

### Important:

The information on the state and/or local exemptions for clothing and footwear in this TSB-M is out-of-date and cannot be relied upon.

For the most up-to-date information on state and local sales and use tax rates on clothing and footwear, see Find sales tax rates.

For a detailed list of exempt and taxable items, see <u>Lists of Exempt and Taxable</u> Clothing, Footwear, and Items Used to Make or Repair Exempt Clothing.

The TSB-M begins on page 2 below.

### **New York State Department of Taxation and Finance**

## **Taxpayer Services Division Technical Services Bureau**

TSB-M-99(3.2)S Sales Tax December 15, 1999

# January 15, 2000, through January 21, 2000 Temporary sales and use tax exemption on clothing and footwear (Exemption within cities and counties)

There will be an exemption from sales and compensating use taxes for clothing and footwear costing less than \$500 per item during the period **January 15, 2000, through January 21, 2000.** For a detailed explanation of the exemption see TSB-M-99(3)S\*.

The exemption will apply to the state's 4% sales and use taxes and the ¼% rate of taxes imposed in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD). The exemption will also apply to all locally imposed sales and use taxes except for those localities listed below, where clothing and footwear will remain subject to local tax at the rate indicated. Participating localities are listed on the back of this page.

	Rate During One-Week
<b>Locality</b>	<b>Exemption Period</b>
<u>Counties</u>	
Columbia	4 %
Nassau	4 1/4 %
Putnam	3 %
Westchester (outside the cities of Mount Vernon, New Rochelle	,
White Plains, and Yonkers)	2 1/2 %
<u>Cities</u>	
Mount Vernon - located in Westchester County	4 %
New Rochelle - located in Westchester County	4 %
Rome - located in Oneida County	1 3/4 %
White Plains - located in Westchester County	3 ½ %
Yonkers - located in Westchester County	4 %

<sup>\*</sup> TSB-M-99(3)S was previously mailed to all sales tax vendors for use during the temporary clothing and footwear exemption period of September 1, 1999, through September 7, 1999. We are mailing TSB-M-99(3)S with this TSB-M-99(3.2), so you will have the detailed information available. You may also obtain a copy of TSB-M-99(3)S by calling 1-800-462-8100 or logging on to our website at <a href="https://www.tax.state.ny.us">www.tax.state.ny.us</a> TSB-Ms are located under the heading "Publications and Technical Bulletins". If you have a fax machine, you can obtain TSB-M-99(3)S from our Fax-on-Demand system by dialing 1-800-748-3676, following the prompts and entering 11091 when prompted for the five-digit code.

TSB-M-99(3.2)S Sales Tax December 15, 1999

#### Cities and Counties Where No Tax Applies

Following is a list of cities and counties in the state where the temporary clothing and footwear exemption during the period January 15, 2000, through January 21, 2000, will apply to the state (including the MCTD) and all local sales and use taxes.

Albany County **Allegany County** Auburn (city of) - located in Cayuga County Batavia (city of) - located in Genesee County **Broome County** Canandaigua (city of) - located in Ontario County Cattaraugus County Cayuga County Chautauqua County **Chemung County** Chenango County **Clinton County** Corning (city of) - located in **Steuben County Cortland County Delaware County Dutchess County Erie County Essex County** Franklin County Fulton (city of) - loc ated in Oswego County **Fulton County** Genesee County Geneva (city of) - located in Ontario County Glens Falls - located in Warren County Gloversville (city of) - located in **Fulton County** 

Greene County **Hamilton County** Herkimer County Hornell (city of) - located in Steuben County Ithaca (city of) - located in Tompkins County **Jefferson County** Johnstown (city of) - located in **Fulton County Lewis County Livingston County Madison County** Monroe County Montgomery County New York City - includes counties of Bronx, Kings (Brooklyn), New York (Manhattan), Queens, and Richmond (Staten Island) Niagara County Norwich (city of) - located in Chenango County Ogdensburg (city of) - located in St. Lawrence County Olean (city of) - located in Cattaraugus County Oneida (city of) - located in **Madison County** Oneida County (outside city of Rome) **Onondaga County** Ontario County

**Orange County Orleans County** Oswego (city of) - located in Oswego County Oswego County Otsego County **Rensselaer County Rockland County** St. Lawrence County Salamanca (city of) - located in Cattaraugus County Saratoga County **Schenectady County** Schoharie County **Schuyler County Seneca County** Sherrill (city of) - located in Oneida County **Steuben County Suffolk County Sullivan County Tioga County Tompkins County Ulster County** Utica (city of) - located in Oneida County Warren County Washington County Wayne County Wyoming County **Yates County**