

NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION & FINANCE OFFICE OF REAL PROPERTY TAX SERVICES

APPLICATION FOR VOLUNTEER FIREFIGHTERS / AMBULANCE WORKERS EXEMPTION (For use in Wyoming County Only)

APPLICATION MUST BE FILED WITH YOUR ASSESSOR OR OTHER DESIGNATED LOCAL OFFICIAL ON OR BEFORE TAXABLE STATUS DATE Do <u>not</u> file application with the Office of Real Property Tax Services

1.	Name and telephone no. of owner(s) 2. Mailing address of owner(s)						
	Day No. ()						
	Evening No. () E-mail (optional)						
3.	Location of property in Wyoming County:						
	Street address						
	City/Town Village (if any)						
	School District						
	Property identification (see tax bill or assessment roll) Tax map number or section/block/lot:						
4.	Name of incorporated volunteer fire company, fire department or incorporated volunteer ambulance service:						
5.	Relationship to incorporated volunteer fire company, fire department or incorporated volunteer ambulance service indicated in question 4 (see instructions):						
	a. Certified by company, department or service as enrolled member for at least five years;						
	b. Certified by company, department or service as having accrued at least 20 years of active service;						
	c. un-remarried spouse of deceased enrolled member who received exemption under 5(a) or 5(b) and who was killed in the same line of duty; or						
	d. un-remarried spouse of deceased member who received exemption under 5(b).						
6.	Does the applicant reside in the city, town, or village served by the incorporated volunteer fire company, fire department or incorporated volunteer ambulance service indicated in question 4? yes no						
7.	Is the property the primary residence of the applicant? yes no						
8.	Does the applicant or do the applicant and his/her spouse own the property? yes no (attach proof of ownership.)						
9.	Is any portion of the property used for other than residential purposes (farming, commercial, vacant land, professional office, etc.)?						

10. Did the applicant previously receive a village tax exemption for service as a volunteer firefighter pursuant to section 466 of the Real Property Tax Law? yes no If yes, indicate name of village and last year in which exemption was granted.

CERTIFICATION

I certify that all statements made on this application are true and correct. Signature of applicant (and spouse, if spouse also owns property)

Date

INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICATION FOR VOLUNTEER FIREFIGHTERS / AMBULANCE WORKERS EXEMPTION; CERTAIN COUNTY

Authorization for exemption: Section 466-c of the Real Property Tax Law authorizes the governing body of a county, city, town or village in a county having a population of between 43,400 and 43,600 according to the latest federal decennial census (only Wyoming County currently satisfies this standard) to partially exempt the residence of a volunteer firefighter or volunteer ambulance worker. The exemption does not apply to school taxes.

Computation and duration of exemption: The exemption is available only to members of incorporated volunteer fire companies, fire departments or incorporated volunteer ambulance services who have been certified as being enrolled members for at least five years. The municipality determines the procedure for certification. In addition, at local option of the county, town or village, the exemption may be granted for the life of an enrolled member who has accrued more than 20 years of active service. At further local option, the exemption is also available to the unremarried spouse of an enrolled member who was receiving the exemption when he or she was killed in the line of duty. In addition, at local option, the exemption may be continued or reinstated for the unremarried spouse of an enrolled member accrued at least 20 years of active service and was receiving the exemption prior to his or her death.

The exemption may be granted only to applicants who reside in the city, town or village served by the fire company, fire department or ambulance service. The exemption is available only to the primary residence of the applicant and only to property (or the portion thereof) exclusively used for residential purposes.

The exemption equals 10 percent of the assessed value of the property to a maximum of \$3,000 multiplied by the latest state equalization rate for the assessing unit in which the property is located. However, for village tax purposes, where the property previously received the \$500 exemption authorized by section 466 of the Real Property Tax Law, the minimum exemption is \$500.

Place and time of filing application: The application must be filed annually in the assessor's office (or other official as designated by the municipality) on or before taxable status date. Taxable status date in most towns, including those within Wyoming County, is March 1. Taxable status date for most villages which assess is January 1, but the village clerk should be consulted for variations. Proof of certification of enrolled membership in the fire company or department or ambulance service or status as un-remarried spouse of enrolled member killed in the line of duty or who served 20 years shall be as required by the county, city, town or village authorizing the exemption. Proof of ownership of the property needs to be filed with the owner's initial application. The assessor may request proof of primary residence (e.g. voter's registration, tax return).

FOR ASSESSOR'S USE									
1.	Date application filed: _		_	2. Taxabl	e status date:				
3.	Action on application:	□ Approved	or	□ Disapproved					
4.	Amount of exemption:								
	County		То	wn		Village			
	Assessor's si	gnature		Date	2				