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STATE OF NEW YORK 

COMMISSIONER OF TAXATION AND FINANCE 


 ADVISORY OPINION PETITION NO. S080708A 

The Department received a petition for an advisory opinion from Stephen R. Buschel (hereafter “Petitioner”) 
on July 8, 2008.  Petitioner provided additional information relating to the Petition on August 29th and September 23rd, 
2008. Petitioner asks whether annual payments to a country club for a Membership Eligibility Certificate are dues 
subject to sales and use taxes. Because possession of a Membership Eligibility Certificate is a condition precedent to 
membership in the club, Petitioner’s payments to the club for that certificate constitute initiation fees subject to New 
York State and local sales taxes, even though the payments are not dues and do not entitle Petitioner to membership 
privileges in the club. Compensating use taxes do not apply to club dues or initiation fees. 

Facts 

Petitioner resides in the “Windmill Farm” area of Armonk, New York.  Residents of the Windmill Farm area 
are entitled to apply for membership in the Windmill Club, a social club in Armonk, Westchester County, New York 
(hereafter, the “Club”).  According to Petitioner, before a resident can become a member of the Club and use its 
facilities, the resident must obtain a valid “Membership Eligibility Certificate” (hereafter, “MEC”).  A resident must 
make an annual payment to maintain his or her MEC.  The annual MEC payment is in excess of $10.00 per year.  If an 
MEC holder does not join the Club membership and pay regular dues, the resident is not allowed access to club 
property (except where he or she is a guest of a dues-paying club member).  The Club’s annual dues for members are 
also greater than $10.00 per year.  Petitioner has made annual payments to the Club for an MEC but has not joined the 
Club, does not pay dues, and has no rights of a member.  Petitioner has not paid any entrance fees or special fees under 
Article 2, section 5 of the Club’s By-Laws or house charges under section 7 of Article 2 of the By-Laws.  The Club has 
collected sales tax on Petitioner’s annual payments for his MEC.  Petitioner asserts that those MEC payments are not 
subject to sales tax as social club dues because mere possession of the MEC does not entitle Petitioner to any rights of 
membership in the Club. 

Petitioner submitted a copy of the Club’s By-Laws with his petition.  Article 1, Section 1, of the By-Laws 
provides that any Windmill Farm owner or resident is eligible for membership in the Club if he or she possesses an 
MEC in good standing. Section 2 of Article 1 of the By-Laws provides that every MEC holder in good standing will 
remain in good standing subject to the terms and conditions of the By-Laws and that the annual price of the MEC will 
be set by the Club’s Board of Governors.  The annual MEC offering price is a pro-rated share of the Club’s non­
operating expenses, including insurance, real estate taxes, and various maintenance and administrative expenses.  Any 
Windmill Farm owner or resident who purchases an MEC is entitled to become a Club member by paying the current 
initiation fees, annual dues, and Capital Maintenance Program fees.  A Windmill Farm owner who purchases an MEC 
and who subsequently sells his or her home is entitled to transfer his or her MEC to the new owner/resident of the 
home.  The new owner/resident is then entitled to become a Club member by paying the prevailing initiation fee, 
annual dues, and Capital Maintenance Program fees.  If a Windmill Farm owner or resident has not purchased an 
MEC, he or she may still become a Club member by paying a membership surcharge, in addition to the current 
initiation fees, annual dues, and Capital Maintenance Program fees.  Although a person who holds only an MEC is not 
entitled to Club membership or privileges, the MEC holder is entitled to share in the joint ownership of the Club’s 
property, such as the lake, building, grounds, and all other property.  Also, the MEC holder, though not a Club 
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member, is entitled to distributions if the Club sells any of its assets.  An MEC holder cannot vote or take any action at 
any Club meeting unless the person is also a member of the Club in good standing. 

Section 4 of Article 1 of the By-Laws, entitled “Election to Membership,” provides that an applicant for 
membership must submit a written application to the Club President or Secretary, together with payment of the 
entrance fee and dues when payable.  Section 9 of Article 1 provides Club membership cannot be assigned, transferred, 
sold, or conveyed. 

Section 2 of Article 2 of the By-Laws provides that a member who pays dues will be entitled to full 
membership in the Club.  Section 5 of Article 2 provides that the Board of Governors can require that persons also pay 
entrance fees and special fees as a condition to admission to membership.  Section 7 of Article 2 allows the Board of 
Governors to establish a minimum house charge fee to be paid by every member. Section 7 also provides that the 
member’s failure to pay that minimum fee is treated as the failure to pay dues.  Under Article 1, section 12, members 
who fail to pay their dues, house charges, and other fees will initially be suspended from membership, and then 
expelled if non-payment continues for three months after suspension for non-payment.   

Issue 

Petitioner asks whether his annual payments to the Windmill Club for a Membership Eligibility Certificate 
constitute dues of a social club subject to state and local sales and use taxes. 

Analysis 

Section 1105(f)(2) of the Tax Law, as relevant here, imposes the state’s four percent sales tax on dues paid to 
any social or athletic club in this state if the dues of an active annual member, exclusive of the initiation fee, are in 
excess of ten dollars per year, and on the initiation fee alone, regardless of the amount of dues, if the initiation fee is in 
excess of ten dollars.  Where the tax on dues applies to any such social or athletic club, the tax must be paid by all 
members of the club, other than honorary members, regardless of the amount of their dues, and must be paid on all 
dues or initiation fees for a period commencing on or after August first, nineteen hundred sixty-five.  “Social or 
athletic club” means any club or organization of which a material purpose or activity is social or athletic.  “Dues” 
means any dues or membership fee including any assessment, regardless of the purpose for which it is made, and any 
charges for social or sports privileges or facilities, except charges for sports privileges or facilities offered to members' 
guests which would otherwise be exempt if paid directly by such guests.  “Active annual member” is a member who is 
not a life member but who enjoys full club privileges as distinguished from the privileges enjoyed by a person holding 
a nonresident membership, an associate membership, or other partial or restricted membership.  “Initiation fee” means 
any payment, contribution, or loan, required as a condition precedent to membership, whether or not that payment, 
contribution, or loan is evidenced by a certificate of interest or indebtedness or share of stock, and regardless of the 
person or organization to whom it is paid, contributed or loaned.  See Tax Law 1101(d).  Section 1109 of the Tax Law 
imposes an identical 3/8 % rate of state sales tax on dues and initiation fees paid to social and athletic clubs located in 
the area of the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD), which includes Westchester County. 
Pursuant to the authority of section 1210(a)(1) of the Tax Law, Westchester County imposes an identical 3% sales tax 
on dues and initiation fees paid to social and athletic clubs located in the county.  The Tax Law does not impose or 
authorize any state or local compensating use tax on club dues or initiation fees. 
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Petitioner states that the Club is a social club.  The By-Laws petitioner submitted with the Petition do not state 
the Club’s purposes but suggest it is a social and/or athletic club. 

Petitioner’s annual payment to the Club for his MEC is not a payment of dues, since Petitioner is not a 
member of the Club and the payment is not made for membership or privileges at the Club or for use of the Club’s 
facilities. However, Petitioner’s payment for the MEC does constitute an initiation fee, since it is a payment required 
as a condition precedent to Club membership under Article 1 of the Club’s By-Laws.  As an initiation fee paid to a 
social or athletic club in an amount in excess of $10.00, Petitioner’s payment for the MEC is subject to the state’s 4% 
sales tax imposed by section 1105(f)(2).  Likewise, it is subject to the 3/8% rate of state tax imposed in the MCTD, 
since the Club is located in the MCTD, and also to Westchester County’s 3% rate of tax. 

The foregoing analysis and conclusions assume, based on petitioner’s assertion, that the Club is a social or 
athletic club. If it is not a social or athletic club, the conclusions would differ.  

DATED: October 8, 2008 /S/ 
 Jonathan Pessen 

Director of Advisory Opinions 
Office of Counsel 

NOTE:	 An Advisory Opinion is issued at the request of a person or entity. It is limited to the 
facts set forth therein and is binding on the Department only with respect to the person 
or entity to whom it is issued and only if the person or entity fully and accurately 
describes all relevant facts. An Advisory Opinion is based on the law, regulations, and 
Department policies in effect as of the date the Opinion is issued or for the specific 
time period at issue in the Opinion. 


