

Important

The Alcoholic Beverages Tax information in this document is outdated and provided only for historical purposes.

For up-to-date information, see Alcoholic beverages tax.

This TSB-M begins on page 2 below.

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance Taxpayer Services Division Technical Services Bureau

TSB-M-89 (5)M Alcoholic Beverage Tax November 30, 1989

Subject: 1989 Alcoholic beverage tax rate increase and floor tax due

Effective May 1, 1989, an amendment to the Alcoholic Beverage Tax Law (Article 18) increased the excise tax imposed on liquor, wine, beer and cider sold or used within this state.

	(1)	(2)	(3)
	Rate starting	Rate through	Amount of
Alcoholic Beverage	May 1, 1989	April 30, 1989	increase
Liquor, over 24%	\$1.40 per liter	\$1.08 per liter	\$.32 per liter
Liquor, 24% or less	\$.55 per liter	\$.264 per liter	\$.286 per liter
Natural Sparkling Wine	\$.25 per liter	\$.175 per liter	\$.075 per liter
Artificially Carbonated			
Sparkling Wine	\$.15 per liter	\$.088 per liter	\$.062 per liter
Still Wine	\$.05 per liter	\$.032 per liter	\$.018 per liter
Beer and similar			
fermented beverages	\$.11 per gallon	\$.055 per gallon	\$.055 per gallon
Cider	\$.01 per liter	\$.004 per liter	\$.006 per liter

Beginning May 1, 1989, all registered distributors of alcoholic beverages should include the increased taxes in their selling price.

The law also imposed a floor tax on all liquor, wine and beer in the possession of wholesalers, jobbers, retailers and all other sellers of liquor, wine and beer not registered as distributors with the Department of Taxation and Finance, as of the close of business on April 30, 1989, at the rates listed in column (3) above. There was no floor tax on cider. In addition, any liquor, wine or beer distributor who filed an alcoholic beverage tax return on the purchase basis must also have filed a floor tax return based on their New York State inventory as of the close of business on April 30, 1989.

An exemption of 760 liters for liquor, 760 liters for wine and 200 gallons for beer and similar fermented beverages was granted to all persons filing floor tax returns. A floor tax return must have been filed and the tax paid on the amount of liquor, wine and beer subject to tax in their possession as of the close of business on April 30, 1989.

A return must have be filed even if there was no tax due. Failure to have filed a floor tax return and pay any tax due by June 20, 1989, will result in the imposition of statutory penalties and interest as provided in section 433 of Article 18 of the Tax Law and may result in criminal penalties as provided by section 1813 of Article 37 of the Tax Law.