Skip Banner
Skip Left Navigation
State Board of Real Property Tax Services

Next meeting - February 10, 2015

On-Demand audio webcasts

The webcasting page has information on Windows Media Player, accessibility and captioning.

State Board meeting information

Agenda, resolutions and approved minutes of the State Board may be accessed in the schedules below.

 Complaint forms


  State Board

Mail:  New York State Board of Real Property Tax Services
NYS Department of Taxation and Finance
W.A. Harriman Campus
Building 9, Room 100
Albany, NY  12227

Phone:  See Whom to Contact at ORPTS.  General taxpayer questions should be directed to: (518)591-5233.

Who makes up the State Board of Real Property Tax Services?

The State Board of Real Property Tax Services is a separate and independent Board within the Department of Taxation and Finance. It is comprised of five members who are appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate. Of those five members appointed by the Governor, one member must be engaged in the commercial production for sale of agricultural crops, livestock and livestock products. The Board members' eight-year terms are staggered so that no two members' terms expire in the same year. The Board chair is designated by the Governor. State Board members serve without pay, but are reimbursed for necessary expenses while on State Board business.  There is currently one vacancy on the State Board.

The Deputy Commissioner of the Office of Real Property Tax Services serves as the Secretary of the State Board of Real Property Tax Services and is the executive officer for the Board.

What does the State Board of Real Property Tax Services do?

Chapter 56 of the Laws of 2010 changed certain powers and duties of the State Board. New section 200-A of the Real Property Tax Law outlines the Board's duties as:

 Who is the State Board?

              State Board Members

Left to right: Matthew W. Rand (Chairman), Gene Martinez, Judith A. Dagostino and Edgar A. King

  • Judith A. Dagostino, a resident of Schenectady (Schenectady County), and former Chairwoman of the Schenectady County Legislature.
  • Edgar A. King, a resident of Schuylerville (Saratoga County), and senior partner of Kings-Ransom Farm, LLC in Saratoga County.
  • Gene Martinez, a resident of the City of New York, and Senior Managing Director at The Corcoran Group.
  • Matthew W. Rand, a resident of Clarkstown (Rockland County), and a Managing Partner of Better Homes and Gardens Rand Realty and Rand Commercial Services.
  • Susan E. Savage, Assistant Deputy Commissioner of the Office of Real Property Tax Services serves as the Acting Secretary of the State Board.

State Board of Real Property Tax Services lauds Dr. Bacheller's 17 years on the State Board

John M. Bacheller, a dedicated Member of the State Board and public servant with nearly three decades of service in State government, leaves the Board after 17 years of service on the Board. For his years of dedication and service the Board passed a Resolution honoring him.  "Dr. Bacheller leaves a record that will be nearly impossible to match and creates a void that will be equally difficult to fill," the resolution said, adding that his "tenure on the Board was marked by his superb judgment, thorough analysis and appreciation and understanding of the complexity of the issues before the State Board."

Dr. Bacheller, a resident of Latham, and a former State official with expertise in the areas of local government and property tax, serving in State government for 27 years, noted when presented with the resolution: "I continually have been impressed by the professionalism of staff and the leaders and their fairness." He thanked staff: "Thank you all for what you have done to help me to my job. It has always been the case that I could rely on staff for good judgement and leadership."

Read Dr. Bacheller's biography and the Board's resolution.

              State Board Members

Left to right: Edgar A. King, Gene Martinez, John M. Bacheller, Matthew W. Rand (Chairman), Susan Savage (Acting Secretary of the State Board) and Judith A. Dagostino

Updated: December 19, 2014