
General information 
Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 1998, Tax Law 
section 606(o) allows a credit for the employment of persons with 
disabilities. An individual or estate or trust is allowed the credit for 
employing a qualified employee within New York State. In addition, a 
partner in a partnership, a shareholder of a New York S corporation, or 
a beneficiary of an estate or trust is also eligible for the credit when the 
entity employs qualified employees.

In order for you to claim the credit, the qualified employee must be 
certified. For information on certification, call the New York State 
Department of Labor’s Economic Development Services Unit (from New 
York State only) at 1 888 4-NYSDOL (1 888 469-7365) or, from areas 
outside New York State, (518) 457-6823. 

For more information about this New York State tax credit, see 
TSB-M-98(1)I. This memo is available on the Tax Department’s Web 
site (www.tax.ny.gov).

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, there is an 
additional credit available to qualified employers certified by the 
New York State Department of Labor for employing individuals with 
developmental disabilities. For more information and qualifications 
for this new credit, see Form IT-644, Workers with Disabilities Tax 
Credit, and the New York State Department of Labor Web site 
(www.labor.ny.gov). An employer is not allowed to claim this new credit 
and the credit for employment of persons with disabilities for the same 
employee. 

Who must file
File Form IT-251 if you are an individual who operates a sole 
proprietorship, a partnership, or an estate or trust, and you qualify for 
the credit or have a carryover of credit. In addition, if you are a partner 
in a partnership (including members of a limited liability company (LLC) 
treated as a partnership for federal tax purposes), a shareholder of 
a New York S corporation, or a beneficiary of an estate or trust, file 
Form IT-251 to claim your share of the credit from your entity.

A partnership must file Form IT-251 with Form IT-204, Partnership 
Return, showing the partnership’s total credit for wages paid during the 
tax year for services rendered by qualified employees of the partnership.

An S corporation cannot file Form IT-251. It must file Form CT‑41, Claim 
for Credit for Employment of Persons with Disabilities, to claim this 
credit. If you are a shareholder in an S corporation that has made the 
New York S corporation election under Tax Law section 660, obtain your 
share of the corporation’s credit from the S corporation.

Amount of credit
The New York credit amount is 35% of the first $6,000 of qualified 
first-year wages or qualified second‑year wages. A credit of up to $2,100 
per employee is available.

As long as the federal work opportunity credit for vocational rehabilitation 
referrals under Internal Revenue Code (IRC) section 51 (see federal 
Form 5884) is in effect for an employee, the New York credit is 35% of 
the first $6,000 of the employee’s qualified second-year wages (see 
Schedule A, Part 2).

If the federal work opportunity credit for vocational rehabilitation referrals 
under IRC section 51 (see federal Form 5884) is not in effect for an 
employee, the New York credit will be based on 35% of the first $6,000 of 
the employee’s qualified first-year wages (see Schedule A, Part 1).

The credit is allowed against New York State personal income tax and 
is not refundable. However, any amount of the credit not used in the 
current tax year may be carried over for an unlimited number of years.

Note: In computing New York adjusted gross income, individuals, 
including partners, S corporation shareholders, and beneficiaries, may 
subtract from federal adjusted gross income the amount of wages 
that were disallowed for federal purposes because you claimed the 
federal work opportunity credit. An estate or trust may make a similar 
subtraction in computing taxable income. For more information, see the 
instructions for the form that you are filing. Furthermore, unlike the IRC, 
the New York Tax Law allows a deduction for the portion of the wages 

and salaries that qualifies for the New York credit (that is, the taxpayer 
receives both a deduction and a credit for the wages).

Definitions
A qualified employee is an employee who
–	 qualifies as a vocational rehabilitation referral for purposes of the 

federal work opportunity credit under IRC section 51 (see federal 
Form 5884); 

–	 has worked for the employer on a full-time basis for at least 180 days 
or 400 hours (does not need to be continuous); and 

–	 is certified by the New York State Education Department’s Office of 
Vocational and Educational Services for Individuals with Disabilities 
(VESID), or by the State of New York Office of Children and Family 
Services’ Commission for the Blind and Visually Handicapped 
(CBVH) as a person with a disability that constitutes or results in a 
substantial handicap to employment; and who has completed or is 
receiving services under an individualized written rehabilitation plan 
approved by VESID or by CBVH.

In cooperation with VESID and CBVH, the New York State Department 
of Labor’s Economic Development Services Unit administers the 
certification program.

Qualified first-year wages are wages paid or incurred by the taxpayer 
during the tax year to a qualified employee for services rendered during 
the one-year period beginning with the day the employee begins work for 
the taxpayer. If the qualified employee did not work for the taxpayer for a 
full year, the one-year period begins with the date the employee began 
work for the taxpayer and ends on the last date of employment with the 
taxpayer.

Qualified second-year wages are wages paid or incurred by the taxpayer 
during the tax year to a qualified employee for services rendered during 
the one-year period beginning one year after the date the employee 
begins work for the taxpayer. If the qualified employee did not work for 
the taxpayer for a full year after the first year, the one-year period begins 
with the date one year after the employee began work for the taxpayer 
and ends on the last date of employment with the taxpayer.

Note: If the one-year period covers two tax years, depending upon the 
amount of wages paid, part of your credit may be allowed in the current 
tax year and part may be allowed in the succeeding tax year.

In addition, the following federal rules apply in determining qualified 
wages:
–	 Wages qualifying for the credit generally have the same meaning as 

wages subject to the Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA). For 
agricultural employees, if the work performed by an employee during 
more than half of any pay period qualifies under FUTA as agricultural 
labor, the first $6,000 of that employee’s wages subject to social 
security and Medicare taxes are taken into account. For a special 
rule that applies to railroad employees, see IRC section 51(h)(1)(B). 

–	 More than half the wages received from you must be for working in 
your trade or business. 

–	 You may not claim a credit on wages that were paid to any employee 
during any period for which you received payment for the employee 
from a federally funded on-the-job training program. 

–	 Any work-supplementation payments you received under the Social 
Security Act would reduce the amount of wages qualifying for the 
credit. 

–	 The employee cannot be your relative or dependent. See IRC 
section 51(i) for other restrictions. 

–	 The employee cannot be your rehired employee if he or she was not 
a targeted group member when employed previously. 

–	 The wages cannot be for services of replacement workers during a 
strike or lockout. 

In addition to the preceding list, any other provisions of IRC sections 51 
and 52 (as these sections applied on October 1, 1996) that apply to the 
federal work opportunity credit for vocational rehabilitation referrals also 
apply to the New York credit to the extent the federal credit provisions 
are consistent with the New York credit provisions. In the event of a 
conflict, the New York credit provisions shall control.
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Full-time basis means a job consisting of at least 35 hours per week, or 
two or more jobs which together constitute the equivalent of a job of at 
least 35 hours per week.

When two or more jobs are combined to create one full‑time equivalent 
job, the credit may only be claimed for those employees who individually 
meet all the conditions described under qualified employee on the 
front page. For example, two employees share one full-time job and 
individually meet all the conditions described under qualified employee 
on the front page, except that only one of those employees worked at 
least 180 days or 400 hours. The credit may only be claimed for the 
employee who has worked for the employer for at least 180 days or 
400 hours.

Line instructions 
See the instructions for your tax return for the Privacy notification or if 
you need help contacting the Tax Department.

Individuals (including sole proprietors): Complete Schedules A, E, 
and F.

Partnerships: Complete Schedules A and E.

A married couple in a business enterprise that made an IRC 761(f) 
election to file two federal Schedule C forms instead of a 
partnership return: If you file jointly, compute your credit amount as if 
you were filing one federal Schedule C for the business (enter the total 
of all applicable amounts from both federal Schedule C forms). Complete 
Schedules A, E, and F.

Fiduciaries: Complete Schedules A, D, E, and F. 

Partners in a partnership, shareholders of an S corporation, and 
beneficiaries of an estate or trust: Complete Schedules B, C, E, and F.

Note: If more than one of the above applies to you, complete all 
appropriate schedules on one Form IT-251.

Schedule A – Individuals (sole proprietors), 
partnerships, and estates or trusts
Enter in Schedule A, Part 1, qualified employees who began work 
after the expiration of the federal work opportunity credit for vocational 
rehabilitation referrals (see federal Form 5884).

Enter in Schedule A, Part 2, qualified employees who began work 
before the expiration of the federal work opportunity credit for vocational 
rehabilitation referrals.

Part 1 – Computation of credit on qualified first-year wages
Columns A and B – Enter the name and social security number of 
each qualified employee. Do not include employees shown in Part 2. If 
additional space is needed, submit a separate sheet of paper with the 
form listing the same information shown in columns A through D of this 
part (be sure to include your name and taxpayer identification number).

Column C – Enter for each qualified employee the beginning date 
and ending date for the first year of employment. This one‑year period 
begins with the date the qualified employee began work for the taxpayer. 
If the qualified employee did not work for the taxpayer for a full year, 
the one-year period begins with the date the qualified employee began 
work for the taxpayer and ends on the last date of employment with the 
taxpayer.

Column D – Enter the qualified first-year wages (limited to $6,000) 
paid or incurred by the taxpayer during the tax year to the qualified 
employee for services rendered during the one‑year period shown in 
column C.

Part 2 – Computation of credit on qualified second-year wages
Columns A and B – Enter the name and social security number of 
each qualified employee. Do not include employees shown in Part 1. If 
additional space is needed, submit a separate sheet of paper with the 
form listing the same information shown in columns A through D of this 
part (be sure to include your name and taxpayer identification number).

Column C – Enter for each qualified employee the beginning date 
and ending date for the second year of employment. This one-year 
period begins one year after the date the employee begins work for the 
taxpayer. If the qualified employee did not work for the taxpayer for a 
full year after the first year, the one‑year period begins with the date one 

year after the employee began work for the taxpayer and ends on the 
last date of employment with the taxpayer.

Column D – Enter the qualified second-year wages (limited to $6,000) 
paid or incurred by the taxpayer during the tax year to the qualified 
employee for services rendered during the one‑year period shown in 
column C.

Schedule B – Partnership, S corporation, and estate 
or trust information
Enter the appropriate information for each partnership, S corporation, or 
estate or trust for which you received a share of the credit for employment 
of persons with disabilities. If you need more space, submit a separate 
schedule (be sure to include your name and taxpayer identification number).

Schedule C – Partner’s, shareholder’s, or 
beneficiary’s share of credit
Partners, shareholders, or beneficiaries must complete Schedule C.

Enter your share of the credit received from a partnership, a New York 
S corporation, or an estate or trust on the appropriate line(s) in 
Schedule C. You may obtain this information from the partnership, 
corporation, or estate or trust. If you belong to more than one 
partnership, New York S corporation, or estate or trust, enter the total of 
all your shares on the appropriate line.

Estates or trusts: Include on line 10 only your share of the credit from 
another estate or trust.

Schedule D – Beneficiary’s and fiduciary’s share of 
credit
An estate or trust must complete Schedule D. Enter the fiduciary’s share 
of the credit from column C on line 14.

The total credit is allocated between the estate or trust and its 
beneficiaries on the same basis as the income of the estate or trust is 
allocated. Provide the beneficiaries with their share of the credit.

Schedule F – Application of credit and computation of 
carryover
Line 17
IT-201 filers: Enter the tax from Form IT-201, line 39, plus any amount 
from Form IT-201-ATT, line 21.

IT-203 filers: Enter the tax from Form IT-203, line 46, plus any amount 
from Form IT-203-ATT, line 20.

IT-205 filers: Enter the tax from Form IT-205, line 8 (for residents), 
or line 9 (for nonresidents), plus any credits shown on line 1 of the 
Addbacks worksheet, in the instructions for Form IT-205, line 12.

Line 18 – If you are applying any credits against the tax before this 
credit, enter those amounts here.

When applying credits, use the following rules:
–	 First apply any household credit.
–	 Next apply any credits that cannot be carried over or refunded.
–	 Then apply any credits that can be carried over for a limited duration.
–	 Then apply any credits that can be carried over for an unlimited 

duration.
–	 Apply refundable credits last.

Line 20 – Enter the amount from line 20 and code 251 on 
Form IT-201-ATT, line 6, or Form IT-203-ATT, line 7. Fiduciaries: Include 
the line 20 amount on Form IT-205, line 10.
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