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Important: 

The information on the state and/or local exemptions for clothing and footwear 
in this TSB-M is out-of-date and cannot be relied upon.  

For the most up-to-date information on state and local sales and use tax rates on 
clothing and footwear, see Find sales tax rates. 

For a detailed list of exempt and taxable items, see Lists of Exempt and Taxable 
Clothing, Footwear, and Items Used to Make or Repair Exempt Clothing. 

The TSB-M begins on page 2 below. 

https://www.tax.ny.gov/bus/st/rates.htm
https://www.tax.ny.gov/pubs_and_bulls/tg_bulletins/st/clothing_chart.htm
https://www.tax.ny.gov/pubs_and_bulls/tg_bulletins/st/clothing_chart.htm
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Governor Pataki recently signed into law Chapters 241 and 285 of the Laws of 2005. As a 
result of this legislation, beginning September 1, 2005, all clothing and footwear, and items used to 
make or repair exempt clothing, costing less than $110 per item or pair, will be exempt from the 4% 
New York City local sales and use taxes.  This year-round exemption in New York City does not apply 
to the New York State sales and use taxes, to any other local sales and use taxes, or to the sales and use 
taxes imposed by the state in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD), which 
includes New York City.   

 
It should be noted that there are two seven-day exemption periods from state and certain local 

sales and use taxes on clothing and footwear: August 30, 2005, through Labor Day, September 5, 
2005, and January 30, 2006, through February 5, 2006. During these periods, eligible clothing and 
footwear and items used to make or repair exempt clothing will also be exempt from the 4% 
New York State sales and use taxes and the ⅜% MCTD sales and use taxes on purchases within 
New York City. (Please see TSB-M-05(8.1)S, Temporary Sales and Use Tax Exemption of Clothing 
and Footwear, Tuesday, August 30, 2005, through Labor Day, Monday, September 5, 2005 (Exemption 
within counties and cities), for a list of counties and cities in other parts of New York State where the 
clothing and footwear sales and use tax exemption applies to the state 4% rate and to various local 
sales tax rates during the two seven-day exemption periods.) 

 
Therefore, during these two seven-day exemption periods, purchases in New York City of 

clothing and footwear and items used to make or repair exempt clothing, costing less than $110 per 
item or pair, will be fully exempt from tax. Outside of these two seven-day exemption periods, 
purchases of these items in New York City will be exempt from the 4% local tax in New York City, 
but will remain subject to the 4% state sales and use taxes and the ⅜% MCTD sales and use taxes. 
Aside from these two seven-day exemption periods, purchases of these items outside New York City 
will be fully taxable. 

 
New York City is made up of the following counties, with borough names shown in 

parentheses: Bronx (Bronx), Kings (Brooklyn), New York (Manhattan), Queens (Queens), and 
Richmond (Staten Island).  

 
TSB-M-05(8)S, Temporary Sales and Use Tax Exemption of Clothing, Footwear, and Items 

Used to Make or Repair Exempt Clothing (Seven-day exemption period - August 30, 2005, through 
September 5, 2005), provides a list of exempt and taxable items, as well as a description of the clothing 
and footwear exemption, which can be used as a guide for purposes of the New York City local sales 
and use tax exemption. TSB-M-05(8)S also lists the limitations that apply to the exemption.  

 




