Skip to main content
Department of Taxation and Finance

Metropolitan commuter transportation mobility tax

The metropolitan commuter transportation mobility tax (MCTMT) is a tax imposed on certain employers and self-employed individuals engaging in business within the metropolitan commuter transportation district (MCTD). This department administers the tax for the Metropolitan Transportation Authority. The MCTD includes the counties of New York (Manhattan), Bronx, Kings (Brooklyn), Queens, Richmond (Staten Island), Rockland, Nassau, Suffolk, Orange, Putnam, Dutchess, and Westchester.

Employers can Web File and pay directly from a bank account by creating an Online Services account.

See specific information for:

Sign up for our Subscription Service for e-mail updates about new information or check this page again.

YouTube video describing MCTMT

Video: About the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation Mobility Tax