IT-2105-I

Instructions for Form IT-2105

Estimated Tax Payment Voucher for Individuals

New York State • New York City • Yonkers • MCTMT

Did you know? You can pay your estimated tax electronically on our Web site with a debit from your checking or savings account. Visit us on the Web at www.tax.ny.gov to pay your estimated tax electronically instead of using Form IT-2105.

Changes for 2016

The 2016 New York State standard deduction and tax rate schedules have been adjusted to reflect the cost of living adjustment required under the Tax Law.

General information

Estimated income tax is the amount of New York State, New York City, and Yonkers tax you expect to owe for the year after subtracting:

- · the amount of tax you expect to have withheld;
- the estimated income tax paid with Form IT-2663, Nonresident Real Property Estimated Income Tax Payment Form;
- the estimated income tax paid with Form IT-2664, Nonresident Cooperative Unit Estimated Income Tax Payment Form;
- the estimated income tax paid on your behalf by a partnership or S corporation; and
- · the amount of any credits you plan to take.

If any of your income is subject to New York City or Yonkers resident income taxes or Yonkers nonresident earnings tax, substitute New York City or Yonkers for New York State in the following instructions to determine if you are required to make estimated payments of these taxes

Who must make estimated income tax payments – Generally you must pay estimated income tax if you expect to owe, after subtracting your withholding, estimated tax paid with Form IT-2663 and/or IT-2664, estimated income tax paid on your behalf by a partnership or S corporation, and credits, at least \$300 of either New York State, New York City, or Yonkers tax for 2016.

The Metropolitan Commuter Transportation Mobility Tax (MCTMT) is imposed on self-employed individuals engaging in business within the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD). The MCTD consists of New York City (the counties of New York (Manhattan), Bronx, Kings (Brooklyn), Queens, and Richmond (Staten Island)) as well as the counties of Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester.

The MCTMT is imposed at a rate of .34% (.0034) of an individual's net earnings from self-employment allocated to the MCTD.

Who must make estimated MCTMT payments – Generally, if you are a self-employed individual (including partners or members in partnerships, limited liability partnerships (LLPs) that are treated as partnerships, and limited liability companies (LLCs) that are treated as partnerships), you must make estimated MCTMT payments if you expect to owe any MCTMT for the tax year after subtracting any estimated MCTMT paid on your behalf by a partnership. However, if your net earnings from self-employment allocated to the MCTD are \$50,000 or less for the tax year, no tax is due. The \$50,000 threshold must be computed on an individual basis, even though you may file a joint personal income tax return.

Hereafter, partners and members will be collectively referred to as partners. Partnerships, including LLPs and LLCs treated as partnerships, will be collectively referred to as partnerships.

No exemptions from tax specified in any other New York State law apply to the MCTMT (with the exception of START-UP NY earnings). Also, no tax credit(s) may be used to offset the MCTMT.

For more information on START-UP NY, visit our Web site.

When to pay your estimated tax – Generally, you must make your first payment of 2016 estimated tax by April 18, 2016. You can pay all your

estimated tax with the first voucher or pay it in four equal installments on April 18, June 15, September 15, 2016, and January 17, 2017.

Changes in income, net earnings from self-employment, deductions, or exemptions during 2016 may require you to amend your original estimate or to begin making estimated tax payments after April 18, 2016. Use the *Amended estimated tax worksheet* on page 10 of these instructions to amend your original estimate. If you are required to begin making payments after April 18, 2016, the payment due dates are as follows:

If the requirement is met after:

March 31 and before June 1 May 31 and before September 1 August 31

Payment due date is:

June 15, 2016 September 15, 2016 January 17, 2017

If you file your 2016 New York State income tax return on or before January 31, 2017, and pay the full balance of tax due, you do not have to make any payment which would otherwise be due on January 17, 2017.

If, after March 31, 2016, you have a large change in income, net earnings from self-employment, deductions, additional taxes, or credits that requires you to start making estimated tax payments, you should compute the amount of your estimated tax payments by using the annualized income installment method explained in Form IT-2105.9-I, Instructions for Form IT-2105.9, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and Fiduciaries. Although your payment due dates will be the same as shown above, the payment amounts will vary based on your income, net earnings from self-employment, deductions, additional taxes, and credits for the months ending before each payment due date. As a result, this method may allow you to skip or lower the amount due for one or more payments. If you use the annualized income installment method, be sure to file Form IT-2105.9 with your 2016 tax return, even if no penalty is owed.

Automatic 90-day extension for certain taxpayers – If your spouse died within 30 days before the due date for your first estimated tax installment (for calendar year filers, April 18, 2016), you qualify for a 90-day extension of time to pay that installment. The extension of time to pay does not apply for any other estimated tax installment for the tax year. See the instructions on page 2 for entering the special condition code on your payment voucher.

Farmers and fishermen – There is only one required installment date, January 15, if two-thirds or more of your federal gross income for 2015 or 2016 is from farming or fishing. You must either pay 66%% of your 2016 tax by January 17, 2017, or file your New York State return by March 1, 2017, and pay the total tax due.

Fiscal-year filers – If you report your income on a fiscal-year basis, adjust the calendar year due dates to correspond with the fifteenth day of the fourth, sixth, and ninth months of your fiscal year, and the first month of your succeeding fiscal year. If any due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, your return is due on the next regular workday.

Penalty for underpayment of estimated taxes

To avoid a penalty for underpayment of taxes for the tax year, your payment must be made on time and the total amount of your New York State, New York City, Yonkers, and MCTMT paid must be:

- at least 90% (66 ²/₃% for farmers and fishermen) of the amount of tax shown on your 2016 return; or 90% of the tax due if no return was filed; or
- 100% of the tax shown on your 2015 return (110% of that amount if you are not a farmer or a fisherman and the New York adjusted gross income (NYAGI) (or net earnings from self-employment allocated to the MCTD) shown on that return is more than \$150,000 (\$75,000 if married filing separately for 2016)). You must have filed a return for 2015 and it must have been for a full 12-month year; or
- 90% of the tax computed by annualizing the taxable income received for the months ending before the due date of the installment.

The penalty will not apply if you are a New York State resident (or a nonresident or part-year resident with New York source income) and you had no tax liability for the full 12-month preceding tax year.

To compute the penalty yourself, use Form IT-2105.9 and its instructions, Form IT-2105.9-I.

Where to file - Mail your payment and Form IT-2105 to:

NYS ESTIMATED INCOME TAX PROCESSING CENTER PO BOX 4122 BINGHAMTON NY 13902-4122

Private delivery services – If you choose, you may use a private delivery service, instead of the U.S. Postal Service, to mail in your form and tax payment. However, if, at a later date, you need to establish the date you filed or paid your tax, you cannot use the date recorded by a private delivery service unless you used a delivery service that has been designated by the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. (Currently designated delivery services are listed in Publication 55, Designated Private Delivery Services. See Need help? for information on obtaining forms and publications.) If you have used a designated private delivery service and need to establish the date you filed your form, contact that private delivery service for instructions on how to obtain written proof of the date your form was given to the delivery service for delivery. See Publication 55 for where to send the form(s) covered by these instructions.

How to complete the payment voucher – Enter your social security number or taxpayer identification number and print your name and address in the spaces provided. To ensure that payments of estimated tax are properly credited to you, this information must agree with the information on your New York State income tax return. Your name must be spelled correctly, with your **first** name entered first on the voucher.

Special condition code – Enter code **D9** if you qualify for a 90-day extension of time to pay your first estimated tax installment because your spouse died within 30 days before the due date of that installment (for calendar year filers, April 18, 2016). This code does not apply for any other estimated tax installment for the tax year.

Married taxpayers – Each married taxpayer should establish a separate estimated tax account. If you and your spouse each maintain an estimated tax account and file a joint New York State income tax return, we will credit the balances of both accounts to your joint income tax return.

Foreign addresses – Enter the information in the following order: city, province or state, and then country (all in the *City, village, or post office* box). Follow the country's practice for entering the postal code. **Do not abbreviate the country name**.

Enter the amount(s) due, rounded to the nearest dollar, as computed at the bottom of the *Estimated tax worksheet* on page 7, or line 6 of the *Amended estimated tax worksheet* on page 10, in the appropriate space(s) on the voucher. Be sure to **separately enter** the amounts for New York State, New York City, Yonkers, and MCTMT; then enter the total in the *Total payment* box. If there is **no amount** to be entered, **leave blank**.

If you paid too much tax on your 2015 return and you chose to apply the overpayment to your 2016 estimated tax, you may apply all or part of the overpayment to any installment. When computing the amounts to be entered in the *Record of estimated tax payments* on page 10, you may apply an estimated overpayment of New York State, New York City, Yonkers, or MCTMT tax to an estimated underpayment of New York State, New York City, Yonkers, or MCTMT tax. Enter only the **net** amount, rounded to the nearest dollar, of each installment in the appropriate space(s) on the voucher. **Do not** send the voucher unless you are including a payment.

You may make your payment by transferring funds directly from your bank account (ACH debit) using the Tax Department's Web application. **Do not** send a voucher if you are making your payment by ACH debit.

You may also pay by check, money order, or credit card. Make the check or money order payable in U.S. funds to **New York State Income Tax** and write your social security number and **2016 IT-2105** on it. Enclose the check or money order with the payment voucher and

mail to the address shown on the front of the voucher. Please detach any check stubs before mailing your check and the voucher. If you pay by credit card, do not mail in this payment voucher. You will be charged a fee by the credit card service provider to cover the cost of the transaction. For more information on the credit card payment program, access the Tax Department's Web site.

Fee for payments returned by banks – The law allows the Tax Department to charge a \$50 fee when a check, money order, or electronic payment is returned by a bank for nonpayment. However, if an electronic payment is returned as a result of an error by the bank or the department, the department won't charge the fee. If your payment is returned, we will send a separate bill for \$50 for each return or other tax document associated with the returned payment.

Please fill in the *Record of estimated tax payments* section on page 10 so that you will have a record of your past payments.

You can view and reconcile your estimated tax account by accessing our Web site or by calling our Personal Income Tax Information Center; see *Need help?* in these instructions.

Line instructions for estimated tax worksheet

Line 1 – Enter your estimated 2016 NYAGI. This is your federal adjusted gross income (FAGI) plus or minus New York additions and subtractions.

Nonresidents and part-year residents – Compute your estimated 2016 NYAGI as if you were a New York State resident, including income from sources both in and out of New York State.

Line 2 - To determine your standard deduction, use the table below:

	New York State	
	standard deduction table Filing status	Standard deduction
	Single and you can be claimed as a dependent on another taxpayer's federal return	\$ 3,100
	Single and you cannot be claimed as a dependent on another taxpayer's federal return	7,950
I	Married filing joint return	15,950
I	Married filing separate return	7,950
	Head of household (with qualifying person)	11,150
	Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child	15,950

If you itemize your deductions, see the instructions for Form IT-201-D (in the instructions for Form IT-201) or Form IT-203-D (in the instructions for Form IT-203).

If your NYAGI exceeds \$100,000 be sure to follow the instructions relating to the limitations to itemized deductions.

(continued)

Line 4 – Multiply \$1,000 by the number of dependents that you can
claim in 2016. Exemptions are not allowed for yourself and, if married,
your spouse.

Line 6 - New York State tax

Note: Your NYAGI is the amount from page 7, *Estimated tax* worksheet, line 1, and your taxable income is the amount from page 7, *Estimated tax worksheet*, line 5.

If your NYAGI is \$106,950 or less, compute your New York State
tax on the amount on line 5 using the New York State tax rates
on page 8 of these instructions. Enter the tax amount on page 7,
Estimated tax worksheet, line 6.

If your NYAGI is more than \$106,950, compute your New York
State tax on the amount on line 5 using the correct tax computation
worksheet within your filing status.

Married filing jointly and qualifying widow(er)

Tax computation worksheet 1	Tax computation worksheet 3
If your NYAGI is more than \$106,950, but not more than \$2,140,900, and your taxable income is \$160,500 or less, then you must compute your tax using this worksheet.	If your NYAGI is more than \$321,050, but not more than \$2,140,900, and your taxable income is more than \$321,050, then you must compute your tax using this worksheet.
Enter your NYAGI from page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 1 1 1.	1. Enter your NYAGI from page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 1
2. Enter your taxable income from page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 5	Enter your taxable income from page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 5
3. Multiply line 2 above by 6.45% (.0645) (Stop: If the line 1 amount above is \$156,950 or more, skip lines 4 through 8 and enter the line 3 amount on line 9)	3. Multiply line 2 above by 6.85% (.0685) (Stop: If the line 1 amount above is \$371,050 or more, skip lines 4 through 10 and enter the line 3 amount on line 11)
4. Enter your New York State tax on the line 2 amount above from the New York State tax rates, page 8	4. Enter your New York State tax on the line 2 amount above from the New York State tax rates, page 8
5. Subtract line 4 from line 3 5 5.	5. Subtract line 4 from line 3 5 5.
6. Enter the excess of line 1 over \$106,950 6.	6. Enter \$998 on line 6 6. 998
7. Divide line 6 by \$50,000 and round the result	7. Subtract line 6 from line 5
to the fourth decimal place	8. Enter the excess of line 1 over \$321,050 8
8. Multiply line 5 by line 7	9. Divide line 8 by \$50,000 and round the result to the fourth decimal place
Estimated tax worksheet, line 6	10. Multiply line 7 by line 9
If your NYAGI is more than \$160,500, but not more than \$2,140,900, and your taxable income is more than \$160,500 but not more than \$321,050, then you must compute your tax using	page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 611 Tax computation worksheet 4
this worksheet.	If your NYAGI is more than \$2,140,900, then you must compute
1. Enter your NYAGI from page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 1	your tax using this worksheet.
2. Enter your taxable income from page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 5	1. Enter your NYAGI from page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 1
3. Multiply line 2 above by 6.65% (.0665) (Stop: If the line 1 amount above is \$210,500	2. Enter your taxable income from page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 5
or more, skip lines 4 through 10 and enter the line 3 amount on line 11)	3. Multiply line 2 above by 8.82% (.0882) (Stop: If the line 1 amount above is \$2,190,900 or more, skip lines 4 through 10 and enter
amount above from the New York State tax rates, page 8	the line 3 amount on line 11)
5. Subtract line 4 from line 3	amount above from the New York State tax
	rates. page 8
6. Enter \$677 on line 6 6. 677	5. Subtract line 4 from line 3 5 5.
6. Enter \$677 on line 6	5. Subtract line 4 from line 3
6. Enter \$677 on line 6	 5. Subtract line 4 from line 3
6. Enter \$677 on line 6	5. Subtract line 4 from line 3
6. Enter \$677 on line 6	5. Subtract line 4 from line 3
6. Enter \$677 on line 6	5. Subtract line 4 from line 3
6. Enter \$677 on line 6	5. Subtract line 4 from line 3
6. Enter \$677 on line 6	5. Subtract line 4 from line 3
6. Enter \$677 on line 6	5. Subtract line 4 from line 3

Single and married filing separately

Tax computation worksheet 5	·
If your NYAGI is more than \$106,950, but not m \$1,070,350, and your taxable income is \$214,000 must compute your tax using this worksheet.	
Enter your NYAGI from page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 1	1
Enter your taxable income from page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 5	2
3. Multiply line 2 above by 6.65% (.0665) (Stop: If the line 1 amount above is \$156,950 or more, skip lines 4 through 8 and enter the line 3 amount on line 9)	3
Enter your New York State tax on the line 2 amount above from the New York State tax rates, page 8	4.
5. Subtract line 4 from line 3	5
6. Enter the excess of line 1 over \$106,950	6
7. Divide line 6 by \$50,000 and round the result to the fourth decimal place	7
8. Multiply line 5 by line 7	8.
Add lines 4 and 8. Enter here and on page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 6	

	•		
\$1	rour NYAGI is more than \$214,000, but not more ,070,350, and your taxable income is more than \$2 u must compute your tax using this worksheet.		then
1.	Enter your NYAGI from page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 1	1.	
2.	Enter your taxable income from page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 5	2.	
3.	Multiply line 2 above by 6.85% (.0685) (Stop: If the line 1 amount above is \$264,000 or more, skip lines 4 through 10 and enter the line 3 amount on line 11)	3.	
4.	Enter your New York State tax on the line 2 amount above from the New York State tax rates, page 8	4.	
5.	Subtract line 4 from line 3	5.	
6.	Enter \$497 on line 6	6.	497
7.	Subtract line 6 from line 5	7.	
8.	Enter the excess of line 1 over \$214,000	8.	
9.	Divide line 8 by \$50,000 and round the result to the fourth decimal place	9.	
10.	Multiply line 7 by line 9	10.	
l1.	Add lines 4, 6, and 10. Enter here and on page 7, Estimated tax worksheet,	44	
	line 6	11.	

Tax computation worksheet 6

Tax computation worksheet 7 If your NYAGI is more than \$1,070,350, then you must compute your tax using this worksheet. 1. Enter your NYAGI from page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 1 1. _____1 2. Enter your taxable income from page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 5 2. __ 3. Multiply line 2 above by 8.82% (.0882) (Stop: If the line 1 amount above is \$1,120,350 or more, skip lines 4 through 10 and enter the line 3 amount on line 11) 3. _____ 4. Enter your New York State tax on the line 2 amount above from the New York State tax 5. Subtract line 4 from line 3 5. ____ 6. If line 2 is **\$214,000 or less**, enter \$497 on line 6. If line 2 is more than \$214,000, 7. Subtract line 6 from line 5 7. _____ 7. 8. Enter the excess of line 1 over \$1,070,350 8. 9. Divide line 8 by \$50,000 and round the result to the fourth decimal place9. 10. Multiply line 7 by line 910. 11. Add lines 4, 6, and 10. Enter here and on page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 611. _____

(continued)

Head of household

Tax computation w	orksheet 8 ————
If your NYAGI is more than \$106,950, \$1,605,650, and your taxable income must compute your tax using this work	is \$267,500 or less , then you
Enter your NYAGI from page 7, Est worksheet, line 1	
2. Enter your taxable income from page Estimated tax worksheet, line 5	
3. Multiply line 2 above by 6.65% (.06 (Stop: If the line 1 amount above is or more, skip lines 4 through 8 and the line 3 amount on line 9)	s \$156,950 d enter
Enter your New York State tax on the amount above from the New York States, page 8	State tax
5. Subtract line 4 from line 3	5
6. Enter the excess of line 1 over \$10	6,950 6
7. Divide line 6 by \$50,000 and round to the fourth decimal place	7.
8. Multiply line 5 by line 7	8.
9. Add lines 4 and 8. Enter here and Estimated tax worksheet, line 6	

	——— Tax computation worksheet 9 —		
\$ 1	your NYAGI is more than \$267,500, but not more ,605,650, and your taxable income is more than \$u must compute your tax using this worksheet.		
1.	Enter your NYAGI from page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 1	1.	
2.	Enter your taxable income from page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 5	2.	
3.	Multiply line 2 above by 6.85% (.0685) (Stop: If the line 1 amount above is \$317,500 or more, skip lines 4 through 10 and enter the line 3 amount on line 11)	3.	
4.	Enter your New York State tax on the line 2 amount above from the New York State tax rates, page 8	4.	
5.	Subtract line 4 from line 3	5.	
6.	Enter \$720 on line 6	6.	720
	Subtract line 6 from line 5		
8.	Enter the excess of line 1 over \$267,500	8.	
9.	Divide line 8 by \$50,000 and round the result to the fourth decimal place	9.	
10.	Multiply line 7 by line 9	10.	
11.	Add lines 4, 6, and 10. Enter here and on page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 6	11.	

Tax computation worksheet 10 — If your NYAGI is more than \$1,605,650, then you must compute your tax using this worksheet. 1. Enter your NYAGI from page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 1 1. _____1 2. Enter your taxable income from page 7, 3. Multiply line 2 above by 8.82% (.0882) (Stop: If the line 1 amount above is \$1,655,650 or more, skip lines 4 through 10 and enter the line 3 amount on line 11) 3. 4. Enter your New York State tax on the line 2 amount above from the New York State tax 5. Subtract line 4 from line 3 5. ______ 5. 6. If line 2 is **\$267,500 or less**, enter \$720 on line 6. If line 2 is more than \$267,500, 8. Enter the excess of line 1 over \$1,605,650 8. 9. Divide line 8 by \$50,000 and round the result 10. Multiply line 7 by line 910. 11. Add lines 4, 6, and 10. Enter here and on page 7, Estimated tax worksheet, line 611. _____

Line 7 - New York City tax (New York City residents only)

If you are a New York City resident, compute your New York City resident tax on the amount on line 5 using the *New York City tax rates* on page 8 of these instructions. Enter the tax amount on page 7, *Estimated tax worksheet*, line 7.

Line 8 – Enter any estimated New York City household credit and New York City accumulation distribution credit that you are entitled to claim. See the instructions for Form IT-201 for information on how to compute these credits.

Line 10 – Enter any estimated New York City tax on the ordinary income portion of a lump-sum distribution.

Line 12 – Enter any estimated New York City unincorporated business tax credit you are entitled to claim using Form IT-219, *Credit for New York City Unincorporated Business Tax*, as a guide.

Line 12a – Enter any estimated New York City general corporation tax credit you are entitled to claim using Form IT-222, *General Corporation Tax Credit*, as a guide.

Line 14 – Residents – Enter any estimated New York State household credit.

Nonresidents and part-year residents – Nonresidents and part-year residents enter any estimated child and dependent care credit, household credit, and earned income credit as if you were a New York State resident. Nonresidents and part-year residents must reduce the earned income credit allowed by the household credit allowed. These credits may not exceed your tax liability. The part-year resident must first reduce his or her tax liability to zero, and any excess credit must then be applied against any remaining other New York State taxes (line 16). For more detailed information, see the instructions for Form IT-203.

Line 15 – Residents – Subtract line 14 from line 6. Enter the result on line 15

Nonresidents and part-year residents – Compute the amount of estimated income tax due using the following worksheet (**Note:** *NYAGI* means New York adjusted gross income):

. .

a.	Enter amount from	n line 6 aa						
b.	Enter amount from line 14b.							
c.	Subtract line b fro	m line ac.						
d.	Multiply line c by	NYAGI from New York sources Total NYAGI from all sources						
	Enter result here a	and on line 15 d						

Line 16 – Include on line 16 any New York State and New York City other taxes from Form IT-201-ATT, lines 30 and 34 or Form IT-203-ATT, line 33, in the appropriate columns excluding other New York City tax on the ordinary income portion of a lump-sum distribution.

Do not include the New York City unincorporated business tax or the New York City general corporation tax. These taxes are administered directly by the NYC Department of Finance.

Line 18 – Enter on line 18 the total of any estimated resident credit and other nonrefundable and carryover credits you are eligible to claim. Do not include the credits claimed on line 14. For other nonrefundable credits, see the instructions for Form IT-201-ATT (in the instructions for Form IT-203).

Line 20 – Use the following forms as guides to estimate your refundable New York State and New York City credits:

- Form IT-114, Claim for Family Tax Relief Credit
- Form IT-213, Claim for Empire State Child Credit
- Form IT-214, Claim for Real Property Tax Credit
- Form IT-215, Claim for Earned Income Credit
- Form IT-209, Claim for Noncustodial Parent New York State Earned Income Credit
- Form IT-216, Claim for Child and Dependent Care Credit
- Form IT-272, Claim for College Tuition Credit or Itemized Deduction
- Form IT-201-ATT, Other Tax Credits and Taxes, Part 1, lines 14, 15, and 16; or Form IT-203-ATT, Other Tax Credits and Taxes, Part 1, lines 13, 14, and 15
- Form NYC-208, Claim for New York City Enhanced Real Property Tax Credit

New York City residents enter your city school tax credit. If your income* is \$250,000 or less, and you are a married individual filing a joint return, or a qualifying widow(er) with dependent child, enter 125. All others with incomes* of \$250,000 or less enter 63.

* Income, for purposes of determining your New York City school tax credit, means your FAGI, minus distributions from an individual retirement account and an individual retirement annuity.

Enter state credits in the *New York State* column and the city credits in the *New York City* column. However, the New York City enhanced real property tax credit should be entered in the *New York State* column. Residents must reduce the New York State earned income credit allowed by the New York State household credit allowed.

Line 22a – The current rate for Yonkers is 16.75% (.1675). If you are a Yonkers resident, multiply the New York State amount on line 21 by 16.75% (.1675) and enter the result on line 22a.

Line 22b – If you have earnings subject to the Yonkers nonresident earnings tax, complete Form Y-203, *Yonkers Nonresident Earnings Tax Return*, and transfer the amount of tax computed to line 22b.

If you anticipate having a claim of right credit against your Yonkers nonresident earnings tax, net the credit out against the tax and enter the net nonresident earnings tax on line 22b.

Line 25 – Enter 100% of the tax shown on your 2015 return (110% (1.1) of that amount if you are not a farmer or fisherman and the NYAGI (or net earnings from self-employment allocated to the MCTD) shown on that return is more than \$150,000 (\$75,000 if married filing separately for 2016)).

If you did not file a 2015 return, or filed for less than a full 12-month year, skip line 25 and enter the line 24 amount on line 26.

How to compute your estimated tax – Complete the worksheet below to compute your 2016 estimated tax. Use your 2015 New York State, New York City, and Yonkers tax returns and instructions as a guide for computing your estimated tax. Use your 2015 income, net earnings

from self-employment, and deductions as a starting point and make any necessary adjustments for 2016. Line instructions for the worksheet begin on page 2 of these instructions.

Es	timated tax worksheet (see instructions)	A - New	York State	B - New York City	C - Yonkers	D - MCTMT
	Enter amount of New York adjusted gross income (NYAGI) you					
	expect in 2016	1.				
2	Enter either your standard deduction or estimated itemized					
	deduction	2.				
3	Subtract line 2 from line 1	3.				
4	Dependent exemptions (multiply \$1,000 by number of dependents)	4.				
	Estimated NYS taxable income (subtract line 4 from line 3)	5.				
6	NYS tax on line 5 amount (see instructions)	6.			7	
7	NYC resident tax on line 5 amount (see instructions)		-	7.	-	
8	NYC household credit and NYC accumulation distribution credit		-	8.	-	
	Subtract line 8 from line 7		-	9.		
	NYC tax on ordinary income portion of lump-sum distribution		-	10.		
11			<u> </u>	11.	-	
	NYC unincorporated business tax credit		<u> </u>	12.	-	
	NYC general corporation tax credit		ļ-	12a.	-	
	Add lines 12 and 12a		T	12b.	-	
	Subtract line 12b from line 11 Enter household credit; nonresidents and part-year residents also			13.	J	
17	enter child and dependent care credit and earned income					
	·	14.				
15	Subtract line 14 from line 6 (see instructions)	15.				
16	Other taxes (see instructions)	16.				
17	Add lines 15 and 16 (in NYC column: add lines 13 and 16)	17.				
18	Resident credit and other nonrefundable credits (see instructions)	18.			_	
19	Total estimated NYS and NYC income tax (New York State column:					
	subtract line 18 from line 17; New York City column: enter amount from line 17)	19.			-	
20	Refundable credits (see instructions)	20.				
21	NYS/NYC estimated income tax (subtract line 20 from line 19)	21.				
22	Yonkers: (a) resident tax surcharge (multiply line 21, New York State					
	column, by 16.75% (.1675))				22a.	
	(b) nonresident earnings tax (from Form Y-203)				22b.	
23	(c) total (add lines 22a and 22b)				22c.	
20	Yonkers column, line 22c; Estimated MCTMT worksheet, line 5)	23.				
24	Multiply line 23 by 90% (.90) (66 ² / ₃ % (.6667) for farmers					
		24.				
25	Enter your 2015 tax (see instructions)	25.				
26	Enter the lesser of line 24 or 25. This is your required annual					
	payment (see Penalty for underpayment of estimated tax)	26.				
27	Estimate of income tax to be withheld, estimated income tax					
	paid with Form IT-2663 and/or IT-2664, and estimated tax					
20	paid on your behalf by a partnership or corporation	27.				
20	columns A, B, or C, is \$300 or more, or if any amount is					
	shown in column D, fill out and file the payment voucher					
	along with your payment. If each amount on this line					
	(columns A, B, and C only) is less than \$300, no payment is					
	required at this time. If you are applying an overpayment					
	from 2015 to 2016, see How to complete the payment voucher	28.				
Cor	nputation of installments:				on the voucher (less a	
	If the first installment is paid:				ing to this installment	t):
	April 18, 2016 June 15, 2016			of line 28 of line 28		
	September 15, 2016			of line 28		
	January 17, 2017		amount o	on line 28		

New York State tax rates

	Married filing jointly and qualifying widow(er)										
lf	f line 5 is:										
0	ver	but not over	Th	ne tax is	s:						
\$	0	\$17,050				4.00%	of	line 5			
	17,050	23,450	\$	682	plus	4.50%	of	the ex	cess	over	\$17,050
	23,450	27,750		970	plus	5.25%	"	"	"	"	23,450
	27,750	42,750		1,196	plus	5.90%	"	"	"	"	27,750
	42,750	160,500		2,081	plus	6.45%	"	"	"	"	42,750
	160,500	321,050		9,676	plus	6.65%	"	"	"	"	160,500
	321,050	2,140,900		20,352	plus	6.85%	"	44	"	"	321,050
2	2,140,900		1	45,012	plus	8.82%	"	u	"	"	2,140,900

	Single and married filing separately										
П	f line 5 is:										
	over	but not over	TI	ne tax is	s:						
5	0	\$8,450				4.00%	of	line 5			
	8,450	11,650	\$	338	plus	4.50%	of	the exc	ess	over	\$8,450
	11,650	13,850		482	plus	5.25%	"	"	u	"	11,650
	13,850	21,300		598	plus	5.90%	"	"	"	"	13,850
	21,300	80,150		1,037	plus	6.45%	"	"	u	"	21,300
	80,150	214,000		4,833	plus	6.65%	"	"	u	"	80,150
	214,000	1,070,350		13,734	plus	6.85%	"	u	"	"	214,000
	1,070,350 .			72,394	plus	8.82%	"	"	u	"	1,070,350

	Head of household										
If	line 5 is:										
o	ver	but not over	The ta	x is	: :						
\$	0	\$12,750				4.00%	of l	line 5			
	12,750	17,550	\$ 5	10	plus	4.50%	of t	the exc	ess	over	\$12,750
	17,550	20,800	7	26	plus	5.25%	"	44	"	44	17,550
	20,800	32,000	8	97	plus	5.90%	"	"	"	"	20,800
	32,000	106,950	1,5	57	plus	6.45%	"	"	"	"	32,000
	106,950	267,500	6,3	92	plus	6.65%	"	"	"	"	106,950
	267,500	1,605,650	17,0	68	plus	6.85%	"	44	"	44	267,500
	1,605,650 .		108,7	32	plus	8.82%	"	"	"	" .	1,605,650

Line instructions for Estimated MCTMT worksheet

Complete a separate *Estimated MCTMT worksheet* (lines 1 through 3), for each source of your self-employment income. Total the amounts from line 3 of all *Estimated MCTMT worksheets* and enter on line 4. If married filing jointly and each spouse is subject to the MCTMT, each spouse should complete a separate worksheet.

Line 1 – Enter your estimated net earnings from self-employment for 2016, as defined under Internal Revenue Code (IRC) section 1402(a). You may use federal Schedule SE (Form 1040) as a guide in calculating your estimated net earnings from self-employment.

Generally, your net earnings from self-employment are reported on federal Form 1040, Schedule SE, Section A, line 4, or Section B, line 6, depending on which section you are required to complete.

Under IRC section 1402, income from certain employment is treated as income from a trade or business, and is reported on federal Schedule SE as net earnings from self-employment. Accordingly, the income is included in an individual's computation of net earnings from self-employment allocated to the MCTD and is subject to the MCTMT. Types of employment treated as a trade or business under IRC section 1402 include but are not limited to:

 services performed by a United States citizen employed by a foreign government, the United Nations, or other international organization;

New York City tax rates

	Married filing jointly and qualifying widow(er)									
	line 5 is: ver	but not over	Т	he tax i	is:					
\$	0	\$21,600			2	2.907% (of line	5		
	21,600	45,000	\$	628	plus	3.534%	of the	excess	over	\$21,600
	45,000	90,000		1,455	plus	3.591%	"	66	"	45,000
	90,000	500,000		3,071	plus	3.648%	"	66	"	90,000
L	500,000 .			19,155*	plus	3.876%	"	"	"	500,000

Single and married filing separately									
If line 5 is: over	but not over	1	he tax i	is:					
\$ 0	\$12,000			2	2.907% o	f line	5		
12,000	25,000	\$	349	plus	3.534%	of the	excess	over	\$12,000
25,000	50,000		808	plus	3.591%	"	44	"	25,000
50,000	500,000		1,706	plus	3.648%	"	44	"	50,000
500,000			19,255*	plus	3.876%	"	"	u	500,000

Head of household									
If line 5 is: over	but not over	Т	he tax i	s:					
\$ 0	\$14,400			2	2.907% c	of line	5		
14,400	30,000	\$	419	plus	3.534%	of the	excess	over	\$14,400
30,000	60,000		970	plus	3.591%	"	"	u	30,000
60,000	500,000		2,047	plus	3.648%	"	"	u	60,000
500,000			19,230*	plus	3.876%	"	"	u	500,000

- * These amounts include an additional amount to recapture the School Tax Reduction (STAR) Program rate reduction benefit for tax rates on taxable income below \$500,000.
- services performed by a church employee if the church or other qualified church-controlled organization has a certificate in effect electing an exemption from employer social security and Medicare taxes; and
- qualified services performed by a minister, a member of a religious order who has not taken a vow of poverty, or a Christian Science practitioner or reader.

If your net earnings from self-employment are not subject to federal self-employment tax (for example, nonresident aliens), use federal Schedule SE (Form 1040) to compute your net earnings from self-employment as if they were subject to the tax.

Lines 2 and 3 – Your estimated net earnings from self-employment must be allocated to the MCTD based on the business activity carried on in the MCTD. *Business activity* is carried on in the MCTD if an individual has, maintains, operates, or occupies desk space, an office, a shop, a store, a warehouse, a factory, an agency, or other place located in the MCTD where his or her business matters are systematically and regularly carried on. Similarly, business activity is carried on outside of the MCTD if the individual has, maintains, operates, or occupies desk space, an office, a shop, a store, a warehouse, a factory, an agency, or other place located outside the MCTD where his or her business matters are systematically and regularly carried on.

If an individual does **not** have, maintain, operate, or occupy desk space, an office, a shop, a store, a warehouse, a factory, an agency, or other place located in or out of the MCTD, business is carried on within the MCTD if activities in connection with their business are conducted within the MCTD with a fair measure of permanency and continuity.

Partners – Estimated partnership income must be allocated to the MCTD based on the partnership's allocation. Obtain the partnership's MCTD allocation percentage from your partnership and enter it on line 2. Multiply line 1 by line 2 and enter the result on line 3.

All others – If all of your business activity is carried on inside the MCTD, all of your estimated net earnings from self-employment are allocated to the MCTD. Enter the amount from line 1 on line 3. If your estimated net earnings from self-employment are from business activity both inside and outside of the MCTD, you must use one of the following methods to allocate your net earnings to the MCTD:

 Books and records – If you keep books and records that fairly and equitably show net earnings from self-employment from business activity within the MCTD, you may compute the part to be allocated to the MCTD from these books and records. Enter this amount on line 3 of the Estimated MCTMT worksheet below. • Business allocation percentage – If the net earnings from self-employment allocated to the MCTD cannot be determined from books and records, use the business allocation percentage formula in the Business allocation percentage worksheet on page 10. If the business allocation percentage method does not fairly and equitably reflect your net earnings from self-employment allocated to the MCTD, you may use an authorized alternate allocation method. Enter the percentage from the Business allocation percentage worksheet, line 8, or the percentage calculated using an authorized alternate allocation method, on the Estimated MCTMT worksheet, line 2. Multiply line 1 by line 2 and enter the result on line 3.

Line 4 – If your total net earnings from self-employment allocated to the MCTD do not exceed **\$50,000** for the tax year, no MCTMT is due for the tax year.

Line 5 – Transfer this amount to line 23, column D - MCTMT, of the *Estimated tax worksheet*, on page 7. Married taxpayers filing jointly must combine their line 5 amounts and transfer the total.

If you anticipate having a claim of right credit against your MCTMT, net the credit out against the tax and transfer the net MCTMT total to line 23, column *D - MCTMT* of the *Estimated tax worksheet*, on page 7.

	Estimated MCTMT worksheet (see instructions) —	
	Lottinated in a finit worker out fine mediations)	
1.	Estimated net earnings from self-employment	1
2.	MCTD allocation percentage	2
3.	Net earnings from self-employment allocated to the MCTD	3
4.	Enter the amount from line 3. If you have net earnings from self-employment from more than one source, total the amounts from line 3(s). If \$50,000 or less, stop . The \$50,000 threshold must be computed on an individual basis, even though you may file a joint personal income tax return.	4
5.	Estimated MCTMT due (multiply line 4 by .34% (.0034))	5

Instructions for Business allocation percentage worksheet

Lines 1, 2, and 3 – Compute the average value of real and tangible personal property connected with your net earnings from self-employment by completing lines 1, 2, and 3.

Line 1 – Enter in Column 1 the average value of all real property you own that is connected with net earnings from self-employment. Enter in Column 2 the average value of this real property located in the MCTD. To determine the average value of the property, add its adjusted basis at the beginning of the tax year to its adjusted basis at the end of the tax year, and divide the result by two.

Line 2 – Enter in Column 1 the value of all real property you rented that is connected with net earnings from self-employment. Enter in Column 2 the value of this rented real property that is located in the MCTD.

The fair market value of rented real property included on line 2 is eight times the gross rent payable during the tax year for which the return is filed. Gross rent includes:

- any amount payable for the use or possession of real property, or any part of it, whether designated as a fixed sum of money or as a percentage of sales, profits, or otherwise;
- any amount payable as additional rent or in lieu of rent, such as interest, taxes, insurance, repairs, or any other amount required to be paid by the terms of a lease or other agreement; and
- a proportion of the cost of any improvement to real property made by you or on your behalf that reverts to the owner or lessor upon termination of a lease or other arrangement. However, if a building is erected on leased land by you or on your behalf, the value of the building is determined the same way as if you owned it.

Line 3 – Enter in Column 1 the average value of all tangible personal property you own that is connected with net earnings from self-employment. Enter in Column 2 the average value of this tangible personal property that is located in the MCTD.

Line 4 – Add lines 1, 2, and 3 in Columns 1 and 2 and enter each total on line 4. Divide the Column 2 total by the Column 1 total and round the

result to the fourth decimal place. For example, if the total in Column 1 is \$15,000 and the total in Column 2 is \$10,000, divide \$10,000 by \$15,000 and enter the result (0.6667) as a percentage (66.67%) in Column 3.

Line 5 – Enter the total of the wages, salaries, and other personal service compensation paid to your employees in connection with your net earnings from self-employment derived from a trade, business, or profession carried on in the MCTD. Do not include payments to independent contractors or independent sales agents.

Enter in Column 1 the total compensation paid to your employees during the tax year in connection with your net earnings from self-employment carried on both in and out of the MCTD. Enter in Column 2 the amount paid in connection with operations carried on in the MCTD.

The compensation paid to an employee is considered to be connected with operations carried on in the MCTD if the employee works or travels out of an office or other place of business located in the MCTD.

Divide the Column 2 total by the Column 1 total. Round the result to the fourth decimal place and enter it as a percentage in Column 3.

Line 6 – Enter in Column 1 the total gross sales made or charges for services performed by you or your employees, agents, agencies, or independent contractors of the business in and out of the MCTD. Enter in Column 2 the part of the total gross sales or charges that represents sales made, or services performed, by or through an agency in the MCTD. This includes sales made or services performed by employees, agents, agencies, or independent contractors situated at, connected with, or sent out from offices of the business (or its agencies) located in the MCTD.

Special rule for real estate: Income and deductions from the rental of real property and gain or loss from the sale, exchange, or other disposition of real property are not subject to allocation. They are considered to be entirely derived from or connected with the place in which the property is located.

Divide the Column 2 total by the Column 1 total. Round the result to the fourth decimal place and enter it as a percentage in Column 3.

Line 8 – Divide the amount on line 7 by three (or by the actual number of percentages if less than three). Round the result to the fourth decimal place and enter it as a percentage here and on the *Estimated MCTMT worksheet*, line 2.

Privacy notification

New York State Law requires all government agencies that maintain a system of records to provide notification of the legal authority for any request, the principal purpose(s) for which the information is to be collected, and where it will be maintained. To view this information, visit our Web site, or, if you do not have Internet access, call and request Publication 54, *Privacy Notification*. See *Need help?* for the Web address and telephone number.

Need help?



Visit our Web site at www.tax.ny.gov

- · get information and manage your taxes online
- check for new online services and features

圍

Telephone assistance

Automated income tax refund status: (518) 457-5149

Personal Income Tax Information Center: (518) 457-5181 To order forms and publications: (518) 457-5431

Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with

hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY): (518) 485-5082

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are accessible to persons with disabilities.

If you have questions about special accommodations for persons with disabilities, call the information center.

Business allocation percentage worksheet -

Allocation of net earnings from self-employment to the MCTD – Use this worksheet only if your business is carried on both in and out of the MCTD.

of tl	ne MCTD.						
	Items used as factors		Column 1 Totals in and out of MCTD	Column 2 MCTD amounts		Column 3 Percent	
_ e	1 Real property owned 1.					Column 2 is of	
Property ercentage	2 Real property rented from others	2.				Column 1	
obe	3 Tangible personal property owned						
Pr	4 Property percentage (add lines 1, 2, and 3; see instructions)	4.					%
5	Payroll percentage (see instructions)	5.					%
6	Gross income percentage (see instructions)					%	
7	Total of percentages (add lines 4, 5, and 6, Column 3,	7.		%			
8	Business allocation percentage (divide total percentages if less than three); enter here and on the			%			

Amended estimated tax worksheet (Use only if your estimated tax increases or decreases.)

		New York State	New York City	Yonkers	MCTMT
1. Amended estimated tax	. 1.				
2. Overpayment from 2015 credited to estimated tax	. 2.				
3. Balance (subtract line 2 from line 1)	. 3.				
4. Estimated tax payments made to date	. 4.				
5. Unpaid balance (subtract line 4 from line 3)	. 5.				
6. Installment due (divide line 5 by the number of remaining					
nayments due: round to the nearest dollar)	6				

Record of estimated tax payments

(Record credits and payments in this table. Keep this record; you will not be receiving notices indicating the amount due each quarter.)

A - Payment type	B – Payment date	C – Amount	D – 2015 overpayment credit applied	E – Total amount paid and credited (add <i>C</i> and <i>D</i>)
	Total			