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Introduction This publication provides general filing information, describes certain 
New York State tax benefits, and contains other tax information that may be 
of special interest to senior citizens and retired persons. 

As a senior citizen or a retired person filing a New York State income tax 
return, you may qualify for special income tax benefits that can reduce your 
tax liability. These benefits include subtraction modifications that will 
reduce your New York State adjusted gross income, and tax credits that 
may decrease your tax due or increase your refund. Even if you do not have 
to file a New York State income tax return, you may still be eligible to 
claim a refund of certain credits (see New York tax credits on page 14). 

See the Need help? section on the back cover of this publication or visit our 
Web site for information on how to get assistance. For federal income tax 
information, visit the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Web site at 
www.irs.gov or call 1 800 829-1040. 

The Marriage 
Equality Act 

The Marriage Equality Act (Act) was signed into law as Chapters 95 and 96 
of the Laws of 2011. One purpose of the Act is to provide that all 
marriages, whether of same-sex couples or different-sex couples, will be 
treated equally under all laws of the state. The Act applies to all taxes 
administered by the Tax Department as of July 24, 2011. For more 
information, visit our Web site. 

For purposes of this publication, the term spouse should be read as 
gender-neutral and includes a person in a marriage with a same-sex spouse 
or a different-sex spouse.  

Estimated income 
tax requirements 

New York State Tax Law requires you to pay income tax during the year, 
either through withholding or estimated tax.  

You may have to pay estimated tax if: 

• you are self-employed,

• you receive a taxable pension or annuity, or

• you receive any other income from which taxes are not withheld.

If you have substantially underpaid your taxes during the year (either 
through insufficient estimated tax payments or insufficient withholding tax, 
or a combination of the two), you will probably have to pay a penalty in 
addition to your tax. 

Generally, you must pay estimated income tax if you expect to owe, after 
subtracting your tax withheld and credits, at least $300 of either  
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New York State, New York City, or Yonkers tax, and you expect your 
withholding and credits to be less than the lesser of: 

• 90% of the personal income tax shown on your 2012 return; or

• 100% of the personal income tax shown on your 2011 return (110% of
that amount if you are not a farmer or fisherman and the New York
adjusted gross income on that return is more than $150,000 or, if
married filing separately for 2012, more than $75,000), based upon a
return covering 12 months.

Additionally, nonresident individuals, estates, and trusts are required to pay 
estimated personal income tax on the gain, if any, from: 

• the sale or transfer of certain real property located in New York State
(see Form IT-2663, Nonresident Real Property Estimated Income Tax
Payment Form); and

• certain sales, conveyances, or other dispositions (sales or transfers) of
shares of stock in a cooperative housing corporation, in connection
with the grant or transfer of a proprietary leasehold by the owner of the
shares, where the cooperative unit represented by these shares is
located in New York State (see Form IT-2664, Nonresident
Cooperative Unit Estimated Income Tax Payment Form).

You do not have to include in your estimate any amount of sales or use tax 
you expect to owe on your personal income tax return. 

If you are married, each spouse should maintain a separate estimated 
income tax account. If you and your spouse each maintain an estimated tax 
account and file a joint New York State income tax return, the balances of 
both accounts will be credited to your joint income tax return. 

For more information, see Form IT-2105, Estimated Income Tax Payment 
Voucher for Individuals, and Form IT-2105-I, Instructions for 
Form IT-2105. 

Note: You can make estimated tax payments, check your balance, and 
reconcile your estimated income tax account online using our Web site. 

Request withholding 
from an annuity or 
pension 

Payers of annuities and pensions are not required to withhold 
New York State, New York City, and/or Yonkers income tax from pension 
or annuity payments. However, if your pension or annuity must be included 
in your New York adjusted gross income and is payable over a period 
longer than one year, you may request that the payer withhold 
New York State, New York City, and/or Yonkers income taxes. For more 
information, see Form IT-2104-P, Annuitant’s Request for Income Tax 
Withholding. 
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Which form 
should you file? 

The New York State Tax Department has two different income tax forms 
available for individuals who must file New York State income tax returns. 
A brief description of each form follows. For more information, see the 
instructions for either of the forms described below. 

Form IT-201, Resident 
Income Tax Return  

Use Form IT-201 if you are a full-year New York State resident.  

You can claim the following income tax credits directly on Form IT-201: 

• New York State household credit

• New York City household credit

• Empire State child credit

• New York State child and dependent care credit

• New York City child and dependent care credit

• New York State earned income credit

• New York State noncustodial parent earned income credit

• New York City earned income credit

• Real property tax credit

• College tuition credit

• New York City school tax credit

• Resident credit

To claim any credits other than those listed above, or to report other 
New York State or New York City taxes, you must complete 
Form IT-201-ATT, Other Tax Credits and Taxes, and submit it with your 
Form IT-201.   

Form IT-203, 
Nonresident and  
Part-Year Resident 
Income Tax Return 

Use Form IT-203 if you are a nonresident or part-year resident of 
New York State and have New York source income. For the definitions of 
resident, nonresident, part-year resident, and New York source income, 
see the instructions for Form IT-203.  

New York State 
subtraction 
modifications 

Certain tax benefits are provided to senior citizens and retired persons in the 
form of subtraction modifications. Subtraction modifications relate to 
certain items of income that are included in your federal adjusted gross  
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income on your federal income tax return that may be subtracted out when 
computing your New York adjusted gross income. 

The following sections describe certain New York subtraction 
modifications that may be of special interest to senior citizens and retired 
persons. For a complete list of New York subtraction modifications, see 
Form IT-201-I, Instructions for Form IT-201. 

Social security and 
equivalent railroad 
retirement benefits 

Social security benefits and Tier 1 railroad retirement benefits that are 
included in federal adjusted gross income are exempt from state and local 
income taxes and may be subtracted from your federal adjusted gross 
income when computing your New York adjusted gross income. 

Railroad retirement 
benefits 

If you included in your federal adjusted gross income either: 

• supplemental annuity or Tier 2 benefits received under the Railroad
Retirement Act of 1974; or

• benefits received under the Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act;
and

• those benefits are exempt from state income taxes under Title 45 of the
United States Code,

you may subtract the amount of those benefits from your federal adjusted 
gross income when computing your New York adjusted gross income. 

Pensions of  
New York State, local 
governments, and the 
federal government 

Qualified pension benefits or distributions received by officers and 
employees of the United States, New York State, and local governments 
within New York State, are exempt from New York State, New York City, 
and Yonkers income taxes. This subtraction modification is allowed 
regardless of the age of the taxpayer or of the form the payment(s) take. 

This subtraction modification is allowed for a pension or distribution 
amount (to the extent the pension or other distribution was included in your 
federal adjusted gross income), including a distribution from a pension plan 
which represents a return of contribution in a year prior to retirement, as an 
officer, employee, or beneficiary of an officer or an employee of: 

• New York State including the State and City Universities of New York
and the New York State Education Department who belongs to the
Optional Retirement Program.

Optional Retirement Program members may only subtract that portion
attributable to employment with the State or City University of
New York or the New York State Education Department.
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• Certain public authorities, including: the Metropolitan Transportation
Authority (MTA) Police 20-Year Retirement Program; the Manhattan
and Bronx Surface Transit Operating Authority (MABSTOA); and the
Long Island Railroad Company (LIRR).

• Local governments within the state, including:

• New York State (NYS) Teachers’ Retirement System;

• New York City (NYC) Teachers’ Retirement System;

• NYC Teachers’ Retirement IRC 403(b) plan;

• International Union of Operating Engineers Local 891 Annuity
Fund (Department of Education of the NYC School District);

• NYC Superior Officers’ Council Annuity Trust Fund;

• NYC Correction Captains’ Association Annuity Fund;

• NYC Detectives’ Endowment Association Annuity Fund;

• City University of New York (CUNY) Civil Service Forum
Annuity Fund;

• Sergeants Benevolent Association of the City of New York
Annuity Fund; and

• NYC variable supplemental funds (VSF), including:

• Transit Police Officers’ VSF,

• Transit Police Superior Officers’ VSF,

• Housing Police Officers’ VSF,

• Housing Police Superior Officers’ VSF,

• Police Officers’ VSF,

• Police Superior Officers’ VSF,

• Firefighters’ VSF,

• Fire Officers’ VSF,

• Corrections Officers’ VSF,
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• Corrections Captain and Above VSF.

• The United States, its territories, possessions (or political subdivisions
thereof), or any agency, instrumentality of the United States (including
the military), or the District of Columbia.

Distributions received from a New York State or local pension plan or from 
a federal government pension plan as a nonemployee spouse in accordance 
with a court-issued qualified domestic relations order (QDRO) that meets 
the criteria of Internal Revenue Code (IRC) section 414(p)(1)(A) or in 
accordance with a domestic relations order (DRO) issued by a New York 
court retain their character as pension income. Therefore, if you receive 
distributions from a New York State or local pension plan or a federal 
government pension plan as the result of a DRO or QDRO, you are allowed 
the subtraction modification to the extent that the distributions are included 
in your federal adjusted gross income. 

If you received pension and annuity income as the beneficiary of a 
deceased officer or employee of the United States, New York State, or local 
government within New York State, you may also make this subtraction to 
the extent that the distributions are included in your federal adjusted gross 
income. 

Pension and annuity 
income exclusion 

If you were age 59½ or older before January 1, 2012, you may exclude up 
to $20,000 of your qualified pension and annuity income from your federal 
adjusted gross income for purposes of determining your New York adjusted 
gross income. If you became age 59½ during the tax year, the exclusion is 
allowed only for the amount of pension and annuity income received on or 
after you became 59½, but not more than $20,000. Qualified pension and 
annuity income includes: 

• periodic payments for services you performed as an employee before
you retired;

• periodic and lump-sum payments from an IRA attributable to
compensation for personal services, but not payments derived from
contributions made after you retired that are not attributable to
compensation for personal services;

• periodic distributions from an annuity contract (IRC section 403(b))
purchased by an employer for an employee, and the employer is a
corporation, community chest fund, foundation or public school;

• periodic payments from an HR-10 (Keogh) plan, but not payments
derived from contributions made after you retired;
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• lump-sum payments from an HR-10 (Keogh) plan, but only if federal 
Form 4972, Tax on Lump Sum Distributions, is not used. Do not 
include that part of your payment that was derived from contributions 
made after you retired;

• periodic distributions from deferred compensation plans sponsored by
state and local governments and tax-exempt organizations (under IRC
section 457); and

• periodic distributions of benefits from a cafeteria plan (IRC
section 125) or a qualified cash or deferred profit-sharing or stock
bonus plan (IRC section 401(k)), but not distributions derived from
contributions made after you retired.

The exclusion also applies to pension and annuity income received by an 
estate or trust if the income meets the requirements as described above. 

Qualified pension and annuity income does not include: 

• distributions received from a nongovernment pension plan as a
nonemployee spouse in accordance with a court-issued qualified
domestic relations order (QDRO) or in accordance with a domestic
relations order (DRO) issued by a New York court.

• distributions received as a result of an annuity contract purchased
with your own funds from an insurance company or other financial
institution. The payments are attributable to premium payments made
by you, from your own funds, and are not attributable to personal
services performed.

Married taxpayers who both receive pension income are each entitled to 
a maximum pension and annuity income exclusion of $20,000 whether they 
file jointly or separately. However, you cannot claim any unused portion of 
your spouse’s exclusion. If you receive your own pension income and your 
deceased spouse’s pension income, you are entitled to a maximum pension 
and annuity exclusion of $20,000 each year. 

If you receive pension and annuity income of a deceased individual, you 
may take this subtraction (to the extent the distributions are included in your 
federal adjusted gross income), regardless of your age, if the deceased 
would have been entitled to it had the deceased continued to live. If the 
deceased individual would have become 59½ during 2012, you may 
subtract from your 2012 federal adjusted gross income the amount of 
pension and annuity income received on or after the date that the deceased 
individual would have become 59½, but not more than $20,000. In addition, 
the amount of pension and annuity income exclusion attributable to the 
deceased individual that you are eligible to claim as a beneficiary must first 
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be reduced by the amount subtracted on the deceased individual’s 2012 
New York State income tax return, if any.  

If the deceased individual has more than one beneficiary, the $20,000 
maximum amount of the pension and annuity exclusion must be allocated 
among the beneficiaries. Each beneficiary’s share of the $20,000 exclusion 
is determined by multiplying $20,000 by a fraction whose numerator is the 
value of the pensions and annuities inherited by the beneficiary, and whose 
denominator is the total value inherited by all beneficiaries of the deceased 
individual’s pensions and annuities. The total exclusion of the deceased 
individual and all beneficiaries cannot exceed $20,000 annually. 

Example: Two beneficiaries receive an inheritance of a decedent’s IRA 
and pension. At the time of inheritance, the value of the IRA and the 
pension is $100,000 and $400,000 respectively. Beneficiary A inherited 
50% of the decedent’s IRA ($50,000) and 75% of the pension account 
($300,000) for a total of $350,000. Beneficiary B inherited 50% of the 
decedent’s IRA ($50,000) and 25% of the pension account ($100,000) 
for a total of $150,000.  

The decedent would have been allowed the pension exclusion provided 
under the Tax Law if the decedent had continued to live. However, the 
decedent had not taken any distributions from the IRA or pension at the 
time of death. Regardless of the amount of the distribution each 
beneficiary takes each year, if any, the beneficiaries must allocate the 
maximum exclusion in the same ratio as the total original inheritance is 
shared so that the total exclusion of all beneficiaries does not exceed 
$20,000. 

Beneficiary A’s maximum pension exclusion attributable to the 
decedent’s IRA and pension is limited to $14,000 annually.  

• $350,000/$500,000 = 70%
• 70% X $20,000 = $14,000

Beneficiary B’s maximum pension exclusion attributable to the 
decedent’s IRA and pension is limited to $6,000 annually.  

• $150,000/$500,000 = 30%
• 30% X $20,000 = $6,000

The maximum exclusion allowable, from the total of all sources that 
qualify for the exclusion, may not exceed $20,000. 

If you have disability income that qualifies for the disability income 
exclusion and pension and annuity income that also qualifies for the 
exclusion, the total exclusion combined cannot exceed $20,000. (See 
Form IT-221, Disability Income Exclusion, for more information.) 



Publication 36 (12/12) 

12 

Long-term residential 
care deduction 

If you are a resident in a qualified continuing care retirement community, 
you may be allowed a subtraction from federal adjusted gross income when 
computing your New York adjusted gross income for the portion of fees 
paid during the year that is attributable to the cost of providing long-term 
benefits under a continuing care contract. The amount of the subtraction is 
determined based on the fees paid for long-term benefits and your age. The 
maximum subtraction allowed for tax year 2012 is $4,370. If you are 
married, file a joint return, and you and your spouse both qualify, you may 
each claim the subtraction. However, you may not claim any unused part of 
your spouse’s subtraction. 

A continuing care retirement community is qualified if it has been issued a 
certificate of authority by the New York State Department of Health to 
operate as a continuing care community.  

In addition, a long-term care insurance credit is also available (see 
Long-term care insurance credit on page 17). 

Nonresident 
recipients of 
pension income 

Income from pension plans described in section 114 of Title 4 of the U.S. 
code received while a nonresident of New York State is not New York 
source income and should not be included in the New York State amount 
column on Form IT-203, Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Income Tax 
Return. 

The plans described in section 114 of Title 4 of the U.S. Code are as 
follows: 

• A qualified trust under section 401(a) of the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) that is exempt from taxation under section 501(a) of the IRC.
These qualified plans are the regular type of plans maintained by
employers to provide retirement benefits to employees. They include
both defined contribution and defined benefit plans. In addition to
regular employee plans, also included in this category are Keogh
(HR-10) plans for self-employed persons and section 401(k) deferred
compensation plans.

• A simplified employee pension (SEP) defined in section 408(k) of the
IRC. These are plans under which employers, including self-employed
individuals, contribute to Individual Retirement Accounts on behalf of
their employees.

• An annuity plan described in section 403(a) of the IRC. These plans
are basically the equivalent of qualified plans, but they are funded by
annuity contracts.

• An annuity contract described in section 403(b) of the IRC. These are
tax sheltered annuities which utilize insurance contracts to fund a
special type of pension arrangement available only to employees of
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public educational organizations (such as public schools) and certain 
other tax-exempt organizations. 

• An individual retirement plan described in section 7701(a)(37) of the
IRC. These plans are Individual Retirement Accounts (IRAs),
including Roth IRAs.

• An eligible deferred compensation plan as defined in section 457 of
the IRC. These are plans set up by state and local governments and
any other tax exempt organizations which permit employees, subject
to certain limits, to contribute pre-tax dollars to the plans.

• A governmental plan as defined in section 414(d) of the IRC. These
are plans established for its employees by the government of the
United States, or a state or political subdivision of a state, or any
agency or instrumentality of the United States or any state.

• A trust described in section 501(c)(18) of the IRC. These are trusts
created before June 25, 1959, that are part of a pension plan meeting
special requirements and funded only by contributions of employees.

• Any plan, program, or arrangement described in section 3121(v)(2)(C)
of the IRC, or any plan, program, or arrangement that is in writing,
that provides for retirement payments in recognition of prior service to
be made to a retired partner, and that is in effect immediately before
retirement begins, provided the retirement payments are part of a
series of substantially equal periodic payments (which may include
income from plans described above) made for:

(a) the life or life expectancy of the recipient (or for the joint lives or 
joint expectancies of the recipient and the designated beneficiary 
of the recipient); or 

(b) a period of not less than 10 years. 

However, a plan described above that is created solely to provide 
retirement benefits to employees that would exceed the benefits that 
could be provided to employees under a qualified plan (commonly 
referred to as excess benefit plans) is not subject to the periodic 
payment requirements set forth in (a) and (b) previously. These plans 
will qualify as covered plans regardless of the payout period or the 
method (lump-sum, etc.) in which the payments are made. 

This provision relates to nonqualified deferred compensation 
arrangements. They are plans that are not recognized as qualified 
under the IRC. These are unlimited, flexible arrangements without 
contribution limits, funding requirements, or limits on payment 
provisions. These plans are often unfunded. 
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The fact that payments may be adjusted from time to time pursuant to 
such plan, program, or arrangement to limit total disbursements under 
a predetermined formula, or to provide cost of living or similar 
adjustments, will not cause the periodic payments provided under such 
plan, program or arrangement to fail the substantially equal periodic 
payments test. 

For purposes of this section, the term retired partner is an individual 
who is described as a partner in section 7701(a)(2) of the IRC of 1986 
and who is retired under such individual’s partnership agreement. 

• Any retirement or retainer pay of a member or former member of a
uniformed service computed under Chapter 71 (Computation of
Retired Pay) of Title 10 (Armed Forces) of the United States Code.
Uniformed forces means the armed forces (Army, Navy, Air Force,
Marine Corp, and Coast Guard), the Commissioned Corps of the
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, and the
Commissioned Corps of the Public Health Service.

If you are a nonresident of New York and receive pension income that is 
not included in one of the plans previously described, that income must be 
included in the New York State amount column of Form IT-203. However, 
you are entitled to the pension and annuity income exclusion of up to 
$20,000 if you meet the conditions described in this publication under 
Pension and annuity income exclusion on page 9. 

New York tax 
credits 

You may be able to reduce your income tax liability by claiming certain tax 
credits. If you are not required to file a New York State income tax return, 
you may still qualify to claim a refund of the real property tax credit and the 
New York City school tax credit. Some of the available income tax credits 
that may be of special interest to senior citizens and retired persons are 
identified below. For information on other New York State and 
New York City income tax credits, visit our Web site.  

Note: Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, and 
before January 1, 2013, certain tax credits will be subject to a temporary 
deferral in any tax year that the total amount of those credits, that would 
otherwise be used to reduce your tax liability or be refunded or credited as 
an overpayment to estimated tax, is in excess of $2 million. For more 
information, see TSB-M-10(5)C, (11)I, Temporary Deferral of Certain Tax 
Credits. 

Child and dependent 
care credit 

If you qualify to claim the federal child and dependent care credit, you can 
claim the New York State child and dependent care credit (whether or not 
you actually claimed the federal credit). The New York State credit is based 
on a percentage of the federal credit.  



A child under age 13 whom you can claim as a dependent (see also 
Special rule for children of divorced or separated parents in the 
instructions for Form IT-216). If the child turned age 13 during the 
year, the child is a qualifying person for the part of the year he or she 
was under age 13.
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Full-year and part-year New York City residents may also qualify for the 
New York City child and dependent care credit (see the instructions for 
Form IT-216, Claim for Child and Dependent Care Credit). 

If you did not file a claim for the federal child and dependent care credit, 
you can still claim the New York State child and dependent care credit if all 
four of the following apply: 

1. Your filing status is Single, Head of household, Qualifying 
Widow(er) with dependent child, or Married filing joint return. 
However, see the special rule for Married persons filing separate 
federal and New York State returns in the instructions for
Form IT-216.

2. The care was provided so you (and your spouse, if you were married) 
could work or look for work. However, if you did not find a job and 
have no earned income for the year, you cannot take the credit. If 
your spouse was a student or disabled, see the instructions for
Form IT-216.

3. Your child (or other qualifying person(s) for whom the care was
provided) lived in the same home with you for more than half the
year.

4. The person who provided the care was not your spouse, the parent of
your qualifying child under age 13, or a person whom you can claim
as a dependent. If your child provided the care, he or she must have
been age 19 or older by December 31, 2012.

A qualifying person is: 

•

• Your spouse who is disabled and not able to care for himself or
herself.

• Any person who is disabled and not able to care for himself or herself
whom you can claim as a dependent (or could claim as a dependent
except that the person had gross income of $3,800 or more or filed a
joint return).
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• Any person who is disabled and not able to care for himself or herself
whom you could claim as a dependent except that you (or your spouse,
if filing a joint return), could be claimed as a dependent on someone
else’s return.

Caution: To be a qualifying person, the person must have lived with you 
for more than half of the tax year. 

To claim this credit, you must complete Form IT-216, Claim for Child and 
Dependent Care Credit, and submit it with your Form IT-201 or IT-203. 

For more information on the qualifications to claim the federal child and 
dependent care credit, see federal Publication 503, Child and Dependent 
Care Expenses. This federal publication is available on the IRS Web site at 
www.irs.gov. 

Earned income credit 
(EIC) 

The New York State earned income credit (EIC) is a special income tax 
credit for certain people who earn income from work. If you claimed the 
federal EIC and file a New York State income tax return, you qualify to 
claim the New York State EIC. 

New York City full-year residents and New York City part-year residents 
who claimed the federal EIC may claim a New York City EIC. You must 
file a New York income tax return to claim the New York City EIC. This 
credit is in addition to the New York State EIC or noncustodial parent 
New York State EIC (see the instructions for Form IT-215, Claim for 
Earned Income Credit). 

For tax year 2012, the New York State EIC is equal to 30% of your 
allowable federal EIC. However, the New York State EIC will be reduced 
by the amount of any New York State household credit you are allowed. 

New York State residents and part-year residents qualify for refunds of any 
EIC in excess of their New York State tax liabilities. Nonresidents do not 
qualify for refunds of the New York State EIC. 

To claim this credit, you must complete Form IT-215, Claim for Earned 
Income Credit, and submit it with your Form IT-201 or IT-203. For more 
information, visit our Web site. 

Real property tax 
credit 

You may qualify for the real property tax credit if you are a New York State 
resident, your household gross income for the tax year was $18,000 or less, 
and you pay either real property taxes or rent for your residence. If all 
qualified members of the household are under age 65, the credit can be as 
much as $75. If at least one qualified member of the household is age 65 or 
older, the credit can be as much as $375. 
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New York State residents qualify for a refund of any real property tax credit 
in excess of their New York State tax liabilities. Residents who are not 
required to file New York State returns may qualify for a refund of the full 
amount of the credit. Part-year residents and nonresidents of 
New York State do not qualify for this credit. 

If you are required to file a New York State income tax return, you should 
submit Form IT-214, Claim for Real Property Tax Credit for Homeowners 
and Renters, with your Form IT-201. If you are not required to file a 
New York State income tax return, you can file Form IT-214 by itself. You 
should file this form as soon as possible after January 1, 2013. 

For more information, visit our Web site or see the instructions for 
Form IT-214. 

Credit for purchase of 
an automated 
external defibrillator 

This credit is available to taxpayers who purchase a qualified automated 
external defibrillator. The credit is equal to the lesser of the purchase cost of 
the unit, or $500. There is no limit on the number of units purchased during 
the tax year for which the credit may be taken. However, the credit cannot 
exceed $500 for each unit purchased. 

An automated external defibrillator, as defined under section 3000-b of the 
Public Health Law, is a medical device approved by the United States Food 
and Drug Administration, that: 

• is capable of recognizing the presence or absence, in a patient, of
ventricular fibrillation and rapid ventricular tachycardia;

• is capable of determining, without intervention by an operator,
whether defibrillation should be performed on the patient;

• upon determining that defibrillation should be performed,
automatically charges and requests delivery of an electrical impulse to
the patient’s heart; and

• then, upon action by an operator, delivers an appropriate electrical
impulse to the patient’s heart to perform defibrillation.

The credit is not refundable, and you may not carry any unused credit 
forward to future years. 

To claim this credit, complete Form IT-250, Claim for Credit for Purchase 
of an Automated External Defibrillator, and submit it with your 
Form IT-201 or IT-203. 

Long-term care 
insurance credit 

The long-term care insurance credit is equal to 20% of the premiums you 
paid during the tax year for the purchase of, or for continuing coverage 
under a qualifying long-term care insurance policy. 
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The long-term care insurance credit is limited for part-year and nonresident 
individuals, estates, and trusts to the amount determined by multiplying the 
total credit by your income percentage. 

A qualifying long-term care insurance policy is one that 

• is approved by the New York State Superintendent of Insurance under
Insurance Law section 1117(g); and

• is a qualified long-term care insurance contract under Internal Revenue
Code (IRC) section 7702B. (Note that section 7702B relates to policies
for which a federal itemized deduction is allowed.)

or 

• is a group contract delivered or issued for delivery outside
New York State; and

• the group contract is a qualified long-term care insurance contract
under IRC section 7702B. The premiums paid for this insurance
qualify for the credit even if the policy is not approved by the
New York State Superintendent of Insurance.

A qualified long-term care insurance contract under IRC section 7702B is 
an insurance contract that provides only coverage of qualified long-term 
care services. The contract must 

• be guaranteed renewable;

• not provide for cash surrender value or other money that can be paid,
assigned, pledged, or borrowed;

• provide that refunds, other than refunds on the death of the insured or
complete surrender or cancellation of the contract, and dividends
under the contract must be used only to reduce future premiums or
increase future benefits; and

• generally not pay or reimburse expenses incurred for services or items
that would be reimbursed under Medicare, except where Medicare is a
secondary payer, or the contract makes per diem or other periodic
payments without regard to expenses.

The credit is not refundable. However, any amount of credit or carryover of 
credit not deductible in the current tax year may be carried over to be 
deducted for the following year or years. 
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To claim this credit, complete Form IT-249, Claim for Long-Term Care 
Insurance Credit, and submit it with your Form IT-201 or IT-203. 

For more information, see the instructions for Form IT-249. 

Nursing home 
assessment credit 

New York State allows a personal income tax credit for the portion of the 
assessment imposed on a residential health care facility (nursing home) 
pursuant to Public Health Law section 2807-d(2)(b) that is passed through 
to a private-pay resident of the nursing home. The amount of the credit is 
equal to the total portion of the assessment that is passed through and 
directly paid by an individual during the year (e.g., the total portion paid 
during 2012). The portion must be separately stated and accounted for on 
the billing statements or other statements provided to a resident of a nursing 
home, and must be paid directly by the individual claiming the credit. If an 
individual other than the resident of the home is actually paying the portion, 
the individual who paid the portion, not the resident, is entitled to claim the 
credit. If more than one individual is directly paying the total nursing home 
bill, the total portion of the assessment paid must be divided between or 
among them according to the percentage of the total nursing home expenses 
paid by each individual. 

An individual may claim the full credit even though the resident may be 
receiving benefits from a long-term care insurance policy. If a resident 
assigns his or her long-term care insurance benefits to a nursing home, the 
resident is treated as having paid that amount towards the total nursing 
home bill. The credit cannot be claimed for any portion of the assessment 
that is paid directly to the nursing home by a health insurance policy, with 
public funds (e.g., Medicaid or Medicare), or that is paid by a trust or other 
entity. 

Where a nursing home does not separately state the portion of the 
assessment passed through to a resident on the resident’s billing statements, 
the nursing home should provide the resident (or the person to whom the 
resident’s billing statements are sent) with a summary statement that 
indicates the total portion of the assessment paid by or on behalf of the 
resident during 2012 (or any succeeding year). There is no particular form 
for this statement. However, the statement must contain the name of the 
residential health care facility, the name of the resident of the facility, the 
period covered by the statement (e.g., calendar year 2012) and the amount 
of the assessment that was passed through and actually paid (not the billed 
amount) by or on behalf of the resident during the calendar year. For 
example, if the resident’s January 2013 bill was actually paid in 
December 2012, the amount of the assessment passed through for January 
would be included on the 2012 summary statement provided by the nursing 
home. 

If the amount of any nursing home assessment credit is in excess of your 
New York State income tax liability, the excess may be refunded. 
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To claim the credit, you must complete Form IT-258, Claim for Nursing 
Home Assessment Credit, and submit it with your Form IT-201 or Form 
IT-203. 

New York City school 
tax credit 

The New York City school tax credit is available to a New York City 
resident or part-year resident who cannot be claimed as a dependent on 
another taxpayer’s federal return.  

Married persons filing a joint return and surviving spouses with income of 
$250,000 or less are entitled to a credit of $125. All other taxpayers with 
income of $250,000 or less are entitled to a credit of $62.501. There is no 
credit allowed for taxpayers with income of more than $250,000.  

If you are a New York City resident or part-year resident, you may qualify 
for a refund of any school tax credit in excess of your New York City 
resident tax due. The credit must be prorated if the taxpayer changes his or 
her New York City resident status during the tax year. 

Taxpayers filing New York State returns on Form IT-201 or IT-203 can 
claim this credit directly on their tax returns. See the instructions for these 
forms for more information. 

You can claim the New York City school tax credit even if you are not 
required to file a New York State income tax return. See Form NYC-210, 
Claim for New York City School Tax Credit, and the instructions for 
Form NYC-210. 

Sales or use tax You must report any unpaid sales or use tax owed for 2012 on your 
personal income tax return for 2012. You owe sales or compensating use 
tax if you: 

• purchased an item or service subject to tax that is delivered to you in
New York State without payment of New York State and local tax to
the seller; or

• purchased an item or service outside New York State that is subject to
sales tax in New York State (and you were a resident of
New York State at the time of the purchase) and subsequently used the
item or service in New York State.

Note: You may be entitled to a credit for sales tax paid to another 
state. For more information, see Tax Bulletin Reciprocal Credit for 
Sales or Use Taxes Paid to Other Taxing Jurisdictions (TB-ST-765).

1 Beginning with tax year 2012, taxpayers may enter only whole dollar amounts on income tax forms. Therefore, the actual amount of 
credit allowed for taxpayers with income of $250,000 or less, is $63. 

20 
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For sales and use tax purposes, a resident includes individuals who have a 
permanent place of abode in the state. Accordingly, you may be a resident 
for sales tax purposes even though you may not be a resident for income tax 
purposes. See the instructions for Form ST-140, Individual Purchaser’s 
Annual Report of Sales and Use Tax, for more information. 

You may not use your personal income tax return to report: 

• Any sales and use tax on business purchases if the business is
registered for sales and use tax purposes. You must report this tax on
the business’s sales tax return.

• Any unpaid sales and use tax on motor vehicles, trailers, all-terrain 
vehicles, vessels, or snowmobiles. This tax is paid directly to the 
New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). However, if 
you will not be registering or titling your motor vehicle, trailer,
all-terrain vehicle, vessel, or snowmobile at the DMV, you should 
remit the tax directly to the Tax Department using Form ST-130, 
Business Purchaser’s Report of Sales and Use Tax, or Form ST-140.

An unpaid sales or use tax liability commonly arises if you made purchases 
through the Internet, by catalog, from television shopping channels, or on 
an Indian reservation, or if you purchased items or services subject to tax in 
another state and brought them back to New York for use here. 

Example 1: You purchased a computer over the Internet that was 
delivered to your house in Monroe County, New York, from an 
out-of-state company and did not pay sales tax to that company. 

Example 2: You purchased a book on a trip to New Hampshire that you 
brought back to your residence in Nassau County, New York, for use 
there. 

You may also owe an additional local tax if you made a purchase in a 
locality in New York State and brought the item into or subsequently used 
the service in another New York State locality where you were a resident 
and that locality had a higher tax rate than where you made the purchase. 

If you are not filing an income tax return but owe sales or use tax for 2012, 
you must pay any unpaid sales or use tax liability by filing Form ST-140 by 
April 15, 2013. Alternatively, you may file Form ST-141, Individual 
Purchaser’s Periodic Report of Sales and Use Tax, periodically to report 
sales or use tax liability on other than an annual basis.  

For additional information, see the instructions for Form IT-201 and/or 
Tax Bulletin Use Tax for Individuals (including Estates and Trusts) 
(TB-ST-913).  
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When to file You should file your income tax return as soon as you can after 
January 1, 2013, but not after April 15, 2013. If you file for a fiscal year, 
your return is due by the fifteenth day of the fourth month following the end 
of your fiscal year. 

When a due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, you are 
permitted to file and pay on the next business day. 

Automatic six-month 
extension of time to 
file 

If you cannot meet the filing due date, you may request an extension of time 
by: 

• using our Web site to Web file your extension request for free;

• using tax preparation software (check your software package to see if
you have the option to e-file your request for an extension);

• filing Form IT-370, Application for Automatic Six-Month Extension of
Time to File for Individuals; or

• using a paid tax preparer to file an extension for you. (If the paid tax
preparer will also be preparing your personal income tax return and he
or she is required to e-file that return, the preparer must e-file your
extension request.)

An automatic six-month extension of time to file does not extend your time 
to pay any tax due. You must estimate your New York State, 
New York City, and Yonkers income taxes due, but be as exact as you can 
with the information you have (see Estimated income tax requirements on 
page 4). If we later determine that your estimate was not reasonable, the 
extension will not be allowed, and you may be subject to penalty and 
interest.  

The filing due date for your income tax return will be automatically 
extended for six months if you file your request for an extension on or 
before the due date of your return and pay any income tax due and/or local 
sales or use tax you owe with your request. Depending on the filing method 
you choose, you may pay by check, money order, electronic funds 
withdrawal, or credit card. For more information on your payment options, 
visit our Web site. 

Automatic extension 
for death of a spouse 

If your spouse dies within 30 days prior to the due date for filing your 
personal income tax return or paying the tax due on that return, the 
department will grant you an automatic extension of 90 days to file your 
income tax return and to pay the tax due on the return. No penalties or 
interest for late filing or late payment will be imposed during this 90-day 
extension period.  
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• If you file a paper return, you must enter the decedent’s date of death
in the space provided and you must enter D9 in the special condition
code box provided on the front page of the New York State personal
income tax return.

• If you e-file your return, you must enter the decedent’s date of death in
the space provided and must enter D9 in the special condition code
box. If the tax preparation software does not support a special
condition code, the return should be filed on paper following the
instructions for filing a paper return.

Electronic tax 
filing (e-file) 

Electronic filing mandate for individuals. Effective for tax returns filed 
on or after January 1, 2013, if you prepare your personal income tax return 
using tax software, you are generally required to file electronically (e-file). 
For additional information, visit our Web site.  

You can e-file your income tax return using your personal computer and an 
approved, commercially available software package or you can choose to 
have a tax professional e-file for you. 

If you choose to use a tax professional, ask the preparer if he or she is 
authorized to e-file your income tax return. Any tax professional who can 
e-file federal tax returns is authorized to e-file New York tax returns, as 
long as he or she is using software that has been approved for the New York 
e-file program. You can use the IRS interactive e-file provider site 
(www.irs.gov) to help you find a tax professional or tax preparation 
business near you.  

E-filing is the fastest way to receive your refund. The speed and accuracy of 
computers allow electronic returns to be processed faster than paper returns, 
and using tax preparation software greatly reduces the possibility of errors 
and delays. To receive your refund even faster, you may choose to have it 
deposited directly into your savings or checking account (see Direct deposit 
of refunds on page 25). 

E-filing is faster and more accurate than paper filing, and, if you qualify, it 
may be free. Several tax preparers and tax preparation software providers 
offer free or discounted e-filing. 

You may pay a balance due on an e-filed return by submitting a check or 
money order with Form IT-201-V, Payment Voucher for Income Tax 
Returns; by using your credit card; or by authorizing the Tax Department to 
withdraw the payment from your bank account (electronic funds 
withdrawal). You must include authorization and account information for 
electronic funds withdrawal with your electronic return, and you cannot 
change it once it is transmitted. To avoid interest and penalties, your check 
or your money order must be mailed, your credit card payment authorized, 
or your electronic funds withdrawal made, by the filing due date. 
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For more information on e-file, and a complete list of forms that can be 
e-filed, visit our Web site. 

Payment options If you have a balance due on your return, you may pay by check or money 
order. You may also pay a balance due by using your credit card or by 
electronic funds withdrawal. For specific information on selecting a 
payment option, see the instructions for the tax form or tax preparation 
software you are using. 

Note: The law allows the Tax Department to charge a $50 fee when a 
check, money order, or electronic payment is returned by a bank for 
nonpayment. However, if an electronic payment is returned as a result of an 
error by the bank or the department, the department will not charge the fee. 

Electronic funds 
withdrawal 

If you file your New York State income tax return and you have a balance 
due, you may authorize the Tax Department to make an electronic funds 
withdrawal from your designated bank account. By choosing this option, 
you authorize the New York State Tax Department to transfer money from 
your account to the state’s account. 

Authorization and account information for electronic funds withdrawal 
must be included with your return, and cannot be changed once it is filed. 
You must specify a future payment date that is on or before April 15, 2013. 
If you file before the due date, money will not be withdrawn from your 
account before the date you specify. To avoid interest and penalties, you 
must authorize a withdrawal on or before the filing due date. If you 
designate a weekend or a bank holiday, the payment will be withdrawn the 
next business day. 

For more information, see the instructions for the form or tax preparation 
software you are using, or visit our Web site. 

Paying by credit card You can use your American Express Card, Discover/Novus, Visa, or 
MasterCard to pay the amount you owe on your 2012 New York State 
personal income tax return (Form IT-201 or IT-203) or to make 2013 
quarterly estimated income tax payments. You will be charged a 
convenience fee, and terms and conditions may vary among the credit card 
service providers.   

For more information on paying by credit card, visit our Web site or see the 
instructions of the tax form you are using. 
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Overpayments, 
refunds, and 
collection of debts 

Direct deposit of 
refunds 

You have the option to have your income tax refund deposited directly into 
your bank account. Payment by this method is more secure since there is no 
check or debit card to get lost or stolen. With direct deposit, you will 
receive your refund faster than if it were sent by mail. Direct deposit is the 
fastest and easiest way to get your refund. For more information, refer to 
the instructions for the tax form or tax preparation software you are using. 

Debit card by mail You may choose to have your overpayment refunded by debit card. Debit 
cards are secure, easy to use, and flexible. If you filed a joint claim, separate 
debit cards will be sent in one envelope to you and your spouse. One or 
both of you can activate your card(s). Once activated, either card can access 
the entire amount of the refund. The department will mail your debit card to 
the mailing address listed on your income tax return. 

In most instances, there’s no charge to you for using the card. You can: 

• Get cash from a bank. You do not need an account, but will need to
show ID. There is no fee for the first withdrawal, which can be for the
entire refund amount. There is a $1 fee for each withdrawal after that.

• Deposit it into your bank account (but consider direct deposit instead).

• Make purchases from stores that accept debit MasterCards.

• Make ATM withdrawals.

Fees – There may be a fee for using an ATM that is not in the issuer’s 
network and for certain other activities. 

More information will be provided with the card, or you can visit 
www.bankofamerica.com/nyrefund for details). 

Paper check by mail You may choose to have your overpayment refunded by paper check. Paper 
checks for joint filers will be issued with both names and must be signed by 
both spouses. The department will mail your check to the mailing address 
listed on your income tax return. 

Paper checks take weeks to be processed, printed, and mailed. If you don’t 
have a bank account, you will likely be charged a fee to cash your check. 
You may want to consider a debit card refund instead (see Debit card by 
mail above). 
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Estimated tax for 
2013 

You have the option of applying all or a portion of your overpayment to 
your 2013 estimated income tax account by completing the appropriate 
line(s) on your income tax return.  

Collection of debts 
from your refund 

We will keep all or part of your overpayment (refund) if you: 

• owe a New York State tax liability or a New York City or Yonkers
personal income tax liability;

• owe past-due support or a past-due legally enforceable debt to the IRS
or a New York State agency, or to another state;

• defaulted on a governmental education loan, state university, or city
university loan; or

• owe a New York City tax warrant judgment debt.

We will refund any amount that exceeds your debt. 

A New York State agency includes any state department, board, bureau, 
division, commission, committee, public authority, public benefit 
corporation, council, office, or other entity performing a governmental or 
proprietary function for the state or a social services district. 

If you have any questions about whether you owe a past-due legally 
enforceable debt to the IRS, to another state, or to a state agency, contact 
the IRS, the other state, or the state agency. 

For New York State tax liabilities or New York City or Yonkers personal 
income tax liabilities, call (518) 457-5434 or write to:  

NYS TAX DEPARTMENT  
COLLECTIONS AND CIVIL ENFORCEMENT DIVISION 
WA HARRIMAN CAMPUS 
ALBANY NY 12227 

For information relating to a New York City tax warrant judgment debt, call 
(212) 232-3550. 

Suspension of 
STAR eligibility 
for taxpayers with 
past due state tax 
liabilities 

Beginning with the 2013-2014 school year, the Tax Law authorizes the Tax 
Department to suspend eligibility for STAR (school tax relief) exemptions 
for taxpayers whose total past-due state tax liabilities are $4,500 or more 
and who own real property (wholly or in part) that is eligible for the STAR 
exemption.  

For more information, see TSB-M-12(6)I, Summary of Budget Bill Personal 
Income Tax Changes Enacted in 2012. 
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Privacy and 
confidentiality 

The Tax Law contains strict secrecy provisions to protect the confidentiality 
of tax returns and tax return information. Consequently, you must give 
specific written authorization to a practitioner, paid preparer or other 
representative before he or she will be given access to your confidential 
records or be allowed to represent you before the Tax Department or the 
Division of Tax Appeals. There are various levels of authorization you can 
give, as described below. 

Third-party designee If you want to authorize a friend, family member, or any other person 
(third-party designee) you choose to discuss your tax return with the 
New York State Tax Department, mark an X in the Yes box in the 
Third-party designee area of your return and enter the information 
requested. 

If you check the Yes box, you (and your spouse, if filing a joint return) are 
authorizing the Tax Department to discuss with your designee any questions 
that arise during the processing of your return. You are authorizing the 
designee to: 

• give the Tax Department any information that is missing from your
return;

• call the Tax Department for information about the processing of your
return or the status of your refund or payment(s); and

• respond to certain Tax Department notices that you share with the
designee about math errors, offsets, and return preparation. The Tax
Department will not send notices to the designee.

You are not authorizing the designee to receive your refund, bind you to 
anything (including additional tax liability), or otherwise represent you 
before the Tax Department. If you want the designee to perform those 
services for you, you must file a power of attorney with the department. 

The authorization will end automatically one year after the later of the 
return due date (including any extension) or the date you filed your return. 

Power of attorney A power of attorney is evidence that a practitioner or other person may act 
on your behalf. The power of attorney must contain explicit authorization 
for your representative to act for you, and must be properly completed and 
signed. 

The Tax Department prefers that practitioners use one of the department’s 
power of attorney forms:  

• Form POA-1, Power of Attorney, or

• Form ET-14, Estate Tax Power of Attorney.
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The department will accept other forms if they contain all the necessary 
elements as required on the Tax Department forms.  

Tax Department power of attorney forms may be used for New York State 
tax matters, New York City tax matters, or both. 

Consumer Bill of 
Rights Regarding 
Tax Preparers 

Taxpayers who use the services of paid tax preparers are entitled to 
protection from unfair treatment. While most tax preparers act within the 
law and treat their clients fairly, there are some that do not. 

All tax preparers are subject to certain requirements concerning refund 
anticipation loans (RALs) and refund anticipation checks (RACs).  

• Tax preparers are prohibited from advertising RALs as refunds (for
example, advertising a RAL as an instant refund).

• Any advertisement by a tax preparer that mentions RALs must state
conspicuously that a RAL is in fact a loan and that a fee or interest will
be charged by the lending institution. The lending institution must be
identified in the advertisement.

• Before a taxpayer enters into a RAL or an agreement for a RAC, the
tax preparer facilitating the loan must provide a disclosure statement to
the taxpayer in writing.

The Tax Department produces and makes available an informational flier 
providing certain information for consumers about their rights regarding tax 
preparers. The flier is Publication 135, Consumer Bill of Rights Regarding 
Tax Preparers, and it is available on our Web site. 

Note: Tax preparers (except those listed as Exempt preparers below and tax 
preparers who prepare tax returns within New York City) are required under 
the General Business Law (Article 24-C) to provide you with contact 
information and a copy of Publication 135, Consumer Bill of Rights 
Regarding Tax Preparers. 

Requirement to 
provide contact 
information 

Tax preparers are required to provide each of their customers with a receipt 
containing an address and phone number at which the preparer can be 
contacted throughout the year. If the actual person who prepared the return 
is an employee, partner, or shareholder of an entity (business), the general 
address and phone number of the business should be on the receipt. 

Exempt preparers The following tax preparers are exempt from the requirements to provide 
you with contact information and a copy of Publication 135: 

• an employee or officer of a business enterprise who is preparing the
tax returns of that business enterprise;
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• a fiduciary, and the employees of the fiduciary, who advise or assist in
the preparation of income tax returns on behalf of the fiduciary estate,
the testator, trustee, grantor, or beneficiaries;

• an attorney who advises or assists in the preparation of tax returns in
the practice of law, and his or her employees;

• a certified public accountant (CPA) licensed under the New York State
education law or licensed by one or more of the states or jurisdictions
of the United States, and his or her employees;

• a public accountant licensed under the New York State education law
and his or her employees;

• an employee of a governmental unit, agency, or instrumentality who
advises or assists in the preparation of income tax returns in the
performance of his or her duties; and

• an agent enrolled to practice before the IRS.

New York City tax 
preparers 

Tax preparers operating within New York City are not subject to the 
provisions previously explained for tax returns actually prepared within the 
city. Instead, Subchapter 8 of Chapter 4 of Title 20 of the Administrative 
Code of the City of New York provides rules that apply specifically to tax 
preparers operating in New York City.  

For more information on New York City’s consumer bill of rights regarding 
tax preparers, visit the New York City Department of Consumer Affairs 
Web site (www.nyc.gov/consumers) or dial 311 (212-NEW-YORK if you 
are outside New York City). 

Metropolitan 
Commuter 
Transportation 
Mobility Tax 
(MCTMT) 

The MCTMT applies to certain employers. It also applies to individuals 
(including partners in partnerships, and partners and members of limited 
liability partnerships (LLPs) and limited liability companies (LLCs) that are 
treated as partnerships for federal income tax purposes) who have net 
earnings from self-employment and who are engaging in business within 
the metropolitan commuter transportation district (MCTD).  

The MCTD includes New York City (the counties of New York 
(Manhattan), Bronx, Kings (Brooklyn), Queens, and Richmond (Staten 
Island)), and the counties of Rockland, Nassau, Suffolk, Orange, Putnam, 
Dutchess, and Westchester. 

For more information, visit our Web site or call the MCTMT Information 
Center at (518) 485-2392.  
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Need help?

Telephone assistance

Automated income tax refund status: (518) 457-5149

Personal Income Tax Information Center: (518) 457-5181

To order forms and publications:  (518) 457-5431

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure 
that our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and 
other facilities are accessible to persons with 
disabilities. If you have questions about special 
accommodations for persons with disabilities, call 
the information center.

Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with 
hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY): If you 
have access to a TTY, contact us at (518) 485-5082. 
If you do not own a TTY, check with independent 
living centers or community action programs to find 
out where machines are available for public use.

Visit our Web site at www.tax.ny.gov
• get information and manage your taxes online
• check for new online services and features




