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In 2006, the New York State percentage rate sales
and use taxes (sales tax) on motor fuel and highway
diesel motor fuel changed to a cents-per-gallon
method. This applies to sales of qualified fuel, as
defined in TSB-M-06(8)S, New Guidelines on the
Sales of Motor Fuel and Diesel Motor Fuel Subject to
the Cents-Per-Gallon Sales Tax.

The Tax Law allows counties and cities to change
their percentage rate sales tax to a cents-per-gallon
method, or stay with a percentage rate method.

Part 1: Cents-per-gallon rates
State
The state tax rate is:

- 8 cents per gallon outside the Metropolitan
Commuter Transportation District (MCTD), and

- 8%; cents per gallon inside the MCTD.

Local

County or other locality Cents-per-gallon rate
Seneca 8

B20 biodiesel

B20 biodiesel sold or used as qualified fuel is subject
to tax at 80% of any applicable cents-per-gallon rate.
The state rate on these sales of B20 biodiesel is:

- 6 cents per gallon outside the MCTD, and

6.6 cents per gallon inside the MCTD.

B20 biodiesel
County or other locality Cents-per-gallon rate
Seneca 6

Part 2: Local percentage rates

The localities listed below impose their local sales
tax on qualified fuel using the percentage rate
method.

To determine the local sales tax due, multiply the
taxable receipt amount by the appropriate rate

in the chart below. See Publication 873, Sales

Tax Collection Charts for Qualified Motor Fuel

or Highway Diesel Motor Fuel Sold at Retail, for
instructions on computing the taxable receipt using
pump prices.

B20 biodiesel

In localities that continue to use the percentage rate
method, 80% of the receipt from the sale of B20
biodiesel sold as qualified fuel is subject to the local
tax.

In the localities listed below, multiply 80% of the
taxable receipt by the appropriate rate in the chart to
compute the local tax due.

Note: To compute the total state and local sales
tax due, add the state cents-per-gallon tax (8 cents
outside the MCTD and 8 %; cents within the MCTD)
to the local tax amount.

Any items changed from the previous version appear
in boldface italics.

County or other locality Rate %
Albany County 4
Allegany County 4%

Broome County

Cattaraugus County (outside the following)
Olean (city)
Salamanca (city)

Cayuga County (outside the following)
Auburn (city)

Chautauqua County

Chemung County

Chenango County (outside the following)
Norwich (city)

Clinton County

Columbia County

Cortland County

Delaware County

Dutchess County

Erie County

Essex County

Franklin County

Fulton County (outside the following)
Gloversville (city)
Johnstown (city)

Genesee County

Greene County
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County or other locality (continued) Rate % County or other locality (continued) Rate %
Hamilton County 4 St. Lawrence County 4
Herkimer County 4% Saratoga County (outside the following) 3
Jefferson County 4 Saratoga Springs (city) 3
Lewis County 4 Schenectady County 4
Livingston County 4 Schoharie County 4
Madison County (outside the following) 4 Schuyler County 4
Oneida (city) 4 Seneca County (see Part 1)
Monroe County 4 Steuben County 4
Montgomery County 4 Suffolk County 4%
Nassau County 4% Sullivan County 4
New York City 4% Tioga County 4
Niagara County 4 Tompkins County (outside the following) 4
Oneida County (outside the following) 4% Ithaca (city) 4
Rome (city) 4% Ulster County 4
Utica (city) 4% Warren County (outside the following) 3
Onondaga County 4 Glens Falls (city) 3
Ontario County 3% Washington County 3
Orange County 3% Wayne County 4
Orleans County 4 Westchester County (outside the following) 3
Oswego County (outside the following) 4 Mount Vernon (city) 4
Oswego (city) 4 New Rochelle (city) 4
Otsego County 4 White Plains (city) 4
Putnam County 4 Yonkers (city) 4%
Rensselaer County 4 Wyoming County 4
Rockland County 4 Yates County 4

Need help?

Visit our Web site at www.tax.ny.gov
 get information and manage your taxes online
 check for new online services and features

Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with

hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY): If you
ases have access to a TTY, contact us at (518) 485-5082.
If you do not own a TTY, check with independent
living centers or community action programs to find
out where machines are available for public use.

E Telephone assistance
- \—
Sales Tax Information Center:

To order forms and publications:

(518) 485-2889
(518) 457-5431

[ d Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our
< J lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities

are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have
questions about special accommodations for persons
with disabilities, call the information center.




