
 

 

 
 

 
                      
 
 

 
 

 
 

   
 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 
 

 

 

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance  
Office of Counsel  
Advisory Opinion Unit 

TSB-A-09(29)S
Sales Tax
July 15, 2009 

STATE OF NEW YORK
 
COMMISSIONER OF TAXATION AND FINANCE 


        ADVISORY OPINION PETITION NO. S090422A 

On April 22, 2009, the Department of Taxation and Finance received a petition for an 
advisory opinion from the Petitioner, name and address redacted. 

The issue raised by Petitioner is how much sales tax may be subject to a refund or credit 
when a customer returns merchandise, but receives less than the original purchase price as a refund. 
In such a situation, is the customer entitled to a full refund of all sales tax paid, based upon the 
original purchase price of the merchandise, or entitled only to a partial refund of sales tax 
(determined by the percentage of the original price that is actually refunded to the customer)? 

We conclude that the customer is entitled to only a partial refund of the sales tax, based 
upon a percentage of the purchase price refunded.  The New York State sales tax is a transaction 
tax. Since the sales tax initially collected is based upon the purchase price in the original 
transaction that gave the customer the use and/or possession of the merchandise, the customer is 
entitled to a refund of sales tax only to the extent the original transaction is undone.  If Petitioner 
retains a percentage of the original sales price, the sales tax collected on that retained amount 
(receipt) must be remitted to the State, and is not subject to a refund. 

Facts 

Petitioner is a specialty retailer of luxury, designer, and fashion merchandise, with stores 
located in New York State. When Petitioner makes a retail sale of merchandise, it collects sales tax 
based upon the purchase price charged to the customer and remits the taxes collected to New York 
State. Petitioner has instituted a new return policy whereby customers making returns to Petitioner 
more than 60 days after their receipt of merchandise will be entitled to only a partial refund of the 
original purchase price. Petitioner’s refund policy is as follows: 

Return Within Amount of Credit 
 0-60 days from receipt of merchandise 100% of original purchase price 

61-120 days from receipt of merchandise 75% of original purchase price 
121-180 days from receipt of merchandise 50% of original purchase price 
181+ days from receipt of merchandise 0% 

Petitioner explains that the percentage reduction reflects the fact that the value of the 
merchandise decreases with the passage of time.  This is because product models go out of date, 
fashions and styles change with seasons, and returned merchandise generally is less valuable than 
merchandise that has not been previously sold. 
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In addition, the extended period of use and/or possession by the customer after the initial 
sale date diminishes the value of the merchandise to Petitioner because, among other things, it 
prevents Petitioner from having the merchandise in its inventory and available for sale to others (at 
full market value).  Thus, in the above refund situations, Petitioner holds back a percentage of the 
original purchase price based on that use/possession by the customer and to compensate Petitioner 
for the diminishing value of the returned merchandise over time. 

Analysis 

Tax Law §1105(a) imposes sales tax upon “[t]he receipts from every retail sale of tangible 
personal property, except as otherwise provided in this article” (emphasis added).  The New York 
State sales tax is a transaction tax. Indeed, section 525.2(a)(2) of the New York State Sales and Use 
Tax Regulations provides: “a taxed transaction is an act resulting in the receipt of consideration for 
the transfer of title to or possession of tangible personal property . . . .” The regulations 
promulgated pursuant to Tax Law §1132(e) provide for refunds and credits of the tax paid on 
cancelled sales and returned merchandise. 20 NYCRR §534.6.  They do not, however, address the 
particular situation about which Petitioner inquires. 

Petitioner properly collects sales tax based upon the original purchase price charged to the 
customer.  Petitioner’s new return policy allows customers making returns to Petitioner more than 
60 days after their receipt of merchandise to obtain only a partial refund of the purchase price paid 
to Petitioner. As previously noted, Petitioner’s percentage reduction in the amount of refund it will 
provide its customer is a reflection of the fact that the value of the merchandise decreases 
proportionately to the increased passage of time after the initial sales transaction.  As Petitioner 
notes, product models go out of date, fashions and styles change with the seasons, and returned 
merchandise generally is less valuable than merchandise that has not been previously sold.   

Since the value of the merchandise has diminished, this prorated refund reflects a charge by 
Petitioner to the customer to compensate for the loss in value/marketability of the item that 
Petitioner incurs as a result of having to resell the item (likely at reduced cost) two months or more 
after the original sale.  Moreover, sales tax is a transaction tax.  Since the sales tax initially collected 
is based upon the amount of the original transaction that gave the customer the use and /or 
possession of the merchandise, the customer is entitled to a refund of sales tax only to the extent the 
original transaction is undone.  If Petitioner retains a percentage of the original sales price, the sales 
tax collected on that retained amount must be remitted to the State, and is not subject to a refund or 
credit. 

While Petitioner suggests that the retained amount be treated like a restocking charge, which 
was determined not to be a receipt subject to sales tax (B&L Wholesale Supply, Inc., 
TSB-A-05(46)S), this approach is not borne out by the facts presented.  Here, the prorated charge 
bears no relationship to a cost for “restocking” the merchandise, where Petitioner would be charging 
customers to recover the cost of restoring the product to a saleable condition and returning the 
merchandise to its proper location in Petitioner’s inventory.  Were that the case, Petitioner would 
charge a flat restocking fee whenever merchandise was returned, regardless of the date of the return.  
Here, however, Petitioner’s escalating percentage reduction for refunds is expressly tied to the date 
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of the return, and provides that less money be refunded as time passes after the initial purchase date, 
a clear reflection of the diminution in value of the merchandise over time. 

Based on this conclusion, Petitioner should refund to the customer only the sales tax 
proportionately attributable to the purchase price actually refunded.  For example, assume that a 
customer purchases an item of merchandise from Petitioner for $100 where the receipt would be 
subject to a combined State and local sales tax rate of 8 %.  In this example, the total tax that should 
be collected on the original sales transaction is $8.00.  If the customer returns the merchandise 130 
days from its purchase, Petitioner will refund the customer $50.00 (50% of the purchase price based 
on its return policy), plus the amount of tax attributable to that $50.00, which is $4.00, for a total 
refund of $54.00. The amount of tax attributable to the retained amount ($50.00) of the purchase 
price, which is $4.00, is not subject to a refund or credit.  Petitioner can claim a refund or credit for 
the $4.00 in sales tax that it has refunded to its customer.  It should be noted that Petitioner may file 
the claim for refund or credit in a case only when the tax has actually been refunded to the 
customer.  See 20 NYCRR §534.6(a)(2).  Petitioner should maintain adequate documentation to 
support its refund claim(s).   

DATED: July 15, 2009 /S/ 
 Jonathan Pessen 

Director of Advisory Opinions 
Office of Counsel 

NOTE: 	 An Advisory Opinion is issued at the request of a person or entity. It is 
limited to the facts set forth therein and is binding on the Department only 
with respect to the person or entity to whom it is issued and only if the person 
or entity fully and accurately describes all relevant facts.  An Advisory 
Opinion is based on the law, regulations, and Department policies in effect as 
of the date the Opinion is issued or for the specific time period at issue in the 
Opinion. 


