
New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Claim for Refund/Reimbursement of Taxes Paid on Fuel
Used in a Vessel Engaged in Commercial Fishing
Tax Law — Articles 12‑A, 13‑A, 28, and 29

AU-631
(4/11)

	Employer identification number (EIN) or social security number (SSN)	 Business telephone number

		 (     )
	Legal name

	DBA (doing business as) name (if different from legal name)

	Street address

	City, state, and ZIP code

	Name of vessel

	For tax period:

	Beginning	 Ending

	 For office use only

	Total approved

	Audited by		  Date

	Approved by		  Date

	Approved by		  Date

Column A
Gallons (from schedules)

Column B
Tax paid (from schedules)

Column C
TotalsComputation of Refund/Reimbursement

	 1	 Motor fuel excise tax paid....................................... 	 1

	 2	 Diesel motor fuel excise tax paid............................ 	 2
	 3	 Total Article 12‑A reimbursement requested
		    (add lines 1 and 2, Column B) .................................. 	 3

	 4	 Petroleum business tax paid (motor fuel)................ 	 4

	 5	 Petroleum business tax paid (diesel motor fuel)..... 	 5
	 6	 Total Article 13‑A reimbursement requested
		    (add lines 4 and 5, Column B) .................................. 	 6

	 7	 State and local sales tax (motor fuel)...................... 	 7

	 8	 State and local sales tax (diesel motor fuel)........... 	 8
	 9	 Total state and local sales tax refund requested
		    (add lines 7 and 8, Column B) .................................. 	 9
	10	 Total refund/reimbursement requested (add lines 3,

		    6 and 9, Column C) ................................................. 	 10

	Do you want to allow another person to discuss this claim with the Tax Dept? (see instructions) 	 Yes	 (complete the following)	  No

	Designee’s name	 Designee’s phone number	 	 Personal identification
		  (      )	 	 	 number (PIN)

Third –
party 

designee

Certification: I declare that to the best of my knowledge and belief this claim is just true, and correct. I understand that a willfully false 
representation is a misdemeanor under sections 1812, 1812(f), and 1817 of the New York State Tax Law and section 210.45 of the Penal Law, 
punishable by imprisonment for up to a year and a fine of up to $10,000 for an individual or $20,000 for a corporation. I understand that the 
Tax Department is authorized to investigate the validity of the exemption claimed or the accuracy of any information entered on this form.

		  Mail to:  NYS TAX DEPARTMENT,  FUEL TAX REFUND UNIT,  PO BOX 5501, ALBANY NY 12205-0501

Address

Mark  
an X if
self-employed

	 Preparer’s signature		  Date	 Preparer’s NYTPRIN		  Preparer’s SSN or PTIN

	 Preparer’s firm name (or yours, if self-employed)		  Firm’s EIN		  E-mail		

							       Telephone number	

(      )

Paid
preparer

use
only

	 Signature of authorized person	 Official title	 Date

/     / /     /



Page 2 of 4  AU-631 (4/11) Schedule A - Motor Fuel Purchases
(Attach additional sheets if necessary.)

Date of
purchase

Seller’s
Name City County

Invoice
number

Number of
gallons

Excise
tax paid

Petroleum business
tax paid

Sales
tax paid

	11	 Total gallons purchased (enter here and on lines 1, 4, and 7, Column A) .........

	12	 Total excise tax paid/reimbursement claimed (enter here and on line 1, Column B) ........... 	

	13	 Total petroleum business tax paid/reimbursement claimed (enter here and on line 4, Column B) ..............

	14	 Total state and local sales tax paid/refund claimed (enter here and on line 7, Column B) ....................................................... 	



AU-631 (4/11)  Page 3 of 4Schedule B - Diesel Motor Fuel Purchases
(Attach additional sheets if necessary.)

Date of
purchase

Seller’s
Name City County

Invoice
number

Number of
gallons

Excise
tax paid

Petroleum business
tax paid

Sales
tax paid

	15	 Total gallons purchased (enter here and on lines 2, 5, and 8, Column A) .........

	16	 Total excise tax paid/reimbursement claimed (enter here and on line 2, Column B) ........... 	

	17	 Total petroleum business tax paid/reimbursement claimed (enter here and on line 5, Column B) ..............

	18	 Total state and local sales tax paid/refund claimed (enter here and on line 8, Column B) ....................................................... 	



Need help?

Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline
  (for persons with hearing and
  speech disabilities using a TTY):	 (518) 485-5082

Miscellaneous Tax Information Center:	 (518) 457-5735

To order forms and publications:	 (518) 457-5431

Internet access: www.tax.ny.gov
  (for information, forms, and publications)
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Who may use this form
Any person who is a commercial fisherman, defined as a person 
licensed by an appropriate federal or state agency for the purpose of 
engaging in the commercial harvesting of fish and who is engaged in 
the business of harvesting fish for sale, must use this form to claim a 
refund/reimbursement of the motor fuel or diesel motor fuel excise tax, 
the petroleum business tax, and the state and local sales tax on the 
fuel purchased for use in the operation of a commercial fishing vessel 
engaged in the harvesting of fish for sale.

When to File
A claim for refund/reimbursement should be filed for a full monthly 
period; however, a claimant may include more than one month in a 
single claim. Each monthly period should begin on the first and end on 
the last day of a calendar month.

Claims for reimbursement of the motor fuel or diesel motor fuel excise 
tax and the petroleum business tax must be filed within three years 
from the date of purchase. Claims for refund of the New York State and 
local sales tax should be filed within three years from the date the tax 
was due.

General Instructions
In order to expedite the processing of a refund/reimbursement claim, a 
claimant must furnish the necessary substantiation and adhere to the 
following procedures:

•	 You must complete the entire claim form, including schedules A 
and B. Attach a worksheet, if necessary, and include adding 
machine tapes if the worksheet is not computer-generated.

•	 You must furnish legible copies of purchase invoices showing 
each tax (motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel excise tax, petroleum 
business tax, and sales tax) listed separately.

•	 You must include a copy of your current United States Coast Guard 
documentation, if your vessel is required to be documented, and 
with the first claim each calendar year include a copy of your current 
Federal Fisheries Permit and/or your current license issued by the 
New York State Department of Environmental Conservation.

•	 You must include the telephone number for your business in case 
we need to contact you concerning your refund/reimbursement. 

Additional documentation may be requested by the Tax Department 
upon review of the refund/reimbursement claim submitted.

Third-party designee
If you want to authorize another person (third-party designee) to 
discuss your claim with the New York State Tax Department, mark 
an X in the Yes box in the Third-party designee area of your claim. 
Also, enter the designee’s name, phone number, and any five-digit 
number the designee chooses as his or her personal identification 
number (PIN). If you want to authorize the paid preparer who signed 
your claim to discuss it with the Tax Department, enter Preparer in the 
space for the designee’s name. You do not have to provide the other 
information requested.

If you mark the Yes box, you are authorizing the Tax Department to 
discuss with the designee any questions that may arise during the 
processing of your claim. You are also authorizing the designee to:

• 	give the Tax Department any information that is missing from your 
claim;

•	 call the Tax Department for information about the processing of your 
claim or the status of your refund; and

•	 respond to certain Tax Department notices that you shared with the 
designee about math errors, offsets, and claim preparation. The 
notices will not be sent to the designee.

You are not authorizing the designee to receive your refund check, 
bind you to anything (including any additional tax liability), or otherwise 
represent you before the Tax Department. If you want the designee to 
perform those services for you, you must file Form POA-1, Power of 
Attorney, making that designation with the Tax Department. Copies of 
statutory tax notices or documents (such as a Notice of Deficiency) will 
only be sent to your designee if you file Form POA-1.

You cannot revoke the third-party designee authorization or change the 
PIN. However, the authorization will automatically end on the due date 
(without regard to extensions) for filing your claim.

Paid preparer
If you pay someone to prepare Form AU-631, the paid preparer 
must also sign it and fill in the other blanks in the paid preparer’s area. 
If someone prepares Form AU-631 for you and does not charge you, 
that person should not sign it.

Note to paid preparers — When signing Form AU-631, you must 
enter your New York tax preparer registration identification number 
(NYTPRIN) if you are required to have one. (Information on the New 
York State Tax Preparer Registration Program is available on our 
Web site.) Also, you must enter your federal preparer tax identification 
number (PTIN) if you have one; if not, you must enter your social 
security number (SSN). (PTIN information is available at www.irs.gov.)

Line instructions
Lines 1 and 2 — Enter the number of gallons and applicable excise 
tax paid from Schedule A and Schedule B.

Lines 4 and 5 — Enter the number of gallons and applicable petroleum 
business tax paid from Schedule A and Schedule B.

Lines 7 and 8 — Enter the number of gallons and applicable state and 
local sales tax paid from Schedule A and Schedule B.

Schedules A and B
Complete all columns of Schedules A and B. Enter information 
for those purchases for which a refund/reimbursement is claimed. 
Attach copies of all invoices listed. Attach additional sheets if 
necessary. Be sure to total the Number of gallons, Excise tax paid, 
Petroleum business tax paid and Sales tax paid columns. The totals of 
these columns must be carried to the front page as indicated.

Instructions

Privacy notification — The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may 
collect and maintain personal information pursuant to the New York State 
Tax Law, including but not limited to, sections 5-a, 171, 171-a, 287, 308, 
429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142, and 1415 of that Law; and may require 
disclosure of social security numbers pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax liabilities 
and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and exchange of tax 
information programs as well as for any other lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is provided 
to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention, support 
enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain employment and 
training programs and other purposes authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or 
criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Manager of Document Management, 
NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone 
(518) 457-5181.


