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Use this chart to compute the amount of prepaid sales tax required to be remitted on motor fuel.

Do not use this publication to compute tax on a retail sale.

A historical list of the sales tax prepayment per gallon on motor fuel rates in effect from June 1, 
2006, through May 31, 2014, is shown on the back.

Computation of prepayment of sales tax

To compute the amount of sales tax required to 
be prepaid on motor fuel:

1.	 Determine whether the fuel is taxable in 
Region 1, Region 2, or Region 3.

2.	 Use the chart shown above to determine 
the tax on one gallon of fuel and multiply 
this figure by the number of gallons on 
which prepayment of sales tax is due. 
Fuel subject to tax includes fuel imported, 
purchased without tax, produced, refined, 
manufactured, or compounded.

Example:	 A distributor imports 100,000 
gallons of motor fuel into Region 1 
where the sales tax prepayment per 
gallon is $0.1750. The prepayment 
of sales tax due on that fuel is 
computed as follows:

	 100,000 gallons × $0.1750 = 
$17,500

The sales tax prepayment per gallon remains 
the same regardless of the actual selling price 
of the fuel or the rate of tax that applies. This 
change does not affect the retail sales price.

Chart for Prepayment of Sales Tax
On Motor Fuel

Effective June 1, 2014

Motor fuel
Region

	 Sales tax
	 prepayment
	 per gallon

	 1	 $0.1750

	 2	 $0.210

	 3	 $0.160

Region 1 includes 	�������������������	New York City (counties of Bronx, Kings (Brooklyn), New 
York (Manhattan), Richmond (Staten Island), and Queens); 
and counties of Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, 
and Westchester. (This is the Metropolitan Commuter 
Transportation District, excluding Nassau and Suffolk counties.)

Region 2 includes 	�������������������	Nassau and Suffolk counties.

Region 3 includes 	�������������������	All other counties in New York State.



Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with 
hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY): If you 
have access to a TTY, contact us at (518) 485-5082. 
If you do not own a TTY, check with independent 
living centers or community action programs to find 
out where machines are available for public use.

Need help?
Telephone assistance

Sales Tax Information Center: 	 (518) 485-2889

To order forms and publications: 	 (518) 457-5431

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our 
lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities 
are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have 
questions about special accommodations for persons 
with disabilities, call the information center.

Visit our Web site at www.tax.ny.gov
•	 get information and manage your taxes online
•	 check for new online services and features

Sales tax prepayment per gallon on motor fuel

Historical rates

Publication 790 (4/14) (back)

	 Period	 Region 1 	 Region 2

June 1, 2006	 through		  May 31, 2014	 $0.1475	 $0.140

Before June 1, 2014:
•	 Region 1 included New York City (counties of Bronx, Kings (Brooklyn), New York (Manhattan), Richmond 

(Staten Island), and Queens); and Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester 
counties (commonly called the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District).

•	 Region 2 included all other counties in New York State.


