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Effective June 1, 2014

Use this chart to compute the amount of prepaid sales tax required to be remitted on taxable sales of
diesel motor fuel.

Do not use this publication to compute tax on a retail sale.

A historical list of the sales tax prepayment per gallon on diesel motor fuel rates in effect from
June 1, 2006, through May 31, 2014, is shown on the back.

Diesel motor fuel

Sales tax

Region prepayment

per gallon

1 $0.1750
2 $0.210

3 $0.160

Region 1 includes ................... New York City (counties of Bronx, Kings (Brooklyn), New
York (Manhattan), Richmond (Staten Island), and Queens);
and counties of Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland,
and Westchester. (This is the Metropolitan Commuter
Transportation District, excluding Nassau and Suffolk counties.)

Region 2 includes ................... Nassau and Suffolk counties.

Region 3 includes ................... All other counties in New York State.

Computation of prepayment of sales tax

To compute the amount of sales tax required to Example: A distributor sells 100,000 gallons of diesel
be prepaid on diesel motor fuel: motor fuel in Region I, where the sales
tax prepayment per gallon is $0.1750. The
1. Determine whether the fuel is taxable in prepayment of sales tax due on that fuel is
Region 1, Region 2, or Region 3. computed as follows:

2. Use the chart shown above to determine the 100,000 gallons x $0.1750 = $17,500

tax on one gallon of fuel and multiply this The sales tax prepayment per gallon remains the same
figure by the number of gallons on which regardless of the actual selling price of the fuel or the rate
prepayment of sales tax is due. of tax that applies. This change does not affect the retail

sales price.
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Sales tax prepayment per gallon on diesel motor fuel

Historical rates

Period Region 1 Region 2

June 1, 2006 through May 31, 2014 $0.1475 $0.140

Before June 1, 2014:

* Region 1 included New York City (counties of Bronx, Kings (Brooklyn), New York (Manhattan), Richmond (Staten
Island), and Queens); and Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester counties (commonly
called the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District).

* Region 2 included all other counties in New York State.

Need help?
Visit our Web site at www.tax.ny.gov E Telephone assistance

+ get information and manage your taxes online Sales Tax Information Center: (518) 485-2889
* check for new online services and features To order forms and publications: (518) 457-5431
Ay, Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with [ Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the
.-...-. hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY): If you Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our
...-.'.-. have access to a TTY, contact us at (518) 485-5082. < J lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities
o If you do not own a TTY, check with independent are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have

living centers or community action programs to find questions about special accommodations for persons
out where machines are available for public use. with disabilities, call the information center.




