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1978 Legislation 
Household Credit 

Section 606(b)provides for a household credit to be allowed against New York Personal 
Income Tax for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 1978. This credit added by 
Chapter 70, Laws of 1977 originally provided for a credit ranging from $50.00 down to $5.00. 

Chapter 70 of the Laws of 1978 amends the amount of the credit allowed as follows: 

If household gross income is The credit shall be 

less than $5000 $65.00 
$5000 but less than $6000   50.00 
$6000 but less than $7000   40.00 
$7000 but less than $25000   35.00 

"Household gross income" is the total New York adjusted gross income plus the total 
minimum taxable income of a household. A "household' means a husband and wife, a head of 
household, a surviving spouse or an individual who can not be claimed as a dependent on another 
taxpayer's return. A husband and wife computes their household gross income jointly whether 
filing jointly or separately. Each spouse is allowed one-half of the credit. The household gross 
income is computed as if each member of the household were a resident for the entire year. When 
a change of residence occurs, the credit is prorated for the resident period and the nonresident 
period. 
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