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Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form WCS-1
Public Safety Communications Surcharge Return

General information
Tax Law, Article 9, section 186-f imposes a public safety 
communications surcharge on wireless communications service 
provided to a wireless communications customer with a place 
of primary use in New York State. The surcharge is imposed at 
the rate of $1.20 per month on each device used to access this 
service during any part of each month. Wireless communications 
service plans that include multiple devices are subject to the 
surcharge on each device, regardless of the pricing structure 
for the plan. The surcharge is to be collected by wireless 
communications service suppliers from their customers.

A wireless communications service is any commercial mobile 
service, as that term is defined in section 332(d) of Title 47 of 
the United States Code, that offers real-time, two-way voice 
or data service that is interconnected with the public switched 
telephone network or otherwise provides access to emergency 
communications services.

The place of primary use is the primary business street address 
or primary residential street address of the customer, within the 
licensed service area of the wireless communications service 
provider.

A wireless communications device is any equipment used 
to access a wireless communications service. Examples of 
wireless communications devices on which the surcharge is 
imposed include cellular telephones, two-way beepers, and 
other devices (PDAs and handheld or laptop computers, etc.) 
that have two-way wireless communications capabilities over 
a public switched network. Examples of devices on which 
the surcharge is not imposed include one-way beepers, 
walkie-talkies, and medical lifeline services.

Wireless communications service suppliers providing service 
in New York State must add the surcharge to bills to every 
customer whose place of primary use is in New York State, and 
must identify the surcharge as the “public safety communications 
surcharge.” The surcharge must be separately stated on the bill 
as a single charge ($1.20 for a plan with one device, $2.40 for a 
plan with two devices, $3.60 for a plan with three devices, etc.).

A wireless communications service supplier is a home service 
provider (see Article 28, section 1101(b)(27)(ii)) that provides 
wireless communications services and has one or more 
customers in New York State.

Each wireless communications service supplier is allowed to 
retain an administrative fee. The fee is equal to 1.166% of the 
total collections of the surcharge, provided the supplier files any 
required return and remits the total surcharge due to the New 
York State Tax Department on or before its due date.

New York State and any of its agencies, instrumentalities, and 
political subdivisions are exempt from this surcharge.

For more information, see TSB-M-09(8)C, Public Safety 
Communications Surcharge. 

Specific instructions
Filing period indicator – Mark an X in the appropriate box to 
indicate the period covered by your return.

Final return – If this is the last return you intend to file because 
you have ceased doing business, mark an X in the box at the 
top of the return.

Business information – Enter your taxpayer identification 
number or social security number, business telephone number, 
legal name, doing business as (DBA) name, and complete 
address.

If you need to update your address or phone information, you 
can do so online. Visit our Web site (see Need help?) and look 
for the change my address option. Otherwise, enter your new 
address and/or phone number in the appropriate area of your 
return. Once your information is updated online, you do not need 
to indicate a change of address on forms submitted to the Tax 
Department for tax types you selected to be updated.

If you prefer to change this information by form, use 
Form DTF-96, Report of Address Change for Business Tax 
Accounts. You must report other changes (such as business 
name or ID number) on Form DTF-95, Business Tax Account 
Update. You can get these forms from our Web site or by phone 
(see Need help?).

Line A – Make your check or money order payable in United 
States funds. We will accept a foreign check or foreign money 
order only if payable through a United States bank or if marked 
Payable in U.S. funds.

On your check or money order, write your taxpayer identification 
number, Form WCS-1, and the last day of the quarter for which 
you are filing.

Attach your check or money order for the total amount due 
shown on line A, payable to Commissioner of Taxation and 
Finance.

Fee for payments returned by banks – The law allows the Tax 
Department to charge a $50 fee when a check, money order, 
or electronic payment is returned by a bank for nonpayment. 
However, if an electronic payment is returned as a result of 
an error by the bank or the department, the department won’t 
charge the fee. If your payment is returned, we will send a 
separate bill for $50 for each return or other tax document 
associated with the returned payment.

Lines 1, 2, and 3 – Monthly collections – For each month of 
the period covered by this return, enter the number of devices 
subject to the surcharge, multiply by 1.20, and enter the total 
surcharge collected.

Line 5 – Administrative fee – If this return is being filed on time 
and the correct surcharge amount is being remitted, multiply the 
amount on line 4 by 1.166% (.01166) and enter the result on 
line 5. Otherwise, enter 0.

Line 7 – Interest for late payment – If you do not pay the 
surcharge on or before the due date, you must pay interest on 
the amount of the underpayment from the due date to the date 
paid.

Line 8 – Penalties for late filing and late payment – Compute 
additional charges for late filing and late payment on the amount 
of surcharges, minus any payment made on or before the due 
date.
A.	 If you do not file a return when due, add to the surcharge 5% 

per month up to 25% (Article 27 section 1085(a)(1)(a)).
B.	 If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, 

the addition to the surcharge cannot be less than the 
smaller of $100 or 100% of the amount shown on line 4 
(section 1085(a)(1)(B)).



Need help?

Telephone assistance

Sales Tax Information Center:	 (518) 485-2889

To order forms and publications:	 (518) 457-5431

Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with 
  hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY):	 (518) 485-5082

accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have questions 
about special accommodations for persons with disabilities, call the 
information center.

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our 
lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are

 

Visit our Web site at www.tax.ny.gov
•	 get information and manage your taxes online
•	 check for new online services and features

C.	If you do not pay the surcharge shown on line 4, add to the 
surcharge ½% per month up to 25% (section 1085(a)(2)).

D.	The total of the additional charges in items A and C may not 
exceed 5% for any one month, except as provided for in item 
B above (section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, 
attach a statement to your return explaining any delay in filing, 
payment, or both (section 1085).

Sign and date the return
If you are a sole proprietor, you must sign the return and print 
your name, title, e-mail address, date, and telephone number. If 
you are filing this return for a corporation, partnership, or other 
type of entity, an owner, partner, officer, or employee must sign 
the return and print his or her name, title, date, and telephone 
number.

Keep a copy of your completed return for your records.

Paid preparer’s signature
If you pay someone to prepare your return, the paid preparer 
must also sign it and fill in the other blanks in the paid preparer’s 
area of your return. A person who prepares your return and does 
not charge you should not fill in the paid preparer’s area.

Paid preparer’s responsibilities – Under the law, all paid 
preparers must sign and complete the paid preparer section of 
the return. Paid preparers may be subject to civil and/or criminal 
sanctions if they fail to complete this section in full.

When completing this section, enter your New York tax preparer 
registration identification number (NYTPRIN) if you are required 
to have one. If you are not required to have a NYTPRIN, enter 
in the NYTPRIN excl. code box one of the specified 2-digit 
codes listed below that indicates why you are exempt from the 
registration requirement. You must enter a NYTPRIN or an 
exclusion code. Also, you must enter your federal preparer tax 
identification number (PTIN) if you have one; if not, you must 
enter your social security number.

See our Web site for more information about the tax preparer 
registration requirements.

When to file
This return is due the 15th day of the month following the close 
of the reporting period. If the due date falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday, or legal holiday, the return is due on the next business 
day.

Page 2 of 2  WCS-1-I (4/15)

Note: You may compute your penalty and interest by 
accessing our Web site, or you may call and we will compute 
the interest and penalty for you (see Need help?).

Where to file
NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
WCS-1
PO BOX 22020
ALBANY NY 12201-2020

Private delivery services
See Publication 55, Designated Private Delivery Services. 

Amended return
An amended New York State return requesting a credit or refund 
must be filed within three years of the time the original return 
was filed or within two years of the time the surcharge was paid, 
whichever is later; or, if no return was filed, within two years of 
the time the surcharge was paid. For additional limitations on 
credits or refunds, see Tax Law, Article 27, section 1087. For 
additional information on amending a filed return, call the Sales 
Tax Information Center (see Need help? ).

Your rights under the Tax Law
The Taxpayer Bill of Rights requires, in part, that the Tax 
Department advise you, in writing, of your rights and obligations 
during an audit, when you appeal a departmental decision, and 
when your appeal rights have been exhausted and you need to 
understand enforcement capabilities available to the department 
to obtain payment. For a complete copy of the information 
contained in all of these statements, see Publication 131, Your 
Rights and Obligations Under the Tax Law (see Need help?).

Privacy notification
New York State Law requires all government agencies that 
maintain a system of records to provide notification of the legal 
authority for any request, the principal purpose(s) for which the 
information is to be collected, and where it will be maintained. 
To view this information, visit our Web site, or, if you do not 
have Internet access, call and request Publication 54, Privacy 
Notification. See Need help? for the Web address and telephone 
number.

Code Exemption type Code Exemption type
01 Attorney 02 Employee of attorney

03 CPA 04 Employee of CPA

05 PA (Public Accountant) 06 Employee of PA

07 Enrolled agent 08 Employee of enrolled agent

09 Volunteer tax preparer 10 Employee of business 
preparing that business’ 
return



 Need help?

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our 
lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are

Telephone assistance

Corporation Tax Information Center:	 (518) 485-6027
To order forms and publications:	 (518) 457-5431
Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with 
  hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY):	 (518) 485-5082

accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have questions 
about special accommodations for persons with disabilities, call 
the information center.

Visit our website at www.tax.ny.gov
•	 get information and manage your taxes online
•	 check for new online services and features
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Department of Taxation and Finance

Change in Mailing Address for
Form WCS-1

Beginning on June 27, 2016, the mailing address changed 
for all taxpayers filing Form WCS-1, Public Safety 
Communications Surcharge Return. The mailing address 
for all Forms WCS-1 is (see Private delivery services 
below): 

NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
RPC – WCS
PO BOX 15193
ALBANY NY 12212-5193

Note: Forms mailed to old addresses may be delayed in 
processing.

Private delivery services
If you choose, you may use a private delivery service, 
instead of the U.S. Postal Service, to mail in your form 
and tax payment. However, if, at a later date, you need to 
establish the date you filed or paid your tax, you cannot 
use the date recorded by a private delivery service unless 
you used a delivery service that has been designated by 
the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the Commissioner 
of Taxation and Finance. (Currently designated delivery 
services are listed in Publication 55, Designated Private 
Delivery Services. See Need help? below for information 
on obtaining forms and publications.) If you have used a 
designated private delivery service and need to establish 
the date you filed your form, contact that private delivery 
service for instructions on how to obtain written proof of 
the date your form was given to the delivery service for 
delivery.

If you are using a private delivery service, send to:
NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
RPC – WCS
90 COHOES AVE
GREEN ISLAND NY 12183
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