

## Important:

The information on the state and/or local exemptions for clothing and footwear in this TSB-M is out-of-date and cannot be relied upon.

For the most up-to-date information on state and local sales and use tax rates on clothing and footwear, see Find sales tax rates.

For a detailed list of exempt and taxable items, see <u>Lists of Exempt and Taxable</u> Clothing, Footwear, and Items Used to Make or Repair Exempt Clothing.

The TSB-M begins on page 2 below.

## New York State Department of Taxation and Finance Taxpayer Services Division Technical Services Bureau

TSB-M-98(7.2)S Sales Tax October 9, 1998

## **January 17, 1999, through January 24, 1999**

Temporary Sales and Use Tax Exemption on Clothing and Footwear (Exemption Within Cities and Counties)

There will be an exemption from sales and compensating use taxes for clothing and footwear costing less than \$500 per item during the period **January 17, 1999, through January 24, 1999**. For a detailed explanation of the exemption see TSB-M-98(7)S\* which was mailed to you in July.

The exemption will apply to the state 4% sales and use taxes and the ¼% tax imposed in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD). The exemption will also apply to all locally imposed sales and use taxes *except for those localities listed below, where clothing and footwear will remain subject to tax at the rate indicated*. Participating localities are listed on the back of this page.

<b>Locality</b>	Rate During One-Week  Exemption Period
Counties	
Lewis County	3%
<b>Montgomery County</b>	3%
Orleans County	4%
Westchester County (outside the cities of Mount Vernon, New White Plains, and Yonkers)	Rochelle, 2½%
<u>Cities</u>	
<b>Mount Vernon - located in Westchester County</b>	4%
<b>New Rochelle - located in Westchester County</b>	4%
Rome - located in Oneida County	13/4%
White Plains - located in Westchester County	3½ %
Yonkers - located in Westchester County	4%

<sup>\*</sup> You may obtain a copy by calling 1-800-462-8100 or logging on to our website at www.tax.state.ny.us If you have a fax machine, TSB-M-98(7)S can be obtained from our Fax-on-Demand system by dialing **1-800-748-3676** following the prompts and entering **11060** when prompted for the five-digit code.

## Cities and Counties Where No Tax Applies

Following is a list of cities and counties in the state where the temporary clothing and footwear exemption during the period January 17, 1999, through January 24, 1999, will apply to the state (including the MCTD) and all local sales and use taxes.

**Albany County** Gloversville (city of) -**Onondaga County Allegany County** located in Fulton County **Ontario County** Auburn (city of) - located in **Greene County Orange County Cayuga County Hamilton County** Oswego (city of) - located in Batavia (city of) - located in **Herkimer County Oswego County Genesee County** Hornell (city of) - located in **Oswego County Steuben County Broome County Otsego County** Canandaigua (city of) -Ithaca (city of) - located in **Putnam County** located in Ontario **Tompkins County Rensselaer County County Jefferson County Rockland County Cattaraugus County** Johnstown (city of) - located **St. Lawrence County Cayuga County** in Fulton County Salamanca (city of) - located **Chautauqua County Livingston County** in Cattaraugus County **Chemung County Madison County Saratoga County Chenango County Monroe County Schenectady County Schoharie County Clinton County Nassau County Columbia County New York City - includes Schuyler County** Corning (city of) - located in counties of Bronx, Kings **Seneca County Steuben County** (Brooklyn), New York Sherrill (city of) - located in **Cortland County** (Manhattan), Queens **Oneida County Delaware County** and Richmond (Staten **Steuben County Dutchess County** Island) **Suffolk County Erie County Niagara County Sullivan County Essex County** Norwich (city of) - located in **Tioga County Franklin County Chenango County Tompkins County** Fulton (city of) - located in Ogdensburg (city of) -**Ulster County Oswego County** located in St. Lawrence Utica (city of) - located in **Fulton County** County **Oneida County Genesee County** Olean (city of) - located in **Warren County** Geneva (city of) - located in **Cattaraugus County Washington County** Oneida (city of) - located in **Ontario County Wayne County** Glens Falls (city of) - located **Madison County Wyoming County** in Warren County **Oneida County (except city Yates County** 

of Rome)