

Publication 718-S

(3/22)

Local Sales and Use Tax Rates on Sales and Installations of Residential Solar Energy Systems Equipment

Effective March 1, 2022

In 2005, an exemption was granted from New York State sales and use tax on the retail sale and installation of residential solar energy systems equipment. See TSB-M-05(11)S, Sales and Use Tax Exemption for Residential Solar Energy Systems Equipment.

Retail sales and installations of residential solar energy equipment are exempt from the 4% New York State sales and use tax rate and the 3% sales and use tax rate imposed in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD). Purchases are exempt from local sales and use taxes only if the jurisdiction specifically enacts the exemption.

This publication provides a listing of the local sales and use tax rates for retail sales and installations of residential solar energy systems equipment. It will be updated when local rate changes occur or when jurisdictions enact or repeal the exemption.

Any items changed from the previous version appear in **boldface italics**.

Part 1 – Jurisdictions that do not provide the exemption for residential solar energy systems equipment

Purchases and uses occurring in the jurisdictions listed below are subject to tax at the rate shown.

Taxing jurisdiction	Tax rate %
Allegany County	41/2
Cattaraugus County (outside the following)	4
Olean (city)	4
Salamanca (city)	4
Cayuga County (outside the following)	4
Auburn (city)	2
Chautauqua County	4
Chemung County	4
Chenango County (outside the following)	4
Norwich (city)	4
Cortland County	4
Delaware County	4
Franklin County	4
Fulton County (outside the following)	4
Gloversville (city)	4
Johnstown (city)	4
Genesee County	4
Herkimer County	41/4
Jefferson County	4
Lewis County	4
Livingston County	4
Madison County (outside the following)	4
Oneida (city)	4
Monroe County	4
Niagara County	4
Oneida County (outside the following) - see Part	2
Rome (city)	11/2
Utica (city)	11/2

Taxing jurisdiction	Tax rate %
Onondaga County	4
Ontario County	31/2
Orleans County	4
Oswego County (outside the following)	4
Oswego (city)	4
Otsego County	4
Putnam County	4
St. Lawrence County (outside the following)	4
Ogdensburg (city)	4
Saratoga County (outside the following)	3
Saratoga Springs (city)	3
Schenectady County	4
Schoharie County	4
Seneca County	4
Steuben County	4
Sullivan County	4
Tioga County	4
Warren County (outside the following) - see Part 2	2
Glens Falls (city)	11/2
Washington County	3
Wayne County	4
Westchester County (outside the following) - see	Part 2
Mount Vernon (city)	21/2
New Rochelle (city)	21/2
White Plains (city)	21/2
Yonkers (city)	3
Wyoming County	4

Part 2 – Jurisdictions that provide the exemption for residential solar energy systems equipment

Purchases and uses occurring in the jurisdictions listed below are exempt from New York State and local sales and use taxes.

Taxing jurisdiction	Tax rate %
Albany County	0
Broome County	0
Clinton County	0
Columbia County	0
Dutchess County	0
Erie County	0
Essex County	0
Greene County	0
Hamilton County	0
Montgomery County	0
Nassau County	0
Oneida County (outside the following)	0
Rome (city) – see Part 1	
Utica (city) – see Part 1	
Orange County	0
Rensselaer County	0
Rockland County	0
Schuyler County	0
Suffolk County	0
Tompkins County (outside the following)	0
Ithaca (city)	0
Ulster County	0
Warren County (outside the following)	0
Glens Falls (city) – see Part 1	
Westchester County (outside the following)	0
Mount Vernon (city) – see Part 1	
New Rochelle (city) – see Part 1	
White Plains (city) – see Part 1	
Yonkers (city) – see Part 1	,
Yates County	0
New York City	0

See Publication 718-CS, Local Sales and Use Tax Rates on Sales and Installations of Commercial Solar Energy Systems Equipment, for a listing of local rates applicable to that exemption.

Need help?



Visit our website at www.tax.ny.gov

- get information and manage your taxes online
- · check for new online services and features

Telephone assistance

Sales Tax Information Center: 518-485-2889

To order forms and publications: 518-457-5431

Text Telephone (TTY) or TDD Dial 7-1-1 for the equipment users New York Relay Service