compute your New York State tax on the amount on line 5 using 
the New York State tax rates on page 8 of these instructions. Enter 
the tax amount on page 7, Estimated income tax worksheet, line 6.

G	 If your New York adjusted gross income is more than $102,900, 
compute your New York State tax on the amount on line 5 using 
the correct tax computation worksheet within your filing status. 

name must be spelled correctly, with your first name entered first on 
the voucher.

Special condition code – Enter code D9 if you qualify for a 90-day 
extension of time to pay your first estimated income tax installment 
because your spouse died within 30 days before the due date of that 
installment (for calendar year filers, April 15, 2013). This code does not 
apply for any other estimated income tax installment for the tax year.

Married taxpayers – Each married taxpayer should establish a 
separate estimated income tax account. If you and your spouse each 
maintain an estimated tax account and file a joint New York State 
income tax return, we will credit the balances of both accounts to your 
joint income tax return.

Foreign addresses – Enter the information in the following order: city, 
province or state, and then country (all in the City, village, or post office 
box). Follow the country’s practice for entering the postal code. Do not 
abbreviate the country name. 

Enter the amount(s) due, rounded to the nearest dollar, as computed at 
the bottom of the Estimated income tax worksheet on page 7 of these 
instructions or line 6 of the Amended estimated income tax worksheet 
on page 8, in the appropriate space(s) on the voucher. Be sure to 
separately enter the amounts for New York State, New York City, and 
Yonkers; then enter the total in the Total payment box. If there is no 
amount to be entered, leave blank.

If you paid too much tax on your 2012 return and you chose to apply 
the overpayment to your 2013 estimated income tax, you may apply 
all or part of the overpayment to any installment. When computing 
the amounts to be entered in the Record of estimated income tax 
payments on page 8 of these instructions, you may apply an estimated 
overpayment of New York State, New York City, or Yonkers income tax 
to an estimated underpayment of New York State, New York City, or 
Yonkers tax. Enter only the net amount, rounded to the nearest dollar, 
of each installment in the appropriate space(s) on the voucher. Do not 
send the voucher unless you are including a payment.

You may make your payment by transferring funds directly from your 
bank account (ACH debit) using the Tax Department’s Web application. 
Do not send a voucher if you are making your payment by ACH debit.

You may also pay by check, money order, or credit card. Make the 
check or money order payable to New York State Income Tax and 
write your social security number and 2013 IT‑2105 on it. Enclose 
the check or money order with the payment voucher and mail to the 
address shown on the front of the voucher. Please detach any check 
stubs before mailing your check and the voucher. If you pay by credit 
card, do not mail in this payment voucher. You will be charged a fee by 
the credit card service provider to cover the cost of the transaction. For 
more information on the credit card payment program, access the Tax 
Department’s Web site. 

Fee for payments returned by banks
The law allows the Tax Department to charge a $50 fee when a 
check, money order, or electronic payment is returned by a bank for 
nonpayment. However, if an electronic payment is returned as a result 
of an error by the bank or the department, the department won’t charge 
the fee. If your payment is returned, we will send a separate bill for 
$50 for each return or other tax document associated with the returned 
payment.

Please fill in the Record of estimated income tax payments section on 
page 8 so that you will have a record of your past payments.

You can view and reconcile your estimated income tax account 
by accessing our Web site or by calling our Personal Income Tax 
Information Center; see Need help? in these instructions.

Penalty for underpayment of estimated income tax – You may be 
charged a penalty for not paying enough estimated income tax, or for 
not making the payments on time. The penalty does not apply if each 
payment is timely and the total tax paid is:
•	 at least 90% (66⅔% for farmers and fishermen) of the amount of 

income tax due as shown on your return for 2013; or 90% of the tax 
due if no return was filed; or



If your New York adjusted gross income is more than $102,900, 
but not more than $2,058,550, and your taxable income is 
$154,350 or less, then you must compute your tax using this 
worksheet.

1.	 Enter your New York adjusted gross income
 	 from page 7, Estimated income tax worksheet,
	 line 1 ....................................................................... 	1.
2.	 Enter your taxable income from page 7,
	 Estimated income tax worksheet, line 5 ................. 	2.
3.	 Multiply line 2 above by 6.45% (.0645) 
	 (Stop: If the line 1 amount above is $152,900
	 or more, skip lines 4 through 8 and enter 
	 the line 3 amount on line 9) .................................... 	3.
4.	 Enter your New York State tax on the line 2
	 amount above from the New York State tax
	 rates, page 8 .......................................................... 	4.
5.	 Subtract line 4 from line 3 ...................................... 	5.
6.	 Enter the excess of line 1 over $102,900 ............... 	6.
7.	 Divide line 6 by $50,000 and round the result
	 to the fourth decimal place ..................................... 	7.
8.	 Multiply line 5 by line 7 ........................................... 	8.
9.	 Add lines 4 and 8. Enter here and on page 7, 

Estimated income tax worksheet, line 6 .................  	9.

Tax computation worksheet 1 

If your New York adjusted gross income is more than $154,350, 
but not more than $2,058,550, and your taxable income is more 
than $154,350 but not more than $308,750, then you must 
compute your tax using this worksheet.

1.	Enter your New York adjusted gross income
 	 from page 7, Estimated income tax worksheet,
	 line 1........................................................................ 	1.
2.	Enter your taxable income from page 7,
	 Estimated income tax worksheet, line 5.................. 	2.
3.	Multiply line 2 above by 6.65% (.0665) 
	 (Stop: If the line 1 amount above is $204,350
	 or more, skip lines 4 through 10 and enter 
	 the line 3 amount on line 11)................................... 	3.
4.	Enter your New York State tax on the line 2
	 amount above from the New York State tax
	 rates, page 8........................................................... 	4.
5.	Subtract line 4 from line 3 ...................................... 	5.
6.	Enter $652 on line 6 ............................................... 	6.
7.	Subtract line 6 from line 5 ...................................... 	7.
8.	Enter the excess of line 1 over $154,350................ 	8.
9.	Divide line 8 by $50,000 and round the result
	 to the fourth decimal place  .................................... 	9.

10.	Multiply line 7 by line 9............................................ 	10.
11.	 Add lines 4, 6, and 10. Enter here and on 
	 page 7, Estimated income tax worksheet, 
	 line 6 ....................................................................... 	11.

Tax computation worksheet 2 

652

If your New York adjusted gross income is more than $308,750, 
but not more than $2,058,550, and your taxable income is 
more than $308,750, then you must compute your tax using this 
worksheet.

1.	Enter your New York adjusted gross income
 	 from page 7, Estimated income tax worksheet,
	 line 1 ....................................................................... 	1.
2.	Enter your taxable income from page 7,
	 Estimated income tax worksheet, line 5 ................. 	2.
3.	Multiply line 2 above by 6.85% (.0685) 
	 (Stop: If the line 1 amount above is $358,750
	 or more, skip lines 4 through 10 and enter 
	 the line 3 amount on line 11) .................................. 	3.
4.	Enter your New York State tax on the line 2
	 amount above from the New York State tax
	 rates, page 8 .......................................................... 	4.
5.	Subtract line 4 from line 3 ...................................... 	5.
6.	Enter $961 on line 6 ............................................... 	6.
7.	Subtract line 6 from line 5 ...................................... 	7.
8.	Enter the excess of line 1 over $308,750 ............... 	8.
9.	Divide line 8 by $50,000 and round the result
	 to the fourth decimal place ..................................... 	9.

10.	Multiply line 7 by line 9 ........................................... 	10.
11.	 Add lines 4, 6, and 10. Enter here and on 
	 page 7, Estimated income tax worksheet, 
	 line 6 ....................................................................... 	11.

Tax computation worksheet 3 

961

If your New York adjusted gross income is more than $2,058,550, 
then you must compute your tax using this worksheet.

1.	Enter your New York adjusted gross income
 	 from page 7, Estimated income tax worksheet,
	 line 1........................................................................ 	1.
2.	Enter your taxable income from page 7,
	 Estimated income tax worksheet, line 5.................. 	2.
3.	Multiply line 2 above by 8.82% (.0882) 
	 (Stop: If the line 1 amount above is $2,108,550
	 or more, skip lines 4 through 10 and enter 
	 the line 3 amount on line 11)................................... 	3.
4.	Enter your New York State tax on the line 2
	 amount above from the New York State tax
	 rates, page 8........................................................... 	4.
5.	Subtract line 4 from line 3 ...................................... 	5.
6.	If line 2 is $154,350 or less, enter $652 on 

line 6. If line 2 is more than $154,350 but not 
more than $308,750, enter $961 on line 6.

	 If line 2 is more than $308,750, enter $1578
	 on line 6. ................................................................. 	6.
7.	Subtract line 6 from line 5 ...................................... 	7.
8.	Enter the excess of line 1 over $2,058,550............. 	8.
9.	Divide line 8 by $50,000 and round the result
	 to the fourth decimal place  .................................... 	9.

10.	Multiply line 7 by line 9............................................ 	10.
11.	 Add lines 4, 6, and 10. Enter here and on 
	 page 7, Estimated income tax worksheet, 
	 line 6 ....................................................................... 	11.

Tax computation worksheet 4 
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If your New York adjusted gross income is more than $102,900, 
but not more than $1,029,250, and your taxable income is 
$205,850 or less, then you must compute your tax using this 
worksheet.

1.	 Enter your New York adjusted gross income
 	 from page 7, Estimated income tax worksheet,
	 line 1 ....................................................................... 	1.
2.	 Enter your taxable income from page 7,
	 Estimated income tax worksheet, line 5 ................. 	2.
3.	 Multiply line 2 above by 6.65% (.0665) 
	 (Stop: If the line 1 amount above is $152,900
	 or more, skip lines 4 through 8 and enter 
	 the line 3 amount on line 9) .................................... 	3.
4.	 Enter your New York State tax on the line 2
	 amount above from the New York State tax
	 rates, page 8 .......................................................... 	4.
5.	 Subtract line 4 from line 3 ...................................... 	5.
6.	 Enter the excess of line 1 over $102,900................ 	6.
7.	 Divide line 6 by $50,000 and round the result
	 to the fourth decimal place  .................................... 	7.
8.	 Multiply line 5 by line 7 ........................................... 	8.
9.	 Add lines 4 and 8. Enter here and on page 7, 

Estimated income tax worksheet, line 6 .................  	9.

Tax computation worksheet 5 

If your New York adjusted gross income is more than $205,850, 
but not more than $1,029,250, and your taxable income is 
more than $205,850, then you must compute your tax using this 
worksheet.

1.	Enter your New York adjusted gross income
 	 from page 7, Estimated income tax worksheet,
	 line 1 ....................................................................... 	1.
2.	Enter your taxable income from page 7,
	 Estimated income tax worksheet, line 5 ................. 	2.
3.	Multiply line 2 above by 6.85% (.0685) 
	 (Stop: If the line 1 amount above is $255,850
	 or more, skip lines 4 through 10 and enter 
	 the line 3 amount on line 11) .................................. 	3.
4.	Enter your New York State tax on the line 2
	 amount above from the New York State tax
	 rates, page 8 .......................................................... 	4.
5.	Subtract line 4 from line 3 ...................................... 	5.
6.	Enter $480 on line 6 ............................................... 	6.
7.	Subtract line 6 from line 5 ...................................... 	7.
8.	Enter the excess of line 1 over $205,850 ............... 	8.
9.	Divide line 8 by $50,000 and round the result
	 to the fourth decimal place ..................................... 	9.

10.	Multiply line 7 by line 9 ........................................... 	10.
11.	 Add lines 4, 6, and 10. Enter here and on 
	 page 7, Estimated income tax worksheet, 
	 line 6 ....................................................................... 	11.

Tax computation worksheet 6 

480

If your New York adjusted gross income is more than $1,029,250, 
then you must compute your tax using this worksheet.

1.	Enter your New York adjusted gross income
 	 from page 7, Estimated income tax worksheet,
	 line 1 ....................................................................... 	1.
2.	Enter your taxable income from page 7,
	 Estimated income tax worksheet, line 5 ................. 	2.
3.	Multiply line 2 above by 8.82% (.0882) 
	 (Stop: If the line 1 amount above is $1,079,250
	 or more, skip lines 4 through 10 and enter 
	 the line 3 amount on line 11) .................................. 	3.
4.	Enter your New York State tax on the line 2
	 amount above from the New York State tax
	 rates, page 8 .......................................................... 	4.
5.	Subtract line 4 from line 3 ...................................... 	5.
6.	If line 2 is $205,850 or less, enter $480 on 

line 6. If line 2 is more than $205,850, 
enter $892 on line 6. .............................................. 	6.

7.	Subtract line 6 from line 5 ...................................... 	7.
8.	Enter the excess of line 1 over $1,029,250 ............ 	8.
9.	Divide line 8 by $50,000 and round the result
	 to the fourth decimal place ..................................... 	9.

10.	Multiply line 7 by line 9 ........................................... 	10.
11.	 Add lines 4, 6, and 10. Enter here and on 
	 page 7, Estimated income tax worksheet, 
	 line 6 ....................................................................... 	11.

Tax computation worksheet 7 
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	 (continued)

Single and married filing separately



Need help?

Personal Income Tax Information Center:	 (518) 457-5181
To order forms and publications: 	 (518) 457-5431
Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with
  hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY):	 (518) 485-5082

If you have questions about special accommodations for 
persons with disabilities, call the information center.

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure 
that our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other 
facilities are accessible to persons with disabilities. 

Telephone assistance

Automated income tax refund status:	 (518) 457-5149

Visit our Web site at www.tax.ny.gov
•	 get information and manage your taxes online
•	 check for new online services and features

If your New York adjusted gross income is more than $102,900, 
but not more than $1,543,900, and your taxable income is 
$257,300 or less, then you must compute your tax using this 
worksheet.

1.	 Enter your New York adjusted gross income
 	 from page 7, Estimated income tax worksheet,
	 line 1 ....................................................................... 	1.
2.	 Enter your taxable income from page 7,
	 Estimated income tax worksheet, line 5 ................. 	2.
3.	 Multiply line 2 above by 6.65% (.0665) 
	 (Stop: If the line 1 amount above is $152,900
	 or more, skip lines 4 through 8 and enter 
	 the line 3 amount on line 9) .................................... 	3.
4.	 Enter your New York State tax on the line 2
	 amount above from the New York State tax
	 rates, page 8 .......................................................... 	4.
5.	 Subtract line 4 from line 3 ...................................... 	5.
6.	 Enter the excess of line 1 over $102,900 ............... 	6.
7.	 Divide line 6 by $50,000 and round the result
	 to the fourth decimal place ..................................... 	7.
8.	 Multiply line 5 by line 7 ........................................... 	8.
9.	 Add lines 4 and 8. Enter here and on page 7, 

Estimated income tax worksheet, line 6 .................  	9.

Tax computation worksheet 8 

If your New York adjusted gross income is more than $257,300, 
but not more than $1,543,900, and your taxable income is 
more than $257,300, then you must compute your tax using this 
worksheet.

1.	Enter your New York adjusted gross income
 	 from page 7, Estimated income tax worksheet,
	 line 1 ....................................................................... 	1.
2.	Enter your taxable income from page 7,
	 Estimated income tax worksheet, line 5 ................. 	2.
3.	Multiply line 2 above by 6.85% (.0685) 
	 (Stop: If the line 1 amount above is $307,300
	 or more, skip lines 4 through 10 and enter 
	 the line 3 amount on line 11) .................................. 	3.
4.	Enter your New York State tax on the line 2
	 amount above from the New York State tax
	 rates, page 8 .......................................................... 	4.
5.	Subtract line 4 from line 3 ...................................... 	5.
6.	Enter $695 on line 6 ............................................... 	6.
7.	Subtract line 6 from line 5 ...................................... 	7.
8.	Enter the excess of line 1 over $257,300 ............... 	8.
9.	Divide line 8 by $50,000 and round the result
	 to the fourth decimal place ..................................... 	9.

10.	Multiply line 7 by line 9 ........................................... 	10.
11.	 Add lines 4, 6, and 10. Enter here and on 
	 page 7, Estimated income tax worksheet, 
	 line 6 ....................................................................... 	11.

Tax computation worksheet 9 

695

If your New York adjusted gross income is more than $1,543,900, 
then you must compute your tax using this worksheet.

1.	Enter your New York adjusted gross income
 	 from page 7, Estimated income tax worksheet,
	 line 1 ....................................................................... 	1.
2.	Enter your taxable income from page 7,
	 Estimated income tax worksheet, line 5 ................. 	2.
3.	Multiply line 2 above by 8.82% (.0882) 
	 (Stop: If the line 1 amount above is $1,593,900
	 or more, skip lines 4 through 10 and enter 
	 the line 3 amount on line 11) .................................. 	3.
4.	Enter your New York State tax on the line 2
	 amount above from the New York State tax
	 rates, page 8 .......................................................... 	4.
5.	Subtract line 4 from line 3 ...................................... 	5.
6.	If line 2 is $257,300 or less, enter $695 on 

line 6. If line 2 is more than $257,300, 
enter $1209 on line 6. ............................................ 	6.

7.	Subtract line 6 from line 5 ...................................... 	7.
8.	Enter the excess of line 1 over $1,543,900 ............ 	8.
9.	Divide line 8 by $50,000 and round the result
	 to the fourth decimal place ..................................... 	9.

10.	Multiply line 7 by line 9 ........................................... 	10.
11.	 Add lines 4, 6, and 10. Enter here and on 
	 page 7, Estimated income tax worksheet, 
	 line 6 ....................................................................... 	11.

Tax computation worksheet 10 
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Line 7 – New York City tax (New York City residents only)
If you are a New York City resident, compute your New York City 
resident tax on the amount on line 5 using the New York City tax rates 
on page 8 of these instructions. Enter the tax amount on page 7, 
Estimated income tax worksheet, line 7.

Line 8 – Enter any estimated New York City household credit and 
New York City accumulation distribution credit that you are entitled to 
claim. See the instructions for Form IT-201 for information on how to 
compute these credits.

Line 10 – Enter any estimated New York City tax on the ordinary 
income portion of a lump-sum distribution.

Line 12 – Enter any estimated New York City unincorporated business 
tax credit you are entitled to claim using Form IT‑219, Credit for New 
York City Unincorporated Business Tax Paid, as a guide.

Line 14 – Residents – Enter any estimated New York State household 
credit.

Nonresidents and part-year residents – Nonresidents and part‑year 
residents enter any estimated child and dependent care credit, 
household credit, and earned income credit as if you were a New York 
State resident. Nonresidents and part-year residents must reduce 
the earned income credit allowed by the household credit allowed. 
These credits may not exceed your tax liability. The part-year resident 
must first reduce his or her tax liability to zero, and any excess credit 
must then be applied against any remaining other New York State 
taxes (line 16). For more detailed information, see the instructions for 
Form IT‑203.

Line 15 – Residents – Subtract line 14 from line 6. Enter the result on 
line 15.

Nonresidents and part-year residents – Compute the amount 
of estimated income tax due using the following worksheet 
(Note: NYAGI means New York adjusted gross income):

a.	 Enter amount from line 6......................................... a.	

b.	 Enter amount from line 14....................................... b.

c.	 Subtract line b from line a.........................................c.	

		  NYAGI from New York sourcesd.	 Multiply line c by
	 Total NYAGI from all sources

	 Enter result here and on line 15.............................. d.	

Line 16 – Include on line 16 any New York State and New York City 
other taxes from Form IT‑201‑ATT, lines 30 and 34 or Form IT‑203‑ATT, 
line 33, in the appropriate columns excluding other New York City tax 
on the ordinary income portion of a lump‑sum distribution.

Do not include the New York City unincorporated business tax. This tax 
is administered directly by the NYC Department of Finance.

Line 18 – Enter on line 18 the total of any estimated resident credit 
and other nonrefundable and carryover credits you are eligible to claim. 
Do not include the credits claimed on line 14. For other nonrefundable 
credits, see the instructions for Form IT‑201‑ATT (in the instructions for 
Form IT-201), or Form IT-203-ATT (in the instructions for Form IT-203).

Line 20 – Use the following forms as guides to estimate your 
refundable New York State and New York City credits:
–	 Form IT-213, Claim for Empire State Child Tax Credit
–	 Form IT-214, Claim for Real Property Tax Credit
–	 Form IT-215, Claim for Earned Income Credit
–	 Form IT-209, Claim for Noncustodial Parent New York State
	 Earned Income Credit
–	 Form IT-216, Claim for Child and Dependent Care Credit
–	 Form IT-272, Claim for College Tuition Credit or Itemized Deduction
–	 Form IT-201-ATT, Other Tax Credits and Taxes, Part 1, lines 14, 15, 

and 16; or Form IT-203-ATT, Other Tax Credits and Taxes, Part 1, 
lines 13, 14, and 15

Privacy notification
The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and maintain 
personal information pursuant to the New York State Tax Law, including 
but not limited to, sections 5-a, 171, 171-a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505, 
697, 1096, 1142, and 1415 of that Law; and may require disclosure of 
social security numbers pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax liabilities 
and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and exchange of tax 
information programs as well as for any other lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is provided 
to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention, support 
enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain employment and 
training programs and other purposes authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or 
criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Manager of Document 
Management, NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 
12227; telephone (518) 457-5181.

New York City residents enter your city school tax credit. If your 
income* is $250,000 or less, and you are a married individual filing a 
joint return, or a qualifying widow(er) with dependent child, enter 125. 
All others with incomes* of $250,000 or less enter 63.

*	Income, for purposes of determining your New York City school tax 
credit, means your federal adjusted gross income (FAGI), minus 
distributions from an individual retirement account and an individual 
retirement annuity.

Enter state credits in the New York State column and the city credits in 
the New York City column. Residents must reduce the New York State 
earned income credit allowed by the New York State household credit 
allowed.

Line 22a – The current rate for Yonkers is 15% (.15). If you are a 
Yonkers resident, multiply the New York State amount on line 21 by 
15% (.15) and enter the result on line 22a.

Line 22b – If you have earnings subject to the Yonkers nonresident 
earnings tax, complete Form Y‑203, Yonkers Nonresident Earnings Tax 
Return, and transfer the amount of tax computed to line 22b.

If you anticipate having a claim of right credit against your Yonkers 
nonresident earnings tax, net the credit out against the tax and enter 
the net nonresident earnings tax on line 22b.

Line 25 – If you did not file a 2012 income tax return (or filed for less 
than a full 12-month year), skip line 25 and enter the line 24 amount on 
line 26.
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	 1	 Enter amount of New York adjusted gross income (NYAGI) you expect in 2013.	 1. 
	 2	 Enter either your standard deduction or estimated itemized deduction.......... 	 2.
	 3	 Subtract line 2 from line 1............................................................................... 	 3. 
	 4	 Dependent exemptions (multiply $1,000 by number of dependents)...................... 	 4.
	 5	 Estimated New York State taxable income (subtract line 4 from line 3)............... 	 5.
	 6	 New York State tax on line 5 amount (see instructions)..................................... 	 6.
	 7	 New York City resident tax on line 5 amount (see instructions)......................... 			   7.
	 8	 New York City household credit and New York City accumulation distribution credit...... 	 		  8. 
	 9	 Subtract line 8 from line 7............................................................................... 			   9. 
	 10	 New York City tax on ordinary income portion of lump-sum distribution.......... 			  10. 
	 11	 Add lines 9 and 10.......................................................................................... 			  11. 
	 12	 New York City unincorporated business tax credit......................................... 			  12. 
	 13	 Subtract line 12 from line 11........................................................................... 			  13. 
	 14	 Enter household credit; nonresidents and part-year residents also enter child and
		    dependent care credit and earned income credit (see instructions)............... 	 14.
	 15	 Subtract line 14 from line 6 (see instructions).................................................... 	 15. 
	 16	 Other taxes (see instructions)............................................................................ 	 16.
	 17	 Add lines 15 and 16 (in New York City column: add lines 13 and 16)...................... 	 17.
	 18	 Resident credit and other nonrefundable credits (see instructions)................... 	 18.
	 19	 Total estimated New York State and New York City income tax (New York State

		    column: subtract line 18 from line 17; New York City column: enter amount from line 17)...... 	 19. 
	 20	 Refundable credits (see instructions)................................................................. 	 20.
	 21	 New York State/City estimated income tax (subtract line 20 from line 19)........... 	 21.
	 22	 Yonkers: 	(a) resident tax surcharge (multiply line 21 by 15% (.15))..................... 			   22a.
 			   (b) nonresident earnings tax (from Form Y-203)................................. 			   22b.
			   (c) total (add lines 22a and 22b).......................................................... 			   22c.
	 23	 Totals (New York State column, line 21; New York City column, line 21;

		    Yonkers column, line 22c)................................................................................. 	 23.
	 24	 Multiply line 23 by 90% (.90) (66⅔% (.6667) for farmers and fishermen)...... 	 24.
	 25	 Enter 100% of the personal income tax shown on your 2012 income tax 
		    return (110% (1.1) of that amount if you are not a farmer or a fisherman 
		    and the NYAGI shown on that return is more than $150,000, or, if married 
		    filing separately for 2013, more than $75,000) (see instructions)..................... 	 25. 
	 26	 Enter the lesser of line 24 or 25. This is your required annual payment
		    (see Penalty for underpayment of estimated tax).
		    Caution: Generally, if you do not prepay (through income tax withholding, 
		    estimated income tax payments made with Form IT-2105, IT-2663, 
		    and/or IT-2664, and estimated income tax payments made on your behalf 
        by a partnership or corporation) at least the amount on line 26, you may 
        owe a penalty for not paying enough estimated income tax. To avoid a 
        penalty, make sure your estimate on line 23 is as accurate as possible. 
        If you prefer, you may pay 100% of your 2013 estimated income tax (line 23).	 26. 
	 27	 Estimate of income tax to be withheld, estimated income tax paid with 
		    Form IT-2663 and/or IT-2664, and estimated income tax paid on your
 		    behalf by a partnership or corporation........................................................ 	 27. 
	 28	 Balance (subtract line 27 from line 26). If any amount on this line is $300 or
		    more, fill out and file the payment voucher along with your payment. If
		    each amount on this line is less than $300, no payment is required at this
		    time. If you are applying an overpayment from 2012 to 2013, see
		    How to complete the payment voucher........................................................ 	 28. 

  Computation of installments:	 Enter in the appropriate spaces on the voucher (less any
		  If the first installment is paid:	 2012 overpayment you are applying to this installment):
	 April 15, 2013................................................................. 	 25%(.25) of line 28 rounded to the nearest dollar
	 June 17, 2013................................................................. 	 50%(.50) of line 28 rounded to the nearest dollar
	 September 16, 2013....................................................... 	 75%(.75) of line 28 rounded to the nearest dollar
	 January 15, 2014............................................................ 	 amount on line 28 rounded to the nearest dollar

	 Estimated income tax worksheet (see instructions)	 New York State	 New York City	 Yonkers

How to compute your estimated income tax – Complete the 
worksheet below to compute your 2013 estimated income tax. Use 
your 2012 New York State, New York City, and Yonkers tax returns and 

instructions as a guide for computing your estimated income tax. Use 
your 2012 income and deductions as a starting point and make any 
necessary adjustments for 2013. Line instructions for the worksheet 
begin on page 2 of these instructions.



Single and married filing separately
If line 5 is:
		  but
over	 not over	 The tax is:

	$          0	 $12,000			   2.907%		of line 5

	 12,000	 25,000	 $349	 plus	3.534% 	of the excess over	 $12,000

	  25,000	 50,000	   808	 plus 	3.591%		  “	 “	 “	 25,000

	  50,000	 500,000	 1,706	 plus 	3.648%		  “	 “	 “	 50,000

	500,000 		  18,122 	plus 3.876%			  “	 “	 “	 500,000

Head of household
If line 5 is:
		  but
over	 not over	 The tax is:

	$          0	 $14,400			   2.907%		of line 5

	 14,400	 30,000	 $419	 plus	3.534% 	of the excess over	 $14,400

	  30,000	 60,000	     970	 plus 	3.591%		  “	 “	 “	 30,000

	  60,000	 500,000	 2,047	 plus 	3.648%		  “	 “	 “	 60,000

500,000			  18,098 	plus 3.876%			  “	 “	 “	 500,000

If line 5 is:
		  but
over	 not over	 The tax is:

Married filing jointly and qualifying widow(er)

	$          0	 $21,600			   2.907%		of line 5

	  21,600	 45,000	     $628	 plus	3.534% 	of the excess over	 $21,600

	  45,000	 90,000	   1,455	 plus 	3.591%		  “	 “	 “	 45,000

	  90,000 	 500,000	 3,071 	plus 	3.648%		  “	 “	 “	 90,000

500,000 		  18,028 	plus 3.876%			  “	 “	 “	 500,000

New York City tax rates

	If line 5 is:
			   but
	over	 not over	 The tax is:

	 Married filing jointly and qualifying widow(er)

	$	 0	 $	 16,450	 4%	 of line 5
		  16,450	 22,600	 $	 658	plus	4.5%	 of the excess over	 $16,450
		  22,600	 26,750		  935	plus	5.25%	 “	 “	 “	 “	 22,600
		  26,750	 41,150		  1,153	plus	5.9%	 “	 “	 “	 “	 26,750 
		  41,150	 154,350		  2,002	plus	6.45%	 “	 “	 “	 “	 41,150
		  154,350	 308,750		  9,304	plus	6.65%	 “	 “	 “	 “	 154,350
		  308,750	 2,058,550		  19,571	plus	6.85%	 “	 “	 “	 “	 308,750
		 2,058,550			   139,433	plus	8.82%	 “	 “	 “	 “	 2,058,550

New York State tax rates

	 Single and married filing separately
	 If line 5 is:
			   but
	over	 not over	 The tax is:
	 $	 0	 $8,200	 4%	 of line 5
		  8,200	 11,300	 $	 328	plus	4.5%	 of the excess over	 $8,200
		  11,300	 13,350		  468	plus	5.25%	 “	 “	 “	 “	 11,300
		  13,350	 20,550		  575	plus	5.9%	 “	 “	 “	 “	 13,350
		  20,550	 77,150		  1,000	plus	6.45%	 “	 “	 “	 “	 20,550
		  77,150	 205,850		  4,651	plus	6.65%	 “	 “	 “	 “	 77,150
		  205,850	 1,029,250		  13,209	plus	6.85%	 “	 “	 “	 “	 205,850
	 1,029,250			   69,612	plus	8.82%	 “	 “	 “	 “	 1,029,250

	 If line 5 is:
			   but
	over	 not over	 The tax is:

Head of household

	 $	 0	 $12,350	 4%	 of line 5
		  12,350	 16,950	 $	 494	plus	4.5%	 of the excess over	 $12,350
		  16,950	 20,050		  701	plus	5.25%	 “	 “	 “	 “	 16,950
		  20,050	 30,850		  864	plus	5.9%	 “	 “	 “	 “	 20,050
		  30,850	 102,900		  1,501	plus	6.45%	 “	 “	 “	 “	 30,850
		  102,900	 257,300		  6,148	plus	6.65%	 “	 “	 “	 “	 102,900
		  257,300	 1,543,900		  16,416	plus	6.85%	 “	 “	 “	 “	 257,300
	 1,543,900			   104,548	plus	8.82%	 “	 “	 “	 “	 1,543,900

	 New York State	 New York City	 Yonkers
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		  Total

	1.	 Amended estimated income tax......................................................	 1.
	2.	 Overpayment from 2012 credited to estimated income tax.............	 2.
	3.	 Balance (subtract line 2 from line 1).....................................................	 3.
	4.	 Estimated income tax payments made to date................................	 4.
	5.	 Unpaid balance (subtract line 4 from line 3).........................................	 5.
	6.	 Installment due (divide line 5 by the number of remaining 
		    payments due; round to the nearest dollar).........................................	 6.

Amended estimated income tax worksheet (Use only if your estimated income tax increases or decreases.)

	 A – Payment type	 B – Payment date	 C – Amount	 D – 2012 overpayment	 E – Total amount paid
				    credit applied	 and credited (add C and D)

Record of estimated income tax payments
(Record credits and payments in this table. Keep this record; you will not be receiving notices indicating the amount due each quarter.)


