

Important:

The information on the state and/or local exemptions for clothing and footwear in this TSB-M is out-of-date and cannot be relied upon.

For the most up-to-date information on state and local sales and use tax rates on clothing and footwear, see Find sales tax rates.

For a detailed list of exempt and taxable items, see <u>Lists of Exempt and Taxable</u> Clothing, Footwear, and Items Used to Make or Repair Exempt Clothing.

The TSB-M begins on page 2 below.

One-Week Sales and Use Tax Exemption on Clothing (Exemption Within Cities and Counties)

There is an exemption from sales and use taxes for eligible clothing during the week of September 1 - 7, 1997. (For a detailed explanation of the exemption see TSB-M-97(7)S.)

The exemption applies to the State 4% sales and use taxes and the ¼% tax imposed in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD). The exemption also applies to many, but not all, locally imposed sales and use taxes.

Cities and Counties Where Local Tax Applies

In the following localities clothing remains subject to tax at the rates indicated.

Locality	Rate During On Exemption I	
Canandaigua (city of)-(located in Ontario County)	3 %	⁄ o
Geneva (city of)-(located in Ontario County)	3 %	6
Ontario County-(including cities of Canandaigua and Geneva)	3 %	6
Rome (city of)-(located in Oneida County)	13/4 %	6
Wayne County	3 %	6
Yates County	3 %	6

TSB-M-97(7.1)S Sales Tax August 22, 1997

Cities and Counties Where No Tax Applies

Following is a list of localities in the State where the one-week clothing exemption applies to the State (including the MCTD) and all local sales and use taxes.

Albany County Allegany County Auburn (city of) - located in **Cayuga County** Batavia (city of) - located in **Genesee County Broome County Cattaraugus County** (including cities of Olean and Salamanca) **Cayuga County (including** city of Auburn) **Chautauqua County Chemung County Chenango County (including** city of Norwich) **Clinton County Columbia County** Corning (city of) - located in **Steuben County Cortland County Delaware County Dutchess County Erie County Essex County Franklin County** Fulton (city of) - located in **Oswego County Fulton County (including** cities of Gloversville and Johnstown) **Genesee County (including** city of Batavia) Glens Falls (city of) - located in Warren County Gloversville (city of) **located in Fulton County Greene County Hamilton County Herkimer County** Hornell (city of) - located in **Steuben County**

Ithaca (city of) - located in **Tompkins County Jefferson County** Johnstown (city of) - located in Fulton County **Lewis County Livingston County Madison County (including** city of Oneida) **Monroe County Montgomery County** Mount Vernon (city of) located in Westchester **County Nassau County** New Rochelle (city of) located in Westchester **County New York City - includes** counties of Bronx, Kings (Brooklyn), New York (Manhattan), Queens and Richmond (Staten Island) **Niagara County** Norwich (city of) - located in **Chenango County** Ogdensburg (city of) located in St. Lawrence **County** Olean (city of) - located in **Cattaraugus County** Oneida (city of) - located in **Madison County Oneida County (including** cities of Sherrill and Utica) **Onondaga County Orange County Orleans County** Oswego (city of) - located in

Oswego County

Oswego County (including

cities of Fulton and

Oswego) **Otsego County Putnam County Rensselaer County Rockland County St. Lawrence County** (including city of **Ogdensburg**) Salamanca (city of) located in Cattaraugus **County** Saratoga County **Schenectady County Schoharie County Schuyler County Seneca County** Sherrill (city of) - located in Oneida County **Steuben County (including** cities of Corning and Hornell) **Suffolk County Sullivan County Tioga County Tompkins County** (including city of Ithaca) **Ulster County** Utica (city of) - located in **Oneida County** Warren County **Washington County Westchester County** (including cities of Mount Vernon, New **Rochelle. White Plains** and Yonkers) White Plains (city of) located in Westchester **County Wyoming County** Yonkers (city of) - located in Westchester County