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This memorandum is being issued to address some general questions regarding the Tax on
Mortgages (mortgage recording tax) imposed by and pursuant to Article 11 of the Tax Law.

1) Question:
Answer:

2) Question:
Answer:
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For purposes of Article 11, what is a mortgage?

In general terms, a mortgage is an instrument in writing that imposes a lien
on or affects the title to real property with such property being used as
security for the payment of money or the performance of an obligation. A
mortgage includes certain deeds of trust and executory contracts for the sale
of real property.

What is the mortgage recording tax?

The mortgage recording tax is an excise tax on the privilege of recording a
mortgage in the real property records of a recording officer.

The mortgage recording tax is comprised of four separate taxes imposed on
the recording of mortgages on real property situated in New York State. The
amount of tax depends upon which taxes are in effect in the county or
counties where the real property is located.

The four separate taxes vary from $.25 to $1.75 for each $100 and each
remaining major fraction thereof of principal debt or obligation that is, or
under any contingency may be, secured at the date of execution thereof, or at
any time thereafter, by a mortgage on real property.

The four taxes are (i) the basic tax imposed pursuant to section 253(1) of the
Tax Law, (ii) the special additional tax imposed pursuant to section 253(1-a)
of the Tax Law, (iii) the additional tax imposed pursuant to section 253(2)(a)
of the Tax Law and (iv) the New York City Tax that is authorized to be
imposed pursuant to section 253-a of the Tax Law for cities having a
population of one million or more. The amount of the mortgage recording tax
imposed in each county is based upon the taxes the county is required to
collect and varies from a total tax rate of a minimum of $.75 to a maximum
of $2.75 for each $100 of the amount secured by the mortgage.

The rate of the mortgage recording tax imposed in each county is listed on the
back of Form MT-15 Mortgage Recording Tax Return. Also, information
with respect to the rate of tax imposed in a specific county may be obtained

by:

1) calling the Taxpayer Assistance Bureau at 1 800 CALL TAX (from
New York State only) or (518) 438-8581 (from areas outside New
York State); or
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2 calling the recording officer of the county where the real property,
subject to the mortgage, is located.

Is an "executory contract™ for the sale of real property or both real and
personal property considered a mortgage?

Yes, but only where the purchaser has or is entitled to possession of the real
property prior to the delivery of the deed from the seller to the purchaser. The
principal debt or obligation which is used as the basis for computing the taxes
imposed by Article 11 of the Tax Law, is that portion of the purchase price
under the contract that remains unpaid as of the time that the purchaser has
or is entitled to possession of the real property under the contract.

Example: Corporation X entered into an executory contract to
sell a 10 unit apartment building located in Flushing,
Queens County, New York City to Y for a purchase
price of $600,000. On October 1, 1990 the contract
was executed and pursuant to its terms 'Y was required
to make a $60,000 down payment. The contract also
provided that an additional payment of $100,000 was
required on December 1, 1990 at which time Y was
entitled to possession of the premises. The agreement
between Corporation X and Y also requires that the
contract be recorded. Y will be required to make 10
semi-annual payments over a 5 year period to
Corporation X to pay the remaining balance due under
the contract, with the final payment due on December
1, 1995. Upon receipt of the final payment,
Corporation X will deliver a deed conveying the
subject premises to Y.

Since the executory contract between Corporation X
and Y grants the purchaser possession of the real
property prior to the delivery of the deed such contract
is amortgage, the recording of which is subject to tax.

The taxes due upon the recording of this contract are computed as follows:
Purchase price under the contract $600,000
Less: Down payment - October 1, 1990 $ 60,000

Additional payment - December 1, 1990 $100,000
Total Subtractions $160,000
Total amount remaining unpaid at the time

Y is entitled to possession - December 1, 1990 $ 440,000
Basic tax due (($440,000 + $100) x $.50) $ 2,200
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Additional tax due (($440,000 * $100) x $.25) $ 1,100
Special additional tax due

(($440,000 « $100) x $.25) $ 1,100
New York City Tax due @ $1.00 rate

(($440,000 . $100) x $1.00) $ 4,400
Total taxes due $ 8,800

Is a mortgage given pursuant to a confirmed plan of reorganization under
Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code subject to the mortgage recording tax?

No. Section 1146(c) of Chapter XI of the Bankruptcy Code (11 USC
81146(c)) provides that the issuance, transfer, or exchange of a security, or
the making or delivery of an instrument of transfer under a plan confirmed
under section 1129 of Chapter XI of the Bankruptcy Code, may not be taxed
under any law imposing a stamp tax or similar tax.

In the case of a mortgage given to a lender who is a natural person, is an
exemption from the special additional mortgage recording tax allowed?
(Note: See question and answer number six for the definition of "natural
person™.)

Yes, if the mortgaged premises consist of real property improved by a
structure containing six or fewer residential dwelling units each with separate
cooking facilities.

How is the term "natural person" defined for purposes of the special
additional tax?

"Natural person” means a human being, as opposed to an artificial person,
who is the beneficial owner of a mortgage (mortgagee). An artificial person
includes a corporation or partnership; natural person(s) operating a business
under a "dba" (doing business as); an estate, such as the estate of a bankrupt
or deceased person, or a trust.

Is the natural person exemption from the special additional tax allowed where
the mortgagee (lender) is the executor or executrix of an estate, a trustee of
a trust, a partner of a partnership or a shareholder or officer of a corporation,
with such entities being the beneficial owner of the mortgage, and the
mortgaged premises consist of real property improved by a structure
containing six or fewer residential dwelling units, each with separate cooking
facilities?

No. A person who is acting in a fiduciary capacity for a mortgagee who is not
a natural person does not qualify for the exemption and, therefore, the special
additional tax is imposed.
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Is a voluntary, nonprofit hospital corporation subject to the mortgage
recording tax?

No. Subdivision 3 of section 253 of the Tax Law states in part that the
mortgage recording'tax shall not'be imposed upon any mortgage executed by
avoluntary, nonprofit hospital corporation. (See question and answer number
17 for procedure to follow in order to claim an exemption.)

Which not-for-profit organizations are exempt from the special additional
mortgage recording tax?

Not-for-profit organizations organized other than for profit, which are
operated on a nonprofit basis and no part of the net earnings of which inures
to the benefit of any officer, director or members and which are exempt from
federal income taxation pursuant to section 501(a) of the Internal Revenue
Code, are exempt from the special additional tax. However, where either the
mortgagor or mortgagee is a not-for-profit organization, the mortgagor or
mortgagee who is not the not-for-profit organization must pay the special
additional tax. In cases where such not-for-profit organizations are both the
mortgagor and mortgagee the recording of the mortgage shall be exempt from
the special additional mortgage recording tax.

Are there instances where not-for-profit organizations are exempt from all
four mortgage recording taxes imposed pursuant to Article 11 of the Tax
Law?

Yes, if the statute under which a particular not-for-profit organization is
formed provides a tax exemption that is interpreted to apply to the entire
mortgage recording tax, a total exemption would be allowed.

Is an "assignment of rents" given as security for the payment of a debt
deemed to be a mortgage subject to the mortgage recording tax?

Effective July 1, 1989, an "assignment of rents" given as security for an
indebtedness, where such rents are to accrue from the rental or lease of real
property located in the City of New York, is deemed to be a mortgage for
purposes of the mortgage recording tax. Where such real property is located
outside New York City, the assignment of a lessor's or sublessor's right to
receive rents as security for an indebtedness is not deemed to be a mortgage.

If I have one mortgage that covers property in more than one county, how can
| record the same mortgage in each county without paying tax in each county?
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Pursuant to section 257 of the Tax Law, the mortgage recording taxes due in
each county where the real property, or any part thereof, is situated are paid
to the recording officer of the county where the mortgage is first recorded.
The recording officer Will then indorse upon the mortgage a receipt for the
amount of the taxes paid and the indorsed mortgage may be recorded in the
other counties where the real property, or any part thereof covered by the
mortgage, is located, without further payment of the taxes. The taxes paid to
the recording officer of the county where the mortgage was first recorded will
be apportioned by the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance between the
respective tax districts in each county. The taxes will be apportioned between
the relative tax districts based upon the relative assessed value of the real
property in each county over the relative assessed value of all the real
property subject to the mortgage, as the same appears on the last assessment-
rolls. If, however, the whole or any part of the property covered by such a
mortgage is not assessed upon the last assessment-roll or rolls of the tax
district or districts in which it is situated, or is so assessed as a part of a larger
tract, so that the assessed value cannot be determined, or if improvements
have been made to such an extent as to materially change the value of the
property so assessed, the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may require
the local assessors in the respective tax districts, or the mortgagor or
mortgagee, to furnish sworn appraisals of the property in each tax district,
and upon such appraisals shall determine the apportionment.

If a mortgage covers real property located in more than one county, and one
or more but not all of the counties have suspended the imposition of the
additional tax, or a portion of the property is located in New York City, what
is the procedure that must be followed for purposes of the mortgage recording
tax?

One of the following procedures must be followed:

1) The taxpayer may compute the tax as if the property were located
entirely in any one of such counties that is authorized to collect the
greatest amount of tax. Such amount is then paid to the recording
officer of the county where the mortgage is first recorded. Such
recording officer indorses upon the mortgage the tax so paid. Also, at
the time the taxpayer presents the mortgage for recording and pays the
tax, he or she should present to the recording officer a completed
Form MT-15.1 - Mortgage Recording Tax Claim for Refund. The
taxpayer then can proceed to record the mortgage in any other county
where the property or any part thereof is located.

The recording officer will submit information to the Tax Department
with respect to the relative assessed value of the property located in
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each county, along with Form MT-15.1, for the purpose of
determining the proper total tax due and the amount of such tax to be
apportioned to each county. If it is determined that the tax was
overpaid, the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance, or a duly
authorized delegate, will direct the appropriate recording officer to
refund the amount of the overpayment to the taxpayer or his duly
authorized representative.

If the taxpayer fails to present a completed refund claim form (Form
MT-15.1) to the recording officer at the time the mortgage was first
recorded, the taxpayer may file for a refund directly with the Tax
Department. The refund application must be filed with the Tax
Department within two years from the time that the erroneous
payment of tax occurred.

At the time the mortgage is presented for recording, the taxpayer may
file acompleted Form MT-15, Mortgage Recording Tax Return. The
taxpayer will pay the amount of tax computed to be due on Form MT-
15 to the recording officer of the county where the mortgage is first
recorded. The recording officer will indorse the payment of the tax
upon the mortgage so that the mortgage can be recorded without
further payment of tax in the other county or counties. The recording
officer must submit the original of the return (Form MT-15), along
with the information described in procedure number one, to the Tax
Department.

The return filed pursuant to this procedure shall be subject to audit by
the Tax Department and also by the recording officer where the
mortgage was first recorded and the tax paid. If there is an
underpayment of the tax, the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance
will direct the recording officer where the mortgage was first recorded
and the tax paid to notify the parties to the mortgage of such
underpayment. If there is an overpayment of the tax, the
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance shall direct the appropriate
recording officer to refund the amount of the overpayment to the
taxpayer or his duly authorized representative.

When a mortgage is recorded that covers real property located partly within
and partly without New York State, must tax be paid on the entire amount
secured?

No. When real property or real and tangible personal property covered by a
mortgage is located partly in the state and partly outside the state, only that
portion of the mortgage attributable to the real and tangible personal property
within New York State is subject to tax. The determination of the taxable
portion of the mortgage or of advancements thereon will be made by the
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance.
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To record such a mortgage, one of the following procedures may be used:

Procedure 1.

The determination of the taxable portion of the mortgage may be made prior
to the taxpayer presenting the mortgage for recording if the following
information, as set forth in the Mortgage Tax Regulations, is submitted to the
Tax Department:

1)

)

An affidavit made by the taxpayer or his authorized representative
setting forth;

(@)

(1)

(i)
(iii)
(iv)

(b)

(©)

(d)

()

book values, assessed values, and appraised values of the
property covered by the mortgage, separated into the
following categories:

real property in the state;

real property outside the state;

tangible personal property in the state, if required,
tangible personal property outside the state, if required.

A brief description of each parcel of real property, including
both the location of and its value and the page of the mortgage
where described.

Assessed values of the real property in the state listed y tax
district.

If required, the classification of the tangible personal property
by appropriate general class at each location and the value of
each class.

A statement of all prior encumbrances upon the property
covered by the mortgage, including a description of each
encumbrance, and the amount outstanding.

Copies of appraisals of the real and tangible property covered by the
mortgage, made by at least two qualified, competent, disinterested
persons or an approved appraisal company, must be submitted along
with the taxpayer's affidavit.
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3 A copy of the mortgage.

Note: The information regarding tangible property need only be
submitted if the mortgage covers both real property and tangible
personal property.

The above information will be reviewed by the Tax Department and a letter
will be issued to the taxpayer or his authorized representative stating the
amount of the mortgage which is subject to tax. The letter and the mortgage
must be given to the recording officer when such mortgage is presented for
recordation.

The taxable amount of the mortgage within New York State is determined by
the Tax Department in the following manner:

1) Determine the net value of the property within and without the state
by determining the respective values of the property within and
without the State and deducting from such amounts any prior existing
mortgage liens, except liens that are to be replaced by prior
advancements and the advancement under consideration.

2 Find the ratio that the net value of the mortgaged property within the
state bears to the net value of the entire mortgaged property.

3 Determine the portion of the mortgage or of advancements thereon
that shall be taxable by multiplying the ratio by the principal
indebtedness secured by the mortgage or the sum advanced pursuant
to a corporate trust mortgage.

Procedure 2.

When the mortgage is presented for recording, a statement in affidavit form,
executed by the mortgagor or his authorized representative, may be presented
to the recording officer. Such statement must be filed in duplicate and contain
the names and addresses of the parties to the mortgage, and it must specify
the net value of the property covered by the mortgage within the state and the
net value of the property without the state covered by such mortgage. The tax
payable when the mortgage is recorded is then computed by the taxpayer
upon such portion of the principal indebtedness secured by the mortgage, or
the sum advanced pursuant to a corporate trust mortgage, as the net value of
the mortgaged property within the state bears to the net value of the entire
mortgaged property as set forth in such statement.

The recording officer transmits one of the duplicate statements to the Tax
Department, together with a statement of facts requesting apportionment. The
Tax Department will then proceed to determine the taxable amount of the
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mortgage within New York State in the manner described in Procedure 1.
The Tax Department may require that additional information be submitted.

Where it is determined that the tax was underpaid, the Tax Department will
notify the mortgagor and mortgagee of the balance due and such balance due
shall be paid within ten days to the recording officer of the county where the
mortgage was first recorded.

Where it is determined that the tax was overpaid, the Tax Department will
order the appropriate recording officer to refund such overpayment.

Example: A mortgage is given where the principal obligation secured is
$100,000. The mortgage is secured by real property located in
the states of New York and Vermont. The New York real
property is located in a county where the mortgage recording
tax rate is $1.00 per $100 of principal debt or obligation or
major fraction thereof.

Net value of the New York property is $800,000.
Net value of the Vermont property is $200,000.

Net value of all the property covered by the
mortgage is $1,000,000 ($800,000 + $200,000).

New York property $ 800,000 =
All property covered .8000
by the mortgage $1,000,000

.8000 x $100,000 (amount secured by the mortgage) =
$80,000 (amount subject to mortgage recording tax)

$80,000 + $100 = 800 x $1.00 (mortgage recording
tax rate) =

$800 mortgage recording tax due

In computing the additional tax, pursuant to section 253(2)(a) of the Tax
Law, is the first $10,000 of principal debt or obligation excluded from
taxation if the mortgage is on real property improved by two or more one- or
two- family residences?

No. The first $10,000 of principal debt or obligation is excluded only if the
mortgage is on real property that is or will be principally improved by a one-
or two- family residence or dwelling. Thus if the mortgage covers real
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property improved by two or more one- or two- family residences or
dwellings the $10,000 exclusion does not apply.

Canasupplemental instrument or mortgage be recorded without the payment
of mortgage tax, where the proper tax had been paid upon the recording of the
prior mortgage, and such supplemental instrument or mortgage secures no
new or further indebtedness?

Generally, yes. Pursuant to section 255 of the Tax Law, a supplemental
instrument or mortgage may be recorded without payment of mortgage tax
provided that such instrument or mortgage is recorded:

1)

2)

3)

for the purpose of correcting or perfecting the prior recorded
mortgage; or

pursuant to some provision or covenant in the prior recorded
mortgage; or

for the purpose of imposing a lien upon property not originally
covered by or not described in such recorded primary mortgage.
However, pursuant to section 255(1)(b) of the Tax Law, if the
supplemental instrument or mortgage is recorded in a county that
imposes the additional tax and the recorded primary mortgage was
recorded in a county that suspended the imposition of the additional
tax, the recording officer of the county where the supplemental
instrument or mortgage is recorded will collect the additional tax
upon the principal indebtedness or obligation secured by the primary
mortgage. In addition, pursuant to section 11-2601(f) of the
Administrative Code of the City of New York, if the supplemental
instrument or mortgage is recorded in any of the New York City
counties and the recorded primary mortgage was recorded in a county
other than a New York City county, the recording officer of the New
York City county where the supplemental instrument or mortgage is
recorded will collect the New York City mortgage recording tax upon
the principal indebtedness or obligation secured by the primary
mortgage.

Listed below are some examples of supplemental instruments or
mortgages.

Example 1 - The correct tax is paid on a mortgage containing an error
in the description of the property covered. A supplemental mortgage
correcting the description may be recorded tax free.

Example 2 - The correct tax was paid upon recording of an executory
contract for the sale of real property wherein the contract vendor
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(seller) agreed to convey title at a later date and take back a mortgage
to secure the then unpaid balance of the purchase price. The mortgage
given pursuant to the terms of the contract is a supplemental
instrument within the meaning of section 255 Of the Tax Law.

Example 3 - A mortgage for $10,000 is recorded covering parcel A
and the correct tax was paid. A supplemental mortgage or instrument
spreading the lien of the original mortgage to Parcel B, so that the
mortgage will cover both parcels A and B may be recorded tax free,
subject to the provisions of section 255(1)(b) of the Tax Law and
section 11-2601 of the Administrative Code of the City of New York
as outlined in item number 3 above.

A supplemental instrument or mortgage is taxable to the extent of any new
or further indebtedness or obligation secured.

When a mortgage is presented for recording and an exemption from the
mortgage recording tax is requested, are there any additional documents that
must be filed with the recording officer?

At the time the mortgage is presented for recording, an affidavit, in duplicate,
containing the facts on which the claim for exemption is based, must be filed
with the recording officer. The affidavit may be made by the mortgagor or
mortgagee or by a person who has knowledge of the facts. Provided,
however, in cases where an exemption is claimed by a voluntary nonprofit
hospital corporation, pursuant to section 253(3) of the Tax Law, the affidavit
must be made by a duly authorized officer of the corporation and there shall
be attached to the affidavit a certified copy of the certificate of incorporation
and a copy of the certificate of the Public Health Council authorizing the
corporation to operate as a hospital.

The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance and the recording officer reserve
the right to request additional information to substantiate the right to claim
an exemption.

If the mortgage recording tax was erroneously paid, or if the mortgagor
exercises a "statutory right of rescission" in accordance with section 257-a of
the Tax Law, how is a refund obtained?

A refund may be obtained by filing with the Tax Department Form MT-15.1 -
Mortgage Recording Tax Claim for Refund. The refund claim form (Form
MT-15.1) shall contain the following information:

1) a description of the mortgage instrument;

2) the party or parties who paid the tax; and
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3) the facts upon which the refund claim is based.

A complete copy of the recorded mortgage should be filed with Form MT-
15.1.

If the basis for a refund claim is the exercise of a "statutory right of
rescission” there shall be filed with the refund claim form a copy of the
recorded satisfaction or discharge of the mortgage and an executed copy of
the "Notice of Right to Cancel", in addition to the information and documents
outlined in the preceding paragraph.

Form 15.1 must be filed within two years of the date of the erroneous
payment of the tax or, in the case of a refund resulting from the exercise of
a "'statutory right of rescission", within two years of the date of the erroneous
payment of the tax or one year from the date the mortgage was discharged.

Form MT 15.1 and copies of the required supporting documentation shall be
mailed to the following address:

New York State Tax Department
Transfer and Gains Tax Section
Mortgage Recording Tax Unit

W. A. Harriman Campus, Building 9
Albany, NY 12227

If a refund is to be paid to the taxpayer's legal representative, a notarized
consent or assignment is required from the mortgagor and/or mortgagee, if
appropriate, consenting to the payment of the refund to the named recipient
and such notarized consent or assignment shall be attached to Form MT 15.1.

Note: A "statutory right of rescission” means the right of a borrower
(mortgagor) to rescind a consumer credit transaction in which a security
interest, including a real property mortgage, is retained or acquired in any real
property that is used, or is expected to be used, as a residence of the
borrower.

FORMS REQUEST

If you need forms pertaining to the mortgage recording taxes call toll free (from New York State
only) 1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New York State call (518) 438-1073.



